• Thread starter Thread starter Weapo

footy02 said:
A possible new topic.
Frog and I have been arguing about the point system and agree on a lot of things. Do you think that the goldern rivers should have to implement a point sytem to stop them steeling mid ranged player from the cmfl who wish to go to another club.... e.g. Jo blow a local player from tyntynder, boarder line senior player.. wants to leave to get good run in the seniors,, other close clubs (Swan Hill Woora) dont wish to spend 5 points on him so he may opt to go to ultima or murrabit-Nulli or so on.. any thoughts
They need something in place, not sure what it is. Champ also made some good points of how hard it is for the GRFL to get players. I'm playing in the Kalgoorlie Goldfields Leauge. My club here does'nt pay any footballers. Couple of other clubs pay the odd player but no way near the scale leauges back there do. It great at this club, the passion and pride these players and supporters have is fantastic. These blokes are 3rd generation footballers at the club. No blow ins that take off straight after the game without spending a cent. Everyone is equal and here for the right reasons. Luv to see the CMFL and surrounding leauges do the same. I think it's the only way to get football back to the way it should be!
(never happen but).

On another topic. Are Tyntynder people angry that we got Wes Lewis and Bryce Scott and had a fair crack at a few others (Dogs Full back, name escapes me) ? It seems unusually quiet. Not much directed at either Wes or the club, that I've seen or heard anyway. Am I wrong? there seems a few Bulldog boys on this site that can set me straight.

Russ74 said:
Time to put up or shut up boys. I'll have $200 with anyone that Tyntynder doesn't make the top 2. At seasons end we can exchange funds through private messages and work something out. Any takers?

You don't have $200 Russ. Maybe you won't need it though.;)

:thumbsu: Perhaps if borderline players trained harder, became fitter, and generally looked after themselves they would get regular senior games. The good players usually work harder in these areas of the game

Russ74 said:
On another topic. Are Tyntynder people angry that we got Wes Lewis and Bryce Scott and had a fair crack at a few others (Dogs Full back, name escapes me) ? It seems unusually quiet. Not much directed at either Wes or the club, that I've seen or heard anyway. Am I wrong? there seems a few Bulldog boys on this site that can set me straight.

Big Russ I take it ur a Sea Lake supporter? or maybe Nandaly? or maybe a combination of both? I will let you know on good authority that the players at Tyntynder are not ********ed off at all that Wes Lewis has left the club and understands that he needed to leave the Dogs to fulfill his ambition of coaching, he couldn't stand playing there last year and not calling the shots however he was still a valuable player. The Dogs are very dissapointed at the fact that Wes did lure a young star in the making namely Bryce Scott with money that the Dogs wouldn't be able to offer. The reason they are annoyed is that they put alot of time and effort into the juniors to prepare them for senior footy and then something like this happens! I heard on the grapevine that Lewis went to Tyntynder and told them of his intentions of not playing there in 06 and they were fine with that but requested that he didn't approach any players to take with him. Next thing you know they have a meeting with Bryce and he tells the club he approached Sea Lake, if anyone here knows Bryce Scott he is not the type of bloke that would approach a club TRUST ME. You did have a crack at a few others and i suppose its fair game. You have a good junior player out there in Matt Elliot it would be a shame for a club from around the area to come and sniff him out after you have put so much time and effort into him.

Russ74 said:
Time to put up or shut up boys. I'll have $200 with anyone that Tyntynder doesn't make the top 2. At seasons end we can exchange funds through private messages and work something out. Any takers?

I'll take you up on that russ74, you give me a good reason why two other clubs are better than the bulldogs? They are a certainty for top two.

clifton's lookalike said:
Big Russ I take it ur a Sea Lake supporter? or maybe Nandaly? or maybe a combination of both? I will let you know on good authority that the players at Tyntynder are not ********ed off at all that Wes Lewis has left the club and understands that he needed to leave the Dogs to fulfill his ambition of coaching, he couldn't stand playing there last year and not calling the shots however he was still a valuable player. The Dogs are very dissapointed at the fact that Wes did lure a young star in the making namely Bryce Scott with money that the Dogs wouldn't be able to offer. The reason they are annoyed is that they put alot of time and effort into the juniors to prepare them for senior footy and then something like this happens! I heard on the grapevine that Lewis went to Tyntynder and told them of his intentions of not playing there in 06 and they were fine with that but requested that he didn't approach any players to take with him. Next thing you know they have a meeting with Bryce and he tells the club he approached Sea Lake, if anyone here knows Bryce Scott he is not the type of bloke that would approach a club TRUST ME. You did have a crack at a few others and i suppose its fair game. You have a good junior player out there in Matt Elliot it would be a shame for a club from around the area to come and sniff him out after you have put so much time and effort into him.
Some very good points, one thing i know for sure. And i mean it when i say i know, is that wes did not approach any of the younger players. He put the word out that he was leaving, and put it out loudly, but he waited for those players to contact him.

