Unofficial Preview Changes & discussion v Saints @ Marvel Round 15.

• Thread starter Thread starter M Malice

but what is the solution beardancer?

surely there is a change we can make to remedy this?

dropping a player perhaps?
no, we missed our opportunity to drop joe at the start of the season........we're stuck with him now, ther'es no turning back. shame we're never going to see andrews play forward.

Ridiculous. Joe has been in great form this year. Sure he's had a few off games but every key forward in the league has too.

Harris would be a dreadful forward.

If you're going to do this schtick, you really need to commit to it week on week rather than disappearing for seven rounds because Joe was playing too well for anyone to possibly care about your gimmick.

Or, and here's the other option, get over your Joe weirdness.

So we are not serious contenders unless we win every game for the rest of the year including Melbourne and Collingwood in Melbourne? That’s ridiculous.
Not ridiculous at all. We are a 3 goal better team at home, we should win all home games - that's a non negotiable.

It leaves away games vs saints, suns, freo, demons and pies. Suns and Freo are fading so I expect a finals bound team like us to put them away. It leaves Saints, Demons and Pies who all are likely to be there come finals. We need to beat them "away" to build some momentum before finals.

I dont believe in the idea of winning few and dropping a few from here on. In that case we'll go to finals with a prayer of everyone magically finding their best version and helping us win away finals. I believe we need build that momentum in coming weeks prior to finals which means losing games is not an option anymore.

Yeah, getting weirdly obsessed over a player and banging on about them periodically is tedious. #Chat3KZ

Daniher has only had a couple of ordinary games but the vision of him snapping for goal when handballs to players in easier positions were relatively simple is a bit damning and I thought he'd gotten over that.

We should be winning this easily enough if we bring our best for the 4 quarters but that's only a guessing game at the moment.

Not ridiculous at all. We are a 3 goal better team at home, we should win all home games - that's a non negotiable.

It leaves away games vs saints, suns, freo, demons and pies. Suns and Freo are fading so I expect a finals bound team like us to put them away. It leaves Saints, Demons and Pies who all are likely to be there come finals. We need to beat them "away" to build some momentum before finals.

I dont believe in the idea of winning few and dropping a few from here on. In that case we'll go to finals with a prayer of everyone magically finding their best version and helping us win away finals. I believe we need build that momentum in coming weeks prior to finals which means losing games is not an option anymore.
So if we lose to Collingwood at the G we are ruled out as contenders? No one will go through the rest of the season undefeated - some one going to win it all which will make them the contender. I agree we need to be in form and have some momentum but to suggest we need to go undefeated or it’s over is way over the top.

Need McCarthy to tag Sinclair for this game across all 4 quarters. Just make sure he doesn't get the ball during overlap run and be switched on to stop him or put pressure on him on every occasion.

Port are flying but they do take time to blunt opposition weapons, hope our coaching panel approaches this saints game with similar plans.

1) Port's impact players demand respect

Port Adelaide's stars have rightly attracted a lot of attention in its 11-game winning streak, but their lower-profile teammates are quietly cutting opponents to pieces as well. Before round 14, Port ranked No.17 in the AFL for average disposals and last in the League for marks, underlining that they are a group of high-impact players who do more with less. Sam Powell-Pepper could be the AFL's best high forward this season, according to his coach. He kicked two magnificent goals against the Cats on Thursday night, contributed to Tom Stewart's quiet game, and took just 13 disposals to be among the three most effective players on the ground. Unheralded midfielder Willem Drew won a clearance (eight) with more than half of his 14 disposals, forward Darcy Byrne-Jones had a game-high nine score involvements from 14 touches, and the majority of Kane Farrell's 10 kicks did damage. While the likes of Butters and Rozee lead the way, the second wave of Power players should not be underestimated. – Nathan Schmook

Wonder if this is a good game to change things up in the centre clearances to try and get some advantage in the territory baby

Possibly go bigger with Berry or just more aggressive. Release Dunkley to hunt the footy or give Oscar license to knock it forward.

