Bluebear
Easy cuz.............it happens to be bears old stomping ground.............nah, you're right......it's a shithole......and what a shit hole that place is.![]()

Fisher should be ready by Round 2

yeh i was there, rocked up 30 mins late but, when i got there their was 2 groups one was doing a handball drill in a square where the player had to work with the teammate against 2 other guys. Gibbsy did well in this. Juddy joined in and the first time i think his done physical, contact work.
The other group did a drill where three players would work it between themselves and kicked it to a target with three guys in the middle giving pressure. Hadley, armfield scotland did well here. The 2 groups would swap after doin bout 15mins of each drill.
Murph was workin on his kickin with matthew lappin in between drills. Stevo wasnt trainin not sure why, he was in the box talkin with sticks. grigg was also in the injury group, was on the bike with fish.
Fev worked hard durin trainin, skills where top notch as usual, and was chasin in the some of the pressure drill, one in particular when ran down some guy i think was wiggins, was great stuff.
Then the boys did some match practice, juddy joined in and killed around the clearance, this one part which got me very excited, and i have to keep a lid on it, but the was a ball up and judd got the clearance and seriously broke about 5 tackles and just weaved through them all and gave the handball of in space, i almost creamed myself, if he had kicked it to fev and hit him on the chest then their wouldve been fireworks
So good signs but we still need to work on our skills but was good stuff today, hope that helps.
Short report from today's session
Grigg and Stevens didn't train, not sure why Stevens didn't, but Grigg hurt his neck, and was on the bike for 1 hour. Fisher should be ready by Round 2, he's having something done on March 20, which is the day we play Richmond
Our skills are still terrible, the only person I can vaguely remember hitting the target on a consistent basis was Gibbs. Even the great man Judd stuffed up a few times. Other than that, Judd was on fire, and will definitely play against the Doggies
The injury group consisted of Bentick and Benjamin, who just did some handball drills, and then some run throughs, around the boundary line
Maybe our bad skills are rubbing off on him too

Best part of training for me was when Judd had the hitting bag and its the bag peoples job to put pressure on the guys running through with the ball, hitting them and bumping them.....ANYWAY....Hampson had the ball and ripped straight through Judd...i have never seen anyone hit the ground so hard...BANG...
this is the hitting bag for those who have no idea what im saying...would you call it a hitting bag? i dunno thats what i call it...

Hampo is further advanced than we first thought when he's lifting his arms above the tackler's arms so he won't be caught holding the ball.
He looks like Kouta in this photo.
![]()
The Kreuzer and Hampson ruck combination will give us more thrills than Thomas and Pendlebury for the next ten years.
Walker, Judd, Murphy and Gibbs might have to get to the back of the line.![]()
But we need to be patient and not expect them to dominate from the get go in a position as tough as the ruck.
.......because normally he isn't known for doing this to quality opponents?^ lol thats what i was thinkin. Get the impression that although judd woulda been awsome at it, have a feeling the others may no be quite up to scratch. based on the reports, it seems Judd has come here, and in training, showed us how behind AFL level some of our boys are

