Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part 2 (cont. in Part 3)

I very rarely get stuck in to the media, but FMD the beat-up over the last couple of days is a disgrace. And I know it's a cliche but it's genuinely just a constant media beat up.

It's phenomenal that some former players and people that sit behind a desk to give their 'respected' opinions on football can possibly come to the conclusion that the position we are in at the moment is unhealthy, especially seeing we had our first win of the season a mere 9 days ago.

Granted our win loss tally is horrendous, but that is expected when you lose the amount of players that we have so far this year. Gibbs and Docherty alone would give us ~60 disposals a week last year and losing Murphy for 6 rounds leave us with ~90 disposals out of ~300 per week (30%). That is an incredible amount of disposals that you need to find from a group of players, let alone young midfielders. Add that to our long injury list.

I'm baffled how these paid 'professionals' such as Gerard Whateley (of whom I had a good opinion of) can come to these conclusions.

Whately has realised that now he’s fully in the commercial world that the only way he’ll attract listeners to the “Bogan & No Show” SEN demographic is to stoop to click bait statements.

Whateley has developed the kind of arrogance that often comes from supporters whose clubs have gone through a period of sustained success.

That and the fact that he now has to generate 3 hours of radio content every day, with barely a spare moment to actually see all the games or reflect on what he is seeing.

At least Healy, Roos, and Brown “On the Couch” had a reasoned discussion about out plight and referenced our injuries and our lack of depth to cover.
you know you've got no chance of an intelligent discussion when the most rational thoughts are coming from Jonathan brown.

When i heard robbo say that he can't see what the club is trying to do, i was instantly filled with more confidence than the time i drank my first beer.

Whately has realised that now he’s fully in the commercial world that the only way he’ll attract listeners to the “Bogan & No Show” SEN demographic is to stoop to click bait statements.
I thought he’d give us a week off after a win but he was at it with man Robbo again. Ya gotta laugh.

Didn’t see much heat for the Saints. Who’s on their show again?

Well that’s a laudable attitude for you to have.
But the club needs to attract and keep a new generation of supporters.
Young ppl don’t want to support losers.
Carlton needs to revolt against the AFL.
It’s “socialist” system is slowly turning our previously great club into a version of St Kilda.
Tell that to Richmond supporters. Tell that to Nth Melbourne supporters. Tell that to Melbourne supporters. Tell that to Collingwood supporters from the 90's. Tell that to the stalwarts who went for Fitzroy and stuck with it after the move north. Tell that to the South Melbourne fans who keep the faith. Tell that to the long-serving Fremantle fans.

Don't be an a-hole, believing the young less capable of passion or loyalty.

Whately... Whately...
Can someone just remind me, which AFL club did he play for again? I don't recall.

Tell that to Richmond supporters. Tell that to Nth Melbourne supporters. Tell that to Melbourne supporters. Tell that to Collingwood supporters from the 90's. Tell that to the stalwarts who went for Fitzroy and stuck with it after the move north. Tell that to the South Melbourne fans who keep the faith. Tell that to the long-serving Fremantle fans.

Yeah!

Us young fans are diehard...

I successfully indoctrinated my three kids. They are now 15, 12 and 9 respectively and showing no sign of jumping ship on their old man. I pray their faith will be rewarded in my lifetime!
Day will come again. :blacksunrays:

Watch Robert Walls’ interview on fox sports. It is his view, which I share.
He was at the game yesterday.
Watch the interview.

Watch Robert Walls’ interview on fox sports. It is his view, which I share.
He was at the game yesterday.
Watch the interview.
It's just another way to sook about our current predicament without really adding anything new or interesting to the conversation.

The idea that we could 'lose a generation of supporters' demonstrates how fickle he thinks we are.

People walking out early when they can see their team is in the middle of a shellacking is nothing new.

It's just another way to sook about our current predicament without really adding anything new or interesting to the conversation.

The idea that we could 'lose a generation of supporters' demonstrates how fickle he thinks we are.

People walking out early when they can see their team is in the middle of a shellacking is nothing new.
I don’t think that you uunderstand what he was really saying.Btw he us a former premiership player and coach.
He is not in the media any longer.

Carlton’s woeful performances started well before yesterday, way before.

Underneath his comments was a call to the AFL to give much needed assistance to this club.
We desperately need it.

Last year Walls at the '87 reunion was talking about Pickett as one of the good young players we had coming through.

Last night he's lumped him in with the failed recycled players from other clubs....

This is what upsets me the most- this bullshit of changing minds after a big loss...

