Carlton's last 6 seasons

• Thread starter Thread starter Catsace

I assume that you werent trying to spell assassin when you picked your user name.

The only team to truly flog us last year was geelong so unless Judd ( as that will be the only real change to Carlton) is going to kick 20 goals. I arent saying we will win but I doubt it will be a flogging.

Khan

Spot on Khan. Unlike the Blues whose average losing margin over the last three years has been abysmal. Plenty of 70 plus point thrashings in that period...a staggering amount!

When Terry took over the Tigers he said that Richmond had a much better list than the Hawks. :D

I would like to see that exact quote and the actual year he said it. Not saying he didnt say that but i think it would have defied logic for him to say that at the start of his first year given we were a shocking wooden spooner. However in '06 it would be reasonable to say that given we finished 9th and you guys finished 11th, we had the runner up in the rising star, and alot of promising guys came through. We stagnated this year, particularly in player development of guys who were potential stars in '06 (see tambling, schulz, raines, hyde, white, hartigan, meyer, hughes, polo) and ruck management (see injuries to simmonds, knobel, hall). Dont be suprised if we are right up with you guys next year.

Terry is now under the pump as his and Millers recruiting model is coming under fire.

Its amazes me that a club that has stagnated for 20 years have its supporters ridicule and throw garbage at clubs that have chosen not to stagnate.

Terry and miller are only really under fire by opposition supporters who want to see us switch coaches mid-redevelopment again (see northey, bartlett and to some extent even the geisch). True richmond supporters are passionate and want to see if these guys can bring success with a unique rebuilding plan, and are willing to give them till at least 2009. All these years without a premiership, whats another 2?

And wtf? Chosen to stagnate? Is keeping miller and terry on choosing to stagnate? I would argue that stagnating is finishing 9th every year by topping up with recycled hacks as we did in the 90s and early 00s, at least with these two in charge we will either finish near the bottom and rebuild or hopefully rocket up.

We can throw whatever crap we like at you guys you are on our forum!

I would like to see that exact quote and the actual year he said it. Not saying he didnt say that but i think it would have defied logic for him to say that at the start of his first year given we were a shocking wooden spooner. However in '06 it would be reasonable to say that given we finished 9th and you guys finished 11th, we had the runner up in the rising star, and alot of promising guys came through. We stagnated this year, particularly in player development of guys who were potential stars in '06 (see tambling, schulz, raines, hyde, white, hartigan, meyer, hughes, polo) and ruck management (see injuries to simmonds, knobel, hall). Dont be suprised if we are right up with you guys next year.

Terry and miller are only really under fire by opposition supporters who want to see us switch coaches mid-redevelopment again (see northey, bartlett and to some extent even the geisch). True richmond supporters are passionate and want to see if these guys can bring success with a unique rebuilding plan, and are willing to give them till at least 2009. All these years without a premiership, whats another 2?

And wtf? Chosen to stagnate? Is keeping miller and terry on choosing to stagnate? I would argue that stagnating is finishing 9th every year by topping up with recycled hacks as we did in the 90s and early 00s, at least with these two in charge we will either finish near the bottom and rebuild or hopefully rocket up.

We can throw whatever crap we like at you guys you are on our forum!

What i like about your comments are that you have put some thought into them and havent put the old p.ss off troll to finish, however i have to disagree on a few things...

Terry mentioned a few times the reason he chose richmond over Hawthorn was that Richmonds list was better placed to push for finals and would achieve success before Hawthorn.

What i couldnt believe was that Terry kept the Kellaways, Gaspar and a few others whos careers were over on the list for the first 2 years of his job. During that time he picked up Mark Graham and a some other recycled players like kingsley that were never going to work.

My point to the whole argument when i hear Tiger supporters get on talkback and say the Hawks have been gifted a quality list is that it is rubbish and has no merit to it.

Richmond for Terrys first 2 years in charge decided to top up and keep players on your list that were finished. While he was playing favourites to a few of them the Hawks admin was making ruthless business decisions on some of our so called stars.

next time i hear or see a tiger supporter make comments about the Hawks on radio or on bigfooty i hope they put a little thought into their argument before commenting.

thanks for your time.

What i like about your comments are that you have put some thought into them and havent put the old p.ss off troll to finish, however i have to disagree on a few things...

Terry mentioned a few times the reason he chose richmond over Hawthorn was that Richmonds list was better placed to push for finals and would achieve success before Hawthorn.

What i couldnt believe was that Terry kept the Kellaways, Gaspar and a few others whos careers were over on the list for the first 2 years of his job. During that time he picked up Mark Graham and a some other recycled players like kingsley that were never going to work.

My point to the whole argument when i hear Tiger supporters get on talkback and say the Hawks have been gifted a quality list is that it is rubbish and has no merit to it.

