Cameron Thurley

• Thread starter Thread starter Fall Out Boy

F

Fall Out Boy

How many games would Thurley need to play to be considered a success in his rookie year?

For me, he arrives at a mature player who has bulked up, so i'd be disappointed if he can't give us at least 10 games, be they at half forward/half back or in Ronnie's role.

Thoughts?

Problem for Thurley is that the pressure will be on from day one.

Plenty of people queried his selection, so the kid is on a hiding to nothing.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky

The other problem for Hurley could be Riccardi.Both may be fighting for the one spot.You know who'll the selectors will go with,no matter what either players form is like.

20+ goals.

Getting a game at Geelong means practically nothing. After all, David Clarke managed to notch up 15+ a season.

I agree with Seb, our single biggest requirement of Thurley is to consistently kick goals, and take the opportunities presented to small/crumbing forwards.

With Ablett and Chapman in a more regular midfield/half forward role, Thurley, I assume will be asked to play in a pocket and sit at the feet of McCarthy/Graham/King/Loats/Mooney, rove and kick goals.

From this, you would really expect 25+ goals, given that in Ronnies glory years he slotted 50+

Being a mature player, I would expect 15+ games for the season

Have they mentioned what position he will play?

The Thurley i saw isn't a crumber, moreso a flanker.

Plenty of people queried his selection, so the kid is on a hiding to nothing.

I don't think that's quite right. Many queried the high price we paid in getting him. I for one was one of those people.

Had we picked him up in the preseason draft then I don't think he would be an issue. Take Koula for example. He is a similar age and style of player but imagine the pressure on him if we had taken him at pick 22. What do we expect from Koula?

Given the price we paid I would hope Thurley could play 100-150 games for us overall. I think that's the average of what most people expect from a top 20 pick these days. To reach that many games then you would probably think he needed at least 10 games this year given he'll be 23.

Originally posted by BigCat1
I don't think that's quite right. Many queried the high price we paid in getting him. I for one was one of those people.

And i was one of those as well.

Had we picked him up in the preseason draft then I don't think he would be an issue. Take Koula for example. He is a similar age and style of player but imagine the pressure on him if we had taken him at pick 22. What do we expect from Koula?

Given the price we paid I would hope Thurley could play 100-150 games for us overall. I think that's the average of what most people expect from a top 20 pick these days. To reach that many games then you would probably think he needed at least 10 games this year given he'll be 23.

That is a fair amount of pressure, pressure that wouldn't be on him if he were an 18 year kid.

Have they mentioned what position he will play?

The Thurley i saw isn't a crumber, moreso a flanker.

Even so, as a 'forward pocket specialist' or a forward flanker, consistent goals are required, not so much tallying up a few games throughout the season.

Re the pressure: I expect McCarthy, Kingsley, Mooney and Haynes to be under more duress than the first year player in Thurley. They are the key position forwards and sadly, the local Geelong people are expecting them to be Ablett incarnates, which, as we all rightfully know, they are not.

I think that's a slight exaggeration, BC.

It would certainly make for interesting reading to see just how many players picked in the top 20 of the National Draft have gone on to play more than 100 - 150 games; and also, what the average game tally among players drafted in the top 20 is...(Dating back say... 5 years?)

I think 100-150 figure is fair enough, every season it seems that about 30 or so players bring up this milestone, the majority should be top 20 picks. And while I hate to be pedantic, Thurley wasn't a top 20 pick.

Still yeah, I agree with sentiments expressed so far in that as an older player, who has had the opportunity to develop his physical presence (unlike players who have been around the club for a couple of years but aren't even 20), then he should be ready to step straight into a regular spot if he is going to be good enough. He doesn't need a spectacular season this season, more a solid one.

Originally posted by Shaitan
I think that's a slight exaggeration, BC.

He did say it 100-150 games is what people "expect" from a top 20 pick, mate.

But you are right, at a guess i'd say the average games for a top 20 pick would be closer to 50.

If Cameron Thurley can play a minimum of 10 games and average 2 goals per game, then I'd be reasonably happy with that return for a mature first year player who will mostly play up forward.

Originally posted by ScouseCat
If Cameron Thurley can play a minimum of 10 games and average 2 goals per game, then I'd be reasonably happy with that return for a mature first year player who will mostly play up forward.

2 Goals a game? You've got to be kidding me.

At that rate, Cameron would be kicking around 50 goals in his debute season providing he played in every game. And let's face it, in a forward line like ours, anybody who averages over a goal a game would be a walk-up-start.

Can't see it happening. 20 goals from 10 - 20 games for mine.

At that rate, Cameron would be kicking around 50 goals in his debute season providing he played in every game. And let's face it, in a forward line like ours, anybody who averages over a goal a game would be a walk-up-start.