Then set up the half forward line to be able to hunt the loose ball and then force it forward however possible to get a shot or stoppage in the forward 50

So if we lose to Collingwood at the G we are ruled out as contenders? No one will go through the rest of the season undefeated - some one going to win it all which will make them the contender. I agree we need to be in form and have some momentum but to suggest we need to go undefeated or it’s over is way over the top.

Collingwood at Marvel is possible. We should've won the Adelaide and Hawks game to give ourselves some buffer but we dropped those so our room for error is gone in my opinion. This is a good problem to have, if we're serious we'll win all or hopefully push hard in every game to lose by a goal or two somewhere along the way.

Chances of top 2 are very slim but our best is good enough to beat Port or Collingwood away which would setup a home semi

Critical game to win - we’ve got a pretty torrid draw to finish. Get the feeling the Saints will worry us with their run similar to Crows/Hawks.

Saints (A)
Tigers (H) - off the bye and finding form
Bye (H)
Melbourne (A)
Geelong (H)
Suns (A)
Fremantle (A) - Sunday twilight in Perth, yuk.
Crows (H) - possibly fighting for a finals spot.
Collingwood (A)
Saints (H)

Tough.

I don’t think we have much of a chance this year unless we host a PF.
When I read this my first thought was that I didn't realise we had two bye rounds and it sucks that they are so close together ... my second thought was to curse that our tradionally poor post-bye game was the one against the Demons at the MCG.

Then the nice man in the followup post pointed out that the second bye was actually the game against the Eagles. ;)

We have had the bye, remaining games. I have highlighted the games I believe we are capable of winning;

Saints (A) Rest Payne obviously ankle/foot is injured, Harris can take King. Play some speed so keep Dev. as a minimum.
Tigers (H) Need Zorko, and hopefully Lynch is still out and Payne's ankle/foot is OK. Again need some speed to counter that manic Richmond go forward style.
Eagles (H) We need to smash them and boost percentage, even if they have a few older players available
Demons (A) Don't have to win, but of course would love it, just need a good strong performance at the G
Geelong (H) We smashed them a couple of years ago at the GABBA.
Suns (A) After today their final aspirations are fading wo hopefully out of the running for finals and we have a comfortable win
Freo (A) Although Freo playing poorly (despite Kingy saying a few weeks ago they had changed their game plan..blah, blah, blah) we should win this but will be tight
Crows (H) This is a huge game, win this and reckon top 4 is a lock
Pies (A) again a win would be nice to send a message a few weeks out from finals but not critical, but a good solid performance is and the game is at Marvel
Saints (H) Confident all things being equal we win this
I would have thought we were a pretty good chance against the Cats at the Gabba...

Need McCarthy to tag Sinclair for this game across all 4 quarters. Just make sure he doesn't get the ball during overlap run and be switched on to stop him or put pressure on him on every occasion.

Port are flying but they do take time to blunt opposition weapons, hope our coaching panel approaches this saints game with similar plans.

1) Port's impact players demand respect

Port Adelaide's stars have rightly attracted a lot of attention in its 11-game winning streak, but their lower-profile teammates are quietly cutting opponents to pieces as well. Before round 14, Port ranked No.17 in the AFL for average disposals and last in the League for marks, underlining that they are a group of high-impact players who do more with less. Sam Powell-Pepper could be the AFL's best high forward this season, according to his coach. He kicked two magnificent goals against the Cats on Thursday night, contributed to Tom Stewart's quiet game, and took just 13 disposals to be among the three most effective players on the ground. Unheralded midfielder Willem Drew won a clearance (eight) with more than half of his 14 disposals, forward Darcy Byrne-Jones had a game-high nine score involvements from 14 touches, and the majority of Kane Farrell's 10 kicks did damage. While the likes of Butters and Rozee lead the way, the second wave of Power players should not be underestimated. – Nathan Schmook
Yes i hope we have a plan for Sinclair. Maybe Lohmann if he plays? Sinclair is pretty quick.

I’d argue this is our most important game of the year so far.

Win and we are likely 2 games clear in the top 4. We’ve corrected the wobble with 2 wins in a row and beaten a top 8 side away.

Lose and it’s another top 8 loss away from home. Lost 3 of our last 4. And the away formline would suggest at that point we would not beat freo / dees / pies. That takes us to 8 losses minimum and probably not top 4.

