Bruce Springsteen

Yeh i was there. thats not the sign bruce got. It was black writing on white paper and it said something like 'jungleland please jake' with the j done as a saxamaphone

Well done, it was a tough sign to decipher from the seats, even up from up close. By that stage of the night, the sign was was pretty ordinary condition.

With the opening bar of Jungleland, my 9 year old son and I went completely mental...and I then realised that we were the only people around us who actually knew the song. The people behind us sat down again.

Last night was unforgettable. To sit beside my little boy and watch just how stoked he was to be there and how much he was into it made me just so happy.

Nothing wrong with that at all. Each show is a work of art and all of us would be satisfied by just one show. Some of us are gluttons or would like to be obviously.

I'm fortunate in that I saw the Born In the USA tour and so it didn't matter as much that I didn't hear favourites like Bobby Jean, Cover Me, Darlington County etc, as he did them all back then. He also did The River, Racing in the Street, Out in the Street, The Promised Land, which he didn't do at my show this time around. Probably just Downbound Train and No Surrender that I really wanted to hear that I haven't heard yet.

Could not agree more. Set lists are almost irrelevant to me in the context of these shows. These aren't just concerts they are celebrations of the career of The Boss. They are entertainment experiences right up there with the best you have seen in any entertainment arena, not just music. This is Bruce giving to his Australian fans a sample of the career that has so enraptured us all. Hits, lost classics, great album songs. I was delirious with joy at my concert and I have been thrilled for all Bruce fans when I see their set lists - they are getting to experience great songs just as I was able to experience great songs in an emotional experience that can't be described in words. There are great songs at every concert and they are all elevated into another stratosphere - the magnificent Bruciverse - by the magic of The Boss and the E Street Band (and backing sections). I would have loved to get to another concert just to experience a wider range of songs but could one transcendental experience be better than another in the context of the Bruce Experience? For me, no way.

Still on a massive high. I've spent a fortune with more to come but I DON'T CARE. This is once in a lifetime stuff. Over the moon!

My voice seems to have finally given out though. At least I get a couple of day's rest before Hanging Rock!

I am alive. Just. I had 5 hours sleep yesterday. Went to bed at 1 Wednesday morning and woke up at 6.15. Got to RLA at 7.45 and got home at 12.50 this morning. It's been a long couple of days.

Tuesday night was brilliant. The lights came on earlier and the people around me and myself thought it would be Badlands or LOHAD, and he ripped straight into Badlands. Brutal. Crowd were much better than Sunday. Everybody didn't seem to stop. I was three from the front in front of Morello. Just incredible. Have some epic photos which I will share. Was next to the girl who had the Cadillac Ranch sign and was also a red head so Bruce pointed at her during RHW too. Downbound Train was ****ing intense and I was rapt to hear it (@DrVanNostrand :D). Spirit again was fun.

City is special. Having missed it on Sunday I was moved during it. The "are we missing anybody" bit is outstanding. And the way he can bring a room of 15,000 people to silence is amazing. Shuffle is a lot fun, Thunder Road was magical and Rosie was woweeeeeeeeeeee......

I am alive. Just. I had 5 hours sleep yesterday. Went to bed at 1 Wednesday morning and woke up at 6.15. Got to RLA at 7.45 and got home at 12.50 this morning. It's been a long couple of days.

Tuesday night was brilliant. The lights came on earlier and the people around me and myself thought it would be Badlands or LOHAD, and he ripped straight into Badlands. Brutal. Crowd were much better than Sunday. Everybody didn't seem to stop. I was three from the front in front of Morello. Just incredible. Have some epic photos which I will share. Was next to the girl who had the Cadillac Ranch sign and was also a red head so Bruce pointed at her during RHW too. Downbound Train was ******* intense and I was rapt to hear it (@DrVanNostrand :D). Spirit again was fun.

