Carey's SAUCE

• Thread starter Thread starter BigBadCam

On the couch tonight said bomber had been offered a two year deal by the club.

I don't care right now about Thompson staying or going. I just want GFC to keep it aside (like they have been) until after finals. All I want right now is to win a premiership, Thompson's future should be on hold, we need all our boys to be focused on doing the job.

Carey is an idiot, I hate him (just thought I'd add that in).

Carey likes to keep him name in the media, and this sort of stuff will only help him further his cause for a higher profile.

He's a fool and this is obvious when he shows such disrespect to current players and other sufferers of depression, with stupid comments and proves how unproffessional he really is.

I wouldn't give any credit what so ever to any comments made about Bomba at all. Don't fall for this crap, make no mistake the club is on a mission and wont be swayed with this sort of rubbish that's only going to get worse as the season draws closer to the finals.

What is going to happen next year is irrelevant, and nothing that is said on this forum will change anything, IMHO full attention should be directed towards this weeks objective.

Funny how Carey only starts stupid comments about Bomba when we are playing the roos ..... As Caro pointed out, he started off the year saying making the 8 was the only saviour.. well we made the minor prem.. and the season aint done! :cool:

If we don't win a prelim.......

Lets deal with that if/when it comes though.

Who cares what Carey says? He has an insurmountable ego. Humility is not in his vocabulary - nor is much else. Is a bully from a bullying Wagga family - used to throwing their weight around and he should not be given the high media profile he enjoys.

Carey likes to keep him name in the media, and this sort of stuff will only help him further his cause for a higher profile.

He's a fool and this is obvious when he shows such disrespect to current players and other sufferers of depression, with stupid comments and proves how unproffessional he really is.

I wouldn't give any credit what so ever to any comments made about Bomba at all. Don't fall for this crap, make no mistake the club is on a mission and wont be swayed with this sort of rubbish that's only going to get worse as the season draws closer to the finals.

What is going to happen next year is irrelevant, and nothing that is said on this forum will change anything, IMHO full attention should be directed towards this weeks objective.

Funny how Carey only starts stupid comments about Bomba when we are playing the roos ..... As Caro pointed out, he started off the year saying making the 8 was the only saviour.. well we made the minor prem.. and the season aint done! :cool:
Couldn't have said it better myself - he is a media hog at the moment

Ok, I need to get a life, but was listening to 6PR on the net last night (wanted to listen to 5AA to hear them bitch and winge but the link was down) and stupid Carl Langdon said that was the rumour going around the ground at SS on Sunday.

What, that Carey is a media hog :confused:
That rumour has been around a lot longer than just a SS on Sunday, and has been proven not just to be a rumour. ;)

Let recall the same time last year Shell..... I swear you were part of the "I hate Bomber, lets sack him club".

Interesting....

What's that got to do with me hating Wayne Carey and all the crap that spews forth from his mouth?

Besides, I would never be a card holder of any club Renegade would be the President of! :D:p

Wayne Carey is the biggest joke in the AFL. Has respect for the way he played no doubt but as a person has zero. As a commentator even less.

Carey's exploits on the field are inversely proportional to what he does off it. Brilliant on the field, a total flog off it.

When Carey was a gun player, I hated his guts.
Now that he is in the media, I still don't like the man but I love his media commentary.
The main reason for this is that he speaks his mind regardless of how twisted that may be on occasion.
Almost all other ex-players in the media are quickly taught the following:
  • You can't knock the AFL.
  • Don't criticise the umpires
  • You may be heavily biased toward the team that you used to play for.
  • Most cases before the tribunal are just a harmless "show of strength".
  • If you have never played at AFL level then you can't possibly know anything about the game.
  • All the players and ex-players stick together to form the "Old Boys Club".
Carey is so arrogant that he tends to call it as he sees it and for entertainment and informational value, that'll do me everytime.

Can't agree with you there, Hoody. While I can stomach Carey behind the special-comments mic, his position on the Footy Classified panel bewilders me. I've only watched the show once, but the Duck was clearly paddling out of his depth. The ineffectual punches he was swinging at Caro were downright embarrassing, not entertaining. She could eat him for breakfast.

On this issue, I'd love to hear Carey's basis for a club sacking its coach after leading them to the minor premiership and a streak of at least 14 wins. Bomber's only departing to another club if he decides he no longer wants to coach Geelong, and whether we win the premiership or not is less relevant than other factors.

On the Thommo issue -and nice call Jub- is it just my cynicism or were Nine giving that story more airtime than the other networks? Were they attempting to generate publicity or control the narrative? Or both?

Can't agree with you there, Hoody. While I can stomach Carey behind the special-comments mic, his position on the Footy Classified panel bewilders me. I've only watched the show once, but the Duck was clearly paddling out of his depth. The ineffectual punches he was swinging at Caro were downright embarrassing, not entertaining. She could eat him for breakfast.

On this issue, I'd love to hear Carey's basis for a club sacking its coach after leading them to the minor premiership and a streak of at least 14 wins. Bomber's only departing to another club if he decides he no longer wants to coach Geelong, and whether we win the premiership or not is less relevant than other factors.

On the Thommo issue -and nice call Jub- is it just my cynicism or were Nine giving that story more airtime than the other networks? Were they attempting to generate publicity or control the narrative? Or both?

No worries Stripey, we were overdue to disagree on something. People might have been starting to believe we were family or even lovers.
Anyway, Carey is still my pick of all the ex-heroes behind the microphone.
When it comes to footballing entertainment, I just thrive on a bit of controversy.