Well perhaps it's time we started to lift our expectations just a little, otherwise we won't get anywhere as a club. Too often we settle for inept performances from our forward line. Why shouldn't we expect a player who plays as a small forward to kick 1-2 goals per game?? Why shouldn't we expect our full forward to kick 3-4 goals per game?? I can't see Thurley playing anywhere else but the forward line, so he'll have to kick goals to retain his place in the team.

well if he played 10 games and kicked 20 goals like u said wouldnt that be 2 goals a game??? :p :p

That is a fair amount of pressure, pressure that wouldn't be on him if he were an 18 year kid.
Your right in that the pressure wouldn't be on him right away but the pressure is still there no matter how old you are when your a high draft pick. Look at Mackie, I expect him to play 150 games for this club. If he doesnt play any this year then he will come under intense pressure from the club and the supporters next year. It's just a sad reality

It would certainly make for interesting reading to see just how many players picked in the top 20 of the National Draft have gone on to play more than 100 - 150 games; and also, what the average game tally among players drafted in the top 20 is...(Dating back say... 5 years?)

seb, with the drafting process far more advanced these days I reckon 100-150 games for a top 20 pick isn't to much to ask for. A reckon a top 6 pick youd be hoping for a 200 game player. 5 years is the absolute most you could go back because before that recruiting was a little bit more of a lottery. Look at guys like Spriggs, Bartel, Kelly, Johnson. I'm reasonably comfortable in saying these guys will at very least reach 100 games. Even David Clarke will play 100 games of footy.

Your right in that the pressure wouldn't be on him right away but the pressure is still there no matter how old you are when your a high draft pick. Look at Mackie, I expect him to play 150 games for this club. If he doesnt play any this year then he will come under intense pressure from the club and the supporters next year. It's just a sad reality

True, but i feel the issues surrounding his selection will put him under added pressure.

You and i, amongst others, rightly queried his selection with such a high pick. If he starts off slowly, i'm sure the pressure on him from supporters will be intense.

Originally posted by rizzo
well if he played 10 games and kicked 20 goals like u said wouldnt that be 2 goals a game??? :p :p

No, my post inferred Cameron should be judged by his goal tally, not how many games he plays.

If he plays 10 games, I won't be expecting 20 goals. Somewhere between 10 - 15.

Lets face it, with his size, age, and high selection, the expectation is there that he will make a immeadiate impact, play games and kick goals, he is not a project player, or a slow developer.

.....at least I hope not, we have enough of them already.

There seems to be fair bit strong prejudgment on what should be expected of Thurley just because he's 21. Sure he should be more seasoned than another youngsters straight out the U18 but I really don’t think age should always be the determing factor in performance expectation. Some players develop quicker than others and not just talls. His performance this year shouldn’t be gauged by the number of games played as its almost irrelevant and the same for the number of goals. Its not the quantity of games or goals it the quality of his play when given a chance. The main purpose of drafting him was to increase depth and to cover injuries Id think if he plays in the position most anticipate, as a small half forward/pocket type, then he have at least 4 players ahead of him. Steve Johnson kicked 6 goals against Brisbane if fit he will play. David Haynes played the same role for WCE last year played nearly all the matches and kicked some good goals he will be in the 22,Riccardi although towards the end is still a proven player who can win the ball one on one and has beautiful skills , in the 22. Kelly to me shows great potential as player who could develop into a forward rather then just be used on the ball where he mightnt have the core strength of an Ablett or Chapman , but the truth is that it might be a 2 on / 1off rotation because they are all getting to the stage of being too dangerous to rest on the bench.

One Possible side might be:

B: Milburn, Scarlett Sanderson

HB: Harley, Mooney, Rooke

C: Chapman, Ling Wojinscki

HF: Graham, Playfair, Johnson

F: Kelly McCarthy Haynes

FOLL: King Corey, Ablett

INTER : Riccardi, Enright, Loates, Spriggs

And I have left out players that I would expect to see get games , such as Bartel, Mackie, Moloney, Kingsly.

Rather than the amount of games he might play or how many goals he might kick , I would hope if and when he gets a chance that he performs and does something to show his talents. Moloney came of the bench and immediately impressed with his long licks to the forward line. If Thurley can play up to AFL level when given a chance, fit seemlessly into the side to aviod it having an apparent weakness when we have injuriesthen it will probably have been a good pick. It might be a single brave act to mark in the last minutes of a game or a pass under pressure that doesnt turn the ball over or set shot from the boundary, who knows. I know if he only plays one game , sits on the bench for the first 3 quarters and kicks 2 goals in the last quarter to give us victory he’ll done what he was drafted for , to give back up to the 26 to 30 or so players that are ahead of him at the club
Turbocat

In all the VFL games that I've seen him play he has played as a third target up forward behind Heatley and Bartlett (when not rucking) or Derbyshire/Blight. He is not a specialist crumber. Sort of like a tougher, less naturally talented version of Brad Green. Good mark, accurate kick but at his size there is a big risk of him being found out at AFL level. Maybe they are even looking at playing him off a wing to improve the delivery to the forward line?

Originally posted by Unwritten_Law
Maybe they are even looking at playing him off a wing to improve the delivery to the forward line?

I hear they are intending to use him in a Nathan Brown role, that of a small marking target inside the forward 50.

Whether he is capable of beating AFL players in one-on-one contests is yet to be seen, but he has the marking ability and courage to play the role.