Bruise-free footy

Re: Bruise free footy

Awww u gotta be kidding me Marns!! He set me up a treat and got rolled like an Eddie Betts cigarette- you can't delete that!! :(
You may be right Demon, but reports of very early Sunday mornings are usually pretty sketchy ways to put together a character profile on someone.

Besides, the thread is focussed on what he said about the Dees, and to be perfectly honest, he's probably not too far off the ball.

I reckon that's a myth -- he was awarded one free kick on the night and gave away a free when he was pinged for holding the ball. That's hardly getting an armchair ride from the umpires. :confused:
This is comedy gold! Explain the umpire telling us that Judd only has to attempt to handball it. It was a free kick that should of been paid and would of been paid if it wasn't Judd. It was at a point when the game was still up for grabs, when he got probably the first free kick against him ever it was when the game was well and truely over.

Wish the comments had occurred a week later as the Dees should come out firing against us this week.

We should come out firing, but I wouldn't be too worried, there is only so much fire we can bring. I think I remember a game last year, possibly against Collingwood when you guys brought everything you had for about a quarter, but by the end of the match you were belted.

We were trampled by about 10 and 16 goals respectively in our two games against the Pies last season and did not show any fight in any of the 8 quarters.

gee wiz, were a pathetic club with bailey the non winner, stynes needs to show some balls and cut this loser, what a ****ing joke, they will be lucky to have 30,000 members next year, Dean Failey is the worst influence on this club in the last 35yrs, show some nuts jimmy and piss this loser off.

I am embarrassed by our reaction to be honest and actually highlights the point that we are soft. Bloody get on with it, use it as a driving force to change perception and harden up. There is a culture of whining, sooking and sense of entitlement at our club that I have never liked. Even early in the century when we had good sides they were bloody soft. Mentally and physically. How many times did we crash late in the season and go out of the finals with a whimper. Perception is often reality and in our case I believe it is spot on.

I find it ironic that the football club are so offended and insulted by the assertion they are soft.
Simply put:
1. bitching and moaning about it in the press only, from my perspective, highlight the fact that we are soft.
2. The carlton blokes were right and for much of the year (including when injuries were not an excuse) we have played very "sociable' football. who cares who said it or what was said it. Do something about it.
3. It is hard to be disrespected when you dont have a lot of respect to begin with. If you want respect it has to be earn't. When we win games and play a tough uncompromising brand of football we will get the respect we crave.

Maybe Connolly, if we play a brand of football and develop a winning culture that earns respect, we will actually bloody get it

gee wiz, were a pathetic club with bailey the non winner, stynes needs to show some balls and cut this loser, what a ****ing joke, they will be lucky to have 30,000 members next year, Dean Failey is the worst influence on this club in the last 35yrs, show some nuts jimmy and piss this loser off.

100% agree, Jimmy has done a lot for this club, but everything he has done Bailey is destroying it, stand up jym and **** him off

remember a while back when the lads stood around jimmys old NO 37 jumper before the game, what happen the following week, nothing will change until we get rid of our mentally weak insipid non winning losing pathetic COACH.

Not a fan of Robinson but the comments are correct. It's our image now and the only way to change it is to come out and smash Essendon Friday with tough footy.

Seriously, what a media beat up this story is, seriously the media are struggling if this makes the paper, as Ratten said he was annoyed that the Dees were able to play footy on their terms in the first mth with a lot of uncontested football

I hope they double the amount of contested work they do at training for the rest of the season. I don't give a shit if players get injured and have to miss games because of an increased intensity at training. Obviously at the moment our training drills are directed around a soft, outside brand of footy and it clearly isn't working.

Pair them up, throw the ball out the front and make them compete in front of the rest of the playing group. It's not ****ing rocket science.

The one time we had an increased focus on competitive work at training we come out and smash Adelaide. You'd think that result would encourage more of the same...

personally im wrapped robinson and armfield said what they said, they are spot on, our club is soft, our players are soft, our coaches are soft, and im almost ashamed to support this rabble at the minute.. i would love to see dean bailey himself from the media and personally say.. hey carlton.. were gona be waiting for you in round 20, but not only that.. but bailey needs to start ripping into players during the game, robinson was spot on, we play a low intensity, 'pretty' style of footy.. and so many players dont get there hands dirty when the games on the line
jurrah, petterd, green, jetta, davey, bennel, newton, gysberts etc etc etc etc , lets hope they draw a line in the sand this week against essendon... and then stick to it for the rest of their careers.. when was the last time a melbourne side physicaly intimadated another side... pathetic

For those wanting Bailey out who do you see as a good replacement.

Must say I was pissed off he started the game with a loose man in defence.

Not a fan of Robinson but the comments are correct. It's our image now and the only way to change it is to come out and smash Essendon Friday with tough footy.
its been our image for 35 yrs, i see aussie gone home for an extended period, thats how he plays as well, im sorry for his loss but its time he was delisted and they upgrade a young man that desperately wants to play AFL, it seems to be a nice soft job at the MFC, and the supporters are the people that get laughed at, if you dont want to be there during the season GOOD BYE.

I am embarrassed by our reaction to be honest and actually highlights the point that we are soft. Bloody get on with it, use it as a driving force to change perception and harden up. There is a culture of whining, sooking and sense of entitlement at our club that I have never liked. Even early in the century when we had good sides they were bloody soft. Mentally and physically. How many times did we crash late in the season and go out of the finals with a whimper. Perception is often reality and in our case I believe it is spot on.