Richmond for Terrys first 2 years in charge decided to top up and keep players on your list that were finished. While he was playing favourites to a few of them the Hawks admin was making ruthless business decisions on some of our so called stars.

next time i hear or see a tiger supporter make comments about the Hawks on radio or on bigfooty i hope they put a little thought into their argument before commenting.

thanks for your time.

I think this is a common mistake many people have incorrectly read into his comments at the time.

I wish I could actually find the article at the time he said it, I once had it but no longer do but his comments was actually along the lines of:

Richmond's current list is much better situated than Hawthorns to achieve long term success, Hawthorns is a more mature list..................

Then that off season Hawthorn had that huge purge of old players and recruited heavily in youngsters.

Another misconception is we decided to top up ................... absolute BullS, sure we recruited a few older players but the majority of our picks were for youngsters (you only have to write a list of the kids we picked up to prove it)as when Wallace arrived at Richmond he noticed we had a massive gap between the old and the young. Just because we dicided not to draft 100% young kids doesnt mean we tried to top up.

Terry's mistake was last year (2007) he actually deviated from his plan, he said when he first came it was important to win as many games as possible because he doesnt believe in bottoming out to turn things around.... yet every now and then last year he said even before the season started that he expected us to pretty much bottom out this year because we have overachieved the past few seasons............. thats what irks me the most.

What i couldnt believe was that Terry kept the Kellaways, Gaspar and a few others whos careers were over on the list for the first 2 years of his job.
Any idea of the concept of a contract?

ps. He turned over more players than the other clubs.

pps. He didn't keep Duncan Kellaway.

ppss. Not sure what games you were watching to think Andrew Kellaway's career was over in Wallace's first 2 years.

Okay thats alot different to saying "Richmond had a much better list than the Hawks". I would still argue that Richmonds list, with the injury and recruiting luck you guys have had, would be right up there too. If you guys had pick 4 in the '04 draft we all know you would have taken tambling. Its widely acknowledged that he probably even "slipped" a little from pre draft calculations. Add to stuff like that the injuries to every ruckman in our team bar pattison (who is a chf come ruckman) vs simon taylor and robbie campbell suddenly coming good...not even the most optimistic hawthorn supporter or pesimistic richmond supporter could have predicted those outcomes. Also neither team is going to achieve ultimate success until they are even across the park. Right now both of us have key defensive deficiencies, and the tigers also have a ruck deficiency. Geelong '07, west coast '06, sydney '05...all had very few deficiencies. Although West coast and geelong both had average forwardlines but they made up for it with goalkicking midfielders.

Okay heres what you guys did. You suckered other clubs into taking 2 guys with psychological problems, both talented but not quite up to it commitment wise at least at hawthorn (thompson, hay). We kept Gaspar and kellaway, both near worthless to other clubs because of a) injuries and b) age, but of use to us because it meant we didnt totally fall apart and lose members. We kept them because they were both all australians and best and fairest winners in fairly successful tiger teams, and because we had 0 people to back them up. On top of that terry rightly realised even with those two we needed more depth (hence mark graham, a master move in my opinion because it kept our defence together and hence our team competitive in a year we really needed to show something) otherwise the younguns like thursfield were going to get mauled (see zac dawson). Look at our '04 list. We had guys like ray hall and zantuck as our key position defenders. You guys got lucky. You got croad back from freo as a chb, but in effect got him, mitchell and hodge for ryley dunn (who has now been delisted). You also got lucky in that compared to '05-'06, Roughead stepped up, and Franklin got some consistency into his brilliance. Also guys like lewis, boyle,mcglynn, sewell, young all stood up enormously where it was equally possible that they could have done nothing this year given their prior form. Meanwhile, Polo, Raines, Tambling, Schulz, Hughes, White, Hyde...all guys who were looking like core players, took massive backward steps imo.

Footy is a swinging pendulum and if everything goes right we have almost as much chance, with the talent of our current list, as winning a premiership next year as you do. ie no chance because geelong have it stitched up :D

We add Judd and Stevens into our midfield, which suddenly takes almost all the pressure of Murphy, Carrazzo, Simpson and Co. We also add Hadley, who will provide some much needed midfield depth. Carlos gets another pre-season under his belt, and can hopefully settle in one position.

There's alot to look forward to as a Carlton supporter, and 2008 cannot come quickly enough.

I have to laugh... so your improvement is solely based on Judd and Stevens? Judd is a twang away from being lame again and Stevens is only a Brent Guerra shirtfront to put him in a wheel chair.

Question: hows your backline looking? That my friend, is the most embarassing group of 6 hacks l have ever seen grace a football field. :D

Question: who is your 2008 ruckman again? Kreuzer, Cloke or Ackland? :D

Question: who is your midfield going to kick it to? Fev? Not bad... but he's only a Lara Bingle away from total self-destruction. Waite? We'll see him in round 7 buddy, of which he has 4 games until you statistically and histroically start to implode. :D

Honestly, the more l look at it... the more l can see another priority draft pick for you cheating scumbags!