Politics Centrelink

• Thread starter Thread starter hamohawk1

You just expect the covid bonus will last forever?

I guess this was inevitable.

I was talking about the dole being slashed to lower levels than it is now, which I thought was what you were getting at with regards to people only getting the dole if they've paid enough taxes previously.

A lot of Dan Murphy's pop up in low socioeconomic areas.. Funny that.
???

And rich people don't drink or do drugs?

What - specifically - is your point?

And - again, seeing as you ignored it in favour of discussing the rest of the thread - what do you propose we do with the people who don't make good financial decisions in their lives? Is letting them starve, go without shelter or any support really the way you'd go? Where does the buck stop for you?

???

And rich people don't drink or do drugs?

What - specifically - is your point?

And - again, seeing as you ignored it in favour of discussing the rest of the thread - what do you propose we do with the people who don't make good financial decisions in their lives? Is letting them starve, go without shelter or any support really the way you'd go? Where does the buck stop for you?

My point is obvious.. Sitting around doing sweet f all makes people miserable, so they drink alcohol to escape reality.

It shouldn't be possible to buy alcohol with Newstart. Newstart is about providing the bare minimum until you find work.

'Rich' people buy alcohol with money they earned.

Too many young people have no clue about finances, it should be taught in schools as a priority.

There should always be a safety net but for some reason there's definitely an assumption held that I can screw my finances up/spend up everything and be totally irresponsible and still live comfortably on Newstart or a pension. Nope.

My point is obvious.. Sitting around doing sweet f all makes people miserable, so they drink alcohol to escape reality.

It shouldn't be possible to buy alcohol with Newstart. Newstart is about providing the bare minimum until you find work.

'Rich' people buy alcohol with money they earned.

Too many young people have no clue about finances, it should be taught in schools as a priority.

There should always be a safety net but for some reason there's definitely an assumption held that I can screw my finances up/spend up everything and be totally irresponsible and still live comfortably on Newstart or a pension. Nope.
Whilst I disagree, you do have a point. Australia is one of the only countries in the world where unemployment benefits are perpetual as long as you don't have a job. Most countries use the insurance-based model where unemployment benefits depend on your last wage and are time-limited. I agree that financial literacy and budgeting should be a compulstory subject at high school - many people have no clue about basic things like interest.

Would you describe yourself as libertarian, or do you believe in a free society, or even in free markets? If you do, how do you justify a) the imposition in liberties the restriction of alcohol would accomplish (A and B) or C) the limitation on the free market?

It isn't about being wealthy or poor; human beings like drinking. They drink socially, they drink alone, they drink because they like the taste or they like getting drunk. They drink to relieve stress; they drink for all the reasons under the sun. They drink for religious reasons.

This smacks of prohibitionist thinking. Do you want people or markets to be free, or not?
Agreed.
The idea behind a safety net is that there will always be a bottom 20% in any capitalist system. There will always be poor people, and there will always be those who - for whatever reason - cannot support themselves.

You think that there should be a social safety net; terrific. How then do you distinguish between people who've screwed their finances up or spend everything irresponsibly? Who do you think should be the arbiter of who has screwed their finances or behaved irresponsibly?

At the end of it all, you either a) have to provide enough to live on, as part of the Newstart or the Pension, or you are b) allowing that some of the people on it can and will starve or be unable to find homes. There's no real inbetween, unless you're asking directly for a massive upswing in government housing and government investment into things like the food supply.

No, people kicking back on Newstart when there are jobs out there is bad economics.
I know you are a troll but I need to address this for everyone else because you simply cant get away with this stupid statement

Are you telling me there are 700,000 jobs out there right now ready to go?

Can you list them

I know you are a troll but I need to address this for everyone else because you simply cant get away with this stupid statement

Are you telling me there are 700,000 jobs out there right now ready to go?

Can you list them
Why is it that we have a mandated unemployment rate considered "full employment" then villify the people who are stuck in the mandated group of unemployed. To stop inflation? Clearly worked with the housing market. LOL.

