Brad Crouch

Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge, Kennedy, Bontempelli, Boak, Selwood, Parker + Fyfe, Ablett, Pendlebury.

I'd take any of them over PD, in a heart beat. (not to mention Sloane and B Crouch, who we already have)

There's being positive then there's being just downright deluded. Shocking post.

Didn't you also say the go home factor hasn't been a problem at the AFC.

To me there was a clear implication of "rubbish that is what you think - you are just bitter". That is pigheaded IMO. Assuming that you know what I think or why, ignoring my post that clearly stated where I was coming from. Doesn't matter - I know where my opinion of PD comes from, and I don't need to justify it to Sanders.

Back to Brad.

That tiara must be wedged on eh princess? If you want to voice your opinions without challenge or discussion you're in the wrong place, try Twitter.

There's being positive then there's being just downright deluded. Shocking post.

Nothing wrong with that post. Have to keep in mind it's a public Internet forum. "Shocking" and "deluded" is getting a bit overexcited.

By all means challenge and disagree - even ignore. Just don't bitch. Same to those who go on about the 'negativity'.

There's a place for the overly enthusiastic and there's a place for those who are very critical. We go for the same team. Go Crows?

Yep. Bock and Davis went home..

The go home factor is an AFL problem. It has been shown that it doesn't affct the AFC more then any other club. It's just that we care when it happens to us.

It could be rightly argued that we got Betts and Menzel due to the go home factor.

Swings and round abouts.

The go home factor is the cost of doing business as an AFL club.

Yep. Bock and Davis went home..

The go home factor is an AFL problem. It has been shown that it doesn't affct the AFC more then any other club. It's just that we care when it happens to us.

It could be rightly argued that we got Betts and Menzel due to the go home factor.

Swings and round abouts.

The go home factor is the cost of doing business as an AFL club.
It's been shown?

That tiara must be wedged on eh princess? If you want to voice your opinions without challenge or discussion you're in the wrong place, try Twitter.
Lol - no worries BIG man. Are the references to princesses supposed to upset me? No problem with you "challenging" anything ... but you do seem to enjoy trying to goad people into fights rather than discussion. Do you think that the only reason anyone would not be worried about PD leaving is sour grapes and bitterness - or do you perhaps concede that some people might have other legitimate reasons. In fact, don't answer that - I'm sure you and Mike will just get a couple more really biting posts in that you can like each other over. See if you can resist ... and get back to talking about Brad. You are both probably hoping BC leaves back to Victoria soon so the two of you can get excited about how crap the club is again.

It's been shown?
it has. Last season.

I can't help it if you don't remember or were not paying attention.

I'm not saying losing unston and Dangerfield don't hurt. Just that is is not some unique AFC "poor us" or "problem" type situation.

First it's tenuous "mass exodus" drum beating which has morphed into "go home". It's been done, it's boring and it' a tenuous argument.

If you want to retain players you have to win games. Substance on field. Walsh started to deliver on that. Let's hope Pyke can continue in the same vein.

The AFC problem was a Trigg problem where we were enslaved to the SANFL due to him being answerable to the SANFL. The reason for our existence (according to the SANFL) was for us to deliver them dividends. Therefore Trigg's KPI's were not about winning games or building a strong football department as that would cost money. We have moved past that now.

Tired old "AFC sux" arguments are old and tired. Let's think up something original to bag the club about.

Lol - no worries BIG man. Are the references to princesses supposed to upset me? No problem with you "challenging" anything ... but you do seem to enjoy trying to goad people into fights rather than discussion. Do you think that the only reason anyone would not be worried about PD leaving is sour grapes and bitterness - or do you perhaps concede that some people might have other legitimate reasons. In fact, don't answer that - I'm sure you and Mike will just get a couple more really biting posts in that you can like each other over. See if you can resist ... and get back to talking about Brad. You are both probably hoping BC leaves back to Victoria soon so the two of you can get excited about how crap the club is again.

if you're going to insist on adding no content whatsoever and go off on a hissy fit anytime it's pointed out, you really are in the wrong place.

I agree with your point for sure, but no need for the first comment mate.

Anyways, Brad Crouch aye!

Kane, he had Worsfold holding his hand.
I just don't like him as a coach, it's as simple as that.

Our midfield hasn't evolved from win contested ball and hack forward throughout his tenure. He, Noble and Clarke need something resembling success otherwise their careers will look decidedly poor. Let's hope Pyke can deliver that for them. I'd like to think none of them would see another senior coach without walking the plank themselves.

it has. Last season.

I can't help it if you don't remember or were not paying attention.

