Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part 2 (cont. in Part 3)

In the vision he showed we had extras on he wing, the problem was, we won it out of the centre and kicked it straight to a 6 on 2 and effectively gave them clean possession of the ball to which they just strolled out of their defensive 50.

The commentators on the night were also confused by the tactic.

I was lip-reading Bolts and pretty sure he was screaming 'HIT THE BOUNDARY !!".

I pay attention to Dunstall, Brereton and Lyon because they've seen a build close up, and know the time and pain and the importance of doing it right and staying the course. The rest aren't actually looking long-term, they're just in the week-long footy news cycle. Bad game = bad club. Very bad game = very bad club.

The rest fit into four categories:
- Agendas: Caro, Whately.
- Born stupid: Cornes, Carey.
- Head knocks / alcohol impact: Browns (Jonathan and Campbell).
- All of the above: Robbo.

The worry for 2019 is that BB is in the gun. All eyes on him. 0-4 and he's the total focus of the mob until they get their man. Club has to stick fat. Supporters should too. I don't think BB had a great end to the season, and that last game was poor. But we've surely learned not to march of the beat of the media drum (Hardwick, Buckely) and not to assume coaches are incapable of adaptation (Hardwick, Buckley).
This^^^^^^

Marco, I get it, your precious pies are doing ok. And your good buddy, the Ox's team has finally made finals. So you're both pretty full of yourselves.

But Juddy's JUST VOICED AN OPINION!

And you and your mate decide to (ab)use your platform, and you both come in off the long run...and go.......Carlton!!!!!!

You don't think there was enough of you already?

You don't think we know we won the spoon?

I know, it's your favourite word. So it's your turn to cop it:
Flog.

I think we just had a couple of players coming off the defensive side of the square. If the likes of Ed would look for the runners instead of banging it forward, it wouldn't have looked as bad.

Our runners would have been streaming past stationary Crows trying to pick them up.

If we lost the clearance, we had extra bodies close to the area to apply pressure.

Looks shit when the players don't play smart.
In the vision he showed we had extras on he wing, the problem was, we won it out of the centre and kicked it straight to a 6 on 2 and effectively gave them clean possession of the ball to which they just strolled out of their defensive 50.

The commentators on the night were also confused by the tactic.
It begs the question, is the quick kick clearance part of the game plan or is it a reflection of the panicky/chaos football which kicks in when the opposition ramp up the pressure on us. Bryce Gibbs was quite often guilty of this. In contrast, Crippa will try & get into space before looking to kick inside 50 & if no options are immediately obvious will look for a runner in space.

Some of the better sides seem not to rate clearances as the be all & end all, instead being happy to set up behind the ball, ready for the misdirected clearance kick & start their run from the back half.

It begs the question, is the quick kick clearance part of the game plan or is it a reflection of the panicky/chaos football which kicks in when the opposition ramp up the pressure on us. Bryce Gibbs was quite often guilty of this. In contrast, Crippa will try & get into space before looking to kick inside 50 & if no options are immediately obvious will look for a runner in space.

Some of the better sides seem not to rate clearances as the be all & end all, instead being happy to set up behind the ball, ready for the misdirected clearance kick & start their run from the back half.

This is the benefit of SPS. He is quite adept at altering his plans in a split second, and finding a short target to give us time to set up. He gets criticised for those short kicks too.

Ahhh yeah I watched last week …. carbon copy. They were quite happy to let us win the centre bounce.