Brian Taylor

• Thread starter Thread starter HBFlanker

I think the issue here is that the television stations are deliberately demanding that commentators exaggerate characteristics. I listened to Dwayne Russell and Brian Taylor on 3AW the other night, and they actually commentated somewhat normally without as much of the cliched crap. Was much better.

Channel seven also do the same with Dennis' one liners to the point where they are forced, and Bruce's awkward banter and 'special'

I don't listen to 7 on Saturday night, they annoy me too much.

But I watched the second half of Suns vs Saints again today, so obviously didn't have a choice.

It defies belief, and actually makes me really angry that we've seen one of the greatest footy master classes of my life time last night - and yet this friggen pinheaded flog of the highest order still thinks it's all about him.

I wish we didn't have a swear filter here, because there's actually no way to properly convey how disgraceful last nights commentary was.

I used to love him back on Triple M, with the "extension of the dukes" etc, but that was more because it was just a pisstake and it was funny listening to on a drive somewhere.
But now on television and actually trying to watch a game, I find him by far the most annoying commentator around.

I used to love him back on Triple M, with the "extension of the dukes" etc, but that was more because it was just a pisstake and it was funny listening to on a drive somewhere.
But now on television and actually trying to watch a game, I find him by far the most annoying commentator around.
nah, he's definitely changed from the MMM days. JB & Lyon would keep him in check by taking the piss when he went too far, Richo's not a strong enough personality to unsettle BT and Darcy is just a flog who doesn't ever be confrontational

I want him to publicly apologise to Mike Pyke for his demeaning and offensive remarks, but i dont want to hold my breath.

He is lucky that Pyke is so ahead of him in the intelligent stakes and is not some stupid dumb bogan playing rules.

Anyway i find this taylor boofhead offensive.

Had no direct interest in the Saints v Suns game and BT rendered it unwatchable. If the AFL and Seven are trying to turn off neutrals/casual fans, they are going about it the right way.

BIG BOY WOWEEEEE

That's what you get the big bucks for...

Agreed about the Triple M point, he had people around him that would rope him in when he went too far. Now on 7 he thinks he is King dick and Richo is too nice a guy to just flatly tell him to STFU. The whole stupid thing about BT watching some movie at the drive-in before Richo was born or someshit, shut up you idiot.

pretty sure he managed to call aaron hall "rowe" and "ray"
Ah, so my ears don't deceive me. That was ridiculous, confused the hell out of me for a good 10 minutes before I had to search who #33 was for GC. I thought there was a guernsey change during the off-season or something.

I think the issue here is that the television stations are deliberately demanding that commentators exaggerate characteristics. I listened to Dwayne Russell and Brian Taylor on 3AW the other night, and they actually commentated somewhat normally without as much of the cliched crap. Was much better.

Channel seven also do the same with Dennis' one liners to the point where they are forced, and Bruce's awkward banter and 'special'
hahahaha Bruce's banter. Christ, you can tell he really creams those moments. How much did he love flaunting around his knowledge of Mark Blicavs' history in the monday game.

Haha, came to post this myself.

Its not a good sign where the first 5 seconds of the parody part sounds just like his actual commentating.

Yeah, I was more like 15 seconds in before I realised...

Congrats to the Herald-Sun the other day for highlighting the crap commentary of BT on saturday night.They mentioned the bit where him and Richo [Dumb & Dumber] bitched and moaned for a minute or two about the ump giving a 50,yet he went back nearly 100.Had they shut their yaps they would've heard what the audience heard - the ump gave a 2nd 50 for some lip a StKilda player gave.

As for "Big Boy" - STFU BT.

Always say i'm going to do it, but never usually do, but can assure you all that tonight I'll be watching the game with the sound down and the radio on. Taylor by far the worst i've ever heard (not helped on Saturdays by Darcy either......)

I dunno why more people don't do this - if you have a digital radio you can pause it to sync with TV.

most digital televisions, and certainly IQ will pause so you can sync with the delay on the web stream/tune-in radio if that's how you access the audio.

i've been doing this for a year. I don't understand why so many people put up with Taylor when it's so easy! I'm more than happy to watch on a 10 second delay so I don't have to listen to him!

the unfortunate reality though is that if there's more than one thing on that I want to watch eg. the 2nd game, A league, NRL... well, invariably the Ch 7 game just doesn't get watched...

Watching the Melbourne v Essendon game from last year.

Bloody hell! Even worse than Big Boy Mcevoy's Saiints v the Master Blaster's Suns of last week.

I've now decided if he is commentating a game, I am not watching it. Would struggle to watch a Hawks game even.

I managed to come up with this:
briantaylorbingo.png

I'm sure there's more stuff he says and does than this.