I find it ironic that the football club are so offended and insulted by the assertion they are soft.
Simply put:
1. bitching and moaning about it in the press only, from my perspective, highlight the fact that we are soft.
2. The carlton blokes were right and for much of the year (including when injuries were not an excuse) we have played very "sociable' football. who cares who said it or what was said it. Do something about it.
3. It is hard to be disrespected when you dont have a lot of respect to begin with. If you want respect it has to be earn't. When we win games and play a tough uncompromising brand of football we will get the respect we crave.

Maybe Connolly, if we play a brand of football and develop a winning culture that earns respect, we will actually bloody get it

Took the words out of my mouth...

Well said sir :thumbsu:

personally im wrapped robinson and armfield said what they said, they are spot on, our club is soft, our players are soft, our coaches are soft, and im almost ashamed to support this rabble at the minute.. i would love to see dean bailey himself from the media and personally say.. hey carlton.. were gona be waiting for you in round 20, but not only that.. but bailey needs to start ripping into players during the game, robinson was spot on, we play a low intensity, 'pretty' style of footy.. and so many players dont get there hands dirty when the games on the line
jurrah, petterd, green, jetta, davey, bennel, newton, gysberts etc etc etc etc , lets hope they draw a line in the sand this week against essendon... and then stick to it for the rest of their careers.. when was the last time a melbourne side physicaly intimadated another side... pathetic

Not much wrong with your post - except putting Gysberts in the same basket at the others

One of our few that puts his head over the ball consistently

Took the words out of my mouth...

Well said sir :thumbsu:

Yep, what he said summed it up

Fact is, we've been beaten up by the strong sides of the day for decades now

through the 90s we always got beaten up by Essendon, culminating in the 2000 GF

Through the 2000s, Brisbane beat up a lot of other teams with their physicallity, but always seemed to completely smash Melbourne physically

We're the physical teams whipping boy, and I've had enough of it

It is simple.

Clear out the hacks and get a new coach.

Green has a lot to do if he wants to stay on as captain for next year.

FWIW I think we're a small chance against Essendon if Watson doesn't play, I have no idea on his injury status though.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I think it was initially a two-weeker (meaning he'd be out for the game against us).

Yep Watson is listed as another 1-2 weeks as from today. Hopefully they drop Paddy Ryder too

ESSENDON
INJURED:
Michael Hurley (calf/foot) 1 week
Andrew Welsh (calf) 1 week
Jobe Watson (hamstring) 1-2 weeks
Scott Gumbleton (hamstring) indefinite
Anthony Long (hamstring) indefinite
Courtenay Dempsey (knee) season
Jason Winderlich (knee) season

It is simple.

Clear out the hacks and get a new coach.

Green has a lot to do if he wants to stay on as captain for next year.

That's the thing DM, I think we actually have a talent laden list. Our issue is cultural...our players live in an environment where they are reverred and molly coddled instead of taught to be tough and resilient. Travis Johnson said he couldn't believe the level of discipline at the Lions compared to the Dees. Why didn't that ring alarm bells? I have met Bailey but I wouldn't say I know him personally but he appears to me to be the type of bloke that really knows how to talk the talk and bring people around to his way of thinking but he doesn't appear to be someone that is a natural leader who demands respect. The players don't appear to be playing for him at the minute either which is a worry. They seem to be going through the motions so they 'appear' to be doing the right thing but their lack of intent and desperation to win that pill at any cost is blindingly apparent to anyone that watches them play regularly.

What we need is to change the culture and I think that starts with changing the coach and bringing in a proven experienced hard nut coach. Malthouse would be perfect but the questions seem to be whether he wants to help us, whether he contractually is able to help us and whether we could afford to have him and his crew help us. There doesn't appear to be many other suitable options at the minute...

I also think the club needs to conduct an external review of its culture by an independent third party who can provide professional advice on issues that are apparent and mechanisms that can be put in place to ensure that when we bring in a talented youngster that we don't turn him into a marshmellow like we have done for so many years now. We need advice on how we can change the culture in the club so the players have discipline, understand their role and will put their body on the line for the club week in and week out.

I don't think we can point the finger solely at the players in circumstances where the environment at the club is the main cause of their bruise free attitudes....

Watson and Hurley should be back this week.

As for our 'soft' brand of football. It comes down to a number of factors that has lingered around at our club for far too long. Recruiting, coaching and lazy players.

Recruiting because for too long we have recruited 'nice' guys instead of tough uncompromising footballers. I sound like a broken record, but we should have Darling at our club instead of Cook. That's just one example. We have also recruited far too many skinny kids. Kids who will take years to put on enough muscle to compete. In the meantime, there scrawny bodies get smashed at contests and get used to being the bullied, instead of the bully.

Coaching because our coaches are also 'soft' on the playing group. For too long our so called 'stars' have had an easy ride at this club. Yze, Johnstone, White, Davey, Green, Bruce and many others are excused for poor performances. Soft because Bailey refuses to make them do a forward press. We are the only club not doing it. Why???

Lazy players have plagued our club for too long and the plague continues with Sylvia, Moloney, Davey all the way down to Maric, Bate, Jurrah, Bennell and co. It's an easy ride at the MFC because we don't demand the spotlight like the bigger clubs. It's an easy paycheck. For decades our players are happy to run one way but not the other. We have always been the easiest club to score against, or get possessions against, because our players are lazy and soft.

Good on Robinson for speaking out loud what everyone knows anyway. It's time for the recruiters, coaches and players to turn this culture around. We as supporters are fed up with this soft tag. We can't turn it around in a short amount of time, but we can surely make this week as a starting point. Lets just call it a reality check we needed to have. It's not how we respond this week, it's how we respond over the next 5 or more years. It starts now...