Opinion Butcher

Shaw was taken in the same draft (no. 30) as Hawthorn's Tim O'Brien (no. 29). O'Brien hasn't exactly set the world alight but he's only had 3 games and he hasn't had the injury setbacks Shaw has had. I would give Shaw a go next season when he has had a good go in the SANFL, unless he really shows something and we need to cover players.

Nope Clurey at 29 and Shaw 30 ie the Pearce and Chaplin compo picks so O'Brien was taken either side of these 2.

Butch probably had his best game for the club today. Forget the stats sheet, he took the best defender and directed Harvey and Shaw when to lead and where to go all day (Kicking 10 goals, 3 between our key posts was real handy). Competed powerfully in the air and rarely got beaten and his confidence grew throughout the game.

His cat-like movement at ground level had definite confidence and an aggression I'm not sure I've seen - At one point when the game was still there to be won he moved up to the wing and when the ball hit the deck tackled and pressured multiple Eagles players one after the other.

On top of that, when Flynny K.O.'d the Eagles player, one of the first people to be there ripping players off of him and look after his mate was Butch.

The best way to describe his game? He stood up, for himself and his teammates.

yep, he moves a bit like natanui

Bring in the Butch!
The Dogs are under sized back there and we saw what Cloke was able to do yesterday. An extra key forward will stretch them. I guess the consideration will be the long term weather forecast is not that flash.

Butch probably had his best game for the club today. Forget the stats sheet, he took the best defender and directed Harvey and Shaw when to lead and where to go all day (Kicking 10 goals, 3 between our key posts was real handy). Competed powerfully in the air and rarely got beaten and his confidence grew throughout the game.

His cat-like movement at ground level had definite confidence and an aggression I'm not sure I've seen - At one point when the game was still there to be won he moved up to the wing and when the ball hit the deck tackled and pressured multiple Eagles players one after the other.

On top of that, when Flynny K.O.'d the Eagles player, one of the first people to be there ripping players off of him and look after his mate was Butch.

The best way to describe his game? He stood up, for himself and his teammates.

Is it wrong of me that I wished someone had've just chinned a steenking WWT cockeroach in the post-Flynn festivus and worn the resultant ban like a badge of honour? It's been open season on our boys all year, let's turn the tables.

Bring in the Butch!
The Dogs are under sized back there and we saw what Cloke was able to do yesterday. An extra key forward will stretch them. I guess the consideration will be the long term weather forecast is not that flash.

Listening to Hinkley last night and I'd reckon Butcher will be brought back in. Needs to get some consistent AFL game time in the lead up to Finals.

Butch probably had his best game for the club today. Forget the stats sheet, he took the best defender and directed Harvey and Shaw when to lead and where to go all day (Kicking 10 goals, 3 between our key posts was real handy).

Imagine if these 3 young guys developed great chemistry in the SANFL

then having it translate over to the AFL in the coming years ...

Pick 28. I knew he was taken before Shaw but I forgot we had 29.

pick 28 was given to them from GWS via Hombsch/Neade trade which was our second rounder, both 29 and 30 were compensation picks. judging by the reaction at ports draft table when hawthorn called out O'Brien's name i would expect we were also about to do the same. from that point they asked for extra time and ended up with Clurey/Shaw combination. will be very interesting to review that in a few years time.

Listening to Hinkley last night and I'd reckon Butcher will be brought back in. Needs to get some consistent AFL game time in the lead up to Finals.

There is going to be a lot of disappointed people when Butcher is not named this week.

He is not coming in unless Schulz or Westhoff go down with injury (touch wood). We are top of the table with our current forward line set up. Why would you change that? I would much prefer another runner in the team ahead of another forward to gain a bigger advantage over our opponent.

There is going to be a lot of disappointed people when Butcher is not named this week.

He is not coming in unless Schulz or Westhoff go down with injury (touch wood). We are top of the table with our current forward line set up. Why would you change that? I would much prefer another runner in the team ahead of another forward to gain a bigger advantage over our opponent.

Dont worry ive been disappointed for weeks now... whats another week of let down going to hurt...

As above Westy becomes that runner, with a huge tank and marking ability....

i would argue that adding butch releases westhoff to be another runner.

and westhoff floating around the field with butch in f50 imo is better than westhoff in the f50 with mitchell running through the ground.
Which is when the Hoff has played his best football recently.

Yep the hoff needs the freedom to roam to play his best footy.

When he went down back in the first against the swans, we lacked something up forward. Another tall up there and who knows what might have happened.

Stats aren't everything and Hoff plays his most effective footy when Butch or even PStew allow him that freedom

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

2 weeks ago his game was horrendous.

But the other day he kicked 3 goals, was marking well and the surprising thing is his kicking was great.
If you had never seen Butcher before and went to the game you would have never guessed he had a kicking problem.

I know it might be a tough ask for Butch to be a leader in the fwd line despite only being 22 years old. But he certainly was one on the weekend.

i would argue that adding butch releases westhoff to be another runner.

and westhoff floating around the field with butch in f50 imo is better than westhoff in the f50 with mitchell running through the ground.

The pro argument pervading this entire thread m8

Hawthorn are winning games without Gibson, maybe they should just leave him in the VFL for the rest of the year.

Winning =/= optimum structure or performance. I don't know how many more times I can type that.

Imagine if these 3 young guys developed great chemistry in the SANFL

then having it translate over to the AFL in the coming years ...

which current or recent forwards would you compare the 3 to? just interested to hear how the 3 could work together

butcher = westhoff type?
harvey = roughead type?
Shaw = tippett type?

But the other day he kicked 3 goals, was marking well and the surprising thing is his kicking was great.
If you had never seen Butcher before and went to the game you would have never guessed he had a kicking problem.

I know it might be a tough ask for Butch to be a leader in the fwd line despite only being 22 years old. But he certainly was one on the weekend.

By 'leader', you mean like Butch was, say, Jarryd Roughead, to Shaw's Gunston? Shaw kicked more but only cause Butchers presense allowed him too?

Sent from my Lumia 800 using Tapatalk

Butch probably had his best game for the club today .... His cat-like movement at ground level had definite confidence and an aggression I'm not sure I've seen .... The best way to describe his game? He stood up, for himself and his teammates.
Certainly his best SANFL game in terms of attitude, like you said the stats were not the full story. He looked like an AFL player.

Which for mine is why you'd leave him in the SANFL. He's a player who's struggled with confidence in his skills. Give him a couple of weeks to cement what he showed last week rather than throwing in the extra challenges of AFL standard players and scrutiny straight up. If he backs it up, then give him the next challenge.

If Ken doesn't want Butcher or Shaw to play this weekend I think we can afford to throw Trengove fwd vs the Doggies who lack good KPF's.

Hombsch, Carlile and Jonas will do fine down back.