Central Highlands

Whack!
Must be a different silky then eh? what team do u play for then?
My footy is improving alot, Coming along with marks and goals, u could say. Cant wait for season to start.

Must be i play for Lake Wendouree well goof luck for your season hopefully you'll make your mark this year good luck

Ild say your jealous of his ability off season in football & Cricket. The guy has talent and played really well for Clunes 2 years ago as a 17 year old. Had last year off as he played cricket in England and im sure will prove you wrong. The kid has great potential and being the 4th or 5th forward he will do quite well in my opinion. In a few years with weights beind him, he will be quite a BIG lad!
As for skills he is very gifted, so I guess you have your facts wrong just like the Glen Handley transfer. He is off to Maryborough!!

Maybe you should hop onto the football field and show some courage rather than knocking players who are out there having a go! All players who step on the field are a lot harder than you guys who knock them. Not all players have courage, but thats football.......

Sam Miller can play and will be a terrific asset to Learmonth over a number of years. Remember he is only 20 and there are not to many 20 year old key possie players i can think of in the CHFL that will win a premiership for their club.

Can Bat to for that matter not that it makes any difference to the topic!

Sam Miller can play and will be a terrific asset to Learmonth over a number of years. Remember he is only 20 and there are not to many 20 year old key possie players i can think of in the CHFL that will win a premiership for their club.

Very big call. Time will be the only judge.

Surely those types of comments this time of year can only come back to bite you in the arse!

Yeah he goes alright for a stick insect. Probably won't be asked to play key position at Learmonth but could be a headache for opposition back lines - especially those lacking a bit of height. Very good pick up IMO.

Very big call. Time will be the only judge.

Surely those types of comments this time of year can only come back to bite you in the arse!

Why is this a big call?? Miller can play and he will be a terific asset as a second/ third string big forward at Learmonth. I never said he will win a game or premiership of his own boot. How many 20's CHF / FF in the CHFL could win a game or premirship of their own boot? Not to many i would suggest.

The club is well aware of Cowan playing for the rebels in 08 and have not "talked him up as playing with the dogs this season". Its the media who just assume so and as we all know, they hardly ever get anything right anyway (pointing to pedler). The dogs are all for Cowan playing in the rebels and hopefully going even further with football. Extremely talented.

Pedler should spend a bit of time researching clubs before writing pre season articles that contain information that has mainly been pulled out of his sphincter.

Maybe he should've asked Ballan what happened to Hayden Cartledge. Was supposed to be the coach but I hear he has left Matthew Green - who was supposed to be the assistant - in the shit and is not even playing this year. If true would be a massive hole out of their side along with the blokes who already have clearances in. Pretty good source tells me that Hayden isn't exactly flavour of the month out in 2 head town, nor is Saleshi Uhi. Uhi was on 800,yes $800 a game at Ballan, so that would give a fair indication that he might be into 4 figures at Hepburn, Good old Eddie! Also hear that Cartledge may have had an injury clause in his deal so he was getting good dough to sit on his arse, which makes the Ballan boys even happier. But the icing on the cake - a Ballan committee member 'allegedly' rang big Ed at Hepburn and gave him Uhi's phone number and told him that Ballan couldn't afford to pay him so they should have a go at him.
Sorry mate, I know you'll hate me but news is news

Maybe he should've asked Ballan what happened to Hayden Cartledge. Was supposed to be the coach but I hear he has left Matthew Green - who was supposed to be the assistant - in the shit and is not even playing this year. If true would be a massive hole out of their side along with the blokes who already have clearances in. Pretty good source tells me that Hayden isn't exactly flavour of the month out in 2 head town, nor is Saleshi Uhi. Uhi was on 800,yes $800 a game at Ballan, so that would give a fair indication that he might be into 4 figures at Hepburn, Good old Eddie! Also hear that Cartledge may have had an injury clause in his deal so he was getting good dough to sit on his arse, which makes the Ballan boys even happier. But the icing on the cake - a Ballan committee member 'allegedly' rang big Ed at Hepburn and gave him Uhi's phone number and told him that Ballan couldn't afford to pay him so they should have a go at him.
WISH HE HAD GIVEN THE PH NO TO A STRUGGLING CLUB LIKE GORDON GO GORDON

Hey guys, a mate and i are on the look for a club in the CHFL to train with once a week this year, and then we head back to our local clubs back in geelong and mornington. We will most likely play for the club we train the following year. We are both 19 years old, and both have been on TAC cup team squads.

