Cameron Ling

• Thread starter Thread starter winty

Partridge I could not agree with more. Ling runs around red raced and out of breath and it looks like he has played the game of his life when all he does is flaps his arms and points to team mates. Why do you think Scarlet and others move up the ground because they can run through the midfield instead of Ling holding it up or giving it up. :(

I watched the replay of the 2nd and 3rd quarters of the Brisbane game (since they are the only ones worth watching) paying particular attention to Ling. Not sure if any one else picked this up but only ONE of his disposals actually landed in another Geelong players hands for the entirety of both quarters. I was astounded! I wasn’t particularly impressed last year with his continuous lateral kicking but at least he was hitting targets regularly and tagging efficiently.

I’m hoping the Brisbane game was a one off and he finds some good form by the start of the real season but his speed, disposal and tagging efforts in that game were horrifying. :eek:
Yes, shock and horror.

He just needs to redo the basics. He tries to do odd moves which give the opposition the ball.

I think maybe if Bomber pays special attention to him this year, he could be 'The Little Ginger Engine That Could'. I hope so. I miss some of his previous match brillance.
He's a one of a few family favourite players in my house. :D
On his good days.....

To reciprocate, I'll give you some homework - watch how often he stands in space alone pointing at an opponent and yelling for someone else to pick him up.

Don't forget the countless times he'll give the ball off to a teammate, who's often under the pump, and then scream at him, pointing to where he should kick it when Ling could have done it all by himself.

I've just had a phone call on his efforts in today's practice game and apparently things haven't improved. He's been jeered by the crowd everytime he goes near it and has repeatedly missed targets, gone backwards when he does have it and has dropped a number of simple marks.

People have had enough.

I've just had a phone call on his efforts in today's practice game and apparently things haven't improved. He's been jeered by the crowd everytime he goes near it and has repeatedly missed targets, gone backwards when he does have it and has dropped a number of simple marks.

People have had enough.

Why doesn't that surprise me? I bet Bomber turns a deaf ear to it though and come the first bounce on April Fools Day, he'll be in the middle pointing out things to his teammates.

Don't forget the countless times he'll give the ball off to a teammate, who's often under the pump, and then scream at him, pointing to where he should kick it when Ling could have done it all by himself.

People have had enough.
exactly catman, whenever I see Ling with the ball in tight situations he always handballs to a geelong player who have like three opposition players ready to pounce on 'em

I am so sick of hearing all this talk about Ling, not because everyone are wrong In what they are saying, but because Geelong aren't gonna do a damn thing about it, and there are gonna be all these threads on what a bad player he is during the year and all It's doing Is giving him undeserved attention.

Well, maybe if the crowd stopped jeering at him, he might play better.
I know I wouldn't play well if the crowd booed at me, and it was my own supporters. Maybe Linga needs a holiday... to oh say, Antartica. Plenty of room for footy practice.

Lingy is so not overrated. Not only is Lingy a great player but he is also a wonderful role model for the club. Plus he's pretty dam sexy too!

I'm the first to admit Ling's 2006 was backwards on previous years. And yes he started chipping the ball sideways etc etc.

I find it pretty unlikely they will drop Ling, whether that is right or wrong, remains to be seen.

Ling will still get his 20-30 touches a game, so this year will be a good indicator whether last year was an abberration.

He has been a good servant - plenty of guys have had bad year and had plenty more chances after that. watch 2007 and let us make a thorough judgement then.

Funny thing is that many Geelong supporters have written him off yet he still manages to get in the best players selections most weeks in the media. I don't know how many other dud players can get 25-30 pocessions each week, but Linga keeps on keeping on.

25-30 possesions he might get. But if you watch him play count the effective possessions, I reckon 10 tops. that is it! time after time he passes the ball to players under pressure. he doesn't have a very good football brain, he is slow, he has sloppy hands and feet, he doesn't show much guts on the field. HE IS NOT THE NEXT CAPTAIN OF GEELONG!!!!! i believe that the time has come for a decision to be made on several players, and because this is focused on Ling, personal opinion CUT HIM we could get something of value for him, and get a classy midfielder. I already believe Selwood is a better and more determined player

spot on mate, i have always said that his disposal count means nothing. i take no notice of possession counts in papers and such a much better guage would be for people to count effective stats. LING is useless!

i'm with you 100% especially with so many quick, talented youngsters such as selwood coming through. give the spot to the best player not because ling has been there for many years! Lings not in my best 22.

Hey Chooka, you seem to keep agreeing with yourself - what's the story? Are you trying to get keep the thread going or something ;)

The only reason Ling gets so much of the ball is because the opposition let him get it due to the fact he will likely turn it over

There's a new interpretation of the word "likely".

You can only hope that this is all part of anti-red hair bias in our society. Wait until after Sunday's game - he is frustrating to watch but was much improved in NAB and practice matches. Stats do distort but so too do commentators who praise him for what we often see as stupid decisions - perhaps they pity the scruffy unkempt red hair!

He played his best football at Geelong as a tagger and that is how he made his name. He was beating his opponent and still managing to get hold of the footy. All of a sudden, Bomber thought why not unleash him as an attacking midfielder. Sheedy treid to do the same with Peverill. Both are better suited as taggers and that should be Ling's role within the club....And please don't let him do media again...I still have flashbacks to Before the game and Footy Show segments with Ling and he was woeful!

If Ling is to maintain a spot in the side he has to re-invent himself to be of more value to the side.

One way would be to push forward and make himself a goal kicking option instead of lurking in the back 50 racking up cheap stats. That can be done by players such as Prismall who is far more creative and damaging with his disposals.
The other plus is that he is a good shot for goal,can take a mark and would force his man to play out of position.

Noticed Reg Hickey bump an old thread last week giving himself a pat on the back (rightly so ) so thought I would do the same

But really, I am so impressed with Ling this year that it would not surprise if a second B&F came his way. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

When you say clanger you mean like against Richmond when he kicked the ball backwards across ground costing us a goal? That was pretty good on the clanger scale I would think.

If Ling returns to good form - getting 25-30 effective touches, and nullifying good players - then I'll shut up. I'll send him flowers if you like. But it won't happen. I'm glad you have a chuckle when he turns the ball over, because some supporters like me consider that not good enough for professional players, and not the standard we need at Geelong. If he can't use the ball properly find someone else who can.

To reciprocate, I'll give you some homework - watch how often he stands in space alone pointing at an opponent and yelling for someone else to pick him up. Generally because he can't catch them. Funnily enough as a tagger I thought minding an opponent was his main job. Evidently I'm wrong.

Wonder if Partridge has sent the flowers yet

In all fairness to Partridge , that statement was back when everyone was saying the same thing mate. Think we should all send flowers.

No glass house here mate. My favourite players to rubbish have been Tenace and Kelly and Kelly hasn't done anything wrong so it only leave me with one

A few mates and I were having a discussion about Ling, and someone (ok, it was me! :p ) mentioned that if Thompson wasn't coach it'd be very likely he wouldn't even be on the list anymore. What does everyone else think?

Man, that post came back to bite me on the butt, didn't it? The guy has been a gun this year.