Central Highlands

Have you guys also got that kid back from East? Has anyone left/retired that played for Learmonth last year?

Only player that may be leaving Learmonth is Chris Robertson, who may be moving to WA for work, but that is not definant yet. All other players are staying put, and that is great news for the club..No use recruiting 6 if u lose 6...
Robertson won't go. He's got 6 months left of aprrenticeship and will stick at it and then possibly head to WA. Good news for you Learmonth as he can turn it on when he wants to.

whats the latest in regards to the grounds in the central highlands league? r they looking at pushing back a start date like other leagues? how many grounds will/wont get up???

Na he doesnt have blonde hair, but he is the guy that smashed the Hampdens guys jar... Averages one every 4 games. Picks guys off from the h/back and can be very dangerous..Is as strong as an ox, and quick and has a big leap.. Plays h/back, but does go through the middle and forward.. About 6ft tall, 100kg..but all muscle.
Have played against him a few times and I rate him very high...

Yeah, he makes guys think twice on the half forward line.

How old is he now?

Daylesford are in talks with Maxwell, though I believe he will play in the wimmera league. They have also signed up Travis Grigg from Dunstown who previously played there. Jake Saivage from C/Linton is close to signing along with a couple of other C/Linton Boys- Raynor.???
Luther Dean from Sebas is also back there with good mate Adam Hall.

Hepburn are still trying to sign thoses 6 players from Nthn Bullants..Not sure what luck they are having, but they are throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match, as we have spoken to one of them.
Also have signed one of the best players in country Vic in Brendan Shephers.. Is a machine... Played at Castlemaine and last year was playing at Kyabram for a $1000 a game. Played under Robbo at Castlemaine when they won the premiership.

Learmonth signings to date are- Charlie Edmonston (Dukie B&F winner in 2006), Brenton Walker- Lake Wendouree- Kicked 100 goals for Nth Ballarat juniors. Matthew Lockett- Nth City/Daylesford, Dom Morrison (Rover)- Lake Wendouree, Matt Elder (Ruckman)- Lake Wendouree.... There will be more in the next few weeks from Wimmera and BFL clubs.....

Learmonth are you kidding the only decent signing here is plugger. the other 3 are only juniors, Walker kicked 100 goals as an under 16, he did play seniors with lakers last year but hardly set the world on fire and I think he finished in the 2's ... to offer him supossedly $130 - 160/game, you must pay your local and loyal kids well.
At least hepburn "throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match" put money into people who can win a game for them.

Travis Grigg from Dunstown will be handy pick up, if you are right.
How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league. Daylesford is building nicely and have the hunger to take next step, after being stopped at prelim, they were 10 goals worse than Waubra but reckon they're closing the gap. Have they lost any?

Learmonth are you kidding the only decent signing here is plugger. the other 3 are only juniors, Walker kicked 100 goals as an under 16, he did play seniors with lakers last year but hardly set the world on fire and I think he finished in the 2's ... to offer him supossedly $130 - 160/game, you must pay your local and loyal kids well.
At least hepburn "throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match" put money into people who can win a game for them.

How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league. Daylesford is building nicely and have the hunger to take next step, after being stopped at prelim, they were 10 goals worse than Waubra but reckon they're closing the gap. Have they lost any?

Pretty Harsh Fence Sitter! Give me a reason why they are no good. Can still play juniors and played senior footy last year in the BFL, also if u look at the stats, Walket kicked his goals against quality opposition sides, but in the right environment will be a quality forward..He will make u eat humble pie..., All are going to be very handy senior players for the Learmonth football club.....These young players have ability and will be developed. They are juniors coming back to the club.Ild prefer these players any day then what Ballan has picked up in a few battlers, that everyone is raving on about.....

Also agree, the C/Linton boys wont be standouts, but will fit in well at a strong club....

How do you reckon the C/linton blokes will go in this league, They may add some depth but cant see them making a difference in this league.

Raynor, Savage, and Pring will add depth as you said.

I don't think people understand how good Porter is though. The guy would carve up any league he plays in. He is athletic, strong, brilliant kick for goal, and tough to stop in the air. He likes to hurt people too which makes him an all round great FF.

If he has recovered after his knee op, he will give most teams a big headache. I know the LPFL is not as good as the CHFL, but this guy should be playing BFL.

Raynor, Savage, and Pring will add depth as you said.

I don't think people understand how good Porter is though. The guy would carve up any league he plays in. He is athletic, strong, brilliant kick for goal, and tough to stop in the air. He likes to hurt people too which makes him an all round great FF.

If he has recovered after his knee op, he will give most teams a big headache. I know the LPFL is not as good as the CHFL, but this guy should be playing BFL.
Saw Ports about 2 weeks ago & was looking far from athletic, agree he can play but has some work to do 2 dominate this league. On Grigg, did nothing at dunnstown at all, will be good in the 2s for the dogs

Daylesford are in talks with Maxwell, though I believe he will play in the wimmera league. They have also signed up Travis Grigg from Dunstown who previously played there. Jake Saivage from C/Linton is close to signing along with a couple of other C/Linton Boys- Raynor.???
Luther Dean from Sebas is also back there with good mate Adam Hall.

Hepburn are still trying to sign thoses 6 players from Nthn Bullants..Not sure what luck they are having, but they are throwing some decent coin around which Learmonth cant match, as we have spoken to one of them.
Also have signed one of the best players in country Vic in Brendan Shephers.. Is a machine... Played at Castlemaine and last year was playing at Kyabram for a $1000 a game. Played under Robbo at Castlemaine when they won the premiership.