There are 5 clubs that we are looking at in particular due to their proximity to uni.
Buninyong, Bungaree, Springbank, Dunnstown + Gordan.

we just want to know who has the best facilities out of those teams and which of those teams are either short of players or possibly have too many.

thanks guys.

Where do u think i based my comments from? When he played for clunes 2years ago. And considering u would have seen him at best once or twice, and I would have seen him (or played with???) every week then I know whose judgement I'd back if i was a betting man.

Not saying he won't be a big lad, what I'm saying is he is soft as absolute butter and will be a liability in big games when you there's more pressure to put your head over the ball.

Also watched alot of Sam Miller in 2006 and you would be correct in saying that he is not the hardest player going around. Having said that, it was his first year of senior footy and he may have matured since then....

There is no doubt he has all the skills to be a very good player as his form on the training track in 2006 showed. The wide open spaces of Learmonth may suit him more than the confines of Clunes.

Time will tell. :thumbsu:

First of all Merrigan do you really believe that anyone in this league gets paid $800 a game? that is a load of crap. Has it ever occured to you that salesi is a VCFL representative and played alongside Matthew Peake and Brendan Shepperd in those games and formed a strong friendship. He also played Bendigo Pioneers with Shep and they both harboured a desire to play together again one day. With Shep playing with Hepburn the oppertunity has arose. There is no way a Ballan committee man would hand over a players phone number, that would make him less popular in Ballan than both Salesi and Cartledge put together, so dont talk bull...t. And so what if Hepburn do pay their players, all clubs chase and talk to the same players ever year and they all know roughly what the asking price is. So is it Hepurn's fault that they have a very hard working committee which has the vision to raise the money to allow them to improve their facilities and attract some of the besy players this league has seen over the past 4 seasons. We would never had have been given the oppertunity to watch players of the calibre of McKay, Cox, Brown,Grant, Newton, Barras, Oliver, Peake etc etc if they wern't good at what they do. Love them or hate them they have made this league stronger and the fair dinkum clubs in this league have become a lot more proffesional in trying to keep up with them.

He got 1 thing right. A now former committee member did hand over Salesi's phone number mid last season, as he did to 3 other Central Highlands clubs 1 of which was Daylesford. And your'e right he's not popular.

On Cartledge, he isn't coaching because of work committments interstate and no he didn't have an injury clause. He was assistant to Scotty and did a lot of the coaching work with Greeny last year and was paid accordingly.

As for the $800, I would suggest your "pretty good source" is not as good as you think it is. Its miles from the truth.

Hey guys, a mate and i are on the look for a club in the CHFL to train with once a week this year, and then we head back to our local clubs back in geelong and mornington. We will most likely play for the club we train the following year. We are both 19 years old, and both have been on TAC cup team squads.

There are 5 clubs that we are looking at in particular due to their proximity to uni.

we just want to know who has the best facilities out of those teams and which of those teams are either short of players or possibly have too many.

thanks guys.

buninyong are the best facilities but high on numbers, gordon average facilities andlow on numbers, the other 3 midfield for both

You are delusional mate. I would put my house on the fact that at least 3 players at Hepburn are on over $800 a game this season.

He got 1 thing right. A now former committee member did hand over Salesi's phone number mid last season, as he did to 3 other Central Highlands clubs 1 of which was Daylesford. And your'e right he's not popular.

