bigman

Really liked the look of Dale Symmons on this weeks replay of WWT and PA.

I know he had some alleged "issues last year" according to some on BF, but he played a blinder on the weekend.

He is quick, fearless and a good mark for his size. he has a slightly unorthodox kicking style which may be a negative.

Looks like he could be a good running player or flanker type.

I also like the look of, is it Luke Westbrook. he does not look that old? He has got some pace and front and squares well. Kicked a couple of nice goals. He appears to have parts to his game which are not mainstream. Sometimes this X factor is what you need to succeed at the next level. Is his kicking action also slightly peculiar?

We have had some good luck with WWT players over the years. Could these boys be possible late draft picks or possible rookie inclusions.

Sam Jacobs could also be a long term prospect - for a ruck position as a late draft pick or rookie selection. Over 200cm he looks much less co-ordinated than he actually is. He can take a good grab - one to keep an eye on.

What can others tell me of these boys and their prospects?

Am I on the mark or way off beam!!

No. His "colourful" past would be better suited to "another" club, if you know what I mean;) .

Can we give The Eagles a rest for a couple of years.

Stiffy_18 said:
He actually went to court along with Brodie Lomas. IIRC it was something about allegedly engaging into sexual contact with under age girl.
Yeah something like that.

I know people have done plenty worse but I just dont think we should draft someone with that kind of baggage.

He is not a stand out player so Im sure we can find someone else just as capable.

Symmons is a very classy player who must have gone close to being picked up last year. Would be more worried about his injuries than any off field stuff. Hasn't been able to string many league games together, but has been excellent when available and is a goal kicker.

Westbrook is 21 years old. Has a bit of Burton about his play in the forward line. Very courageous and a great mark and good on the ground. Has improved his goal kicking this year and is fairly reliable. His athleticism is probably his best attribute.

I would consider both of these for spots on the rookie list.

Sam Jacobs will be picked up by someone in the draft this year. A giant ruckman who can play forward. Good in the ruck and what is most impressive is his decision making with quick gives or by foot. More a Brendan Lade type ruckman than a Jeff White type. If Meesen leaves Jacobs would be a handy pick up, but if he stays I doubt the Crows need another ruckman with Biglands and Hudson still with a few more years and Meesen, Maric and Griffen already on the list.

Stiffy_18 said:
He actually went to court along with Brodie Lomas. IIRC it was something about allegedly engaging into sexual contact with under age girl.

I dont think its alledged. Im pretty sure they were found guilty but were given light sentences (suspended sentence i think). I remember the article in the Tiser being about a politician being livid and trying to drum up support for jail sentences.

Macca19 said:
I dont think its alledged. Im pretty sure they were found guilty but were given light sentences (suspended sentence i think). I remember the article in the Tiser being about a politician being livid and trying to drum up support for jail sentences.
I said "allegedly" just so I could cover my arse in case I was wrong :D :p

I do remember a lot of uproar at the time that the sentences were too light.

kirky said:
Why? Please explain.

This is a team that has been successful (with exception of GFs) and therefore the players develop a winning culture.

Like "white men can't jump", "nice guys don't win premierships".

Gets! said:
What about Leigh Treaby, I reckon he is a gun.

Also like the look of Ruory Kirkby from the bays.

Beat me too it mate, I'm very keen on this bloke...

anyone got any info on him... weight, height, age, etc.. :thumbsu:

Cheers...

Stiffy_18 said:
I said "allegedly" just so I could cover my arse in case I was wrong :D :p

I do remember a lot of uproar at the time that the sentences were too light.
i have a feeling they got off actually... plus if you knew the full story that i obviously cant post on here then you would know that it shouldnt stop him from being drafted...

Also on Brodie Lomas who retired this year after a heart condition look out because he is making a come back and recently resumed training...

I reckon they were found guilty but were given a slap on the wrist, i think they admitted their guilt so obviously they were found guilty straight up.

kirky they may have been successful during the year and september, but when it comes to OCtober they get spanked annually

Gets! said:
What about Leigh Treaby, I reckon he is a gun.

Also like the look of Ruory Kirkby from the bays.

I agree with Treaby.

He was an Eastern Rangers player I think and a member of the team of the Year when he played.

Many thought would be drafted ,but he must have has some obvious weaknesses which caused him to be passed over, then and up untikl now.

He could easily be another Eagle who is looked at.

Nice penetrating left foot kick.

Blue Red and Gold said:

I know people have done plenty worse but I just dont think we should draft someone with that kind of baggage.

Will it effect his ability to play football?

FWIR he was found not guilty in any case so he really hasn't done anything at all

Having said that he is probably too old to be drafted and whilst I like teh look of him he would need to play consistent SANFL footy for the rest of the year to be considered

Good player for the Eagles though and i think we will be a real show of the flag this year if onyl Centrals stay out of our way. Skippy Vince and Knights should all play for the Eagles in the finals and with Bock you never know.

SYmmo would be a worthy pick up.

The whole thing was unlucky on his behalf. He picked up a bird at the Grand after she said she was 18, took her home and then found out the next day she was 15 and her parents took him to court. Takes his football very seriously in any case.

Jacobs would be a good pickup. But keep an eye on a kid named Sam Fairclough. Unlucky to miss out on U/18's, but he'll be there next year when hes eligible for the draft. Absolute gun. There's another few good Eagles kids coming up through the U/16's too.