Are koondrook/Barhams moves this year to just try and field a local side? If this is the case they could work on bringing younger players up and giving them a run at senior level, i got a chance to see Trewin, Saville and Callow play in the seniors last year and all 3 showed plenty of potential, i also liked what i saw from a number of 17's-Ewen, Sage, McKenzie and McConell were the standouts. I watched them throughout the season but only got to see McKenzie on the rare occasion, does anyone know if he was injured at all?

footy02 said:
Some very good points, one thing i know for sure. And i mean it when i say i know, is that wes did not approach any of the younger players. He put the word out that he was leaving, and put it out loudly, but he waited for those players to contact him.

I find that hard to believe, i think you'll find that wes and sea lake were the ones contacting bryce and not the other way around. I don't think they would have had to say much to him though.

Russ74 said:

I'm with you Russ, I don't think they have enough talls and are quite an inexperienced team (promising kids though). Rely to heavily on Carroll, who will win them games off his own boot, but if you stop him they will struggle to kick a winning score against the top sides. Will definitely make finals, but I don't think it will be top 2.

Clifton I know for a fact that Tyntynder have been trying to recruit Mark Roberts for the past 3 years, a young gun out at Sea Lake who is around the same age as Bryce Scott. Is this a shame??? Mate money talks and sadly it always will when your 18 or 19 getting a minimal wage and can pick up an extra $300+ a game.

Thanks Tubba, we are on! A few issues boys, Do you all think Wes would just sit back and wait for recruits to approach him? He is employed by our club to do the best job possible and if that upsets anyone so be it, Wes won't care. It's amazing the player cops no blame, its all the coach. The player actually has to decide where he is going and if they want to leave a club maybe that club has some problems, why can't they keep them?. It is easy for the club that they're leaving to deflect any potential criticism by having a go at the player or the coach of the club they're leaving for. Back to you Tubba, I think Swan Hill will finish on top with about 3-4 clubs capable of finishing 2nd including the dogs. I am prepared to risk Tyntynder as they have been March champions before and been ordinary in the main event. They do however have a coach that is loved by his players so this year might be different. We will see. As for the others I think Tooley, Boga, Balranald are the others. Balranald are the unknown and Boga are a bit as well. I saw all teams in the night series and still reckon the top 4 will be the same as last year.

Russ74 said:
Thanks Tubba, we are on! A few issues boys, Do you all think Wes would just sit back and wait for recruits to approach him? He is employed by our club to do the best job possible and if that upsets anyone so be it, Wes won't care. It's amazing the player cops no blame, its all the coach. The player actually has to decide where he is going and if they want to leave a club maybe that club has some problems, why can't they keep them?. It is easy for the club that they're leaving to deflect any potential criticism by having a go at the player or the coach of the club they're leaving for. Back to you Tubba, I think Swan Hill will finish on top with about 3-4 clubs capable of finishing 2nd including the dogs. I am prepared to risk Tyntynder as they have been March champions before and been ordinary in the main event. They do however have a coach that is loved by his players so this year might be different. We will see. As for the others I think Tooley, Boga, Balranald are the others. Balranald are the unknown and Boga are a bit as well. I saw all teams in the night series and still reckon the top 4 will be the same as last year.

Hey Russ, you say that Swan Hill will finish on top, can you tell me why? They have lost many quality premiership players and haven't replaced them.....

Kelvin 69 said:
Hey Russ, you say that Swan Hill will finish on top, can you tell me why? They have lost many quality premiership players and haven't replaced them.....

They won the flag they won by 10 goals Kelvin. Hugh Foott is a huge signing as well as a couple of others and there is still improvement to come from some of their players. They are a close knit bunch and the other contenders from last year are also worse off. Balranald, Tooleybuc and Tyntynder in my opinion arent as good player wise as last season. H Foott and Holt are as good a CHF,FF combo as there is. They have kept the same backline as last year and the midfield is solid- Beasy, A Foott, Brooks etc. Enough for you 69?