I'm not saying losing unston and Dangerfield don't hurt. Just that is is not some unique AFC "poor us" or "problem" type situation.

First it's tenuous "mass exodus" drum beating which has morphed into "go home". It's been done, it's boring and it' a tenuous argument.

If you want to retain players you have to win games. Substance on field. Walsh started to deliver on that. Let's hope Pyke can continue in the same vein.

The AFC problem was a Trigg problem where we were enslaved to the SANFL due to him being answerable to the SANFL. The reason for our existence (according to the SANFL) was for us to deliver them dividends. Therefore Trigg's KPI's were not about winning games or building a strong football department as that would cost money. We have moved past that now.

Tired old "AFC sux" arguments are old and tired. Let's think up something original to bag the club about.
I was paying attention and it was wrong and it is wrong now. We have lost the most quality, there was no doubt.

I'm not really interested if you find it boring.

I was paying attention and it was wrong and it is wrong now. We have lost the most quality, there was no doubt.

I'm not really interested if you find it boring.
I would have Carlton at the top of my list for quality lost in recent seasons...

Betts, Menzel, Garlett, Waite, Robinson, Jacobs... that's a heck of a lot worse than our situation.

I would have Carlton at the top of my list for quality lost in recent seasons...

Betts, Menzel, Garlett, Waite, Robinson, Jacobs... that's a heck of a lot worse than our situation.

I'm not sure a comparison with Carlton makes us look better.

Not sure it is,
danger >>>>>>>>>>>Robinson
Bock >> Waite
maric <<< Jacobs
Tippett > garlett
gunston = betts
Have to wait on menzel

Their situation looks worse because of the strength of the rest of their list, not because of the quality of players lost.

Dangerfield, Tippett, Gunston, Davis and Bock is easily a worse loss than those Carlton players, and we've lost all of them since Port last lost a quality player (Burgoyne). Keep those players and we're easily in flag contention.

No club has unwillingly (Carlton were happy to let Betts, Menzel and Robinson go) lost as much quality as us (that spine looks top 4 quality), excluding maybe Brisbane, but I think we should be striving higher than 17th for player retention personally, especially for a club like Adelaide in a traditional footy state which should be a powerhouse with our support base and drawcard of Adelaide Oval.

You may want to chalk it up to the players being softies to absolve our club of any blame for players walking out, but I don't think all is necessarily well at our club. I think the fact that we got worse compo for Dangerfield than Essendon for Carlisle with the WADA cloud over his head gives the impression to players and other clubs that we can be trampled on.

Sadly I'm not sure what the solution is, but I don't think we can bury our heads in the sand with regards to player retention. Questions need to be asked before we potentially lose someone like a Talia or Lever.

Well you've really taken the biscuit with that one

Not saying it does, just referencing another example to show it does happen to anyone

Yeah but... Carlton's shit... you expect club's like that to lose talent.;)

Literally speaking you are correct. However even if Carlton has lost more quality players than us, unless it's a large difference that reflects the discrepancy in our circumstances, then any comparison between the two clubs actually makes us look less capable of retaining players than them.

It all depends on what type of star player you have. You can have a star player that ball hogs, and tries to do everything on their own to the detriment of the rest of the team, or you can have a star player thant gets others involved, while performing their role. Watching Dangerfield play, he is more the former, than the latter.

One example, for all the praise the commentary team were giving danger for his efforts in the last quarter of the Adel v Bulldogs final, he ******* butchered the ball with stupid kicks, or tried to do everything himself.
I feel that this was Collingwood post Buckly.

Brouch isn't a top 5 mid in the comp (he could be, but he definitely isn't yet). If people are thinking Brouch will come in after a year off and immediately make up for the loss of Danger, they'll be disappointed.

You are way underestimating how good Brad Crouch is. If he stays fit he will well and truly make up for Danger. He wins so much inside ball and feeds it well. Danger was good at winning the ball as well but his disposal efficiency wasn't that good..... not yet anyway. (but I expect that will improve)

Our mid will be equal to better than last year with a fit Brad and improvement from the rest.

if you're going to insist on adding no content whatsoever and go off on a hissy fit anytime it's pointed out, you really are in the wrong place.
Love that you are calling my post out for adding no content with a quality post like this one. Go back to stalking someone who gives a shit Chicken-boy.

Brad Crouch will more than just replace Danger, he will improve our team balance and effective clearance work ... not to mention adding some much needed hardness around the ground.

This is the similar analysis Mattrox was relying on which is bogus.

Those Carlton players aren't a patch on what we lost but the main thing to consider is how badly the club wanted them to stay. Half of those players Carlton were happy to see go.