And this crap about terrible recycled players. We have gone through not a rebuild but a RESET. Imagine it like when GWS or Gold Coast started up, but without all the compensation picks. That is how bad our list was. I would like someone to tell me our spine before Bolton arrived and explain to me how it would have lasted 10 years. I'd like someone to go through that same list and show me the 23-28 year old's we had and how "good" they were... The magnitude of this reset is enormous.
As for us getting rejects, all i'm hearing is how we wouldn't be able to attract good players to our club. So who else were we meant to get? We NEEDED to build a list of players. SOS knew the GWS boys so he got them in. Some of them will be fantastic. But most of them are there to fill spots in a terrible list that is rapidly improving...
I'm just over the bullshit from media types and ex players who claim to know what's going on but they are just blind, ignorant or stupid!

Chris Pelchen on SEN about our List

Stats v Melbourne (age) misleading
Building the right way.
These games happen in a rebuild.
Average 5 picks per year but getting top end
Concern we have 20 players from other clubs. Too many. Problem is not many are stars
Try to turn Pick 1 into multiple picks inside Pick 12. Great draft to do it
Gaps all around the field?
Ruck is a weakness. Key Forward?
Going about it the right way. Concerned about later picks (O'Shea etc)

Not exactly an indepth analysis but he didn't have much time

Chris Pelchen on SEN about our List

Stats v Melbourne (age) misleading
Building the right way.
These games happen in a rebuild.
Average 5 picks per year but getting top end
Concern we have 20 players from other clubs. Too many. Problem is not many are stars
Try to turn Pick 1 into multiple picks inside Pick 12. Great draft to do it
Gaps all around the field?
Ruck is a weakness. Key Forward?
Going about it the right way. Concerned about later picks (O'Shea etc)

Not exactly an indepth analysis but he didn't have much time

My only response to this is SOS had to grab some players to help out this year. At the end of the year if for example we replace

O'Shea Mullett Shaw Graham Thomas for Pick 1, 2 x second rounders, A FA, a trade and some picks it looks so much better

I still think it's 8-10 changes this year with 2-3 ready to go top level players and more young picks.

Personally I hope that with this great draft and some good FA/Trades SOS clears out O'Shea Mullett Graham Thomas Kerridge Lobbe Lamb G-Mac Shaw and brings in better talent. It's tough but we really need to get past just okay/or older past their best players

Revenge of the Lloyd on fox footy.

Marc Murphy should leave for success like Gibbs is what he has written pretty much.

Credit to SEN, this ain't too bad and is a welcome change to all the "they've been rebuilding for 15 years!" and "worst team eva! sakc Bolton!" kind of drivel that's floating around everywhere else.

AFL_Nation_Best_22.png

Filling the blanks and updating it a touch using current listed players...

FB: Marchbank, Weitering, Plowman
HB: Docherty, Macreadie, Williamson
C: Petrevski-Seton, Cripps, O'Brien
HF: Cuningham, C Curnow, Lang
FF: Pickett, McKay, Garlett?
FOL: Kreuzer, Dow, Fisher
INT: Murphy, E Curnow, Kennedy, Byrne/Silvagni/Polson/De Koning/Schumacher/Wright?

I'm reasonably happy with that. Not sure Murph will still be a starting in the square, and reckon O'Brien has to be on a wing by then. Added Macradie at CHB, Cuningham at HFF and Garlett in a pocket to fill the gaps. Obviously there will be probably another 1 or 2 top 10 draft picks that join us in the next couple of years, maybe a FA/Trade or two, but there's a decent base of a squad to build around.

Credit to SEN, this ain't too bad and is a welcome change to all the "they've been rebuilding for 15 years!" and "worst team eva! sakc Bolton!" kind of drivel that's floating around everywhere else.

AFL_Nation_Best_22.png

INT: Murphy, E Curnow, Kennedy, Byrne/Silvagni/Polson/De Koning/Schumacher/Wright?

I'm reasonably happy with that. Not sure Murph will still be a starting in the square, and reckon O'Brien has to be on a wing by then. Added Macradie at CHB, Cuningham at HFF and Garlett in a pocket to fill the gaps. Obviously there will be probably another 1 or 2 top 10 draft picks that join us in the next couple of years, maybe a FA/Trade or two, but there's a decent base of a squad to build around.

Pretty good core to me. There will also be TWO trade/draft periods before then. Over the next 2 years you would expect atleast 12-14 changes including some elite early talent and some FA/Big Fish. That makes a MASSIVE diffference

I'm also very bullish on Macreadie TDK Kerr LeBois Cuningham Schumacher Garlett Silvagni Byrne plus I reckon Jones has another 4-5 years in him

With Docherty back and a more mature midfield, Jones will be a lot better player and still only 29 in 2020.
Unless Byrne become chronically injured he'll be in this squad as a 25 year old.
Macreadie just needs opportunity and he'll likely be our CHB for years to come.

We have all of 2018's trades & FA's
We have all of 2019's trades & FA's
We have more than one good pick in 2018.
We'll have high picks in 2019.

Lots can and will change to that which has been put forward here.

AFL_Nation_Best_22.png

Credit to SEN, but more to a mad Carlton man in Nic Negrepontis in adding some sanity to the current hyperbole.