Ch 10 News Report

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Kane McGoodwin said:
I think the key is that we must use our lowish table premiership table position to engineer the best possible trade deals by playing hardball on the likes of the Thompson trade.

If we got Simmonds, who would be handy, I would look at trading Biglands & drafting a young ruckman, given we also would have Clarke & Hudson (& Andrews FWIW).

Personally I would keep Burton over Dew.

As much as I haven't been a fan of Burton's this year, I would still rather him than Dew. Let the Power off load their has beens somewhere else.

Crickey, this is again different. Can Butler be that player or do we get Thompson and pick 12 :confused:. I really is a silly season

Trade Period: Day One tidbits

West Coast coach John Worsfold was very strong on trying to attain Hawthorn vice-captain Nathan Thompson.

"We'd like to get him, but it's hard to say whether we will or not," Worsfold said.

"(We'll do) whatever it takes, but obviously with our first-round draft pick, which is up for offer, we're keen to deal with Adelaide, with Tyson Stenglein.

"A first-round pick is not enough for Adelaide, so we've got to come up with a fair bit better than that, (so it will be) another player or another pick. We don't want to miss out on both."

He added that talks were 'good' with Adelaide regarding Stenglein, while he said the club had not received many offers on Chad Morrison. But Worsfold said Daniel Kerr and David Wirrpunda were required players, while 'a lot of clubs have shown some interest' in Callum Chambers.

Straight swap Dew for Burton. Maybe Stuey would have a new lease on his career at the Crows being a first pick forward, if he can get his weight down and fitness up a bit, I would definatley rather him than Burton. I think Dew would be a much better player to have in our forward line than Burton. I don't really think we could lose with a swap like that, some of you guys give Burton a little more credit than he is due. Burtons kicked 50 goals in a year, well so has Stuey.

crows98 said:
Kane Ackland and Damon White to the Crows (Ruckman and Key Forward)

Burton and Pick 12 (WCE pick) to Port

Port's Pick 19 to the Crows

Tyson Stenglein to the WCE

Matty Bode to the Dee's for Scott Thompson ( on Baller)

This would be a really bad result for the Crows, the Bode/Thompson trade aside. So we give up Burton, Stenglein for Ackland ( bugger all AFL experience), White ( see Ackalnd, although he obviously has potential )and pick 19.

DaveW said:
That would be a great deal.

Facetious or nay?

It's OK... but considering the priority pick situation and the apparent lack of depth in the coming draft I reckon WCE have nabbed a Big Kev bargain.

bluecrow said:
Ch7 Melbourne have said the the Stenglein deal is just about done. Tyson to WCE for their first 2 picks :mad: :mad: :mad:

I'd be ok with that. rather than a good player, but you can't argue that a club is being unreasonable by offering it's first 2 picks.

I would definately rather a player, especially seeing as the club made a huge point a few weeks ago saying that it would only trade for players, not picks.

bluecrow said:
I would definately rather a player, especially seeing as the club made a huge point a few weeks ago saying that it would only trade for players, not picks.
But we need to rebuild and to do that we need picks.

If we get Thompson (which at this stage appears likely) then we get a player that will take Stinger's place in the midfield straight away but not nesseccasarily as a tagger.

We need to get a young ruckman and another young midfielder or 2 and with picks 8 and 12 in the draft we have a good chance of doing this.

dyertribe said:
Facetious or nay?

It's OK... but considering the priority pick situation and the apparent lack of depth in the coming draft I reckon WCE have nabbed a Big Kev bargain.
If West Coast have to give up their first rounder then we've done well.

I think some people rate Stenglein far too highly.

DaveW said:
That would be a great deal.

I agree, as it is predicted there will still be a few quality ruckman by pick 12, considering if we can't draft Cameron Wood with no.8. I have a feeling DeLuca could still be avaliable by pick 12.

From what I've seen and heard so far, I'm confident that the Crows will be genuine winners from this trade period. It's also great to see the Eagles are keen on Stenglein, and it's also refreshing to see a change of heart (and mind) of the AFC to go with youth rather than experience.

Great to see the AFC a bit more vicious too. ;)

DaveW said:
If West Coast have to give up their first rounder then we've done well.

I think some people rate Stenglein far too highly.

I agree, at the bare bones, Stenglein = 15 touches a game and questionable disposal.

But looking at it from West Coast's perspective, they're getting a readymade midfield stopper with 100+ games of experience to add some much-needed accountability to their engine room, in exchange for a couple of picks that are outside the top-10 in what is widely considered to be a shallow draft.

It's probably the best we could get apart from a deal involving Thompson/Butler/Waters... but... I dunno...

Bockchoy67 said:
I agree, as it is predicted there will still be a few quality ruckman by pick 12, considering if we can't draft Cameron Wood with no.8. I have a feeling DeLuca could still be avaliable by pick 12.

From what I've seen and heard so far, I'm confident that the Crows will be genuine winners from this trade period. It's also great to see the Eagles are keen on Stenglein, and it's also refreshing to see a change of heart (and mind) of the AFC to go with youth rather than experience.

It's the first day of trading and the WCE have already upped the ante to two draft picks. Maybe if we hold out until later in the week we can get the Butler/Waters and draft pick deal happening.

