Carlton vs Hawthorn - predictions

• Thread starter Thread starter BlueDevil

I love footy banter.

Thanks taty for puytting up with some crap; good stuff Carlton fans for lifting that chin from the floor of the past few years and going for it. I think these 2 teams have the best 2 young lists in the competition and will be building a new rivalry over the next 10 years.

So there's going to be more of this!

Taty - just one thing. No one disputes we've been crap for 2 years. You seem to be disputing the very same thing for your team whilst you've beaten Geelong and some bottom 4 teams. Weve been more crap than you, yes, but you're still crap and you should accept that.

its better then winning the woodernspoon half whit.

And to think I got banned yesterday from the Hawks board for less than this.
Touchy touchy.

I really hope that the Hawks DO think that they only have to beat Fev, and that Murph is our only midfielder..............it would be hilarious.
Anyone would think they smashed us last year.
In Rnd 4 we kicked 2.7 in the third term, and Whitnall was just beaten by the siren to cut the lead at 3/4 time to 11 points.
They outrun us in the fourth. Well won but not smashed.
Rnd 19 only Chris Bryan was capable of stopping Fev from kicking us to a win as an 8 goal half time lead was cut to 6, at 3/4 time, then to 17 points with 5 minutes to spare - when the big Pie man took Fevs grab, knocked him out, then proceeded to put it OOF.
Hawks steady to win by 17.

Now with the history lesson over, our backline is at least a 2-3 goal better line than in either of those games.
Our forward line is probably 1-2 goals better with Kennedy and Lance.

Tighter contest coming up than you hawks fans would think, but go on - keep deluding yourselves, and mind your manners on this board, as I have been forced to on yours.

you carlton ********s are all the same. who cares that i accidently hit a key when i was in a rush trying to reply to your simple minded comments. some of us have jobs and have work to do. we dont all get to sit around in the ghetto and shoot up like you carlton homo's.

Ohhh if only I was still a mod... there wouldn't be anything left to send your family.

If we we're playing you at anywhere other than Aurora I'd put you guys probably 60/40 in your favour.

Down in Tassie however the ground really does favour us due to its size and our increased experience in playing there so I'd put us at probably 70/30.

great news tasmanian sports fans

forcast for saturday in launceston is fine and 27 degrees. should make saturday evening a perfect night for football.:thumbsu:

Yay!

It is a big ground, and if we were tired last week against Essendon, we'll be feeling it this week with a lot more running to do.

Hopefully our interchange bench will have a lot of coverage (Fair share of forwards, mids and defenders), so we can rotate heaps of players.

If we we're playing you at anywhere other than Aurora I'd put you guys probably 60/40 in your favour.

Down in Tassie however the ground really does favour us due to its size and our increased experience in playing there so I'd put us at probably 70/30.

I wouldn't go that far ....60/40 at the most

Anyone would think it was a golf course.

Its a footy field........how different could it be.:rolleyes:

Some advantage, yes, to go from 60/40 us to 70/30 to you........joke.

Is there any chance we will see on of the strangest match up's in AFL history.....Josh Kennedy (Carlton) playing on Josh Kenndy (Hawthorn)?

Oh God I hope so, forget Fev, JK will kick 10.

The Blues Will make Hawthorn Pay for every mistake they make :) make em cough up the ball try and suck the umpires into a few 50 meter Penelties :)
suck Hawthorn into a fight ;) upset their plans

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tatybulldog
its better then winning the woodernspoon half whit.

It's always amusing to point out a troll's spelling mistakes after he's insulted someone's intelligence. :cool:

Hawthorn might beat us but they're still a terrible side.

Do you call that a backline?

Yup, next stop, rocket surgery :rolleyes:

you carlton ********s are all the same. who cares that i accidently hit a key when i was in a rush trying to reply to your simple minded comments. some of us have jobs and have work to do. we dont all get to sit around in the ghetto and shoot up like you carlton homo's.

Work for the dole is not a job buddy!

