koutamarto

LA Lakers
Did any 1 else think this was just about the best game he has played for the club.

He got a start in the centre which must have been a real confidence boost.
At one stage he seemed to be playing a lone hand. He is finally looking comfortable playing at this level.

The 2 things that stood out the most were
1. I think it was in the 3rd in the D50 when a few of our more untalented footballers we fumbling around falling over 1 another trying to pick the ball up and gibbs ran in with intent scooped it up and bolted odd with a few bounces. I have never really seen this sort intent from him b4 normally he goes into his shell and looks for a handpass.

2. Was the 1st or 2nd qtr he got the ball jammed up against the boundary line on the wing. he kicked the ba;; a good 40-45 mtrs and hit someone lace out.

I am now starting to see the poise and polish he has and cant wait for him top fully develop.

He was fairly good yesterday, but it definitely wasn't his best game for the club. He has been in very good form over the last month and I think his last 2 games against Port and Collingwood were both better than yesterday.

He's starting to really come on, and will be a gem of a player sooner rather than later.

Thought he did a few nice things yesterday but didn't seem to stand out to me. There have been times when I have really noticed his polish but think he needs to start getting a bit more of the ball - I guess he did that a bit yesterday and some more midfield roles would help.
A collingwood supporter friend of mine tells me Gibbs has been copping heaps about his lack of willingness to put his body on the line and that he is very soft.
I haven't noticed that at all and reckon he goes hard enough at it - any thoughts?

Thought he did a few nice things yesterday but didn't seem to stand out to me. There have been times when I have really noticed his polish but think he needs to start getting a bit more of the ball - I guess he did that a bit yesterday and some more midfield roles would help.
A collingwood supporter friend of mine tells me Gibbs has been copping heaps about his lack of willingness to put his body on the line and that he is very soft.
I haven't noticed that at all and reckon he goes hard enough at it - any thoughts?

His disposal is awesome just as soon has he gets a bit more of the footy he will be very damaging. He seemed to be a bit quicker yesterday.

Yes they call him squibs i heard it yesterday and last week. I have seen on occassion that he lifts is head sometimes around contests instead of keeping his head over the ball but i wouldnt call him soft.

His disposal is awesome just as soon has he gets a bit more of the footy he will be very damaging. He seemed to be a bit quicker yesterday.

Yes they call him squibs i heard it yesterday and last week. I have seen on occassion that he lifts is head sometimes around contests instead of keeping his head over the ball but i wouldnt call him soft.

I noticed that too, seemed to be playing with a bit more urgency and intensity.

Did any 1 else think this was just about the best game he has played for the club.

He got a start in the centre which must have been a real confidence boost.
At one stage he seemed to be playing a lone hand. He is finally looking comfortable playing at this level.

The 2 things that stood out the most were
1. I think it was in the 3rd in the D50 when a few of our more untalented footballers we fumbling around falling over 1 another trying to pick the ball up and gibbs ran in with intent scooped it up and bolted odd with a few bounces. I have never really seen this sort intent from him b4 normally he goes into his shell and looks for a handpass.

2. Was the 1st or 2nd qtr he got the ball jammed up against the boundary line on the wing. he kicked the ba;; a good 40-45 mtrs and hit someone lace out.

I am now starting to see the poise and polish he has and cant wait for him top fully develop.

Obviously you don't watch your own team play much?

He has played about 4 better games this season alone.

For me that was the most consistent four qtr effort from Bryce so far. He was in to help out in the backline when need be and delivered the ball into the forward line better than anyone else.

Really liked his game yesterday, definitely was in our best, and may have been one of the best on the field if he had slotted that goal and we had one.

i thought for the first 3 quarters he was our best player. has a ridiculous amount of poise for a 19-year old, he just belongs out there.

Yeah god he just looks so poised out there. Love the way he looks as if he has miles of space, always a sign of a quality player.

IMO it was the best attacking game he has played for us (although I haven't seen the replay yet).

He may have played better games for us when his primary role was nullifying the opposition's number one ball winner/playmaker.

IMO it was the best attacking game he has played for us (although I haven't seen the replay yet).

He may have played better games for us when his primary role was nullifying the opposition's number one ball winner/playmaker.

that really stood out for me too yesterday. Finally he was let loose and played with a great attacking flare.

It's so exciting to know he is still only 19.

I'd also tend to agree that he looked as though he'd gained half a yard of pace and had a very determined look on his face which added to the whole 'playing like a man possessed' feel :thumbsu:

Yeah I love it, and only going to get better and better.

As has been said, he finally looks comfortable at AFL level. His last month or so has been pretty good. Just a shame he couldn't have slotted that goal in the final quarter.

I dreamt he did, and then had to relive the pain again in the morning :(

Gibbs has Gun written all over him.

And the beauty of it is that in three years' time he'll have another 70 games of experience and he'll still only be 22.

Gibbs has Gun written all over him.

And the beauty of it is that in three years' time he'll have another 70 games of experience and he'll still only be 22.

Yeah its fantastic isn't it, a great positive that we can take out of a losing game.

Gibbs was great and has really improved in the last month.

Is your avatar by any chance indicative of your sentiment towards one of our mods? :eek:

lol too obvious... ;)

If anything she should feel complimented if it was indicative of her, apart from the whole 'see you later' aspect, its a cute pic.

I thought his best game was clearly against Geelong, offensively. Hard to stand out when your team gets thrashed, but he looked as poised as I've ever seen him and barely made a mistake. In fact, at times he even looked contemptuous of the opposition, such was his poise and confidence. Obviously, Ratts didn't agree, but I call misquote.