City is special. Having missed it on Sunday I was moved during it. The "are we missing anybody" bit is outstanding. And the way he can bring a room of 15,000 people to silence is amazing. Shuffle is a lot fun, Thunder Road was magical and Rosie was woweeeeeeeeeeee......

Yeh and that moment in 10th ave brings tears to your eyes...

But Wednesday is where it all began. Got number 91. I have made good friends with the Americans who run the line. It is a fair way to do things IMO and it does work well. And you end up with a good spot anyway, even if you aren't in the top 200. They have been to about 350 shows.... each. There is another guy who is around the 600 mark. Been going since 1978. I know quite a few of the other regulars too who have gone to the Australian shows. The Asian guy who is always near the front, Victor, is an absolute ripper of a bloke. Absolute champion. RussellEbertHandball, I saw the Italian couple and spoke a little Italian to the guy, but he said something back like he was talking in fast forward and I didn't know what he said so we went back to English :D

Being number 91 I thought I'd be maybe three back from Morello (I was on the same side on Tuesday and that's where I was), so I thought it was a decent spot. I wound up one person away from the left of centre platform. Opening with Long Walk Home was great. Knew it would be something different when he walked out with that guitar - he doesn't use it much. A great way to start to the show. Radio Nowhere was brutal and all us guys in the pit were going absolutely mental. Finally glad to see My Love, it soared. All of us again in the pit went mental. I was rocking it with the Asian guy, Victor, and it was nuts. Got a touch during Out In The Street

Lost In The Flood is something that you need to experience yourself to understand how intense it is. People have been asking for it at all three shows and I know a lot of people who have wanted it. It was absolutely amazing. Just aboslutely shit hot. I was standing beside Nancy, an American woman who has been out here from the States for 10 years (She wore a black Greasy Lake t-shirt so people have probably seen her), and she thought it was brilliant too. Also is a 53 show veteran or something. Crazy. All of it was just brutal, so glad to say I have experienced that live. Absolutely sensational.

Youngstown is on the same level and that was intense too. Knew he was gonna play it from the guitar he was using. The guy in front of me wanted to hear it and I told him it was gonna be Youngstown and him, and Victor were shocked when I was right. It was ****ing nuts. Absolutely brutal. Going by the setlist, you could tell it was a vicious show. I thought there might be hope in hearing Jungleland.

Talking about brutal, going from Candy's Room to Youngstown into Murder was just insane. Candy was nuts, you can feel the tension rise, then it gets even higher when you get to Youngstown and by the time you're at Murder, you're wondering how you're still alive. Murder was a highlight for me. The sheer power it reaches is mind blowing. Morello was brutal and gave his guitar absolutely no chance. Bruce's vocals kicked a.ss, and that shriek he does during the last line was ****ing sick. Just absolutely shit hot double shot. Was brilliant.

I'm Goin' Down was a request and I was beside the two girls on night two who requested. They also danced with him on stage in Europe. Was great to hear it. Touched his leg during that too when he came out and played at the centre part. Love that song and it was just so much fun. Everyone was going nuts.

The Rising is a standout at every show. Perfection. While I am not a fan of Joad, I cannot fault it. The conviction Morello gives to the song both playing and singing is exceptional. He adds so much to it, and it is brilliant to see it all unfold each night, even though you know what is going to happen.

Then came literally, and I mean this in all aspects of the word, the greatest moment of my entire life. He pulled out a sign that said Jungleland Jake or something. I thought he did say this is for Iain too, but I am not sure. He didn't take my sign but I know he did see it over the three nights, last night and Tuesday especially. So I have no idea if he actually said Iain or not, or if he was talking about someone else, I don't know. He did his food bank speech and once Roy hit those opening chords I bawled my eyes out for the first two verses while trying to sing at the same time. If you haven't seen this, you can't understand what it is like to witness. No matter how much I try I will never do it justice. Screaming DOWN IN JUNGLELAND with 15,000 other people is utterly and truly amazing. The whole song is flawless. The writing, the music, the passion, the delivery, all of it, flawless. Seeing Jake hit that solo was one of the greatest things in my life. You just know Clarence was looking down on him loud and proud. Like I said, I can't do it justice.

