Preview Carlton vs Brisbane: A Historical Perspective

• Thread starter Thread starter Jeremias

Most of my memories of Brisbane were after moving to Melbourne in 2007 and while I was with my now ex who was a Fitzroy/Brisbane supporter. ..

My first game at the Gabba 2008 - Taking a comfortable lead into half time, only for Jonathon Brown to take the game by the scruff of the neck (as he had earlier in the year) along side Daniel Bradshaw and launched a 9 goal to 1 goal 3rd quarter turn around. .. Thought it was over until Cameron Cloke took some great grabs in the 4th and led us to a 6 goal to none quarter and victory. .. Blues by 4pts

Next game at the Gabba 2009 - Fevola having a field day before a Jared Brennan inspired come back that saw he and Brown (again) almost steal the game. .. Blues by 6pts

Back to the Gabba Elmination Final 2009 - Watched this one on TV in Melbourne, thinking that I would get to see my boys the following week only for Jonathon Brown (it was becoming a theme) and Daniel Bradshaw (especially) purple patch stealing the game away from us in the last. .. I went to the game the following week only to see a meek Brisbane capitulate to the Bulldogs and leaving at 3/4 time (the only time I've ever left a match early). .. Brisbane by 7pts

My first Carlton game at Princes Park 2010 (Pre-season) - Return of Fevola. .. He got frosty and warm reception mixed together and we won. .. The ground ran out of beer at half time. .. Blues by lots. ..

The Gabba again - Round 2, 2010 - Hendo goes head to head with Fev for the first half and Hendo and us are on top. .. Once again Jonathon Brown turns it on in the second half (kicking 7 for the day) and poor T-Bird draws the short straw. .. Brisbane by 19pts

We haven't lost since and I'm looking forward to another good game on the weekend (I'm in Brisbane). .. :D

Kouta's last quarter in 95 final at MCG, moved to full forward and was the match winner.

Capper's goal in 89 at PP to sink Walls, ironically Walls would go on to coach the Bears from 91 to 95.

1999 Qualifying Final Gabba - :thumbsdown::thumbsdown: smashed by 12 goals and earned a home final the following week against the Eagles and smashed them....:p

2000 Semi Final MCG - Won by 82 pts, Hamill kicked 7 goals.

2001 rd.8 - Smashed them by 12 goals at PP, Kouta 36 disposals, 11 marks and 3 goals.
Remember the Lions copped a heap in the media and they turned their season around after a players meeting to go on and win the flag that year.

2007 rd.5 Telstra Dome - Blues kick 14 goals by half time and still lose:eek:

2007 rd.16 Gabba - Lions beat us by 20 goals, Brown kicks 10:(

Question: Should memories of the Bears and Fitzroy be included in this thread also ??

2000 Semi Final MCG - Won by 82 pts, Hamill kicked 7 goals.

He ran down Voss who had a couple of bounces and was running out of defensive 50 into the centre. Hamill chased him, tackled him and smashed him into the MCG turf so hard the stadium shook.

Needless to say lost my voice and still regret the day we lost him.

One of the few teams where the first few memories that come into your head are bad ones. Cappers goal in '89, the elimation final of '09 and Browny kicking 10 against us which was Pagans last game in charge. Of course there was Eddie's couple of marks in last years game, and final in '95.

Great memories:thumbsu:

He ran down Voss who had a couple of bounces and was running out of defensive 50 into the centre. Hamill chased him, tackled him and smashed him into the MCG turf so hard the stadium shook.

Needless to say lost my voice and still regret the day we lost him.
Was a great tackle, geez he was hard at it, played his best footy as a blue also I reckon.:thumbsu:

I have fond memories of the Round 16, 2000 clash between the 2 teams, in a game which saw Lance Whitnall kick 9 goals, giving Justin Leppitsch an absolute pasting.

It was quite an incredible game this one. After a 9 goal second quarter, we held an 11 goal lead, only to see the Lions kick 11 goals in the 3rd quarter & reduce the margin to 29 points. They also kicked the first goal of the last quarter, further reducing the margin to less than 4 goals. Fortunately we steadied & ended up winning the game by 44 points, 23.18.156 to 17.10.112. The standard of footy on the day was top class.

My Blues vs Lions History

Gabba: Brown kicks 10 and we lose by 100
Gabba: After being 6 goals up in the final quarter of the elimination final, watch the game slip away and Judd's infamous 'pressure point'.
Gabba: Easter Thursday, lose by 30 odd and get my mug on tv for heckling Browny while he lines up for goal along the boundary line.
Ethihad: Win by about 10 goals, no Brown from memory.

I really hope I've seen a win at the Gabba that I just can't remember. How depressing. In any case, I hate the Lions because of the above. Show no mercy, Blue Baggers!

I have fond memories of the Round 16, 2000 clash between the 2 teams, in a game which saw Lance Whitnall kick 9 goals, giving Justin Leppitsch an absolute pasting.

It was quite an incredible game this one. After a 9 goal second quarter, we held an 11 goal lead, only to see the Lions kick 11 goals in the 3rd quarter & reduce the margin to 29 points. They also kicked the first goal of the last quarter, further reducing the margin to less than 4 goals. Fortunately we steadied & ended up winning the game by 44 points, 23.18.156 to 17.10.112. The standard of footy on the day was top class.

I reckon our form in that 13 game streak surpassed anything in '95. I've never seen us look better.

I reckon our form in that 13 game streak supassed anything in '95. I've never seen us look better.
I agree Franc, I Went to the Essendon game with over 91,000 others in round 20 that year and watched us be very competitive with Essendon despite losing Kouta and Bradley early to injury. That season was ruined by injuries to key players in big games. Essendon won 20 in a row.

That was a much anticipated match as both teams were in real good form all season, amazing atmosphere and as you said some brilliant football that season.

I agree Franc, I Went to the Essendon game with over 91,000 others in round 20 that year and watched us be very competitive with Essendon despite losing Kouta and Bradley early to injury. That season was ruined by injuries to key players in big games. Essendon won 20 in a row.

That was a much anticipated match as both teams were in real good form all season, amazing atmosphere and as you said some brilliant football that season.

Were it not for the 2000 Bombers/injury we'd have won the flag in a canter that year. That raises a strange question; if we'd have lost the '99 prelim and Essendon won that flag, would we have won the 2000 flag?

I think so.

Kouta's last quarter in 95 final at MCG, moved to full forward and was the match winner.

A real bittersweet moment for Bears fans. No-one gave us much hope of knocking your blokes over and we competed really well. Still, it meant that our first foray into the finals only lasted one match which at the time was so disappointing. It was only as the finals series rolled on that our effort became more meritorious as Carlton dominated all comers. There was a sense of satisfaction on Grand Final day (no, I didn't barrack for you!) that we got as close as we did in that first final.

Great idea for a thread Jeremias - mind if we pinch the concept?

Not at all mate, go for it. :thumbsu:

Thanks for coming by and contributing. The aim is to open it up not just for Carlton supporters but also to encourage opposition supporters to respectfully share their own memories of years gone by.

A real bittersweet moment for Bears fans. No-one gave us much hope of knocking your blokes over and we competed really well. Still, it meant that our first foray into the finals only lasted one match which at the time was so disappointing. It was only as the finals series rolled on that our effort became more meritorious as Carlton dominated all comers. There was a sense of satisfaction on Grand Final day (no, I didn't barrack for you!) that we got as close as we did in that first final.

That seems so unfair when I barracked my guts out for you guys when you played Collingwood in consecutive grand finals....:p

Best memory is the huge semi final game at the G in 2000. Thumped them by 82 pts.