.......because normally he isn't known for doing this to quality opponents?
I'm sure there are elements of both (Judd good, tackles bad), but to read it strongly as one vs the other is ridiculous.
seanpb said:hey guys. on the insistance of some other posters () i thought id put together a small rundown of a couple things from todays session out at princes park.
firstly this is my first try at this and it really is being done off hand so ill be leaving a few things out simply cos i dont recall them. this was the first time id gone out to training for the new season and i thought it a good time to go out and see where the boys are at given were so close to the season proper as well as a semi serious hit out this week.
i watched just over an hour before having to go (they were a little late getting out onto the track, ratts must have had them looking at the whiteboard or something) and here are some thoughts.
the drills themselves arent newies but gave the guys a good run through. plenty of high intensity match simulation that at times spanned the whole playing surface. plenty of heavy breathing going on come the whistle, but was great to see no one was laboring and everyone worked hard until the whistle. honestly, at times the skills werent as sharp as you'd want them to, but if there is a consellation its that the pace was pretty frenetic at times. and, having said that, the guys who you want to show clean hands and slick skills were on the money most of the time.
they started with a handball drill. plenty of footies in the mix, the old crosshair formation, but with 2 or 3 overlapping eachother. plenty of confusion and everyone came thro well. gibbs and judd naturally look very aware, difficult to really assess this one cos its a pretty basic drill.
the one that caught my eye and gives you a pretty good indication of where everyone is at, its a pretty all encompassing drill with long kicking to targets, handballing, evasive work, defensive work, leading etc was the last drill i watched before leaving. two lines on the wings either side of the centre square with players on the flanks and one man in each goal square. basically a giant rotating break out drill. the 'attacking' team would clear to the two 'teams' on the wing who would fight it out (not full contact but still pressure applied) before delivering to the forward who would then switch it out to the other flank before seeing the ball up the other end following the same path. all about making space, winning the ball, moving it quickly and cleanly to advantage and, most importantly, hitting targets. judd, scotland, houla, walker, gibbs, betts, browne, waite, among others impressed. which is good because the first lot are the ones we want delivering the ball. a lot of great supporting work from a whole host of players too, which is important as in match situations you need guys running in support.
judd: moved freely and is right to go, but we all know that and have known that for a couple weeks. hes less a man and more a finely tuned instrument of victory. a racehorse. the way he glides around effortlessly puts you in a bit of a trance. he commands your attention and in a real positive the attention of his teammates. you can tell how good he is as during the simulations he would always move to the right spots, if he didnt have the ball he was in a great position to get it or had made position to ensure his teammate had space. during a couple of the drills i couldnt help but think if i were a assistant coach taking the drill id just give the ball to him all the time...that is the quality of his training alone. as much as i love, and im sure everyone here feels the same way, everyone who pulls on the navy blue, judd gives you the same feeling as watching that one kid in the under 12's whose just that much better than everyone else.
fisher:started the session with some really light kicking drills whilst the others did their stretches. heavily favoured his left hand, as to be expected. spent the rest of the session intermittently running laps at pretty good speed to maintain fitness.
aisake spent the session doing some light skills work, looked reasonably sharp but still carrying a niggling right knee complaint. not really a lot to do.
shields: the irishman looks a likely type. big, quick, has a good presence about him. he was more than willing to attack the ball hard, back himself in 'contests' and get involved. good to see.
gibbs: dont think i saw him miss a target, except a bit of a hospital kick to betts, but thats ok cos hes small. great poise, kicks to the advantage of our man more often than not. excellent awareness and like judd he just knows where to go. hoping he can build on a great second half vs hawthorn and it looks as though hes ripe to move into the middle.
fev: really good hit out. hard to single people out as everyone trained their guts out but pleasing to see fev running at pace, hitting targets, jumping, changing direction etc so freely. i think its easy to forget given he plays infront of the posts, but the big guy is a really good field kick.
walker: this guy doesnt stop. flat chat the whole time. looks to have the perfect build for what we need him to do this season. excellent power through the legs which will allow him the athleticsm to test opponents whether it be forward, middle or back. fantastic leap and contest as always. hoping he can get to the same form he showed in the first half of last season, albeit in a more attacking position, and force the opposition to play on him, rather than have him as our negating player.
kruezer: looked good throughout the session. good hands and like was said before the draft an excellent team player. in the drills he was always wanting and willing to use the man in the better position rather than blaze hopelessly forward (which is the point of that exercise, but great to see its working). clean skills for the most part, a couple of good gathers below the knees caught my eye.
quick bits: not 100% but benjamin was doing some light running, not as much as fisher but sprints up the boundary to the arc of the 50 and back to the goalsquare. cloke and hartlett did a fair bit of physical contest work, not always against eachother, in one of the drills and both looked pretty good in doing so. grigg and hampson both showed plenty of dash and with the exception of a couple loose kicks from the big man continue to impress.
most importantly, what i really responded to, was a great sense of harmony from the guys. heaps and heaps of talk, everyone was really vocal, it was a really positive, upbeat session from that point of view.
unfortunately ive really run out of things to say but it was a reasonably encouraging session from all of the boys, each of whom certainly put his best foot forward in getting a spot in the team.
seanpb said:just one more thing, i cant believe i forgot to put this in as it was the first thing to spring to mind when i sat down in the chair, i reckon the players get a real kick and a good kick along by having so many coaches actively participate in the drills.
crosisca, ratts, brett montgomery et al take part in the drills. this happens everywhere, but its relatively new for us considering the age of our previous panel. theres just something about having the senior coach not only tell you what he wants you to do, but be a part of the training exercise as well.
Elvis said:Great report and agree with all comments. The only thing that the players were lacking today is their control of the footy by hand. During the hanballing drill, players would fumble, drop the ball or miss it completely. The boys need to work on their ball handling if they are going to persist with a fast running and handball game plan. This was evident during the Hawks game where the players just could not handle the ball clennly, which just kills you when the ball is turned over.
Agree also that Walker is a running machine and has improved his kicking to a point where he hardly misses a target and also drives it low and hard.
At the end of training Kruzer was doing this amazing drill with i think teague where he would catch the ball in one hand and then the other, which he continued to do for about 5 minutes, great to watch, kouta like. Setanta also stayed out and did kicking skills with teague as well. Marc Murphy practiced his goal kicking at the legends end and did not miss about 10 shots.
Gibbs might have a rest this week as he looked like they were resting him before the end of training as he played in the Alice Springs games.
Training looks more enjoyable and is totally different to the Pagan regime. The players also seem to be enjoying the new freedom Ratts gameplan gives them.
No further points come to mind.
Dr Sherrin said:Training was enjoyable yesterday...great weather and good to see the options we have in a couple of years time. But not now. Our young guys are just that - young. They have neither the physical development nor the experience to handle senior AFL football and that was most apparent yesterday. Training for the most part was sloppy. There were some patches of brilliance, as always - however these were quickly followed by shocking disposal or shocking decision making. Turning the ball over in training will cost you the wrath of the coaches...turning it over in a game will cost you a goal, a sharp drop in confidence and the potential of splinters. But they're young - and they'll learn fast...So here's some observations.
* Shaun Grigg needs to play a lot of footy for the Bullants this year. It's a concern that he is slow when he receives the ball...most players run quicker with the ball in hand. Not Shaun - he seemingly doesn't know what to do when he gets it and my opinion is that his knowledge of the game will come with time and playing him against talented and more experienced payers at Preston will improve this aspect of his game.
* Michael Shields is a find. Is solid and quick - good disposal and doesn't mind a bit of the rough stuff. I see no reason why a year on the HBF at Preston won't do him the world of good and by 2010 he may well be a regular senior footballer.
* Steven Browne. I'd suggest this kid could play in a variety of positions. Seems to relish being out there amongst the senior boys and is very good on both sides. Has clean disposal under pressure and is a good mark overhead for his size. Being left out of some of these Challenge matches indicates that he'll have a development year with the Bullants.
* Setanta O'hailpin has lost weight when he really needed to gain it. Was getting easily pushed aside by Sean Hampson in marking contests - and with Waite penciled in for CHB and Thornton and Jamison taking the oppositions key forwards I can't find a spot for the big Irishman on current body shape and training form.
* Judd watching is what most were there for. I wanted to see that burst of speed and some quick lateral movement - I'm pleased to say I got what I came for! The burst of speed is there (90%) and the sideways movement is there as well.
* Lots to look forward to with our midfield...Carazzo, Scotland, Murphy and Gibbs are all looking good. Throw Hoops, Stevens, Simpson & Judd into that mix and I can't see Foley, Deledio, Johnson, Coughlan and Co worrying our boys at all.
Richo better hope for warm weather 2 weeks from today - otherwise he might get a little cold. It should be a good year to see the Blues - equally a good year to see the Bullants. Buy a Powerball ticket tonight and you've got a one in 54 million chance of winning - buy a Bullants membership (associate m'ship with CFC membership) for $20 and you can see first hand the development of some young guys who will play in our next Premiership.
Is that because they're not having formal training this week or are they all closed?Just letting everyone know, that there will be no public training sessions this coming week
Carlton Training Times
Week commencing 10th March 2007
There will be no public training sessions this week.
Is that because they're not having formal training this week or are they all closed?

