Cale Morton; let's be proactive.

Firstly I want to state I am a fan of Cale's, some of the performances he produced in his first and second seasons were exceptional for a young link midfielder.

However, he has come to a crossroads and has clearly got very little confidence... a player who I always used to trust for fantastic ball use and hard running has become so tentative with his kicking that often he won't make the distance or float it towards his targets.

My solution is:

No, not drop him the VFL. This is a player who has prodigious talent and needs an extended spell in the senior side to gain confidence.

If we are persisting with the tactic of a loose man in defence, why not Cale? He is an outside player anyway and his confidence will grow the more he can get involved in the game.

Now Watts has shown some good signs being moved between CHF/FF and a loose backman... BUT he is not natural in that role, his footskills and attacking abilities are clearly lost in defence. Besides our coaches bemoan a lack of a target coming out of defence?

You know who that target normally is??? Watts.

We have all seen how Watts' confidence has grown from spending maybe half a game (per game) in the backline... Cale needs it now.

Don't be stupid.

Your suggestion makes too much sense. What are you trying to achieve mate?

:(

My confidence is now shattered, no doubt my posting will be sub par from now on... If only there was a way for me to get awesome posts set up for me... 'cheapies' if you will ;)

:(

My confidence is now shattered, no doubt my posting will be sub par from now on... If only there was a way for me to get awesome posts set up for me... 'cheapies' if you will ;)

I see what you did there. You are the Adem Yze to my Guy Rigoni. Yuck.

But really this would appear the most sensible option for young Cale. If I'm not mistaken he's played in that position before has he not?

Cale is too talented a player to take to the tip. Patience people, patience!

Cale Morton would not get a game elswhere....so we are stuck with this underforming spud.

Lets be honest. He would have to be the worst performing Number 4 pick of all drafts.

Just our luck.

can you see cale standing under a long kick into the backline or running back with the flight like other loose men in defence do. this is not a position for the weak!

Your positivity about Watts' and Morton's talent is mind blowing TPM.

Well Watts is starting to show some of the reasons he was drafted no.1... obviously it's not all there, but he is on an upward curve.

Morton has played some excellent AFL football, none of it has been in the last 2 years unfortunately.

can you see cale standing under a long kick into the backline or running back with the flight like other loose men in defence do. this is not a position for the weak!

So what? He can learn, it will help his game and getting 'cheapies' in the backline will undoubtedly help his confidence. There was a reason many AFL recruiters viewed him as the best prospect from the 07 draft. That much was even evident in his first couple of seasons.

I see what you did there. You are the Adem Yze to my Guy Rigoni. Yuck.

But really this would appear the most sensible option for young Cale. If I'm not mistaken he's played in that position before has he not?

Cale is too talented a player to take to the tip. Patience people, patience!

Exactly.

I think it is a great idea and actually thought that it was the reason he came back into the team. Will help him build some confidence and with his natural fitness he should be able to provide some run out of there.
These days with all the press tactics you need a player who is both mobile and tall to play the role effectively by rolling up, down and across the ground.

Like others have mentioned though his kicking is off and courage questionable although confidence would help the first part and I thought early in the game Friday night his intent and attack on the footy was actually really good. Unfortunately he floated out of the game after that but I was too busy yelling at the TV to work out why - defensive run with role or something similar?

Did some of you read the thread title he said: Let's be PROACTIVE.

In all my years on this planet I have not once seen an internet forum poster play AFL football or stand under a long kick into the backline or run back with the flight for their club.

I agree with the OP, we need to give some players a chance. Cale has shown that he has the talent, for whatever reason he is not showing it at the moment. Let's remember he has had two major injuries in the last two seasons that have restricted his progress.

His endeavor on Friday was greater than that of Moloney who all the MFC fan boys crush on because he has a "reputation" for hardness, yet he was whipped by his man Friday (I like Moloney a lot but lets not say he tried any harder or put his body on the line any more than Morton did).

If you want to can him thats fine but those saying he's a spud will be the same ones who laud him when he starts to play well which I think he will before the years out.

/rant.

No better way for Cale to prove his worth by seeing him back in to a few packs when the play warrants it. I don't expect him to be tough, just to have a crack and go when it's his turn.

He either plays the loose man in defence or run him off half back for a few weeks. Can't end up being anything worse than what we have now.

I like this idea.
Cale Morton would not get a game elswhere....so we are stuck with this underforming spud.

Lets be honest. He would have to be the worst performing Number 4 pick of all drafts.

Just our luck.

Luke Livingstone board?

Yeah I like this. Put him in a spot where the ball will find him, and make him go for it. Although I also subscribe to the theory that playing him at KPF and letting him score some goals could do a lot for his confidence. Petterd did it last season and he isn't nearly as tall as Morton. Gave him a boost. He's a fantastic kick too.

Played some very good games last year v Carlton, Collingwood, etc and all in attacking roles. Kicked 3 goals v the Gold Coast too.

Im not too worried about Morton, I actually think that he will turn it
around and become a very important player for us.

Limited pre-season and surely wouldnt of had too much faith in the
body this year. He needs to bulk up - but has been limited this year.
Its only early for Cale.

Morton han't played as a loose man in defence? C'mon that's all he's done for the last 2 years and it's made him worse. The last thing he needs to do is get cheapies. Play him in a key position, toughen him up.

He's just another one in the long line of Cameron's classic's.

Morton has had plenty of games as the loose man in defence - but he was becoming a bit of a 'Joel Bowden' and thats what Bailey didnt want.

I reckon play him on a wing and float him forward on occasion.

What he really needs is to be put in the boxing ring. He needs more hunger, aggression and mongrel. Forget about his weight - its not about the size of the dog in the fight, its the size of the fight in the dog.. he needs more c-nut.