Central Highlands

I have heard that Mick Carey is making a comeback to Gordon. Word is that Mick made this decision just before the finals whilst playing for Hepburn. He asked coach Robertson if he could be rested in the Final against Learmonth so he could be fresh for the 2007 Pre-season. Apparently he has been on a diet of Spinach and baby apples over the last month

Maybe a heart transplant may be more suitable.... Most overrarted and over paid player in teh comp along with Seiz!!! From my sources both have been delisted by Hepburn as they wasted about 15K on both for little return against the good sides...

They might go to the MCFL or LPFL as joint coaches next season.????

Re: Possible recruits

I think who ever your getting your info from is leading u down a dead end rd Gadget! But thats what this sight is for to start rumors which we can all talk about.

If your able to get Baker, Barker and maxwwell to learmonth that would be sensational, as we havent spoken to any! So if you can help us out gadget that would be sensational! Would be 3 very handy pick ups, but there well out of league in attracting!

Wise man once said, do not believe everything you here, as someone may be leading you down the wrong garden path and making you look foolish!!!

Report on the news tonight about McGuigan returning to Learmonth - no news flash there - but also that they are leading the race to secure Brad Maxwell. Are you telling porkies learmonth? As you say, he is a match winner and would be a very handy pick up.

Can I ask why McGuigan went back to Learmonth, one in the BFL doesnt make him a star, definitely not a $300 a game star.
Also if they get maxwell, I would suspect the players that play for nothing (refer earleir posts - Sobey & Basham etc) will leave particular Basham who has no time for maxwell, I believe a Love hate relationship, Sam "loves to hate him". So Learmonth F.C will have to make a call John & Sam Basham VS Maxwell........hmmmmmmmm time to ponder, which is better for the team
Over to you Learmonth what do you think.:confused:

Can I ask why McGuigan went back to Learmonth, one in the BFL doesnt make him a star, definitely not a $300 a game star.
Also if they get maxwell, I would suspect the players that play for nothing (refer earleir posts - Sobey & Basham etc) will leave particular Basham who has no time for maxwell, I believe a Love hate relationship, Sam "loves to hate him". So Learmonth F.C will have to make a call John & Sam Basham VS Maxwell........hmmmmmmmm time to ponder, which is better for the team

A spy at Saxon House, who is new in the job! was told from a source who is very close to the Kangaroos that the reason that McGuigan left was for money reasons, Like $400 per game, He was also offered and guaranteed the Captaincy at the Club (i see it was a joint announcement on WIN TV tonite), A lump Sum Sign on Fee of $2k to help with his new business and that the Learmonth FC were footing the bill for a Injury Insurance policy that covers for loss of wages which i think is about $1350 for a $600 per week policy.So a fair amount of coin for a 20yo to consider dont you think.

My thoughts on this are if this is even close to the deal that has been struck is that it is very much overpriced for a small forward/rover who needs to get better with his decision making and kicking. Good luck to him if he has got the deal of a lifetime but one season at a higher level does not make you a STAR, a word of advice to young Mcguigan is that your coach is only out there now as his time at the highest levels had come to an end as he was getting older, slower, and not as good as he thought he was but still good enough to get the $$$$$$$ in the CHFL.

As a 20yo you have a huge amount of expectation on the shoulders and if i was you i would serioulsy think about putting this pressure on myself. 1 season of BFL footy does not make you a $400 per game player.

A STAR is a young bloke like Redans Ryan Waight who is not a money based person, Vic Rep, All Australian, Premiership Player who is now challenging himself by doing a pre season with the Roosters, This is one Kid who could possibly earn $400 per game in any major league based on his record as he is a disciplined, committeed and Team Orientated player, he would be the best kid in the BFL by far.

Ill give u the right answer as to why McGuigan left East/Point- The reason -Shane Fisher- cant coach, is abusive towards his players, refused to acknowledge anyone after the grand final loss from 2's under 18's and majority of senior players and only thought if he had pl;ayed they would have won, and never gave the younger guys the oppertunity, even when they were 25 goals up. Where is his development skills. I can guarantee you know, Mcguigan wont be the 1st name that leaves east/point...many are following suit.

As for the Basham rumors Fence Sitter, your way off mate. Both Bashams are loyal learmonth boys and are looked after accordingly and if Maxwell ever did come to learmonth (which is a long way off) im sure the 3 of them along with sobey up forward would be sensational together. U are a rumor starter and may be getting worried that learmonth may be the real deal this year with some quality recruits.....

A spy at Saxon House, who is new in the job! was told from a source who is very close to the Kangaroos that the reason that McGuigan left was for money reasons, Like $400 per game, He was also offered and guaranteed the Captaincy at the Club (i see it was a joint announcement on WIN TV tonite), A lump Sum Sign on Fee of $2k to help with his new business and that the Learmonth FC were footing the bill for a Injury Insurance policy that covers for loss of wages which i think is about $1350 for a $600 per week policy.So a fair amount of coin for a 20yo to consider dont you think.