Learmonth signings to date are- Charlie Edmonston (Dukie B&F winner in 2006), Brenton Walker- Lake Wendouree- Kicked 100 goals for Nth Ballarat juniors. Matthew Lockett- Nth City/Daylesford, Dom Morrison (Rover)- Lake Wendouree, Matt Elder (Ruckman)- Lake Wendouree.... There will be more in the next few weeks from Wimmera and BFL clubs.....

his name is brendan shepherd and playedx CHB for Vic Country a few years ago. was playing at kerang in CMFL last year but had a serious shoulder injury about 1/4 of way into season. about 6 foot 4 easy 120kg and can run like the wind and will play anywhere he says he wants to play. he eats pieces of s hit like CHFL players for breakfast

Pretty Harsh Fence Sitter! Give me a reason why they are no good. Can still play juniors and played senior footy last year in the BFL, also if u look at the stats, Walket kicked his goals against quality opposition sides, but in the right environment will be a quality forward..He will make u eat humble pie..., All are going to be very handy senior players for the Learmonth football club.....These young players have ability and will be developed. They are juniors coming back to the club.Ild prefer these players any day then what Ballan has picked up in a few battlers, that everyone is raving on about.....

Also agree, the C/Linton boys wont be standouts, but will fit in well at a strong club....

I went to VCFL website (http://www.lakers.vcfl.com.au/toptenplayers.asp?team=16490&comp=3814&orgid=3&dimension=1&field=9)
As I didnt have the stats on walker, and you seem to know what you're talking about. You realise he only kicked 23 goals, you said kicked some bags against better sides, so he must have done nothing in the others. I just reckon if the rumour is right that he is telling his mates he is getting around $130 -160's, that would put Mcguigan on $450-500 /game being that he kicked 3 times walker...and that is good coin.
I'm not having a go at the young blokes you have signed and think it is noble that you will try and have sucess with kids coming back home and I havent seen the other 2. good luck...I still like waubra and daylesford and getting keener on Hepburn especially with the tough nut - shepherd.

Anyway I agree with you on the Ballan recruits, however if Ballan improve they will shine, as they have been playing in an ordinary side and it is easier to be an ordinary player in a good side.

What would you estimate them to spend each season on the entire team?

And what would a CHFL club spend on average?

I would have said Hepburn were over $100,000, so it is pretty hard to compete.

Although reckon that the better sides in the comp would $40K -$50K plus coach who could be upto $20K for a playing coach these days and less about a 1/3rd for non playing.
Thats a lot of chook raffles, not sure how it can be maintained at these levels although most clubs have a dip for a few years and then pull back and go again..(except Hepburn)

Does anyone know know if Peake and Sam Newton are going again at Hepburn? I someone said that Sam might be going overseas or something???

Newton is going or has gone overseas. Peake definitely at Castlemaine

Story is they may have signed Wayne Harmes son from the Bullants.

Also have heard that they have signed a mate of Hollywoods from Darley- a chb to replace Newton- not sure of the name thou.

Shephard trained with Hepburn at times last year. Was on big dollars at Kerang but remember is a CHB VCFL player so warrants the coin. Pretty sure that he isn't on what people are talking at Hepburn. Has played under Robertson before at Castlemaine. He is about 25 and use to play for the Pioneers

Most other players have committed to next year from all reports.

I think the CHFL has caught the AFL syndrome!! Every pre season local CHFL clubs go around saying how fit their players are, how many recruits they have signed and how well they are going to be!! Obviously you have to 'pump' up your club at this stage of the year to try and entice more players and get local support behind you but I say lets just wait and see on all these players! In regards to Porter im not denying that he is a top quality player however to come back from a knee at around the age of 30 will be tough. From all reports hes not the fittest guy running around either!

Newton is going or has gone overseas. Peake definitely at Castlemaine

Story is they may have signed Wayne Harmes son from the Bullants.

Also have heard that they have signed a mate of Hollywoods from Darley- a chb to replace Newton- not sure of the name thou.

Shephard trained with Hepburn at times last year. Was on big dollars at Kerang but remember is a CHB VCFL player so warrants the coin. Pretty sure that he isn't on what people are talking at Hepburn. Has played under Robertson before at Castlemaine. He is about 25 and use to play for the Pioneers

Most other players have committed to next year from all reports.

Have heard that there are a few more leaving rooster, can u confirm that Seiz & Carey both wernt offered anywhere what they were paid last year and have decided to leave. Also heard that there may be a few more going back to Castlemaine with Peake.

I think the CHFL has caught the AFL syndrome!! Every pre season local CHFL clubs go around saying how fit their players are, how many recruits they have signed and how well they are going to be!!

Couldn't agree more. Some teams/players who get carried away before Christmass, and get super fit early, run the risk of getting injured or burnt out before the season even starts. Its a long year and there is still plenty of time for players to get fit and loose the KGs that they may have put on during the break. Having said that, the season will no doubt sneak up on a few and now is a good time to start getting stuck into some decent training.

Agree Also Gruss. I 've been keeping fit chasing the perfect wave & i take the skin off chicken so i haven't put on to much weight either.Whilst you don't need to be super fit at this stage, it doesn't hurt to keep a reasonable level of fitness.You don't want ot look like my late partner Angelo Papis when you start training. You are more prone to injury especially on the hard grounds.

Are you sure you have all these blokes signed, as 1 of these players has trained with another club and rumoured to be very happy with training and facilities, this week. :)

Hey Uncle CC or Astro Boy... Who have waubra signed to date, did they get Browny's brother from Donald? Has Mully gone for good?

I think Rohan Brown will be heading back to Donald st this stage... but he's still a chance.

We r chasing Riggs & Paul & Tommy Bourke.

Paul Bourke is a very handy tap ruckman... just ask him after a couple of cans.

We feel Tommy will be able to hold the likes of Mullane -Grant etc.