On Cartledge, he isn't coaching because of work committments interstate and no he didn't have an injury clause. He was assistant to Scotty and did a lot of the coaching work with Greeny last year and was paid accordingly.

As for the $800, I would suggest your "pretty good source" is not as good as you think it is. Its miles from the truth.
well helmut at least you have some idea on match payments and are a bit closer to the mark. But as luck would have it i was at Hepburn's training tonight and the question was asked to the bloke who does the Burras recruiting, how he got Salesi's number. He asked Brendan Shepperd if he had it, and yes Shep had it in his phone. Apparently Salesi had not been contacted by any other chfl club, maybe they wern't interested, a great pick up IMO

thanks guys.
Dunnstown have a lot of uni guys and there grounds in good nick they have up graded there lights, we are light on for players at gordon but its a bit further to travel

You are delusional mate. I would put my house on the fact that at least 3 players at Hepburn are on over $800 a game this season.

Horsham Mayor, I would like to support your claim that Hepburn pay above the odds of many normal clubs and have set the benchmark for many others to try and get too, buts lets be honest their is not many clubs that would be around to compte with what Hepburn would spend, I would even go to say that they would spend just as much if not more than what teams like Redan, East Point do in the BFL.

I think you may find that the Bunnies are also having a real crack this year and will want to see a return to finals for the investments made in players.

I am not worried about what teams spend, and i say if you belive this is the way to get a flag then well and good do what it takes but dont come whinging when it all falls down around you like Bungaree and Springbank are feeling the pinch at the moment. If you think that you are a chance then most footy clubs will find a few extra bucks to get that elusive flag.

Horsham Mayor, I would like to support your claim that Hepburn pay above the odds of many normal clubs and have set the benchmark for many others to try and get too, buts lets be honest their is not many clubs that would be around to compte with what Hepburn would spend, I would even go to say that they would spend just as much if not more than what teams like Redan, East Point do in the BFL.

I think you may find that the Bunnies are also having a real crack this year and will want to see a return to finals for the investments made in players.

I am not worried about what teams spend, and i say if you belive this is the way to get a flag then well and good do what it takes but dont come whinging when it all falls down around you like Bungaree and Springbank are feeling the pinch at the moment. If you think that you are a chance then most footy clubs will find a few extra bucks to get that elusive flag.

Good post mate :thumbsu:.
At least someone understands how it all works.

Heard on the grapevine that Newlyn have lost last years gun recruit T Cromb, any truth to this rumor, will be a big loss to the cats if this is true.

Just for clarification I dont think Bungaree's issues are money related as I understand they have a solid reserve still in the bank.

The issue for Bungaree is that the "heart" of the senior team over the past 10-15 years were locals who have now all finished up and haven't been replaced by a new local crew. They have therefore had to import players and as we all know the loyalty to the club is not the same so when things get tough they head back to where their roots are and who can blame them.

The same thing has happened to other clubs in the past ten years (e.g Dunnstown, Clunes and Beafourt) and will happen to other clubs in the future and it takes time to remedy this without spending massive bucks.

Finally in regard to the spending, one club paying overs for players is not sustainable for the league as it forces the price up for everyone which eventually becomes unsustainable. Have a look at Golden Point and Redan in the late 80's and early 90's when both were forced to the wall by trying to keep up with North and East. Hopefully this doesn't happen in our league.

There is no doubt they spend that sort of money but if theyre not spending beyond their means and wish to run the club that way then good luck to them. It makes it hard to have an even competition though against teams from smaller townships who don't have the same funds but work just as hard. Hepburn have just picked up another very good player from Bell Park in the Geelong Football League in Matty Dillion and its known that he has gone up there for good money. Will top them off very nicely and would be early flag favourites IMO.

Heard on the grapevine that Newlyn have lost last years gun recruit T Cromb, any truth to this rumor, will be a big loss to the cats if this is true.

tim cromb was no gun... was just a little sook who cried if he didnt get his way.... key word there being little... people are glad he's left...