Veteran 10k Posts
Sep 10, 2003
Seagulls, Bushrangers
It was a question asked at the end of last year as to if it was a right choice or not. I believed we made it happen because we didn't give him the opportunity he deserved. Cam Cloke was very good in 2005 as a sole ruckman as injuries fell around him before his own (for memory), and in 2006 he managed only 2 games.

With only three ruckman on the list, with two very vulnerable and the other expected to play forward, it certainly wasn't the best option, when a) We got rid of Walker, Hall, Fanning and J Cloke (pinch-hitter) together with him, and b) He has been a proven slight success as a ruckman, and we got NOTHING for him.

Well, today, watching the Carlton vs Richmond game, Cameron Cloke was dominant...he probably played around 50% game time, but he was simply brilliant in his centre bounce ruckwork, which was purely brilliant tapwork, will be interesting to see the HOTA%. He was in my votes for the game, and all I can say is, we simply have lost out once more to the Blues after providing something special to them, for pretty much nothing, yet again, after Heath Scotland.

Hindsights a beautiful thing

But I must admitt, I agree with what you've said. He should have been retained, and its something that will probably come back to bite us. But theres nothing we can do now...

It's good to see he's doing well though

I'm not convinced with cloke, he was absoloutely terrible in his time with us. Also against the tiges he was rucking against Pattison and Polak, not genuine ruckman by any stretch of the imagination. Clokey had to go!

It was he's around the ground work that interested me the most. Moves extremely well for a ruckman, and has a nice long kick on him.

Your right though, wasn't really A grade opposition, but if he plays like that all year he'll cut up the majority of ruck combos around... Definately ours anyway :)

Have to remember how injury prone he is too. But he's definately making the most of he's opportunities, looks desperate not to let this chance slide.

It was a question asked at the end of last year as to if it was a right choice or not. I believed we made it happen because we didn't give him the opportunity he deserved. Cam Cloke was very good in 2005 as a sole ruckman as injuries fell around him before his own (for memory), and in 2006 he managed only 2 games.

With only three ruckman on the list, with two very vulnerable and the other expected to play forward, it certainly wasn't the best option, when a) We got rid of Walker, Hall, Fanning and J Cloke (pinch-hitter) together with him, and b) He has been a proven slight success as a ruckman, and we got NOTHING for him.

Well, today, watching the Carlton vs Richmond game, Cameron Cloke was dominant...he probably played around 50% game time, but he was simply brilliant in his centre bounce ruckwork, which was purely brilliant tapwork, will be interesting to see the HOTA%. He was in my votes for the game, and all I can say is, we simply have lost out once more to the Blues after providing something special to them, for pretty much nothing, yet again, after Heath Scotland.

Total crap lonie, I respect you as a poster but this is rubbish. The question should be asked why has it taken cloke this long to get himself into shape to play afl football. I suspect prior to this year he did not work hard enough and because he knows he is on his last chance he pulled his finger out.

I have seen nothing from c cloke to to suggest he was very good as a sole ruckman. You must have been watching different games than I.

And before people go on about me not liking him because of his name that is rubbish. I happen to think travis is just about the best youngster we have. I judge players on merit and nothing else. I happen to think jason got the best out of himself and the only reason he is not on an afl list is because the modern game unfortunately requires players to be quick and skillful-jason is neither. I reckon that Cameron let the collingwood football club down by not working hard enough. Sure he had a few shoulder injuries but it still does not explain why he always seemed so unfit and overweight.

IMO Cameron deserved to get axed.

And as for ruckman Josh should be playing in the middle . When he did on saturday we won the game. His hitouts have improved. Just because we are short of forwards does not mean we should Josh should suffer. He has indicated himself he prefers it in the guts. Let the boy play where he plays best and develop some kids to play forward.

I don't think anyone questioned that he was a good VFL player, and rucking against Adam Pattison and Graham Polak is essentially VFL quality opposition.

As was said, wait for him to perform against a quality ruckman - Next week he'll face Blake and Ottens from Geelong, so he might be tested a bit more.

Why when the Pies ruckman cant do anything against **** opposition?

