Brett Ebert

Banhammer Big House Under 70s
Do you think if Brett Ebert had the last name of Wheelbarrow he would ever had been picked up by Pork?

Huge ask to live up to Russells reputation and no one should expect him to, but at this point in time, I dont see a chip of the old block.

Thoughts?

Probably not. Didnt get drafted first time around. Played about 10 SANFL games the next year but displayed a terrible kicking action that saw him grubber about 1 out of every 3 kicks. Many players that had shown heaps more were never drafted so I'd say probably not.

Had he not been picked up by Port I'm sure there would've been 15 other clubs queueing up after his Magarey Medal win though.

Is just about in the last chance saloon these days, but for his sake you'd hope Choco gives him a decent run in the middle before the axe falls.

dyertribe said:
Had he not been picked up by Port I'm sure there would've been 15 other clubs queueing up after his Magarey Medal win though.

Is just about in the last chance saloon these days, but for his sake you'd hope Choco gives him a decent run in the middle before the axe falls.

As he has told me that, I know that Russell would agree with you. He is inwardly very frustrated on this point.

Personally, I think it's one of the rare times that Rusell's judgement is clouded by personal bias, DT. Port were struggling for mid-fielders last year, and still didn't use Ebert in that capacity. They can't be that wrong in their judgement.

I've never rated him very highly as an AFL player, and have only seen him for the fringe player that he has been. IMO he'll be struggling to stay on the list after 2007, unless he pulls a magical rabbit out of the hat.

Tries hard, but ......

He is OK for a bench player but wouldnt make any teams' except Carlton and maybe one or two others' best 18 unless they were really short of forward pockets.

I said on the Reilly Vs Salopek thread that comparisons between those two players were unfair due to lack of continuous gametime by Sal, but a Reilly Vs Ebert thread would be a good one.

Reilly AFC pick 12 in 2001 draft.
Date of Birth: 12 November 1983
Height 183cm
Weight: 81kg
Played mostly in the midfield
44 Games over 4 years

159 Marks (3.6 average)
347 Kicks
184 H/B
531 Possessions (12.1)
16 Goals (0.36)
73 Tackles (1.66)

Ebert overlooked by all teams in 2001, Port pick 42 (F/S) in 2002 draft.
Date of Birth: 18th November 1983
Height 178 cm
Weight: 85
Played mostly as a HFF
33 Games over 3 years

124 Marks (3.76)
252 Kicks
84 H/B
336 Possessions (10.18)
35 Goals (1.06)
36 Tackles (1.09)

dyertribe said:
At the time Port drafted him people were saying that we were wasting a third round pick on him for the sake of it since we could have got him anyway. We used our fourth round pick on Wade Champion.
His Magarey win came in 2003, after he got drafted.

2002 draft
42 Brett Ebert Port Adelaide Port Magpies 2002 NAT
43 Cameron Cloke Collingwood Doncaster 2002 NAT
44 Anthony Corrie Brisbane Nightcliff 2002 NAT
45 Kade Simpson Carlton Eastern Rangers 2002 NAT
46 Leigh Fisher Saint Kilda Sandringham Dragons 2002 NAT
47 Billy Nicholls Richmond Hawthorn 2002 NAT
48 Greg Edgcumbe Fremantle Eastern Rangers 2002 NAT
49 Cameron Wight Western Bulldogs Calder Cannons 2002 NAT
50 John Thewlis Sydney Bendigo Pioneers 2002 NAT
51 Tim Boyle Hawthorn Geelong Falcons 2002 NAT
52 Geelong Pass
53 Adam Selwood West Coast Bendigo Pioneers 2002 NAT
54 Cameron Hunter Melbourne Calder Cannons 2002 NAT
55 Ryan Crowley Fremantle Calder Cannons 2002 NAT
56 Robert Shirley Adelaide Adelaide 2002 NAT
57 Wade Champion Port Adelaide West Adelaide 2002 NAT

Had we used pick 4 on him instead, there are a few decent players we could have picked up with the third round pick.

No, I really don't think they would have picked him up. I think he is over rated.

Winning a Magarey Medal doesn't mean you can play AFL - ie Paul Thomas.

k
xx

*PAF said:
I said on the Reilly Vs Salopek thread that comparisons between those two players were unfair due to lack of continuous gametime by Sal, but a Reilly Vs Ebert thread would be a good one.

