Jarman03 said:Has it been confirmed whether Reid is coaching Bungaree or not?
Reis has signed, may be in the paper tomorrow, or maybe wait, until he has definantly signed up a few of his Redan mates....

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Jarman03 said:Has it been confirmed whether Reid is coaching Bungaree or not?
tud34 said:Slow down mate, we are all friends here having a discussion about the league.
No I have nothing to do with Ballan, but know a lot of people tied to it. I didn't say their big name players were'nt good players, but for the amount of money the dished out, they didn't get the return for them they probably should've. All I am saying is with the talent they had on show in there side that you have just mentioned the club was very dissapointing not to make the finals.
As for the charges, if it is not something that is known then it is not up to me to be spreading stories across on an internet forum.
I wasnt saying that Ballan arn't a talented side or are in trouble or anything like that. I was simply saying that they didnt see the value for the money they paid in the league ladder and there is some internal issues that the club need to resolve before they move on.
Oh, did you know the president quit as well because he wasnt happy with some things within the club?
learmonth said:I can support u there Tud34, Barry Sims, isnt a man that likes to dish out too many $$$ and I believe that would be the reason. He believes in loyality and has great values! As for the players being paid big $$$ good luck for them, but as a club, u would want a better finish then falling 10 points shy of making the finals. No use spending massive $$$ if ya not going to be a realistic chance. Ballan will always struggle on the BIG grounds, but are exceptionally ahrd to beat at home...
Duck Hunter said:AJ is a very good coach but 25K seems like a fair bit of money to me and would be surprised if that was the correct figure.
I would be interested to hear the figures some of the other coaches get?
Robertson?
Tranquilli?
Skontra?
Daylesford new coach?
Handley?
Gladman?
Gilbert?
C'mon boys let the rumours begin!
learmonth said:For starters, Aj is on no where near 25K, most of the money goes into his players, as a coach is only as good as the cattle he has on the park.
Robertson- Heard 30K (Not bad for a non playing coach)
Dford -No more then 10k
Gladman- Heard he was on 14K but ended up getting another 4k this season to total 18K- Not bad for a coach that seems to coach every side to the bottom???? Heard he is going back to Creswick this season>>>
As for all teh others, I have no idea, but would suggest b/t 8K & 16K
Uncle CC said:I heard from a reliable source last night that Luke Nunn is heading back to Redan this year and that he said he wouldn't play CHFL for less than $800 a game. He will only play at Learmonth if he is offered the coaching role.
learmonth said:For starters, Aj is on no where near 25K, most of the money goes into his players, as a coach is only as good as the cattle he has on the park.
Robertson- Heard 30K (Not bad for a non playing coach)
Dford -No more then 10k
Gladman- Heard he was on 14K but ended up getting another 4k this season to total 18K- Not bad for a coach that seems to coach every side to the bottom???? Heard he is going back to Creswick this season>>>
As for all teh others, I have no idea, but would suggest b/t 8K & 16K
crusader said:But that is of no worries to beach, he learnt his trade at dayleford, so it is anything goes for him
helmut said:You said the big name players didn't stand out, which is wrong. Of course it's dissappointing for any club to miss finals, but you are putting the blame at the wrong players. And you don't know money was dished out and to who.
You are right that the president quit. He told the committee that he didn't have the time to put in to take it on again, but would remain on the committee.
StNik said:So Helmut what players are you blaming if any???
NCFL said:All this talk of money is starting to piss me off. I coached another sport at state senior level and did not recieve anywhere near some of the money you blokes talk . Whatever happened to doing it for the love of the game and the rewards you recieve when you see the cup held aloft. Am I just being a ****er?
Uncle CC said:Agreed. It would be good if they could have a celery cap that was enforceable.
Freak Dodgeball Accident said:I think you mean salary cap, CC.
Freak Dodgeball Accident said:![]()
I think you mean salary cap, CC.
Uncle CC said:Last time I checked, this was a footy forum...not a ****ing spelling bee.
Has anyone got any news on whats happening with the teams player wise from the bottom half of the ladder from 06?
all I have heard lately is how the top half are getting stronger!!!
I would hate to think the CHFL could turn into something like the BFL!!!
Come on CC you have to admit it is pretty funny
On salary caps, why not look at the points system being used in some other leagues.
Yeah don't get me wrong mate. I laughed my arse of when I saw what dodgeball posted.
Tell me more about this points system?
There is a thread on here about CELERY caps, (sorry mate, I fought the urge but couldn't resist) where there is a fair bit of discussion about it. There are a few leagues around where it is currently enforced with a few different formats. Basically works by allocating each player on a clubs list a certain number of points and setting a maximum total of points that the 21/22 selected can total. Think the totals vary from league to league from as little as 20 and up to 40 in others. Depending on the total used, players already on your list get a 0 or a 1, blokes recruited from AFL get 5, ex VFL 4, players switching clubs within same league get a 4 or 5, Major league to minor league get 4 or 3 etc. Each year a player spends at a club he gets discounted a point and playing coaches get less points allocated as well.
It's pretty involved and I probably havn't explained it very well, but I reckon it has some merit. Salary caps are impossible to enforce but there is no getting around this system because once you play footy you have a rego number so you're easily trackable. It is worth a try I reckon.