Politics Centrelink

tl;dr: "Unemployment percentage dropped!" trumpeted the government. Tens of thousands without work said "fu** this, I can't deal with Centrelink" therefore weren't included in the numbers.
1623811032273.png

Nov 17, 2007

What I can't get my head around, is they are screaming for backpackers to be let in, but the vacancies that haven't been filled for months require general or specialist farming experience.

Mrs Lord said it would make a huge difference to the hiring process if there were more skilled workers in the applicant pool.
She said it had been difficult finding staff with appropriate qualifications or training.
"It's an exhausting process," she said. "You have to honour every application, and I do.
"What we get really sick of is this expectation of coming out to the bush, getting a high wage, but having no skills."

Ummmm how many ******* backpackers have farming skills, unless they are WWOOFERs?

Mrs Burnet said she wanted to see the federal government open Australia's borders.
"The pastoral employers in the outback are desperate, but we haven't been able to persuade the government yet to allow us to bring workers in for quarantine here and then get work."

" As well as early starts, the herd management role at Obi Obi Dairy requires skills in dairy hygiene, herd health, calf nutrition, milking performance and implementation of a breeding program. "

NOBODY in a city is going to take on that role. NO backpackers need apply. NO recent graduate with a farming degree could take it on. There's only one place that employee is going to come from and that is from the dairy industry itself. So why make it the lead ******* story about not being able to find workers to fill jobs in the country, even with the carrot of a house at just $300 a week? Such a carrot - in the old days it would have come with the job, now they expect to pay someone just over $5k a month less tax which makes it $4k a month, less $1300 a month rent?

They have a milker position as well. google=" The average salary for a milker is $25.12 per hour in Australia. " $4300 a month less tax, less $1235 a month rent. Yes its hard and dirty work, and you need a real affinity for cows. Unless they like you the milk yield will go down. Great job for city folk or backpackers.

However, not everyone wants to return to the pre-pandemic model.
Blackall-Tambo Regional Council mayor Andrew Martin said that, while backpackers have played a crucial part in the local agricultural industry, it was time to rethink the outback workforce.
"We are a subject of our own complacency," he said.
"COVID has closed international borders, and we've found ourselves coming up terribly, terribly short."
Mr Martin said it was time to look at the silver lining because this shortage has provided rural industries with an opportunity to rebuild local workforces.

What I can't get my head around, is they are screaming for backpackers to be let in, but the vacancies that haven't been filled for months require general or specialist farming experience.

Ummmm how many ******* backpackers have farming skills, unless they are WWOOFERs?

" As well as early starts, the herd management role at Obi Obi Dairy requires skills in dairy hygiene, herd health, calf nutrition, milking performance and implementation of a breeding program. "

NOBODY in a city is going to take on that role. NO backpackers need apply. NO recent graduate with a farming degree could take it on. There's only one place that employee is going to come from and that is from the dairy industry itself. So why make it the lead ******* story about not being able to find workers to fill jobs in the country, even with the carrot of a house at just $300 a week? Such a carrot - in the old days it would have come with the job, now they expect to pay someone just over $5k a month less tax which makes it $4k a month, less $1300 a month rent?

They have a milker position as well. google=" The average salary for a milker is $25.12 per hour in Australia. " $4300 a month less tax, less $1235 a month rent. Yes its hard and dirty work, and you need a real affinity for cows. Unless they like you the milk yield will go down. Great job for city folk or backpackers.

However, not everyone wants to return to the pre-pandemic model.
Blackall-Tambo Regional Council mayor Andrew Martin said that, while backpackers have played a crucial part in the local agricultural industry, it was time to rethink the outback workforce.
"We are a subject of our own complacency," he said.
"COVID has closed international borders, and we've found ourselves coming up terribly, terribly short."
Mr Martin said it was time to look at the silver lining because this shortage has provided rural industries with an opportunity to rebuild local workforces.
Hospitality and Agriculture really need to look inwardly when it comes to staffing problems, as much as they like to blame absolutely everyone else that they can't find staff, those industries both have an appalling reputation when it comes to treating employees. Maybe if they cleaned up their own backyards they wouldn't have to be come over all A Current Affair when it comes to labour shortages.

Nov 17, 2007

How is this a bad thing?

As the article points out, if the people at the bottom end have more money to spend, they will spend it. That spending increases consumption which increases demand for products and increases business profits.

But so many are used to paying * all and filling the vacancies with overseas workers, and are unwilling to change their business model to accommodate the new reality. They'd rather limit production or reduce hours to tide them over until they can import labour again.