Straight into BToR and I looked at the crowd to see everyone up with the lights on. Perfect. Dancing, into 10th and then finishing with American Land and 27 songs later, I knew what I just saw, nothing will ever top it. Ever.

This is from night two,

I am to the very left of the picture. The lady with the white cap on the left, I am behind her in the grey t shirt with the B on it. Also made friends with the lady who danced with him on Tuesday. She's from San Diego.

559063_10200230039666879_1679137603_n.jpg

Tuesday night was brilliant. The lights came on earlier and the people around me and myself thought it would be Badlands or LOHAD, and he ripped straight into Badlands. Brutal. Crowd were much better than Sunday. Everybody didn't seem to stop. I was three from the front in front of Morello. Just incredible. Have some epic photos which I will share. Was next to the girl who had the Cadillac Ranch sign and was also a red head so Bruce pointed at her during RHW too. Downbound Train was ******* intense and I was rapt to hear it (@DrVanNostrand :D). Spirit again was fun.

IMHO, the way he walked out and told everybody to stand up straight away on Tuesday night had a lot to do with the crowd being "into it" from the start (also playing Badlands as the opening doesn't hurt either!) It was a brilliant ploy and I was surprised that he didn't do it again last night.

I'll post my full report of the three shows when I get back home tonight.

This is from night two,

I am to the very left of the picture. The lady with the white cap on the left, I am behind her in the grey t shirt with the B on it. Also made friends with the lady who danced with him on Tuesday. She's from San Diego.

Haha I'm in it! See the guy in the red shirt just to the left of the mic giving it the devil horns? Boo ya!

This is from night two,

Well, if you look back above your head about 5 cm, you can see me in the shadowy part..

...hmm, maybe not, but thats where I was sitting.

I'm Goin Down (one person between me and Bruce)

253729_10151597876850992_122954207_n.jpg

I can see my hat in this shot haha, the white thing just to the left of the mic stand at crowd level. We must have been about 6-7 metres apart all night Cruyff. Come say g'day on Saturday when you see a guy holding a "Let's Be Friends Mates (Skin to Skin)" sign. Bring it on, haters. :thumbsu: Planning on "Kingdom of Days" on the reverse side. Will post pics of my last-minute Murder Inc job sometime tonight.

And he certainly said "Ian" when introducing Jungleland, someone has had a word to someone important IMO if you've had that many mates in the queues.

Sooooooooo jealous. :mad: Loved getting Flood and Youngstown last night, a fair swap.

I haven't seen any footage of shows between the 14th and 27th, but last night he wandered through the crowd 2-3 times when it was probably 6-7 on the 14th. Has this been a declining trend?

I can see my hat in this shot haha, the white thing just to the left of the mic stand at crowd level. We must have been about 6-7 metres apart all night Cruyff. Come say g'day on Saturday when you see a guy holding a "Let's Be Friends Mates (Skin to Skin)" sign. Bring it on, haters. :thumbsu: Planning on "Kingdom of Days" on the reverse side. Will post pics of my last-minute Murder Inc job sometime tonight.

And he certainly said "Ian" when introducing Jungleland, someone has had a word to someone important IMO if you've had that many mates in the queues.
Honestly, Let's Be Friends is a waste on your sign. He has played it once live and I doubt he'll ever play it again. We won't get any songs that need Stevie either IE Loose Ends, Two Hearts and things like that.

I don't know, it sounded like it but maybe it was someone else. The guys who run the line who spoke to a fair bit haven't met him I think. I know they know Tom, the line guy though.

Sooooooooo jealous. :mad: Loved getting Flood and Youngstown last night, a fair swap.

