Thrawn666

Just thought I'd pre-empt Sheedy's press conference tomorrow. Any money Sheeds comes out with his same-ol, same-ol West Coast vs Victoria routine. He uses it all the time, and with the current top 8 situation he'll be trying to milk it for all it's worth.

It was quite amusing when Sheedy called for Victoria to get behind the Bombers against the Eagles last year - as Mocca described it, he "misread the mood of the electorate".

What I'm expecting is some fruitcake statement about how the Eagles should be forced to play more games away from Subiaco because it's too great an advantage. What are the odds?

Ripper - I return the compliment and give u mandate to defend Fort ress Subiaco - wrecker of dreams, graveyard of the Victorian ambitions, mother of pain and a nice bloody A-CLASS ground.

You blokes are getting ahead of yourselves. Essendon will get back lloyd and Hird and will be desperate for a win. It won't be easy. Denis Pagan is a master coach and if the Dockers fall off in intensity at all Carlton could win.

Originally posted by Sera
You blokes are getting ahead of yourselves. Essendon will get back lloyd and Hird and will be desperate for a win. It won't be easy. Denis Pagan is a master coach and if the Dockers fall off in intensity at all Carlton could win.

bah! By all means, get ahead of yourselves, it's been far too long since anyone following a WA team has been able to with confidence.... (read "at all" for freo supporters.)

Originally posted by Sera

I tend to agree about WCE but Freo should have an easy win.

Sheedy is a top class coach and Essendon are still probably the second best Vic side this year. So we can expect a tough game with no favours from the umpires.
It would be nice to have Chick back to give that hard edge to the side. Our next three away games will be tough but the run in isn't too bad,

Let's not get too far ahead of ourselves.

The Bombers seem to be the team that is our bogey regardless of positions on the ladder. If we overcome them this week, great, but I would not pencil it as a win just yet.

I dont think we should underestimate the bombers! As Sear said, they will hey lloyd and possibly hird back! Sheeds will definately want to beat us, he's always hated us and Im sure if he could win only two game each year it'd be against us and the ANZAC day match!

Who to play on Hird and Lloyd?

Originally posted by Goldenblue
The Bombers seem to be the team that is our bogey regardless of positions on the ladder. If we overcome them this week, great, but I would not pencil it as a win just yet.

I would have given that title to Richmond. Look what happened to them

:p

But seriously I think we should really go out and try to flog the Bombers to make a statement. I dont see any reason why we cant get ourselves a win in this game. The only thing that could stop us is ourselves.

We (Essendon) aren't too bad, we just have no bloody consistency or depth - but if we get the big 3 back the depth is no longer a problem, either is confidence.

I'm packing myself about Gardiner, Cousins, Kerr and Judd in the centre though. Lloydy might need to bring a book.

Originally posted by Darealrath
We (Essendon) aren't too bad, we just have no bloody consistency or depth - but if we get the big 3 back the depth is no longer a problem, either is confidence.

For sure, but what sort of chance do you have of getting all three back?

[/b]I'm packing myself about Gardiner, Cousins, Kerr and Judd in the centre though. Lloydy might need to bring a book. [/B]

For sure, were probably one of the best midfield groups going around!

The one I really want this season!!! Didnt think we could win it before the season but with our encouraging away form, it is certainly there for the taking.

Victorian Eagles fans....take your scarves!!

Confidence is good but excessive confidence is not so good and that is what I'm seeing around here. This is going to be a very, very difficult game people. Remember what Essendon did to Collingwood. They were full of confidence, with three wins in a row and then got a hiding from the Bombers. Sheedy is a master coach and in this round he'll do everything in his power to beat us. Fortunately Woosha will tell his players, over and over again, that this game is going to be a hard battle and that they should give their absolute best if they want to beat the Bombers.

Will be a great game, the replay of last years final

Theres no way Woosha and the boys will be taking this one lightly, i reckon theyll be fired up.

This will be a great win because it will nearly put us over the line for the finals already, and added to that it will be another away win agaisnt a good Victorian side.

I think who plays for us will depend a lot on whether Lloyd and Hird plays for them.

Glass you would think would take Hird - pretty good size match up although Hird is a much better footballer, Glass has proven he can play out of his weight-division the last couple of weeks.

McIntosh would most likely take Lloyd.

If Lloyd doesn't play than Milli will probably get a rest.

I dont think Fletcher's return if it happens will alter our game plan because there isn't really anyone he can match up on - he'd probably come up to CHB and play on Jako who would account for him through size and strength, but Fletcher may give them some run of the backline which would be a problem.

Originally posted by Black Thunder

I dont think Fletcher's return if it happens will alter our game plan because there isn't really anyone he can match up on - he'd probably come up to CHB and play on Jako who would account for him through size and strength, but Fletcher may give them some run of the backline which would be a problem.
He didn't match up that well on Judd, but still took him out of the play.

Yep Chick [if he is fit] on Hird sounds good if he plays up the ground. Will be interesting to see if we bring any tall forwards into the squad this week after the way Tredrea exposed their lack of height in defence. I saw Fletcher [essendon] training on the news and he didn't look fully fit.