Central Murray FL

balranald have offered filo up $90 gees in a package deal to coach , probably for a few though.

also if wes pye shifts back to boga and decides to still travel back to play at goldensquare each week dont be suprised if brock parsons is in the passenger seat.

iron bootz said:
how good will T/M:eek: b nxt yr few good playerz there and word no1 is leaving

It isn't the players fault for getting paid heaps, the clubs are the ones ruining football by throwing truckloads of $$$ at the players. And what ever happened to the good old days when clubs didn't poach players from other clubs within their league. Using Tooleytang as an example, they seem to only recruit from within this league. Ryan and Luke O'Sullivan, Darcy Ryan, Ash Connick (now moved on), Garth Russell, Jack O'Rourke, Caile Ditterich, now Ash Thompson and Lance Brown, did I leave anyone out? I can't recall to many recruits from outside the CMFL besides Lowerson and Spinks. If we wan't a stronger CMFL, shouldn't we be looking at bringing in good players from outside this league, rather than stealing from within? Tooleytang aren't the only club doing it either, but they are the worst offenders.

My Name Is Earl said:
It isn't the players fault for getting paid heaps, the clubs are the ones ruining football by throwing truckloads of $$$ at the players. And what ever happened to the good old days when clubs didn't poach players from other clubs within their league. Using Tooleytang as an example, they seem to only recruit from within this league. Ryan and Luke O'Sullivan, Darcy Ryan, Ash Connick (now moved on), Garth Russell, Jack O'Rourke, Caile Ditterich, now Ash Thompson and Lance Brown, did I leave anyone out? I can't recall to many recruits from outside the CMFL besides Lowerson and Spinks. If we wan't a stronger CMFL, shouldn't we be looking at bringing in good players from outside this league, rather than stealing from within? Tooleytang aren't the only club doing it either, but they are the worst offenders.

Most of those names were looking to move on for one reason or another, i say it was great work by the T/M committee to target and recruit them.:thumbsu: Also half of those names have coached the club in their time their, be it 1st or 3rds, they may pay a little more but they also value other things which those players bring to the club.Remember there is a 5 point rating for all those players so if you can fit them in your cap why not?

HappyDayz said:
Most of those names were looking to move on for one reason or another, i say it was great work by the T/M committee to target and recruit them.:thumbsu: Also half of those names have coached the club in their time their, be it 1st or 3rds, they may pay a little more but they also value other things which those players bring to the club.Remember there is a 5 point rating for all those players so if you can fit them in your cap why not?[/quote]

Very valid point Happydayz. The new point system was designed to encourage clubs to get the players that played juniors there to come back, in other words locals. If TooleyTang can fit these players in and be less than there allocated points per game then good on them.

ablett said:
balranald have offered filo up $90 gees in a package deal to coach , probably for a few though.

also if wes pye shifts back to boga and decides to still travel back to play at goldensquare each week dont be suprised if brock parsons is in the passenger seat.
filo not a $$ man mate...and that is a ridiculous amount if it is true (which it isn't by the way)...realistically if you were going to pay that amount of money wouldn't you be better off purchasing an EX AFL player.

My Name Is Earl said:
great point Earl..
there is a lying problem ahead..the DROUGHT.
although the effects really haven't hit it will be next year when the farmers haven't sewn their crop this year. Next year when they should be reaping the rewards they won't, and they won't be able to put in the next crop because they won't be able to afford to. Let's use Lalbert as the very first example. Unfortunately it is going to happen and the $$ that are being thrown around are definately not going to be there..it is fact...ALL clubs will be affected..it is very sad.
i just can't imagine players playing for towels, socks or just be thankful to win the pewter mug to drink free beer all night...your thoughts??

TOBY RAND said:
great point Earl..
there is a lying problem ahead..the DROUGHT.
although the effects really haven't hit it will be next year when the farmers haven't sewn their crop this year. Next year when they should be reaping the rewards they won't, and they won't be able to put in the next crop because they won't be able to afford to. Let's use Lalbert as the very first example. Unfortunately it is going to happen and the $$ that are being thrown around are definately not going to be there..it is fact...ALL clubs will be affected..it is very sad.
i just can't imagine players playing for towels, socks or just be thankful to win the pewter mug to drink free beer all night...your thoughts??

