Carlton, Essendon, North - the triumvirate of mediocrity

Applying the Occam’s Razor principle (i.e. the simplest explanation is generally the most accurate):

These three teams finished in the Top 4 in both 1999 and 2000.

It was the ‘Millennium Bug’. See - it was real after all…

what hurt us for several years, was we were only allowed to pay 92.5% of the cap. Meanwhile Sydney and Brisbane with COLA were paying the equivalent of 110-120% of the cap. That means they could have 5-10 better players on their list. Not 5-10 extra players, but 5-10 better players because they had the money to pay for it.
Interesting points. Brisbane when they won those flags didn't have cola. More of a retention allowance. Brisbane were fined $250,000 one year for salary cap breaches.

I could understand Swans having cola back in 2005-6 when the Sydney Swans made Grand finals.

It only reared its ugly head when the swans won the flag in 2012 and got buddy Franklin at the end of 2013.

With all teams maximum playing salary cap being 17 million, I can't see the justification of the NSW and Queensland clubs getting cola or an extra 10 percent of the salary cap.

You can justify draftees getting paid $200-$250,000 a year, especially 1st round picks

Three teams that are utterly bog average or worse. Cannot see it changing for another two decades.
Even on Good Friday I was left completely unimpressed by Carlton - any top 8 team would have beaten us by 20 goals (see Dogs 2021), while a top 4 team would have invited comparisons with Geelong's smackdown of the Dees in 2011.
As for last night's game, well I didn't think it was possible to see a worse game of footy this year then that other Thursday night blockbuster, Ess v Port. How wrong I was.
Poor drafting, poor trading, poor player development. Shithouse administrations at all 3 clubs.

Three teams that are utterly bog average or worse. Cannot see it changing for another two decades.
Even on Good Friday I was left completely unimpressed by Carlton - any top 8 team would have beaten us by 20 goals (see Dogs 2021), while a top 4 team would have invited comparisons with Geelong's smackdown of the Dees in 2011.
As for last night's game, well I didn't think it was possible to see a worse game of footy this year then that other Thursday night blockbuster, Ess v Port. How wrong I was.
Poor drafting, poor trading, poor player development. Shithouse administrations at all 3 clubs.
I've seen some strange posters on here in my time. U may have taken the cake.

I find if you want to win consistently win it helps if you draft well, coach well and play well. Obviously Essendon, North and Carlton haven't quite figured it out, but i'm sure they will one day.

At least the prolonged mediocrity of Carlton and Essendon can be traced back to catastrophic events from which the clubs struggled to recover, the salary cap cheating by Carlton, and the drug scandal at Essendon.

What's North's reason for prolonged mediocrity? I am wary of bagging opposition clubs and reminded of the idiom, "There but for the grace of God go I", however, North is a club that has had multiple top draft picks year after year, and still....

At least the prolonged mediocrity of Carlton and Essendon can be traced back to catastrophic events from which the clubs struggled to recover, the salary cap cheating by Carlton, and the drug scandal at Essendon.

What's North's reason for prolonged mediocrity? I am wary of bagging opposition clubs and reminded of the idiom, "There but for the grace of God go I", however, North is a club that has had multiple top draft picks year after year, and still....

The Boomer curse.

In 2016 Brent Harvey was still a 20+ Disposal 1.5 goal per game player. He wanted to play again but North told him he was no longer part of the plan.

Until 2016, North were renowned for always being competitive and won their first 9 games of the season.... they have not made finals since.

Carlton and Melbourne have received a lot of first round and priority picks also. What has Carlton achieved over more years than north? Sure, blame it on the salary cap cheating like they are the victims. I see it as a club still stuck in the 80s that can’t move on. Melbourne had the AFL takeover and finally managed to get a flag after 60 years and have now reverted back.

I think north gutted their list too harshly, got coaching appointments wrong. Hopefully, like Melbourne, it won’t take 60 years for our next flag.

Nb Carlton’s flag drought is greater than norths or Essendon’s but in true Carlton arrogant style love to give it to Essendon, no finals wins for x days, herp deep. Ignoring the fact their own club has been worse in that period- less wins, more spoons

Carlton and Melbourne have received a lot of first round and priority picks also. What has Carlton achieved over more years than north? Sure, blame it on the salary cap cheating like they are the victims. I see it as a club still stuck in the 80s that can’t move on. Melbourne had the AFL takeover and finally managed to get a flag after 60 years and have now reverted back.

I think north gutted their list too harshly, got coaching appointments wrong. Hopefully, like Melbourne, it won’t take 60 years for our next flag.

Nb Carlton’s flag drought is greater than norths or Essendon’s but in true Carlton arrogant style love to give it to Essendon, no finals wins for x days, herp deep. Ignoring the fact their own club has been worse in that period- less wins, more spoons
Didn't Carlton make a prelim 2 years back? Wtf are you comparing our woes to North's troubles?

They'll be shipping you lot down to Tassie and demolishing the Roos HQ at Arden Street and replacing it with a Coles/Woolies soon enough i reckon!

Carlton, Essendon, North - the triumvirate of mediocrity