Can you demonstrate that there are 'people kicking back on Newstart' before you insist it's happening?
There's quite a few people in my neighbourhood that obviously haven't worked in many years at least. Whatever but I know for a fact that some almost never send their kids to school, that's what really annoys me.

I know you've said this before, but I've moved along with the thread before asking so I'll do so now.

You know for a fact that some almost never send their kids to school and/or have jobs; how do you know that with such certainty? Is there no chance that they could work hours in which you are not there? How do you know without equivocation the details of their lives?

I'm not trying to call you on this, just asking you to elaborate. Admittedly, I haven't lived in a single spot for a long time and I don't tend towards getting to know my neighbourhood, so it could be that.

I know you've said this before, but I've moved along with the thread before asking so I'll do so now.

You know for a fact that some almost never send their kids to school and/or have jobs; how do you know that with such certainty? Is there no chance that they could work hours in which you are not there? How do you know without equivocation the details of their lives?

I'm not trying to call you on this, just asking you to elaborate. Admittedly, I haven't lived in a single spot for a long time and I don't tend towards getting to know my neighbourhood, so it could be that.
Mum works at the school and can actually look up their attendance records. Some were less than <10%. Kid 3 doors down the road I had for 2 weeks of swimming lessons, from memory was there about 4/10 days. Can't read a single word at 6 but seems like a decent boy and no reason why he couldn't do well if he went to school every day.

It's a small low socio economic town and I walk around a lot, you get to know who is who mate. One thing I will say is most are actually alright people that don't cause any crime or anything. (I don't even lock my back door when going out for the day tbh) We have had a few dodgy types that move out from the city to maybe get state housing though and kids are known to be sent to school with no food.

edit - did have a mate from school that I'd never known to have a job when he lived down the road. But after he had moved away I noticed him down the street one day with a uniform from the big new solar farm that was built last summer, was great to see. Only temporary work for a few months but it would get someone like that a start.

lol the little bloke down the road kept hounding me for an old bed I had in the car port for months whilst renovating "So I don't have to sleep on the floor anymore" but I ended up using it again.

I don't have a 'problem' with these types at all as long as they send their kids to school, keep them fed and don't cause any crime or trouble. 100% just need little ones to have an education so they have a chance to break the loop, otherwise payments should be cut back.

'kicking' cans down the street because Newstart is so pathetic...

Aren't you sick to death of the hundreds of thousands of homeless people?
Listen I can't help you because made a stupid statement

I just want you to list these 700,000 jobs that are out there that 'bludgers ' aren't applying for because they are 'kicking back'

There's around 200,000. Go get one.

The problem which people like you may or may not understand is that most of those jobs will go to people with experience and qualifications with employers and recruiters giving preference to people in employment so most of those jobs will not go to the unemployed.

You talk about good and bad economics and maybe you will be surprised to learn that the Government rewards the job network with higher fees, the longer a person is unemployed so that in effect there is no real incentive to get the unemployed into employment.

Newstart should be higher because employers and recruiters pet hate is desperate job seekers. Of course there are some bludgers but it is also the case that some people are unemployable or unsuitable for the available work.

Financial literacy needs addressing but its also the case that some people do find it harder to find employment than others. In any competition not everyone wins everytime.

Plenty of people are 'looking' or applying for jobs purely to satisfy the new start requirement.

Some oldie on sunrise this morning bitching because her jobseeker is dropping back..

Maybe if she'd made better life choices she wouldn't be in her 60s and reliant on a hand out. Nah it's Morrison's fault.
As opposed to NOT looking or applying and still getting the dole ???.......

:drunk:

Also, what'd you mean by the quotations either side of looking ?
Because if there's a way to " look " without applying and STILL manage to get paid the dole, i reckon i could point a few hundred thousand recipients your way for instructions mate

sh*t happens. Bad things can occur outside your control to turn your comfy little world on its head.

Are you trolling or just genuinely stupid?
Can't be both ?

This may or may not be the same poster that inherited a business from his father. Either way, he probably thinks the vagina you choose to pop out of is your first good or bad decision.
I remember that ****wit