Preview Changes Round 5 vs GWS

Can't argue with stats, just telling you what I saw against the Lions. Maybe he was playing a different role, but he played poorly and that assessment is the same as most people's for his season so far.
I'm not disagreeing with you that he has been poor. I'm just disagreeing with the notion he hasn't been getting to contests. He clearly has as he's 2nd on our list in contested ball.

In my mind he hasn't been getting enough ball on the outside where he can utilise his supposed strength which is his kicking when afforded space. Contested ball makes up a huge % of his disposals at the moment

bit staggered by the level of masten hate here lately.

he's not the only one who's been in iffy form to start the year. rosa has been worse IMO.

Explain pls
nelson has been promising, but looks like he could use a spell.

i don't understand why simpson doesn't persist with bennell. we look a much more balanced, faster side with him in the backline. i'm sure there's a reason why he gets dropped after every game he gets, but i don't think it's ever been made public.

bit staggered by the level of masten hate here lately.

he's not the only one who's been in iffy form to start the year. rosa has been worse IMO.

Rosa's played useful roles in both wins (tagging Judd then pinch-hitting in defence against the Lions). Masten's not done a whole lot in any of the games so far.

Rosa has been steadily improving and in all fairness has played 4 games of AFL footy since the beginning of July last year.

Masten just isn't playing to his strengths so far this year. I'm not sure if that is gameplan, workrate or spud-factor at play. I wouldn't be dropping him currently as he is not under pressure due to injury. He might feel some more heat when Ellis, Hutch and Scooter are pushing for selection.

I'm not sure if hearing he is finding himself in space a lot is a good thing or a bad thing. If we can start getting some clean ball to him with time for him to assess and dispose he is much more valuable. If he's left unattended because he is moving to poor areas it needs to be addressed ASAP.

nelson has been promising, but looks like he could use a spell.

i don't understand why simpson doesn't persist with bennell. we look a much more balanced, faster side with him in the backline. i'm sure there's a reason why he gets dropped after every game he gets, but i don't think it's ever been made public.
What do you see when you look at him and see someone who needs a spell?

Does Masto have incriminating pictures of the match committee or something?

It's simply staggering how he escapes the wrath of the selectors knife

No. But he does train the house down.
Runs rings around everyone, at training.
Does all the hard things, at training.

I have watched Masten closely at training and his skills are well above average and executes everything well but come game day with some pressure he falls apart.
He's the epitome of the club at the moment - sublime skills in space and with little pressure, but not so great under the pump. I still reckon he's just too weak in the lower body, he gets knocked off balance so easily. Surely a shitload of pilates and leg presses can fix this?

Think this notion of players needing a rest after 4 games is pretty silly.
Agreed, seems to have come from GWS resting players, but considering how many young players they had it's a different situation. Lewis Taylor played every game last year, Aish played all but one, same for Luke McDonald. No need to rest him just for the sake of resting him, if he needs a rest then sure, but I seriously doubt it after 4 matches.

Perhaps if he was playing big midfield minutes, but he's primarily playing deep in defence, can't see why he can't play week in week out.

I would prefer Hutchings. Has a bit more agro to him, so no qualms about getting the footy. Would be a little concerned about his disposal to maximise his touches, though.

Thats why Duggan has been a great sub. Gets possessions, including contested, but then uses it so well that it can ice a game. Those skills are so valuable we want to see them over an entire game, however.
hutchings agro , sounds intimidating , then he speaks and everyone laughs , but it is scary freaky his voice

I am wondering also whether some time has gone into masten by opposition teams. Watching last year. Masten was afforded lots of space, where he could use his decent disposal i50 to hit a target. He hasn't been afforded as much space this year, which would also explain the contested ball numbers.

I can't imagine our mids taking up too much time in opposition analysis, so they probably had a few minutes spare.

So nothing, you're just guessing that he needs a rest?

Nelson played every pre season game and now 4 games straight in the main season.

So how many games would you expect a 18 year old after his first preseason will play in a row?

At 18 you think he's physically ready to play how many straight? 5? 10? 22?

It's really not rocket science.o_O

The kid is likely to run out of petrol tickets / become sore at some stage simply because of his age and early physical development.

Nelson played every pre season game and now 4 games straight in the main season.

So how many games would you expect a 18 year old after his first preseason will play in a row?

The kid is likely to run out of petrol tickets / become sore at some stage simply because of his age and early physical development.
No at 18 he could probably only play 2.5 games without a break. At the 19 that he actually is I'd say 45-50 in a row no worries. Or as I suggested in my posts further on you could rest him when/if he actually needs a rest instead of just deciding he needs one because you think he needs one even though he's showing absolutely no signs of being tired.

Heppell played 23 straight in debut year

Cool when he does he can have a rest.