Lalbert is a perfect example. Th drought has almost already ruined us, to the point where we can't even afford to keep our home grown starts, such as Lance, let alone offer enough dollars to bring any in from outside

ablett said:

Quote: Think you'll find Shaun Filo will be coaching Boort next year. They are announcing it on Monday. Ablett19, tell me if i'm wrong but wasn't this your last big tip only a few pages back. Mate you are losing credibility very fast on this thread. That along with what you have written above is not correct (all of it). Do you make up these rumours yourself?

ROOTA#6 said:
I agree FOOZ, footy is just about dead in this area

What a load of s h i t. The footy this year coming will only get stronger. From all reports some sides have picked up some fairly good recruits, thus making their sides stronger. Some sides have lost players, making their side weaker.
It always happens, so don't talk rubbish.

ablett said:
ablett and ablett19 are two different identities so look again and apologise and my post has some warrant to it dont you worry about that.

My apologies to you Ablett. What you say about filo maybe but Parsons to square with Pye, No chance at all.

My Name Is Earl said:
The players and clubs are equally at fault. Some players shop themselves around looking for money, some are happy to play at a club they like for less. Some clubs only pay realistic amounts to the right players, some clubs pay ridiculous amounts. All in all, from my experience, the situation is not as bad as it is portrayed on this thread (except for maybe a couple of clubs).

Guus Hiddink said:
What a load of s h i t. The footy this year coming will only get stronger. From all reports some sides have picked up some fairly good recruits, thus making their sides stronger. Some sides have lost players, making their side weaker.
It always happens, so don't talk rubbish.

:thumbsdown: What total crap.. As long as clubs are combining the best talent from within the league at the expense of their rivals, the comp is not getting stronger.. Just one or two teams (which may alternate over different years) kicking the crap out of most the others (usually starting from about the 5th or 6th team down).

super snooper said:
The players and clubs are equally at fault. Some players shop themselves around looking for money, some are happy to play at a club they like for less. Some clubs only pay realistic amounts to the right players, some clubs pay ridiculous amounts. All in all, from my experience, the situation is not as bad as it is portrayed on this thread (except for maybe a couple of clubs).

The point that I was trying to make was not that players ask for too much money or clubs pay to much or not enough, it's that clubs recruiting from within this comp doesn't make the comp stronger, it only makes the weaker clubs weaker. Why should the stronger clubs be able to feed off the carcusses of the weaker ones? This new 5 point rule isn't a strong enough deterrant. Instead of 5 point players losing a point after every season they are at that club, why not make it that they lose a point after every two years at their new club. It would make it harder for clubs to go and recruit up at the end of every season and take players from within their own league.

My Name Is Earl said:
The point that I was trying to make was not that players ask for too much money or clubs pay to much or not enough, it's that clubs recruiting from within this comp doesn't make the comp stronger, it only makes the weaker clubs weaker. Why should the stronger clubs be able to feed off the carcusses of the weaker ones? This new 5 point rule isn't a strong enough deterrant. Instead of 5 point players losing a point after every season they are at that club, why not make it that they lose a point after every two years at their new club. It would make it harder for clubs to go and recruit up at the end of every season and take players from within their own league.
how about players from a bottom team (say from 8th down) are worth 6 (or more) points to top teams (say top 5). just thinking out loud... might not work... but would deter top teams feeding from bottom teams...

super snooper said:
how about players from a bottom team (say from 8th down) are worth 6 (or more) points to top teams (say top 5). just thinking out loud... might not work... but would deter top teams feeding from bottom teams...

Don't think it matters where the teams are on the ladder, no club should recruit from clubs within their own league. The points system is in theory a good idea, but maybe just needs to be adjusted to stop clubs from donig this.

My Name Is Earl said:
Don't think it matters where the teams are on the ladder, no club should recruit from clubs within their own league. The points system is in theory a good idea, but maybe just needs to be adjusted to stop clubs from donig this.