Reilly AFC pick 12 in 2001 draft.
Date of Birth: 12 November 1983
Height 183cm
Weight: 81kg
Played mostly in the midfield
44 Games over 4 years

159 Marks (3.6 average)
347 Kicks
184 H/B
531 Possessions (12.1)
16 Goals (0.36)
73 Tackles (1.66)

Ebert overlooked by all teams in 2001, Port pick 42 (F/S) in 2002 draft.
Date of Birth: 18th November 1983
Height 178 cm
Weight: 85
Played mostly as a HFF
33 Games over 3 years

124 Marks (3.76)
252 Kicks
84 H/B
336 Possessions (10.18)
35 Goals (1.06)
36 Tackles (1.09)

Why didn't Port FS him in 2001?

macca23 said:
As he has told me that, I know that Russell would agree with you. He is inwardly very frustrated on this point.

Personally, I think it's one of the rare times that Rusell's judgement is clouded by personal bias, DT. Port were struggling for mid-fielders last year, and still didn't use Ebert in that capacity. They can't be that wrong in their judgement.

I've never rated him very highly as an AFL player, and have only seen him for the fringe player that he has been. IMO he'll be struggling to stay on the list after 2007, unless he pulls a magical rabbit out of the hat.

Tries hard, but ......

If you look at Ports midfield and wing options K Cornes, P Burg, S Burg, Francou, Salpoka, Maybe C Cornes, Cassisi, Pearce and probabaly even Thompson would be a head of him in the pecking order. Unless he can cut it as a small forward things aren't looking good for him.

*PAF said:
At the time Port drafted him people were saying that we were wasting a third round pick on him for the sake of it since we could have got him anyway. We used our fourth round pick on Wade Champion.
His Magarey win came in 2003, after he got drafted.

2002 draft
42 Brett Ebert Port Adelaide Port Magpies 2002 NAT
43 Cameron Cloke Collingwood Doncaster 2002 NAT
44 Anthony Corrie Brisbane Nightcliff 2002 NAT
45 Kade Simpson Carlton Eastern Rangers 2002 NAT
46 Leigh Fisher Saint Kilda Sandringham Dragons 2002 NAT
47 Billy Nicholls Richmond Hawthorn 2002 NAT
48 Greg Edgcumbe Fremantle Eastern Rangers 2002 NAT
49 Cameron Wight Western Bulldogs Calder Cannons 2002 NAT
50 John Thewlis Sydney Bendigo Pioneers 2002 NAT
51 Tim Boyle Hawthorn Geelong Falcons 2002 NAT
52 Geelong Pass
53 Adam Selwood West Coast Bendigo Pioneers 2002 NAT
54 Cameron Hunter Melbourne Calder Cannons 2002 NAT
55 Ryan Crowley Fremantle Calder Cannons 2002 NAT
56 Robert Shirley Adelaide Adelaide 2002 NAT
57 Wade Champion Port Adelaide West Adelaide 2002 NAT

Had we used pick 4 on him instead, there are a few decent players we could have picked up with the third round pick.
He was a reasonable pick at the time that hasn't quite worked out, no more no less.

His name has been a blessing and a curse. People expect a lot which he obviously hasn't delivered, but his name has probably kept him on the list a bit longer so he gets another chance to impress. The clock is ticking though.

Interesting comparison with Reilly. I see they're both November Scorpions - they could both do with a bit of sting in their tail.

SpringChoke said:
Why didn't Port FS him in 2001?
Not sure if he was eligible or just not good enough. It has been said many times that he didn't take his footy seriously till not too long ago.

SpringChoke said:
If you look at Ports midfield and wing options K Cornes, P Burg, S Burg, Francou, Salpoka, Maybe C Cornes, Cassisi, Pearce and probabaly even Thompson would be a head of him in the pecking order. Unless he can cut it as a small forward things aren't looking good for him.
I have only seen a couple of his SANFL games on ABC TV, plus his AFL ones and IMO he is a good accumulator of possessions plus has good vision and a great kick. IMO if he is to make it "biggish to big" in the AFL it will be in the midfield. I would hate for him to be delisted without having been given a decent go in the midfield.

cro_Magnum said:
He was a reasonable pick at the time that hasn't quite worked out, no more no less.
His name has been a blessing and a curse. People expect a lot which he obviously hasn't delivered, but his name has probably kept him on the list a bit longer so he gets another chance to impress. The clock is ticking though.

I disagree, an argument could be made to say that he was a punt plus mostly a psychological boost for our AFL campaign to say that our first F/S was the son of a great Port legend.
He has worked out really well, better than that actually.
Consider him Vs Reilly ( they are "exactly" the same age) and Ebert has developed a lot more from his starting point in 2001 than Reilly has.

