Coach Buckley steps down

I promise you, I’m normally a raging capitalist ...

... but in this case every viewer surely recognizes that he’s got a problem. Fox can’t be oblivious to it, it’s clearly impacting his work, it’s been happening over a long period of time ...

... so under those circumstances they do have a moral duty of care IMO.
He shouldn’t be on TV.
Fox can help him if he needs it behind the scenes.
After today he has to go.

Two interesting facts I’ve uncovered tonight.

1, Last time we sacked a head coach who was previously a Port Adelaide premiership player, we hired an untried Hawthorn legend who won us a flag within 5 seasons.

2, The next senior coach will be just the 19th senior coach of the Collingwood FC in its 120+ year history. The position is more sacred/rare than the POTUS!

Haven't read anything on this forum about this.

However, if there are any negative comments about Bucks, go **** yourselves you campaigners!!!

Put me on ignore because you're the sort of person I do not want to associate with.

Bucks loves & has done his best for the this club & is a true champion of the AFL & more importantly of this club!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love you Bucks & thanks so much!!!!!!!!

A sad day when it finally came around, but it was seemingly inevitable. An absolute club legend, and should be remembered as such, flag or not.

All the best for the future Bucks, be it media or at another club, or away from the game entirely. I'm sure he won't be far away from the club in the years to come

Haven't read anything on this forum about this.

However, if there are any negative comments about Bucks, go fu** yourselves you campaigners!!!

Put me on ignore because you're the sort of person I do not want to associate with.

Bucks loves & has done his best for the this club & is a true champion of the AFL & more importantly of this club!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Love you Bucks & thanks so much!!!!!!!!

Eloquent and gentlemanly as always.

Xox.

rupertnews is running some story about the one thing missing from buckley's career.... of course it's the premiership.

it doesn't outline that the failure was due to others mostly. The famed "uncover all stones" attitude to playing has always been portrayed as a weakness.... and the failures by others to do enough to win were somehow seen as a strength....what a joke that narrative is. The problem for buckley has always been that he found himself in a team sport which was full of people who didnt want to give 100%, or they were too sensitive to be told their limitations.

The fact is he wasted the first half dozen or more years of his playing years hanging around with spuds. Even when he got close, he was playing with a team that put almost total reliance on him starring every week.

In his coaching years, he struggled to overcome a history of making up for the shortcomings of others by doing everything himself, but he succeeded and allowed the team to grow and flourish and gave them a game plan that allowed them to succeed. There are those who would say that the 2018 grand final loss was due to buckley. Maybe he should have put the boots on to make up for the mistakes made by the players that day.

I'm not crying for buckley. He made his choices and he has to live with them. If he wanted premierships, he should never have come to the Pies and when he realised his mistake, he should have sought a trade elsewhere. When he thought about coaching, he should have realised that the Pies were a dud choice for him especially. So in some ways the narrative is right. He is the master of his own failures.

It was just reported on 7 that Buckley was told on Monday he would not be appointed next year , he offered to stay onto to end of season and CFC said no. Really p poor. this board and CEO is so out of touch

Not really, crowd numbers were terrible, our style of footy terrible.

A change was needed so why not start now.

2018 showed he can coach, but for reasons unknown he decided to go ultra defensive with short kicking in 2019 and onward. His call and he has to live with it.

Bucks has done a lot for the club, he’s a Collingwood great and would have to be top 5 all time greatest contributors to the club. But nobody lasts forever.

Ken oath mate!

I even had pants on when I posted that.

Does having pants on really count as sophistication when you've got one hand stuffed down there at the same time? Not so sure.

By the way, I concur with your sentiments about what people have said in this thread. Bucks was a champion footballer and is a champion bloke, and doesn't deserve to be panned by his own on the day he heads off into the sunset.

Daisy Thomases, the lot of them.

Would rather Nathan see out the season, this could be damaging for our young crop. Considering both Harvey and Sando are the line coaches where are woes are at. Ball movement and forward.
It’s going to get pretty ugly I reckon.

I doubt ANY Pie fan wouldn't have wanted success for Nathan, for all the arguments, here, on the radio and at the pub. I reckon every single Pie fan wanted him to succeed - and he almost did.

The worst thing about this is Harvey is going to caretake the position, this is not good and would've been better if Nathan stayed out his contract for a transition to a worthy coach.

May or may not have already been revealed but me thinks GW and Anderson gave him the immediate tap on the shoulder, me thinks Nathan would've stayed on for the good of the transition and therefore the club.

Coach Buckley steps down