can't wait

• Thread starter Thread starter passamore

Fergus said:
C'mon macca. Are you telling us the AFC has not been stirring behind the scenes to get rid of Rucci?

Okay, the journo did say that the Crows have approached the Advertiser re the rubbish that Rucci writes - many times, in fact. Almost a full-time job for Triggy at times, it seems!!

But he didn't say that the rumoured change in Rucci's role in the future was as a DIRECT result of the Crows approaches.

Maybe the Advertiser themselves might think that Rucci has lost all objectivity??

macca23 said:
Okay, the journo did say that the Crows have approached the Advertiser re the rubbish that Rucci writes - many times, in fact. Almost a full-time job for Triggy at times, it seems!!

But he didn't say that the rumoured change in Rucci's role in the future was as a DIRECT result of the Crows approaches.

Maybe the Advertiser themselves might think that Rucci has lost all objectivity??

Well if it has reached the point where Triggy is ringing every day to sort him out then I say roll on May ...

passamore said:
If we'd expect our club to go to the AFL if we were not happy with an umpire, why wouldn't they do the same at the Tiser?
Ummm, because the Advertiser is not actually part of the AFL competition.
If I was the sports editor of the Advertiser, and Trigg was ringing me each day complaining about Rucci's copy (which I'm absolutely sure he's not), I'd tell him to f.ck off - pure and simple.

The sports editor should, by that theory, have every right to ring up Trigg every day and tell him that he doesn't like the fact that Burton's in the side each week, or that Doughty's been given another chance.

RogerRabbit69 said:
I am amazed you think the musings of Rucci actually have any affect whatsoever on the Crows. You must have led a very sheltered life.
What about when he isn't gone next month ......?

are you saying what he writes doesnt affect the crows? S Trigg is even writing responses pointing out the factual deficiencies in his articles these days, so of course it affects them. Its actually the otherway round you must have lived a fairly sheltered life so to speak to think that the media cant affect things such as the AFC or its supporters. Port for instance would be lucky to have even 30% support in the state if they didnt have the support they get from the media. With regards to rucci the afc would be pretty happy to see him go i would think.

As long as people are buying the tiser and reading his articles, I can't see him going anywhere. I know Crows supporters who cant help themselves, they have to get their daily Rucci dose. There's nothing wrong with that. It's for the same reason that thousands of South Australians tuned into the footy show to watch our state be bagged by Sam Newman. It's the inability of people to ignore what they think is tripe, instead they get addicted to it like you have.
If paper sales showed that noone gave a rats about his articles then I'm sure he would be gone in favour of someone people liked to either love or hate.
Thinking that your CEO, club or whoever has some sort of power over the media is just sad. Did you know there is a big wide state outside of AAMI stadium?
Seems to me that you and this 'mate' at training need to find more to do with you time.

dingbat said:
are you saying what he writes doesnt affect the crows? S Trigg is even writing responses pointing out the factual deficiencies in his articles these days, so of course it affects them. Its actually the otherway round you must have lived a fairly sheltered life so to speak to think that the media cant affect things such as the AFC or its supporters. Port for instance would be lucky to have even 30% support in the state if they didnt have the support they get from the media. With regards to rucci the afc would be pretty happy to see him go i would think.

ignorant as always jack :thumbsu:

RogerRabbit69 said:
They might not like Rucci, but surely the AFC is not so arrogant to think they should be able to dictate who the paper employs??? They'd go down a long way in my estimations if they did.
It'd be like the Advertiser saying to the Crows (and this is just an example) "we don't like Phil Harper. He's not very co-operative. Get rid of him, will ya?" BTW, I reckon Phil's a top bloke.

Exactly ! The club might point out his mistakes & sarcastic dribble to the editor but to actually work behind the scenes to have the guy sacked is a little far fetched.

Anyway keep Mr Rucci where he is if not for anything else than that at least we can get a laugh out of him.

RogerRabbit69 said:
Jack, if the Crows' performance is affected by what appears in the pages of a newspaper, we've got some serious problems.

you didnt mention performance, but yes that would affect a player to a degree as well. They can put the pressure on or off. The club would do their best to insulate it. You said it doesnt affect the rest of the club is rubbish really. The press can apply pressure or criticism, as they did with gary ayres in his last yrs or reflect the club in a bad light. Alternatively they can put another club in a positive light like port power. Its important what media says about the club. Thats why s trigg points out when incorrect things are said, otherwise no one would know any different would they.