He has been kept on the list due to his own merits. He did win a Magarey in 2003 and got a rising star nomination in 2004. Not much more can be asked of a young player's first two years on an AFL list.
Last year was a bit of a downer relative to what what expected of him due to his rapid improvements in 2003 and 2004, but he does have a lot of pressure on him due to possibly unrealistic expectations by some fans. At the end of the day he wasn't drafted in 2001 for whatever reasons, yet some people just about expected him to win the Brownlow last year. Bit unfair to say the least.

*PAF said:
Not sure if he was eligible or just not good enough. It has been said many times that he didn't take his footy seriously till not too long ago.

I have only seen a couple of his SANFL games on ABC TV, plus his AFL ones and IMO he is a good accumulator of possessions plus has good vision and a great kick. IMO if he is to make it "biggish to big" in the AFL it will be in the midfield. I would hate for him to be delisted without having been given a decent go in the midfield.

I disagree, an argument could be made to say that he was a punt plus mostly a psychological boost for our AFL campaign to say that our first F/S was the son of a great Port legend.
He has worked out really well, better than that actually.
Consider him Vs Reilly ( they are "exactly" the same age) and Ebert has developed a lot more from his starting point in 2001 than Reilly has.

He has been kept on the list due to his own merits. He did win a Magarey in 2003 and got a rising star nomination in 2004. Not much more can be asked of a young player's first two years on an AFL list.
Last year was a bit of a downer relative to what what expected of him due to his rapid improvements in 2003 and 2004, but he does have a lot of pressure on him due to possibly unrealistic expectations by some fans. At the end of the day he wasn't drafted in 2001 for whatever reasons, yet some people just about expected him to win the Brownlow last year. Bit unfair to say the least.
You disagree that he was a reasonable 3rd round pick after winning a Magarey at a young age? I think we're rewriting history here.

And he has worked out really well or even better?! Now we're rewriting the present. Even the club insiders (yes I have spoken to a few) don't agree with that. Not saying he won't make it but he has a lot of work to do yet.

cro_Magnum said:
You disagree that he was a reasonable 3rd round pick after winning a Magarey at a young age? I think we're rewriting history here.

And he has worked out really well or even better?! Now we're rewriting the present. Even the club insiders (yes I have spoken to a few) don't agree with that. Not saying he won't make it but he has a lot of work to do yet.
He won the Magarey medal in 2003, the year after he was drafted.

I have not said Ebert is better than Reilly at present or even the other way around. I have also not said that either will or will not star in the AFL.
What I have said is that Ebert 2005 vs Ebert 2001 >> improvement than Reilly 2001 Vs Reilly 2005.
Reilly was a first round draft pick in 2001, Ebert was not.

I have not rewritten any history, just stated some facts. ;)

cro_Magnum said:

Totally agree with you on this one.

Quite frankly he's been bloody ordinary and as I said earlier will struggle to survive past 2007 unless he really improves a lot.

The comparison with Reilly by PAF was an irrelevant one as until 2005, Reilly's main role was a bench player with some time at HBF or wing under Ayres. In 2005 although he was used as an on-baller, he had very limited game time each week - usually the last 10 minutes of each quarter.

Ebert won't be judged by Port against Reilly - rather it'll be against the players nominated by Springy.

Long term, I think he's in trouble.

macca23 said:
Totally agree with you on this one.
Fail to see what history I have rewritten macca. If you can see it, then please explain.
The comparison with Reilly is a far better one than Reilly V Salopek. ;)

EDIT: Here are some sample posts about Ebert from well before the 2002 draft to about draft time.
As I have already said, the opinion at the time was that we didn't need to use a third round pick 3 on him.
For us interstaters that never got to see him play before he joined Port all there was to go by was the opinion of "track watchers" including Macca19, Porthos and ... macca23. :)

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=541035&postcount=2

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=541238&postcount=5

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=638307&postcount=2

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=812407&postcount=4

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=812763&postcount=14

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=858465&postcount=58

macca23 said:
Quite frankly he's been bloody ordinary and as I said earlier will struggle to survive past 2007 unless he really improves a lot.

Actually, he could be in trouble at the end of 2006. If Port, like most clubs, are positioning themselves in the so called Super Draft. You would think they will be looking to retire/delist at least 6-7 at the nd of the year.

2006 Probable retirments:

Wanganeen

2006 Possible Retirements:

Francou,
Wakelin,
Kingsley,
Bishop

Under the spotlight:

Saolpak,
Shattock,
Surjan.
Thustens,
White.
You would think Ebert would be in this group. Even if he has an ordinary orinjury riddled year, Salopak would be the most likely to survive another year. I would also suspect that regardless of form, Wakelin would be offered another year. So that's at least 6-7 delistings from a pool of 9 players. Taking that into account, if he has an ordinary 2006, I would say Eberts head would defintaley be on the chopping block.