Why dont you blokes go and live in a socialist society or join a Union .You can whinge all you like but nothing is ever equal.The strong get stronger because they do something about the hand their dealt and the weak get weaker because they whinge and look for excuses

My Name Is Earl said:

Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes. This does not make your league stronger (or any league because it happens all over country Victoria), just recycles the players from within and helps these players egos for when they next want a clearance and put another 25-50% on their heads per game or go out to a District League for more kanga.
Clubs like that are financially well-off and morally bankrupt (as are some of the players). Even the young blokes who go from playing one year of major league footy, get poached by a District League club for $200-$300, play one year and then put that and more on their heads to come back and play major league ?? That is what is ruining country footy. The footy player ego and the 'instant success required' club.
Forever the wealthy have fed off the less wealthy, this isn't China, but we as an entire VCFL need to have stronger guidelines for player transfers, points systems and accountability of finances. The drought will put an end to some of that if it continues, as will petrol prices and other considerations, whether players be paying from their own pockets or via the club.
Think about this - most of you have a club you play with or follow, get your best side of the past 5 years and then match that up against the side that won last year's flag - I would suggest even the lower clubs would give Balranald (who one may suggest bought the 2006 flag) a good run for their money. Player retention, progression of juniors and making it a place where the kids want to be will keep them there, success will come as a natural progression, maybe not today but in 2-3-4 years. Most clubs (and the people on the committee and behind the scenes) dont like that long term thought, they want it today. As for the Y Generation who want it all yesterday, they cannot think or see long term and that is why many of the younger players get sucked into going to other clubs for perceived success and more, much more, money.
Anyway, those are my thoughts, time for bed. :eek:

The Knife is right, the coach needs to be the right person who has some vision also, not a bloke who wants instant success for his resume, coaches need to be put in place for 2-3 years so they can grow and grow with the team. I'd like to see that happen, NOT BLOODY LIKELY THOUGH !!

Caught with the ball said:
Quote: Think you'll find Shaun Filo will be coaching Boort next year. They are announcing it on Monday. Ablett19, tell me if i'm wrong but wasn't this your last big tip only a few pages back. Mate you are losing credibility very fast on this thread. That along with what you have written above is not correct (all of it). Do you make up these rumours yourself?

Ablett19 just had his Mondays mixed up and the money and job package is apparantly true!!!

Rosco5 said:
Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes.
First of all this was to long to put all of it down. But overall I disagree. The reason the league keeps getting weaker is because there are:
1: Less people playing, for many reasons, and
2: Most good country kids leave as there are few opportunities in the country.

It is ridiculous to suggest that the league is getting weaker due to clubs taking other clubs players within the same league as this has happened since football began. Don't forget that this is silly season and 7 clubs had a shot at reaching finals last year, there were some standouts as there is always going to be, but that is still quite a good number to suggest that the league is anything but weak.

Guus Hiddink said:
Rosco5 said:
Just reading thru your posts guys and thought I needed to have a say - the clubs that recruit from within the league generally offer substantially more money (generally to home grown talent from a rival club) and thus the player goes.
First of all this was to long to put all of it down. But overall I disagree. The reason the league keeps getting weaker is because there are:

It is ridiculous to suggest that the league is getting weaker due to clubs taking other clubs players within the same league as this has happened since football began. Don't forget that this is silly season and 7 clubs had a shot at reaching finals last year, there were some standouts as there is always going to be, but that is still quite a good number to suggest that the league is anything but weak.
The main reason less people are playing is because the money has taken over and replaced mateship and team spirit as the most important factor in playing footy.. You may think things are strong while your club is splashing the cash around and winning games, and good luck you deserve to enjoy it, but don't try to say your improving football as a whole, because your sucking the life out of the game!!

Guus Hiddink said:
Rosco5 said:

how do we explain the drop from division one to division whatever in the interleague since the implementation of paying shi*t loads of money to players. Do you think its due to players not wanting to play because

1) They do not get paid to play
2) And if they do play the will get injured, not because they dont want to miss a game for there team mates or club, its because they will miss games and not get paid.
3) All of the above