I haven't seen any footage of shows between the 14th and 27th, but last night he wandered through the crowd 2-3 times when it was probably 6-7 on the 14th. Has this been a declining trend?
Well put it this way, Lost is one of the best songs I saw over the three shows so far. Absolutely brilliant. And one of the Americans said for him it was the best show since he played Fenway Park in Boston last year.

This was the best of the three shows for me too. Youngstown was brilliant too.

He went into the crowd heaps on Tuesday. Last night he didn't really play songs that allowed him to wander much. Can't exactly do much when you're dominating your axe on Murder Inc, Flood or Youngstown.

Honestly, Let's Be Friends is a waste on your sign. He has played it once live and I doubt he'll ever play it again. We won't get any songs that need Stevie either IE Loose Ends, Two Hearts and things like that.

I don't know, it sounded like it but maybe it was someone else. The guys who run the line who spoke to a fair bit haven't met him I think. I know they know Tom, the line guy though.

Well put it this way, Lost is one of the best songs I saw over the three shows so far. Absolutely brilliant. And one of the Americans said for him it was the best show since he played Fenway Park in Boston last year.

This was the best of the three shows for me too. Youngstown was brilliant too.

He went into the crowd heaps on Tuesday. Last night he didn't really play songs that allowed him to wander much. Can't exactly do much when you're dominating your axe on Murder Inc, Flood or Youngstown.

Haha, I know that. And he probably wouldn't have a clue how to play Kingdom of Days either, but that's how out there I am. :eek: Beats seeing shit like Cadillac Ranch on a sign.

Where has Rocky Ground disappeared to? :( Might have to give it a run after all.

Should read this as well, was talking to the guy that writes it

http://parramattayankee.blogspot.com.au/

That's a good blog. He was 101, were you 91 on Wednesday??

Haha like this shot. Saw this woman twice in Sydney and spoke to her on the 3rd show as we lined up I was next to her but on other side of the rope of 2 lines. She has a European accent. She wears the same white style top and has Bruce written above her chest at every show. Have noticed her in all 3 Melbourne photos the roadies take before the show, as well as her friend with strawberry blonde hair. I'm sure Bruce has noticed her

SpringsteenTour_6_035.jpg

Haha, I know that. And he probably wouldn't have a clue how to play Kingdom of Days either, but that's how out there I am. :eek: Beats seeing shit like Cadillac Ranch on a sign.

Where has Rocky Ground disappeared to? :( Might have to give it a run after all.
I didn't know Cadillac Ranch or Red Headed Woman that well, but they were fun. Wouldn't complain if I didn't hear them. But Let's Be Friends sounds rubbish live too, and like I said, a waste.

Don't care if I don't hear Rocky Ground. I thought We Are Alive was kinda boring the other night too, I mean it was okay, but I would have preferred something else.

That's a good blog. He was 101, were you 91 on Wednesday??

Haha like this shot. Saw this woman twice in Sydney and spoke to her on the 3rd show as we lined up I was next to her but on other side of the rope of 2 lines. She has a European accent. She wears the same white style top and has Bruce written above her chest at every show. Have noticed her in all 3 Melbourne photos the roadies take before the show, as well as her friend with strawberry blonde hair. I'm sure Bruce has noticed her

SpringsteenTour_6_035.jpg
Yeah, 91 yesterday. I was surprised how close I got.

I have her friend on FB, Teresa. She is the girl who went backstage with Bruce in Sydney.

I didn't know Cadillac Ranch or Red Headed Woman that well, but they were fun. Wouldn't complain if I didn't hear them. But Let's Be Friends sounds rubbish live too, and like I said, a waste.

Don't care if I don't hear Rocky Ground. I thought We Are Alive was kinda boring the other night too, I mean it was okay, but I would have preferred something else.

Has to play Rocky Ground at Hanging Rock surely - there's a sign theme idea. Will have to fluke finding another newsagent here tomorrow.

Bruce Springsteen