Rotayjay

Aug 28, 2014
Adelaide, South Australia
> Had a friend work at a job agency for a few months.
> The agency gets paid partly based on how many jobseekers they find a job for.
> The more difficult the case, the more money the agency gets. They take into account how long someone has been out of work, their level of education, whether they have any disabilities etc
> Consultants have set targets, sort of like sales
> Targets get progressively harder over time
> Fail to meet your targets and you face the sack
> You need to canvas positions from employers but no decent employer needs your help
> Lots of your jobseekers don't want jobs. Especially not from inferior employers
> Anyone with other options wouldn't work at a job agency and leaves asap
> Those with no other options are willing to play a little dirty to stay employed
> Staff are generally inexperienced (my friends agency had no people with over 12 months in the position) and stressed, so you're not going to get taught well or helped
> Basically a sh*t show
Never worked in a job agency but I can vividly picture that. And you know what it stems from? Outsourcing what was once a government service to businesses trying to make money (and inept not-for-profits)

Got 2 days of this course left.

Haven't heard anything from them, my consultant OR centrelink on what the deal is.

BUT SURE AS s**t, bet if i don't do their *ed check-in online then I'LL be the one who gets it in the arse :rolleyes:

EDIT - centrelink got back to me, no requirements until july 13

Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd then just got a call from the course manager saying we're doing it via zoom tomorrow.....even though centrelink said no mutual obligations until july 13th

WTF jesus.jpg

Perfectly highlighting the disconnect between employment mobs and centrelink

Sep 17, 2019
Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnd then just got a call from the course manager saying we're doing it via zoom tomorrow.....even though centrelink said no mutual obligations until july 13th

View attachment 1167042

Perfectly highlighting the disconnect between employment mobs and centrelink

Do that thing on zoom where it makes you look like a cat and you can't work out how to turn it off.

Better i do that than what old mate from cnn did lol

May 2, 2007
WA
Chicago Bears, de Boer, Arsenal
Yeah, like you wouldn't call us sheeples.

Seriously the only good thing about it was from then on whenever you thought any other manual labour was 'hard' just had to remember at least it's not that s**t. Would get home feeling like you just played 2 games of footy every day. Then get up the next day and do it all over again..

ANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNND sure as s**t the zoom session wa s afail

Least on my end it was.

When you click JOIN SESSION but it doesn't JOIN SESSION.....

Now watch me have 2 run around like a *head all day for centrelink

Great sign for the future :rolleyes:

Nov 17, 2007
I have an in-person must-attend on 16 July. My job list was due on 16th June but it didn't happen because covid suspended mutual obligations, I haven't had a text saying it has resumed. Until then they can wait.

Because I do the occasional odd job using my ABN and declare it, my JSP have demanded I put down 4 hours work each fortnight, even though some jobs only take an hour and it's all I've done for the fortnight. I wonder what that has triggered in their system, is it enough to change my classification from unemployed to "employed" as far as the government figures are concerned? Are they going to be able to claim thousands for "placement" and "finding me a job"?

Yeah

Lucky i sussed my emails this morning , got ANOTHER zoom sesh for 10am.

Email babbles on about completing some *ing worksheet and taking a *en pic of it to *en post or fax i dunno *s saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake

If mutual obligations been waived then why do i 1 - have to attend and 2 - require " marking off " ???

*ed

May 2, 2007
WA
Chicago Bears, de Boer, Arsenal
Yeah

Lucky i sussed my emails this morning , got ANOTHER zoom sesh for 10am.

Email babbles on about completing some f*n worksheet and taking a fu**en pic of it to fu**en post or fax i dunno fu**s saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaake

If mutual obligations been waived then why do i 1 - have to attend and 2 - require " marking off " ???

******ed
It was bad enough 20 years ago but now it sounds more stressful being on it than going to work just to collect a pittance. I guess that's the idea..

Nov 17, 2007
Aug 18, 2006
Govt has caved in and dumped the "independent assessment" sh*t from NDIS.

I hate the fact that it takes negative feedback from the pollsters for them to do stuff like this, rather than simple common sense, empathy or even humanity.
Complain even when you get your way.....

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Nov 17, 2007
Got a meeting with my JSP on Friday morning. I shall take along a postcard from the government that was in my letterbox last week saying "hire someone unemployed because of covid and we'll give you up to $20,000."

Actually I might buy a stapler just so that I can staple it to the front of my "mutual obligations" job application list.