My thoughts on this are if this is even close to the deal that has been struck is that it is very much overpriced for a small forward/rover who needs to get better with his decision making and kicking. Good luck to him if he has got the deal of a lifetime but one season at a higher level does not make you a STAR, a word of advice to young Mcguigan is that your coach is only out there now as his time at the highest levels had come to an end as he was getting older, slower, and not as good as he thought he was but still good enough to get the $$$$$$$ in the CHFL.

As a 20yo you have a huge amount of expectation on the shoulders and if i was you i would serioulsy think about putting this pressure on myself. 1 season of BFL footy does not make you a $400 per game player.

A STAR is a young bloke like Redans Ryan Waight who is not a money based person, Vic Rep, All Australian, Premiership Player who is now challenging himself by doing a pre season with the Roosters, This is one Kid who could possibly earn $400 per game in any major league based on his record as he is a disciplined, committeed and Team Orientated player, he would be the best kid in the BFL by far.

Like to know how East/point would know how much Mcguigan is getting. Im sure himself the coach and the treasurer would be the only ones that would know.. I think they may be savage in losing a quality player who made team of the year. That puts him in the best 22 in the BFL and im positive that there are morer then 22 players in the whole BFL on $500+ p/game. East/Point have way more money then Learmonth, so I dont believe it to be a $$$ thing. As stated b4 alot of East/Point players dont respect Fisher or can relate to him.

As for Aj- 14 yaers at major league footy is a fair effort, inter-league premiership player, 5 prelim apperances with redan & Daylesford, Team of the year, I dont think he has too much more to prove as a player. Thats why he wouold be in the CHFL trying to prove himself as a coach... Knowing him personally, with him still playing with the seriousness of his ankle and the effects he will have in later life, I rewspect him deeply. And yes! There a more then one of us who write on this THREAD!!! If he wanted to play BFL he would still be capable,and money, forget about that, he would be one of the lowest paid coaches in the comp, and i know that for a fact.... Its all about a premiership for him..Thanks BEAK!! I know who you are...

Heard romours that springbank are trying to attract several players from A and B section Amature clubs in melbourne. is there any truth to these whispers

Like to know how East/point would know how much Mcguigan is getting. Im sure himself the coach and the treasurer would be the only ones that would know.. I think they may be savage in losing a quality player who made team of the year. That puts him in the best 22 in the BFL and im positive that there are morer then 22 players in the whole BFL on $500+ p/game. East/Point have way more money then Learmonth, so I dont believe it to be a $$$ thing. As stated b4 alot of East/Point players dont respect Fisher or can relate to him.

As for Aj- 14 yaers at major league footy is a fair effort, inter-league premiership player, 5 prelim apperances with redan & Daylesford, Team of the year, I dont think he has too much more to prove as a player. Thats why he wouold be in the CHFL trying to prove himself as a coach... Knowing him personally, with him still playing with the seriousness of his ankle and the effects he will have in later life, I rewspect him deeply. And yes! There a more then one of us who write on this THREAD!!! If he wanted to play BFL he would still be capable,and money, forget about that, he would be one of the lowest paid coaches in the comp, and i know that for a fact.... Its all about a premiership for him..Thanks BEAK!! I know who you are...

Yeah 25 thousand isn't much.

Maybe Chris has told somebody what he was offered, who told somebody else etc etc, because that story has been doing the rounds for quite a while. Why is it that you reckon you know what players at other clubs are getting but as soon as anybody posts anything about what Learmonth are paying you trot out the old "only the coach the player and the treasurer would know that".

No need to go into details on the magnitude of your respect for AJ, I think it's well known. I believe it's called narcissism.

Ill give u the right answer as to why McGuigan left East/Point- The reason -Shane Fisher- cant coach, is abusive towards his players, refused to acknowledge anyone after the grand final loss from 2's under 18's and majority of senior players and only thought if he had pl;ayed they would have won, and never gave the younger guys the oppertunity, even when they were 25 goals up. Where is his development skills. I can guarantee you know, Mcguigan wont be the 1st name that leaves east/point...many are following suit.

As for the Basham rumors Fence Sitter, your way off mate. Both Bashams are loyal learmonth boys and are looked after accordingly and if Maxwell ever did come to learmonth (which is a long way off) im sure the 3 of them along with sobey up forward would be sensational together. U are a rumor starter and may be getting worried that learmonth may be the real deal this year with some quality recruits.....

I'm not questioning the bashams loyalty and also know they are being looked after. I was actually responding to somebody else saying maxwel is going to learmonth and more passing comment that they apparently dont have much time for each other. As for starting rumour I'm not sure which rumour your are referring to as I have generally only passed comment although did ask about Baker (so i guess that could be a rumour) I have to sit on the fence on that one.

But as for worried about learmonth being the real deal, I reckon ,Hepburn, Waubra and Daylesford, Bunga and possibly Ballan will make top 5, which I guess your are keen on op 6.

Yeah 25 thousand isn't much.