SpringChoke said:
It's the first day of trading and the WCE have already upped the ante to two draft picks. Maybe if we hold out until later in the week we can get the Butler/Waters and draft pick deal happening.

Perhaps, but we can't spend too long on this deal as we've got Scott Thompson to attend to, which is seemingly going to take a fair bit of time the way Melbourne are talking.

Add that to Damon White and it's crazy I tell you. :eek:

I think we'll all agree that we must spend a suitable amount of time on both trades. In fact, given how active West Coast are they'll be even more wary about the time than us.

Stiffy_18 said:
Negotiations moving along nicely on Stenglein trade and Fremantle are getting into the play if they are unable to get Carr which seems a real possibility.

Crows are interested in Damon White and Stewart Dew :eek: (I hope the Dew bit is a load of horse manure)

Looking for a ruckman and a key forwards.

Put up for trade

Brett Burton

Chris Ladhams

Matthew Bode

With that trade bait, good luck:(
bode is a must keep and what is wrong with dew he is a proven goal kicker so he fits into our side no probs

birdmanptr said:
bode is a must keep and what is wrong with dew he is a proven goal kicker so he fits into our side no probs

No offence, but I have to disagree with your points.

Bode is most definitely a fringe player at best. From what we've seen he can't crack a game at times in our best 22, so there is little point in keeping him. He may have pace, but his skill level is pretty awful at times and poor decision-makers kill you in tight games.

And in the trade period we must go after youth. Hence why we are after White, Thompson, Butler, etc. Dew does not fit our age requirements.

Richmond director of football Greg Miller believes the Kangaroos have the upper hand for the services of Ottens.

"They're being very genuine in their attempt, but I would doubt that they would be able to secure it. (There is) some interest from a couple of other clubs, asking the question," Miller said.

"They're (Geelong) trying to trade with the Kangaroos, but at this stage the Kangaroos were the most emphatic. Collingwood were very silent on the matter."
OK its the "liars convention"

Believe nothing of what your told till the deal is done.

The above comments re Ottens to North Melbourne when raised on radio with Laidley, he said its news to him, as far as we're concerned we are out of the running.

Its all b......t folks :rolleyes:

Bockchoy67 said:
No offence, but I have to disagree with your points.

Bode is most definitely a fringe player at best. From what we've seen he can't crack a game at times in our best 22.
Thats cause super coach ayres would not play him for some reason the first 2 games after ayres left he started and he was in our best

crowie said:
Straight swap Dew for Burton. Maybe Stuey would have a new lease on his career at the Crows being a first pick forward, if he can get his weight down and fitness up a bit, I would definatley rather him than Burton. I think Dew would be a much better player to have in our forward line than Burton. I don't really think we could lose with a swap like that, some of you guys give Burton a little more credit than he is due. Burtons kicked 50 goals in a year, well so has Stuey.
Dew is fantasic on his day but they're few and far between.
He's basically a one position player, and we're going to trade Burton who can play in a multitude of positions and is far more consistent.

Not even the Crows are that bad a judges
;)

Stiffy_18 said:
But we need to rebuild and to do that we need picks.

If we get Thompson (which at this stage appears likely) then we get a player that will take Stinger's place in the midfield straight away but not nesseccasarily as a tagger.

We need to get a young ruckman and another young midfielder or 2 and with picks 8 and 12 in the draft we have a good chance of doing this.
OK logic if you get thompson.
Miss out on him, and our midfield is chopped liver.

Still prefer Waters and second round pick.

Bockchoy67 said:
With respect where is there any evidence that we have strayed away from our allround good guy upstanding AFL corporate citizen approach ;)

Wayne's-World said:
Dew is fantasic on his day but they're few and far between.
He's basically a one position player, and we're going to trade Burton who can play in a multitude of positions and is far more consistent.

Not even the Crows are that bad a judges
;)

Sorry WW but I dont agree, Burton has been 'tried' in numerous positions but has no 'footy brain' what-so-ever, he wastes the ball, tries to just take 'speckies' all the time, at the end of the day he really is only a one position player also and that is in the goal square, apart from that he is a waste of space, straight swap Burton for Dew ;)

Bockchoy67 said:
Perhaps, but we can't spend too long on this deal as we've got Scott Thompson to attend to, which is seemingly going to take a fair bit of time the way Melbourne are talking.

Add that to Damon White and it's crazy I tell you. :eek:

I think we'll all agree that we must spend a suitable amount of time on both trades. In fact, given how active West Coast are they'll be even more wary about the time than us.

At the end of the day the ball is in the AFC's court we know W/Coast want Stenglein and we have to hold off until we can squeeze the most out of them, the longer we hold off the more desperate they will be, AFC have to be strong on this one.

maccas_no1 said:
Sorry WW but I dont agree, Burton has been 'tried' in numerous positions but has no 'footy brain' what-so-ever, he wastes the ball, tries to just take 'speckies' all the time, at the end of the day he really is only a one position player also and that is in the goal square, apart from that he is a waste of space, straight swap Burton for Dew ;)
I think what people forget is that Burton is an athlete trying to play AFL.
His problem has been that he's always coming back from injuries in the last 2 years. Consequently his lack of consistent gametime leads to poor footy decisions.

You'll notice he's far better when playing plenty of games.

Having said that I would still trade him for the right player/draft pick - just not Dew ;)