A beautiful crisp sunny morning at Princes Park. Crowd of about 50 there this morning. Quite a few media outlets. Ratts had a media conference relating to the fallout of Fev's punishment - it was indoors, so I don't know what was said.
Anyway on to the important stuff. I just got back from training and the session this morning lasted about 50 minutes. Pretty sharp session overall - a few fumbles, but generally skills were high. Squad of 25 trained only.
Drills were handballing in a criss cross formation with and without pressure from the red bags. This was done for around 10mins, then onto the kicking drills where it was a kick to kick scenario from 30 mteres apart for 3 groups extending to 50 metres then in a criss cross formation.
They went onto doing a drill that resembled circle work - emphasis here was moving the ball from the back line across the ground back into the middle corridor with one handball and pass into the forward. This wento on for the better part of the session.
Later the emphasis was on individual work with assistant coaches or other players, eg Gibbs head over the ball working with Braddles, Murphy goal kicking practice on the run (and nailed 99% of them), Bower and Thornton against each other competing man on man, Fev goal kicking practice, Cloke and Setanta some ruck technique, Betts crumbing and kicking for goal, and Harlett & Edwards goal kicking practice. The rest were doing their stretches on the ground.
OK who trained?
This was the squad:
Russell, Murphy, Gibbs, Judd, Simpson, Saddington, Hadley, Grigg, Setanta, Bower, Betts, Hartlett, Stevens, Fevola, Cloke, Scotland, Waite, Bannister, Thornton, Houlihan, Pfeiffer, Edwards, Jackson, Jamison, and Carrazzo
Individual comments
Stevens - moved freely and showed no signs of injury - is a certain starter
Judd - first session all preseason where he hit every target by foot left and right, is moving well, but not quite 100% by foot which is to be expected
Hampson - was not out there, but heard someone say that he will be given until tonight or tomorrow morning to prove his fitness - I don't think he'll play
Kreuzer - was not out there, and will not play
I think we are in a little trouble in the ruck with Cloke and Setanta to share the load - this could define the winner of the game if Simmonds gets onto top.
Fev did not look like he was affected by yesterday's events - was joking with some of the players like Betts and Murphy.
Generally the session was very upbeat and a lot of voices and encouragement.
Greg Miller was sitting in the Heatley Stand observing and writing notes along with another chap (didn't recognise him but was with Greg Miller)
Happy to answer any questions, but that's all I have.