Maybe Chris has told somebody what he was offered, who told somebody else etc etc, because that story has been doing the rounds for quite a while. Why is it that you reckon you know what players at other clubs are getting but as soon as anybody posts anything about what Learmonth are paying you trot out the old "only the coach the player and the treasurer would know that".

No need to go into details on the magnitude of your respect for AJ, I think it's well known. I believe it's called narcissism.

Helmut, I think you might be overs I got told $20K. But It's what they think he is worth. I do agree that Beacham could still get a kick in the BFL.

Hey there learmonth: i totally agree with what you have just said. it is in chris' best interest to go back to learmonth. I know that he has been offered quite good cash but hey what clubs aren't throwing that sort of money around- good luck to him if he can get it.
He was given a raw deal at East. Given about 3 games for the whole year on the ball at East, which is absolute bull********. Meanwhile Fisher was playing himself ruck rover for the majority of the year??!! The two boys in who had transferred from BFL McGuigan and Bones got a raw deal. Not sure if Fisher liked seeing them play well in the BFL!! They did have a great midfield but these two guys weren't given a chance to prove themselfs. I agree that you may find a few others leaving the roos- with the side they had it may have been the coaches fault. why would you play jordan at chf when he was ff all year?

Answer this learmonth, Honestly name the positions that you think Basham (sam) can play?

Dont know this bloke at all but it would seem he is getting unfairly picked on. There are heaps of lesser players around the district who are getting similar and more cash and have less credentials than this kid. Not really worth commenting on what he is getting.

I agree mate. He is copping a lot more flack then he deseves. At the end of the day he is going back to play with his mates at his previous club. He has played all his juniors within the CHFL and played good senior footy before going to the BFL (E.G. Winning Rookie of the year).

If he can get paid to do it that is a bonus for him. If Learmonth are happy to pay that money they are getting a good return for it. He will certainly get a lot of attention back in this league and the reason he will be paid what he will is that he is good enough to stand up to this pressure. He has shown this by kicking the amount of goals he did this year and making the team of the year.

As for the money he will be getting, there were players in the league this year that would have been on more that I dont believe are as valuable as Chris (E.G Hepburn - Seiz, Ballan - Cartledge)

I agree mate. He is copping a lot more flack then he deseves. At the end of the day he is going back to play with his mates at his previous club. He has played all his juniors within the CHFL and played good senior footy before going to the BFL (E.G. Winning Rookie of the year).

If he can get paid to do it that is a bonus for him. If Learmonth are happy to pay that money they are getting a good return for it. He will certainly get a lot of attention back in this league and the reason he will be paid what he will is that he is good enough to stand up to this pressure. He has shown this by kicking the amount of goals he did this year and making the team of the year.

As for the money he will be getting, there were players in the league this year that would have been on more that I dont believe are as valuable as Chris (E.G Hepburn - Seiz, Ballan - Cartledge)
Cartledge goes alright Tud.

McGuigan will be a stand out player for Learmonth, I just hope he contributes when it matters come finals as he did go missing during this years finals.

He'll go alright but will need a fair bit of protection from team mates with the close attention he'll get. IMO

McGuigan on a better wicket than Cartledge mate if the figures being talked about are correct. Good player, and will only get better, but I'd have Cartledge any day thanks.

I didnt say Cartledge isn't a valuable player, by all means, he can play.
I am just saying in my personal oppinion Chris is more valuable. I have played with Chris in years gone by and against Cartledge and I (again just oppinion) think that Chris is the pick of the two.

Your not making sense Tud. Refer to your earlier posts mate.

Cartledge is a very good player & from what i've seen is a lot smarter footballer, although he does have problems with his shoulder . He would be on more money then Chris make no mistake about that, as he is a money man.. I heard he was getting flat $500 per game last year even if he missed through injury. Was also paid very well at Apsley/ Edenhope, Daylesford & East

Cartledge is a very good player & from wahts i've seen is a lot smarter footballer, although he does have problems with his shoulder . He would be on more money then Chris make no mistake about that, as he is a money man.. I heard he was getting flat $500 per game last year even if he missed through injury. Was also paid very well at Apsley/ Edenhope, Daylesford & East

Not that well paid at Daylesford m8. Those boys play for love not money.

Luke, Joel & Bernie are probably the most loyal players in the league in my opionion didn't Cartledge have a run in with a team mate at daylesford which made his decision to leave?

Big Ox and Scoble are fairly loyal, so you can add them to list of loyal blokes.;) :thumbsu:

Learmonth have secured the services of Brad Maxwell.
Pring and Clarke from Cargnham reportedly joining team mates Raynor and Porter in moving to Buninyong, along with ex Lexton coach David Box.
Dave Dridan and a few other Lexton blokes to join either Buninyong or Dunnstown, not sure which.

Learmonth have secured the services of Brad Maxwell.
Pring and Clarke from Cargnham reportedly joining team mates Raynor and Porter in moving to Buninyong, along with ex Lexton coach David Box.
Dave Dridan and a few other Lexton blokes to join either Buninyong or Dunnstown, not sure which.
I wasn't far off the mark Learmonth if this is true! Have you signed him or is it still a so called rumour that were've made up?