Player Watch Brayden Maynard

Saw vision of the Bruz - Angus clash last night that was focused on Brayshaw and if I'm not mistaken he actually sees Bruz and turns into him.
Very split second reaction but it seemed to influence the area of impact.

Fk knows ..but was hoping some that could read
Appreciate your efforts mate.
Maybe a little to do with satisfying your own mind too? (which I get btw).

I think the real question is was Bruz contesting the ball? He touched it, so yes. Was it reasonable to contest the ball that way? The only way he was going to get to that ball was by jumping to touch it. So jumping was reasonable.

If we can answer yes to those two questions, it doesn't meet the definition of careless.

#freebruzzy
Do we know he touched the ball? Did the umpire call touched? Genuine questions as I am not aware of this.

Optics is very important here.

If this went without afl intervention there would be uproar.
It has to go to tribunal if only to be thrown out.

A key part of Maynard’s defense needs be framing the incident in language that the afl can take to the public, media and insurers that makes this palatable.

If we give them that, he gets off.

Calling it a football action is the start. We need add a plausible description of how this is so and why Maynard’s actions are controlled and reasonable.

Either that or hire Bull.
I expect the tribunal will give him three weeks on the basis that he turned his shoulder. They won’t care that he had no other option to protect himself.

Someone on twitter/x posted this. Surely the ‘duty of care’ is on Brayshaw! He has more notice to avoid a player in the air trying to smother the ball. FFS footy action move on. And doesn’t he get a little hand on it too? The ball deviates off his hand. This is insane. I was outraged at the Bedford suspension but this is an even bigger disgrace if he gets suspended.

cc1c0c5b5293c821733a01c1fe33241e.jpg

From this perspective Bruzzy was protecting himself from Brayshaw tunneling him.
Brayshaw feet on the ground, Maynard vulnerable in the air

If whilst Maynard was in the air Brayshaw balked and kept running it’s a non issue.
He was shocked to see Brayshaw still running toward him and braced for contact.
Maynard cannot be held responsible (imo) given the ball was his objective, not the player.
PS: All the emotional BS about Kane overruling is just that, she had to do it.
Maybe another change to the grading system on the way, based purely on outcome?

To me this footage clearly shows two things the pies could/should use

Brayshaw deviates to his right after kicking, instead of shoulder to shoulder contact it leads to Bruz getting him in the head
In terms of Bruz turning and tucking the arm in, Brayshaw does exactly the same with his right arm in bracing for contact

Do we know he touched the ball? Did the umpire call touched? Genuine questions as I am not aware of this.

Looks that way to me on the footage. Scump didn’t call touched afaik. Was too busy pulling out his notebook.

From this perspective Bruzzy was protecting himself from Brayshaw tunneling him.
Brayshaw feet on the ground, Maynard vulnerable in the air

What that image highlights is how far apart they were at the time that Maynard jumped to smother, and therefore how much of the event was set up while Maynard was midair and couldn’t alter his trajectory at all.

To me this footage clearly shows two things the pies could/should use

Brayshaw had plenty of time to drop to his knees and say haha missed me.

Saw vision of the Bruz - Angus clash last night that was focused on Brayshaw and if I'm not mistaken he actually sees Bruz and turns into him.
Very split second reaction but it seemed to influence the area of impact.
This is exactly as I’ve seen it all along - and it astonishes me this hasn’t really been discussed - both the front-on and back-on vision taken from behind each goal clearly shows Brayshaw going off his line, veering to the right and it was only this last second change in direction that caused the contact.

In addition, the side-on close-up vision clearly shows Brayshaw had eyes on Maynard before he veered into him. I have no doubt he did this deliberately to milk a down-field free kick late contact - but he neglected to protect himself from the inevitable contact that his own action in changing direction caused.

It seems that everyone’s nature feeling of sympathy for Brayshaw going off injured has blanketed the fact that his own action in going off his line to the right (as the vision clearly shows) was the sole cause of the collision. Hopefully this all comes out in the tribunal hearing.

When is the tribunal? Mon or Tues? Hope it doesn't span out like the Bedford one again. I've never been so certain a player gets off.
I reckon it will go beyond the tribunal

Well that will come up. Under ‘careless’ criteria they are saying that a reasonable player showing duty of care would not have done that action. Which means they must know what a reasonable player showing duty of care would do.
That seems to be the key question.

Is it reasonable that a player would jump upwards with arms outstretched to smother a kick from an oncoming player? If so, the action itself is not unreasonable. I think Maynard ticks this box.

The second part of this is the collision. As I see it, once in the air, Maynard was the most vulnerable and lowered his arms to protect his body. He kept his elbows at his side and even had his hands/forearms extended forward to minimise impact. He only turned ever so slightly which makes sense because he was in the air - it’s impossible to change direction in mid air.

So it should be argued that if Maynard did not do anything unreasonable initially, and couldn’t change direction or do any more once in the air attempting to smother the football, then his actions should not be considered careless. Free to play.

Someone on twitter/x posted this. Surely the ‘duty of care’ is on Brayshaw! He has more notice to avoid a player in the air trying to smother the ball. FFS footy action move on. And doesn’t he get a little hand on it too? The ball deviates off his hand. This is insane. I was outraged at the Bedford suspension but this is an even bigger disgrace if he gets suspended.

cc1c0c5b5293c821733a01c1fe33241e.jpg

Neither player has a duty. Both are engaging in legal football acts, that occur 1000s of times and no resonable person expects the other to be concussed. If Maynard get suspended then marking contests are next. Ditto McKay…

The fact this is even going to the tribunal says the afl has a lot to do in the off season. This whole concussion thing needs to be taken seriously sure, but common sense does also.

It’s a tough game. Accidents are going to happen. Players know this the moment they step foot in the field. If this was a Gf, brayshaw running to try and put the dees in front with 10sec to go, of course Maynard will do everything he can (within the laws of the game) to stop the ball, in this case a smother…

I’ll be livid if he gets suspended, which will be 3 weeks.

Even more so when elbows and punches get less. Laughable

The AFL and it's tampering in every little thing is driving me nuts. Maynard did nothing wrong and it will be proven. The sooner Gil ****s off, the better. I'm sick of seeing his red nosed, wine damaged face on TV. Micromanagement on a ridiculous level