I have just picked up the rag on the bus home. I see the $#%^ has had another dig at Stephen Trigg. And you guys wonder if he has the right to ask the Tiser to get rid of him?

passamore said:
I have just picked up the rag on the bus home. I see the $#%^ has had another dig at Stephen Trigg. And you guys wonder if he has the right to ask the Tiser to get rid of him?

you do realise the Rucci is less annoying than you are?

Lucky Charm said:
As long as people are buying the tiser and reading his articles, I can't see him going anywhere. I know Crows supporters who cant help themselves, they have to get their daily Rucci dose. There's nothing wrong with that. It's for the same reason that thousands of South Australians tuned into the footy show to watch our state be bagged by Sam Newman. It's the inability of people to ignore what they think is tripe, instead they get addicted to it like you have.If paper sales showed that noone gave a rats about his articles then I'm sure he would be gone in favour of someone people liked to either love or hate.
Thinking that your CEO, club or whoever has some sort of power over the media is just sad. Did you know there is a big wide state outside of AAMI stadium?
Seems to me that you and this 'mate' at training need to find more to do with you time.

That post is gold and cracks me up, you actually sum it up really well. I am one of the people that doesnt like Rucci, but I, like many, cannot go past a Rucci article and just ignore it, it must be thoroughly read and analysed. I am sure that there are some Crows supporters that will immediately open a paper and the first thing they do is look for the magical words by Michaelangelo Rucci.

You are very right comparing it to the Sam Newman senario it is the fascination people have about getting bagged unjustly and then seeing what those people have to say when the tables turn. Usually you find that they just find something else in relation to the club or the supporters to bag.

The difference being Sam's bagging was more a gimmick than anything else. His son actually is an Adelaide supporter strangely enough. He has said many times that it was a gimmick to give him notoriety more than anything else and the whole Sam Newman V SA thing really did make him a household name in SA. The Rucci senerio comes from his love for Port and dislike for the AFC.

passamore said:

Gee mate, you must have really upset someone on here, the mob is circling. That's two weeks in a row now Rucci has had a dig at Trigg in his dribbly little column. Its obviously quite personal. Very unprofessional from Rucci and The Advertiser, but then again, did we expect anyhting less.

Maybe when the AFC send out out their 2007 membership renewals they could throw in a three month free subscritpion to Saturdays AUSTRALIAN newspaper. Around 35-40,000 less papers sold every Saturday for a few months may jolt The Advertiser into attempting to act like a professional newspaper.

SpringChoke said:
Maybe when the AFC send out out their 2007 membership renewals they could throw in a three month free subscritpion to Saturdays AUSTRALIAN newspaper. Around 35-40,000 less papers sold every Saturday for a few months may jolt The Advertiser into attempting to act like a professional newspaper.
Yeah, like that would work (and the Australian is owned by the same parent company, anyway).

If Crows supporters want to stop reading the Advertiser because of Rucci, then they just won't buy it any more. Simple.

But that hasn't - and won't - happen. Why? Because people love having someone to criticise. If it wasn't Rucci, they'd just aim their daggers elsewhere.

Does it really matter what ONE journalist writes in a sh.t-pot paper like the Advertiser, anyway?

Get over it, FFS. Surely you've got better things to do with your time than worry about guys like Rucci ....

RogerRabbit69 said:
Yeah, like that would work (and the Australian is owned by the same parent company, anyway).

If Crows supporters want to stop reading the Advertiser because of Rucci, then they just won't buy it any more. Simple.

But that hasn't - and won't - happen. Why? Because people love having someone to criticise. If it wasn't Rucci, they'd just aim their daggers elsewhere.

Does it really matter what ONE journalist writes in a sh.t-pot paper like the Advertiser, anyway?
Get over it, FFS. Surely you've got better things to do with your time than worry about guys like Rucci ....

Yeah it does especially when that "ONE jounalist" is the CHIEF sportwriter in our ONE and ONLY local paper. In the ultra-competitive market we are in, 2 teams in the one town, its doesn't help our cause when the powers that be in our local paper are so anti-AFC.

You ever heard of the saying if you throw enough mud some of it will stick?

passamore said:
not many more sleeps to go
zoloft.jpg

Stiffy_18 said:
If someone was trying to get rid of my lefty as hard as Macca is trying on yours I too would need antidepressants. :p

Yeah yeah I had to google it. :D

*PAF said:
If someone was trying to get rid of my lefty as hard as Macca is trying on yours I too would need antidepressants. :p

Yeah yeah I had to google it. :D

Now, PAF, you make it sound like I'm always doing it.

I'll bet you Stiify's left knacker that I don't!! ;)