We haven't quite come up against a ruck team as frightfully bad as Pattison (who is only there because he is ok around the ground and is tall) and Polak. I was always a defender of Cam and tbh I don't see anything he is doing atm that is A. too impressive B. something we haven't seen before in a Collingwood jumper. Don't get carried away yet. I don't know if these stats are accurate but he only got 6 possesions (it was on the AFL site so I'm not sure if this was right), if true Richards can do that.

Also laid quite a few tackles as well, provides great pressure but if you have a decent midfield you dont need the ruckman to be getting many possessions

It was a solid game. But even (or perhaps especially) you'll agree it's nothing we haven't seen before.

I thought he was very good, he has certainly improved in his work around the ground.

I find it interesting that he leaves Collingwood and he gets his skin folds down to lower than ever, and he looks leaner than I have ever seen before.

Then Taz leaves Collingwood and Freo get his calves operated on, and he can actually run again more than just game day.

To me this seems very strange, I dont know, it just does.

It was a solid game. But even (or perhaps especially) you'll agree it's nothing we haven't seen before.
I actually must admit its the best I've seen him ruck outside of the VFL, usually his around the ground has always been good but his work in the middle tonight was superb

Hell he even had the commentators raving madly about his game and almost crediting him with the Blues turnaround

Good luck to Cameron Cloke. I thought he was a great prospect but shoulder injuries and a lack of mobility have cost him while he failed to develop over a 3 year period. Possibly his injuries and the player type were contributors (ie talls take longer).

Regardless of whether Cam makes it or not, if you can’t now see how poorly the ruck has been handled at Collingwood then you will never, ever admit that anyone at the club is less than perfect. We were beaten by 2 novices on the weekend and consequently smashed for much of the game from the middle. Anything but a bottom 2 side as North are without Thompson would have put us away in the first half let alone during the 3rd quarter. I was as excited as anyone during the comeback but Jesus we have left ourselves open by neglecting the ruck for so long. Quite honestly I can’t see any way Richards can make it. It’s time to play our last card, weak as it is, and give Bryan the opportunity to be an AFL footballer over the next month. Basically he is our only chance to firstly win the ruck and secondly get Fraser forward to provide a dangerous target.

Quite honestly I can’t see any way Richards can make it. It’s time to play our last card, weak as it is, and give Bryan the opportunity to be an AFL footballer over the next month. Basically he is our only chance to firstly win the ruck and secondly get Fraser forward to provide a dangerous target.

Disagree slightly although broadly I think you are correct. I think we have no chance but to shut our eyes and hope Richards succeeds. We cannot afford to give up on him after one game - we simply have no other options. We have to give him a month or more to find his feet. Personally I'd consider bringing Bryan in to the 22 at the expense of Wakelin, and play all three rucks.

Either way we should have retained C Cloke as a plan C.

Possibly. It’s probably much of a muchness although I tend to favour the option of tyring the untried in preference to the tried and failed. I’m not after Richard’s head after 1 game I am saying the sum total of his career has shown nothing. He’s has had a full pre season and failed to impress. I watched the VFL final V Geelong last year and I was scared by how inept his ruckwork was let alone his lack of influence around the ground. I can’t see him making it. Bryan may not make and in fact then odds would be against it but Richards is a bet I wouldn’t take with someone else’s money.

When it’s all said and done it probably makes little difference but at least with Bryan we are trying something.

Chris Bryan will be good if given the chance.He is a bullocking ruckman and is good around the ground,richards is sh..t,i've have said that for years.Cam Cloke is playing well at the moment.Why?Because he has too.He is playing for his footy life.Let's see what he is like in a year from now.Tarrant did stuff all,for freo kick a gimmie goal in the first quater and wasn't sighted after that.Port pumbled them !
Cam don't get too comfortable,and watch those donuts mate!

Congradulations to Cam, but does anyone else rate Pattison as a ruckman. Or Patrick Bowden who actually relieved him for a minute or 2.

far too slow for modern afl football.

was playing in a team with no recognised ruckman against a team with no recognise ruckman.

Cameron Cloke - Brilliant