SpringChoke said:
Actually, he could be in trouble at the end of 2006. If Port, like most clubs, are positioning themselves in the so called Super Draft. You would think they will be looking to retire/delist at least 6-7 at the nd of the year.

2006 Probable retirments:

Wanganeen

2006 Possible Retirements:

Francou,
Wakelin,
Kingsley,
Bishop

Under the spotlight:

Saolpak,
Shattock,
Surjan.
Thustens,
White.
You would think Ebert would be in this group. Even if he has an ordinary orinjury riddled year, Salopak would be the most likely to survive another year. I would also suspect that regardless of form, Wakelin would be offered another year. So that's at least 6-7 delistings from a pool of 9 players. Taking that into account, if he has an ordinary 2006, I would say Eberts head would defintaley be on the chopping block.
Nothing wrong with your list that I can see, however delistings depend on contracts as well as form.
Not sure about Ebert, but fairly sure Thurstans has one that goes past this year. We can assume that the same goes for Salopek as he has only just re-signed and it would be for longer than just one year.
Kingsley and Bishop would not be retiring but will be in the spotlight if the youngsters fire.

*PAF said:
Nothing wrong with your list that I can see, however delistings depend on contracts as well as form.
Not sure about Ebert, but fairly sure Thurstans has one that goes past this year. We can assume that the same goes for Salopek as he has only just re-signed and it would be for longer than just one year.
Kingsley and Bishop would not be retiring but will be in the spotlight if the youngsters fire.

yeah i'm pretty sure your right. After the 2004 GF win, i'm sure you signed Thurstand to a 4 year contract. That brings the pool down to 8.

Earlier you said that if he is too make it will be as a midfileder not as a small forward. If that's the case, I reckon you can just about put a line through his name now. If all the players I listed are ahead of him in the pecking in order, then the only midfield time he will get will be similat to the way we used Reilly in 2005. Ten minutes here and there makes it pretty hard for a player to impress.

He hasnt been as bad as people make out. He played some ripper games in 2004. Was close to our best player against Geelong (kicked 4 first half goals when we were getting pantsed), led Chris Johnson a merry dance and had a couple of other games you'd class as good as well. Last year less so. Maybe had one or two decent games but the rest were ordinary.

Out of Springys list I'd possibly have him ahead of some of them. S Burgoyne may end up still in defence if no other options arise and I would have him ahead of Pearce and Thomson as well. Possibly Francou too. Quite simply, hes a midfielder and has to be given a go there. No ifs or buts. Otherwise it would have been a complete waste of time him being on our list.

If he is kept as a small forward, I dont think he will be on any AFL list in two years time.

SpringChoke said:
... Earlier you said that if he is too make it will be as a midfileder not as a small forward. If that's the case, I reckon you can just about put a line through his name now. If all the players I listed are ahead of him in the pecking in order, then the only midfield time he will get will be similat to the way we used Reilly in 2005. Ten minutes here and there makes it pretty hard for a player to impress.
I am of pretty much the same opinion as macca19 wrt Ebert.
In 2003 he got no AFL gametime, but made the emergency list a couple of times and won the Magarey medal in the SANFL at 19 years of age. Not much more could be asked of him.
In 2004 he played in the AFL and did all right as a small forward and quite well in some games, including a rising star nomination. Again he did pretty much what could be asked of someone in their first AFL season.
Last year he didn't really move forward on his 2 previously good years.

IMO, and let's remember it is only that as I am no expert, the type of small forward that he can provide is not suited for Port Adelaide atm. Not when we have good tall key position players and good resting ruckman such as Lade. If he is to make it, it needs to be in the midfield.
On a plus, he is a good accumulator of the ball, a tall mark for his size, has strength, can kick accurately and long plus has good vision. However since this is the AFL and he will be competing with players of higher caliber than in the SANFL, he needs to improve in other areas that he hasn't shown as much such as tackling, tenacity to chase opponents even just for the sake of it, stay on his feet after going for marks, plus his fitness base and speed.

Will he make it in the midfield? I really don't know, but he has shown some good attributes and thus deserves to be given a decent go at it. If he can take up where he left off in 2004 wrt improvement, then yes he will not only make it but do well. If not, then at least he had a full blown go at it.

outback jack said:
Hes an average FF they tell me. Now someone tell mark.
I though he was a winger? :confused: :D

*PAF said:
I though he was a winger? :confused: :D

*PAF you are mixing your key forwards up. :D

Honestly if mark keeps him as a 175cm FF with a bung shoulder, his days look numbered. Atleast put him on a wing when warrens resting at CHF and i'm sure he could manage atleast 5 minute rotations a quarter in the middle, so he can atleast show what he can do.