If you're going to do this schtick, you really need to commit to it week on week rather than disappearing for seven rounds because Joe was playing too well for anyone to possibly care about your gimmick.

Heavens no.

Chances of top 2 are very slim but our best is good enough to beat Port or Collingwood away which would setup a home semi
Port have a pretty easy run home so don’t see them dropping too many.
Could see them losing 2-3 if they go off the ball for a bit.
Best chance is probably finishing 3rd or 4th and an away qualifying final.

Interestingly balanced for Top 2 finish. Clearly losing to Adelaide and Hawthorn has major implications, given where we were, but if we can find a way to keep winning and we have some luck, we can do it.
Past Top 2 and Number of Losses.
2022 1st 4 / 2nd 6
2021 1st 4 / 2nd 5
2020 1st 3 / 2nd 3
2019 1st 6 / 2nd 6

Wow. Plenty of dissatisfaction on this site. We won on Friday night. First quarter was shit but had we kicked with reasonable accuracy, we win by ten goals. Bombing long to forwards looks like crappy strategy but it’s fine if you score goals. We certainly generated the shots. We have at least two guns to come back in and a hungry bunch of very talented youngsters vying for a game.
We’re top four. Not being top One doesn’t break my heart but then I drive a 25 year old holden Ute and used to watch Fitzroy being belted by 100 points a game.
The zero sum approach is madness if you want your footy experience to be generally pleasurable. Aim for it and enjoy the struggle of course but if we come second or third I’ll still be rapt. It just means there’s a couple of teams better than us.
Try barracking for Carlton…

Interestingly balanced for Top 2 finish. Clearly losing to Adelaide and Hawthorn has major implications, given where we were, but if we can find a way to keep winning and we have some luck, we can do it.
Past Top 2 and Number of Losses.
2022 1st 4 / 2nd 6
2021 1st 4 / 2nd 5
2020 1st 3 / 2nd 3
2019 1st 6 / 2nd 6
If we lose another 2 we may make it. But top 4 is a more achievable goal at this point in time.
An extra game this year
Also a few covid years with reduced games in that timeframe.

2018 1st 4 / 2nd 6
2017 1st 6 / 2nd 6 both first and second also had a draw
2016 1st 5 / 2nd 5
2015 1sr 5 / 2nd 5

So, an average of 5.5 lost games for 2nd spot over 8 years

Wow. Plenty of dissatisfaction on this site. We won on Friday night. First quarter was s**t but had we kicked with reasonable accuracy, we win by ten goals. Bombing long to forwards looks like crappy strategy but it’s fine if you score goals. We certainly generated the shots. We have at least two guns to come back in and a hungry bunch of very talented youngsters vying for a game.
We’re top four. Not being top One doesn’t break my heart but then I drive a 25 year old holden Ute and used to watch Fitzroy being belted by 100 points a game.
The zero sum approach is madness if you want your footy experience to be generally pleasurable. Aim for it and enjoy the struggle of course but if we come second or third I’ll still be rapt. It just means there’s a couple of teams better than us.
Try barracking for Carlton…
Four seasons of being top 4, or there abouts, has changed many fan’s expectations.

A few fans probably see this year and next year as the end of a window, with the potential retirements of Rich and Zorko (and Gunston).

Then we’re looking at the possibility of Neale pushing in to his 30’s, and a potential decline.

For some of us it’s win now, or face another few years until our kids are fully integrated in to the “next” team.

Four seasons of being top 4, or there abouts, has changed many fan’s expectations.

A few fans probably see this year and next year as the end of a window, with the potential retirements of Rich and Zorko (and Gunston).

Then we’re looking at the possibility of Neale pushing in to his 30’s, and a potential decline.

For some of us it’s win now, or face another few years until our kids are fully integrated in to the “next” team.
it's the hope that kills you!

I was always dubious about Gunstone being an upgrade on McStay, but got over excited that the additions of Dunkley, McKenna, and Ashcroft would make us the team to beat.

I do appreciate that we should be able to enjoy our season far more than West Coast supporters, but every fan is familiar with 'premiership windows' and many of us are stressed as we hear the clock ticking.