But you're right, better go and pick up your shovel and get back to work my boy, us taxpayers aren't paying you muck around on Big Footy.

you guys deserved that win - fantastic defensive pressure, and a number of our midfielders were making terrible decisions time after time. in order for hawthorn to beat good teams this year, we can't have players like bateman, mcglynn, and clarke making stupid blunders like that. definitely some work to do.
pleasing for you guys, is that you won without any of your main goalscorers truly getting on top - the team worked hard and grinded out a win.

enjoy the success now though - only one of the NAB cup games played so far has been won by the team that finished higher on the ladder last year, and you can hardly say that the ladder is going to flip upside down in 2007 (we beat melbourne the week before, but i reckon they're a considerably better outfit than us overall).

but wow - does anyone take cattybossdog seriously on this board? ridiculous boasts that seem just to be made to get attention and get a reaction - seems a bit immature and sad.

you guys deserved that win - fantastic defensive pressure, and a number of our midfielders were making terrible decisions time after time. in order for hawthorn to beat good teams this year, we can't have players like bateman, mcglynn, and clarke making stupid blunders like that. definitely some work to do.
pleasing for you guys, is that you won without any of your main goalscorers truly getting on top - the team worked hard and grinded out a win.

enjoy the success now though - only one of the NAB cup games played so far has been won by the team that finished higher on the ladder last year, and you can hardly say that the ladder is going to flip upside down in 2007 (we beat melbourne the week before, but i reckon they're a considerably better outfit than us overall).

but wow - does anyone take cattybossdog seriously on this board? ridiculous boasts that seem just to be made to get attention and get a reaction - seems a bit immature and sad.

I think you need to look at the terrible gameplan that the Hawks employed on the night for the loss .
The Blues were sensational in their pressure on the ball carrier ...and Clarkson had the Hawks overposssessing the ball all game . It was always gonna be their downfall

I think you need to look at the terrible gameplan that the Hawks employed on the night for the loss .
The Blues were sensational in their pressure on the ball carrier ...and Clarkson had the Hawks overposssessing the ball all game . It was always gonna be their downfall

yeah i had some objections to that too, certainly. the "isolate 4 forwards in the 50" plan worked briefly, but it wasn't really altered after it stopped working. i think our overpossession and chaos in the back and middle was also partly caused by the 20m kick rule - i think we'd become dependent on short kicks, and it rattled us when we could no longer hold up the play with them. so it became either a long kick (and our forwards weren't leading up far enough), or a sequence of panic handballs that all too often ended with a turnover, thanks to the excellent defensive pressure the blues put on.

but experimentation is what the NAB cup is for - i'm glad clarkson tried a couple of new approaches, and seeing as though they generally weren't effective, i'm glad it didn't cost us any premiership points.
the two worst things to come out of it for us, is that it means that campbell brown's suspension carries through round 1 now, and we have to fly to perth to play fremantle this weekend.

Bugga i forgot about Browny - though against Brisbane's half forward line I think we will cope. I am mega annoyed about having the team fly to perth - but then again had we won we would have flown to the gold coast anyway...

Good to hear an honest assesment from a hawk supporter. I'm not getting too carried away with our win. We still have a long way to go. As on any board people people get ahead of themselves with where their list and club is at. Hawthorns list is potentially A1 but can you calm a few of your supporters down by telling them that Muston, Ellis, Dowler, Thorpe, Kennedy, Renouf ect. have hardly even played AFL yet. A couple of them need a reality check. Wait until they have played a dozen half decent games and shown a bit before spruiking how good their list is.

The team that mantained the higher skill level was always going to win that game, and Fev did not kick a huge bag (but had a good game), my predictions exactly. CattyBossDog comments are terrible though. Carlton seem to be developing well, but in Hawthorns defence, if that was an actual real game of football, Clarkson would have changed the tactics he was employing, after Pagan started to get on top of it. Should be able to whip the Kangas :thumbsu:

Flame on!