I tend to agree that the top 4 from last year probably won't change, but who knows what will happen at Balranald. Woorinen will be handy and so will Lake Boga, Lalbert and Koondrook. I think the top eight will all be fairly even and competitive and will fight it out for the 5. I think there will be a fair gap between that group and the rest of the comp. Swan Hill will not be as good as last year, there is no doubt about that but i don't think anyone else in the comp has improved thier list considerably either. Should be an interesting year hopefully. What about the interleague boys, they will have to pick as squad off what may be 2 rounds of football!

Kelvin 69 said:
Clifton I know for a fact that Tyntynder have been trying to recruit Mark Roberts for the past 3 years, a young gun out at Sea Lake who is around the same age as Bryce Scott. Is this a shame??? Mate money talks and sadly it always will when your 18 or 19 getting a minimal wage and can pick up an extra $300+ a game.

Never a truer word said Kelvin 69. In the words of the great Jerry McGuire "SHOW ME THE MONEY"

pecker69 said:
Never a truer word said Kelvin 69. In the words of the great Jerry McGuire "SHOW ME THE MONEY"

What a load of crap. If he wanted the money wouldnt he be signed up and playing. Money does talk..............but not for everyone.

Hang on Russ. Your a Sea Lake supporter right and you are saying that Wes is employed and did approach the player named yet your little buddy Kelvin knows for a fact that Wes didn't approach them. Who is talking ******** here? Tyntynder were unhappy with Bryce's decision but understand that he is on apprentice wages and extra money is great. What is going to be better for his football, playing in a good/very good side in the CMFL or playing in an average/good side in the Mallee? Your right ultimately it's his decision but their will be no gain made by the young lad except for financial.

Sorry Kelvin my mistake it was footy 02 who had the facts on Lewis not approaching people.

Wheres my apology?:) I don't know who made the approaches. All I'm saying is why shouldn't Wes approach people. His priority is the mighty tiges.

trev riordan said:
I find that hard to believe, i think you'll find that wes and sea lake were the ones contacting bryce and not the other way around. I don't think they would have had to say much to him though.
Trev you are a man that brings up very good points, But please believe me when i say that Wes did not appraoch bryce. I think you will find that players of the same age that were talking to Wes about going to Sea Lake instigated things there. e.g. Kyle Evans and Weekly, friends of Bryce. He always new that if he wanted, he could get him, but was not going to make the first move.. p.s. think bryce is a Balranald local origainally

Russ74 said:
Wheres my apology?:) I don't know who made the approaches. All I'm saying is why shouldn't Wes approach people. His priority is the mighty tiges.

I agree Russ his priority should be his new club not his old club but for people to be saying that Wes didn't make the approach to these young guys that are going out there is a discgrace! It may not have been Wes that made the initial contact but he would have been behind it!

Kelvin 69 said:
I'm with you Russ, I don't think they have enough talls and are quite an inexperienced team (promising kids though). Rely to heavily on Carroll, who will win them games off his own boot, but if you stop him they will struggle to kick a winning score against the top sides. Will definitely make finals, but I don't think it will be top 2.

good point Kelvin, Same could be said about Arentz and Tooley Manang.. If doesnt fire they seem to loose.. It is true that he just got married or something.......? Or was that another Arentz. Going on his mug shots i doubt this would be him!!

footy02 said:
good point Kelvin, Same could be said about Arentz and Tooley Manang.. If doesnt fire they seem to loose.. It is true that he just got married or something.......? Or was that another Arentz. Going on his mug shots i doubt this would be him!!

I think the key to them isn't shutting down the player themselves, its just cutting off the supply to them, they are both that good of players that if it comes down enough they will kick bags of goals, but if its not going in with regularity and with pressure then they will not be able to kick as many. I say win the midfield and you go along way to beating both the doggies and the saints in 06

footy02 said:
Trev you are a man that brings up very good points, But please believe me when i say that Wes did not appraoch bryce. I think you will find that players of the same age that were talking to Wes about going to Sea Lake instigated things there. e.g. Kyle Evans and Weekly, friends of Bryce. He always new that if he wanted, he could get him, but was not going to make the first move.. p.s. think bryce is a Balranald local origainally

Trev you have obviously done your homework or you have some knowledge about Bryce's past. He is originally from Balranald but has played with TFC juniors since U/11's or U/13's and alot of time and effort is put into junior footy at Tyntynder. Anyway we should agree to disagree on this subject because it's not really that big of a deal. The kid has got immense talent but it would be a shame to see his football go backwards (not implying that it will).