ToroHombre

Green Bay Packers
Did any of you Cat fans notice Bruce McAvaney refer to Ryan Gamble as "playing his first game"? Because I am 99% certain that it is his second. Confirmation?

It his second, didn't hear Bruce say it but Bucks definitely did. Having said that...hardly a 'glaring' error, especially compared to the pearlers Michael Voss was pulling out on Channel 10.

I've got the volume down and am listening to K-Rock. Had to laugh at Anthony Mithen's line after the ferals gave Bartel a bronx cheer when he kicked it out on the full.

"He won a couple of medals last year Port fans. Maybe he'll let you polish them for him after the game." :p

Bruce,Dennis and Bucks all mentioned it was his debut game.It was only just before 1/4 time Bruce picked up on the mistake.He debuted in Rd22 2006.He replaced Peter Riccardi in the team and jumper number [the previous week he wore #34 in the VFL]

Yeah, commentary was very rusty. I reckon Bruce mentioned Ebert kicked 38? goals "last week" instead of "last year"....which I thought was a pretty impressive showing.

I thought Bruce was CLEVER.

Bucks was also CLEVER.

Dennis, he was CLEVER.

Tim Watson was SPECIAL.

These are the only two adjectives I know.

As Andrew Startin said today (and yes, it was really him, I saw him with my own eyes) Bruce is obliged to use CLEVER 16 times a quarter, it's like the interchange limit set for the NAB cup.

I did not miss 7. They are still rubbish.

I near vomited my pizza when I saw FIGJAM there. Surprisingly, he was OK. Dennis was his usual OK commentary and descent into sometimes pidgeon English where all sense disappeared.

Olerenshaw (spelling?) sounded like a Corio bogan talking to his drunk mum.

I've got the volume down and am listening to K-Rock. Had to laugh at Anthony Mithen's line after the ferals gave Bartel a bronx cheer when he kicked it out on the full.

"He won a couple of medals last year Port fans. Maybe he'll let you polish them for him after the game." :p

Absolute gold!

"JIMMY, JIMMY, ERM... YOU'VE WON JIMMY, i THINK IF-UH JIMMY CONGRATULATIONS... CAN YOU HEAR ME JIMMY? (embarrassed/nervous response) ER JIMMY I WON'T HOLD YOU FOR LONG BUT WE'LL GET YOU UP HERE IN A MOMENT BUT FROM ALL OF US CONGRATULATIONS... WELL DONE AND MATE YOU CAN SIT OUT THE LAST TWO ROUNDS AS YOU DID IN THE HOME AND AWAY SEASON... A MIGHTY JOB, JIMMY"

McAvaney is a total muppet.

At least Bucks got it right when he said Gamble is very good defensively. Terrific tackler and very hard at it.

Despite him being a former Collingwood player, I thought Bucks did a great job as special comments man. Better than most of the recent additions I can think of.

I agree; he has a rare insight into the game being a recent retiree and can string more than 2 words together.
Classic comment on the umpires........"they are trigger happy tonight":thumbsu:

only thing worse than the ubiquitous bruceism is a boganish schwartzism.

I can ignore a boganish schwartzism because everybody else does, but there are some (SOME) out there in the community who regard McAvaney as being a credible/respected voice in sports broadcasting, hence his ubiquitous bruceisms grating more on the nerves. I mean really, was he dared to use 'Jimmy' 7 times in the one verbal exchange?

PS: muppets WERE awesome, but unfortunately pop culture has perverted their sanctity.

yeah, bruce and co arent great but neither is the channel 10 lineup.

and channel 9's team of eddie, dennis, dermie and lyon were not the greatest either.

maybe footy just isnt meant for tv commentating, especially since we are already viewing the images.

yeah, bruce and co arent great but neither is the channel 10 lineup.

and channel 9's team of eddie, dennis, dermie and lyon were not the greatest either.

maybe footy just isnt meant for tv commentating, especially since we are already viewing the images.

well, i think it would be a lil better if they just said what happens as it happens, not all this chit chat to fill in the time, sadly i think Clinton was the only one who was going to change this..............:(

9 had Dermie and Lyon both equally painful, 10 have Voss and had Silvahgni which was awful recruits and 7 have Ox. Enough said, there all as bad as each other, no point going on about it