Unofficial Preview Changes vs Adelaide (thread closed, please post in Game Day thread)

• Thread starter Thread starter Nicco_jj

Indeed, his goal against Carlton in NAB challenge was sublime!

I do wonder if he'll get regular kick out duties? As good as Langdon is (he did well on Saturday night) I'd rather Langdon out receiving the ball in the field of play

Sinclair was also doing the kick ins:mad:

Gee, with THATSGOLD conceding that water has now gone under the bridge, and mike123 conceding Armstrong has played his last game ...

... the world has turned, and we now enter a brave new world! :eek:

A brave new world? Or another Arab Spring? Careful there, 76. One loss and we could spiral out of control again...

Anyone else think that Patty K could in and become our super sub??
Would be a great inclusion to come on late in the 3rd and use his run, skill and goal sense.
He seems to have a great knack of getting clear in the forward line and kicking a goal or two.
Listening to Jono Brown the other night, he said he has great awareness and skill.

Would be a great inclusion to come on late in the 3rd and use his run, skill and goal sense.
He seems to have a great knack of getting clear in the forward line and kicking a goal or two.
Listening to Jono Brown the other night, he said he has great awareness and skill.

Absolutely HATE the idea of any player being cast in the role of "super sub". It's an antiquated idea and hopefully one that will be gone within 12 months. Players don't do all that work (training / recovery) to play a quarter or less a week. #Stupid rule

I don't mean start him ever week as sub, but he could be very handy this week, especially if we are only going in with 1 genuine ruck in Grundy.
We all saw what happened when he tired in the 3rd and 4th qtrs.
At least this way, White can go in the guts, and PK can come on and add a bit as a forward.
He can also have a run through the centre if needed.

I don't mean start him ever week as sub, but he could be very handy this week, especially if we are only going in with 1 genuine ruck in Grundy.
We all saw what happened when he tired in the 3rd and 4th qtrs.
At least this way, White can go in the guts, and PK can come on and add a bit as a forward.
He can also have a run through the centre if needed.

Agree, what's good about him Rusty is that he can tick a number of boxes if required - can pretty much play any position forward of D50

Well he is Quiet for lot of a Game and has also times when he Dominates. Would like him to come out in the 4th Qtr and Snag a Few Goals

I'd imagine it would be either Kennedy or Dwyer (if fit) coming in to fill the vacancy left by Sidebottom's injury. By all reports Dwyer killed it in the 2nd's and whilst Kennedy was reportedly average he is on the cusp of earning his stripes.

Also I've just watched the Lions game again and realised that Steele played in the centre for 5 - 8 minutes each qtr and was quite effective. So as much as he is an "outside" player his clearance game is pretty darn respectable making the choice between Kennedy and Dwyer a tough one. I'd lean towards Kennedy myself as Adelaide dominated us last year in the clearances and off their halfback and Kennedy's toughness around the contest and pace on the spread would be pretty handy to help contain the likes of Sloane, Dangerfield, Douglas and Thompson (if he comes back in).

Dwyer is a very handy player and I do see him in the best 22 but it would be for a specific role. His kicking is excellent and generally he'll do a bloody good job when disposing of the pill, but thats about all he does. I hardly notice him in defense and rarely see him winning contested ball.

Kennedy on the other hand makes tackles and puts his body on the line. He'll win his own ball and has great pace and goal sense. The let down is disposal efficiency.

I think with guys like Sinclair, Oxley, Varcoe and Crisp running and kicking we can afford to carry Kennedy for the toughness and ball winning ability against a much stronger (physically) Adelaide midfield.

I'd imagine it would be either Kennedy or Dwyer (if fit) coming in to fill the vacancy left by Sidebottom's injury. By all reports Dwyer killed it in the 2nd's and whilst Kennedy was reportedly average he is on the cusp of earning his stripes.

Also I've just watched the Lions game again and realised that Steele played in the centre for 5 - 8 minutes each qtr and was quite effective. So as much as he is an "outside" player his clearance game is pretty darn respectable making the choice between Kennedy and Dwyer a tough one. I'd lean towards Kennedy myself as Adelaide dominated us last year in the clearances and off their halfback and Kennedy's toughness around the contest and pace on the spread would be pretty handy to help contain the likes of Sloane, Dangerfield, Douglas and Thompson (if he comes back in).

Dwyer is a very handy player and I do see him in the best 22 but it would be for a specific role. His kicking is excellent and generally he'll do a bloody good job when disposing of the pill, but thats about all he does. I hardly notice him in defense and rarely see him winning contested ball.

Kennedy on the other hand makes tackles and puts his body on the line. He'll win his own ball and has great pace and goal sense. The let down is disposal efficiency.

I think with guys like Sinclair, Oxley, Varcoe and Crisp running and kicking we can afford to carry Kennedy for the toughness and ball winning ability against a much stronger (physically) Adelaide midfield.

Dwyer is one of the toughest guys at the ball we have on the list. Which is not to say Kennedy isn't, but Dwyer is certainly no slouch at contested ball.

VFL specialist. Doesn't offer a whole lot in the seniors IMO. I'd have a few others ahead of him.

I have a few in the AFL Side I would play before him. Ramsey and Sinclair are behind him

OUT: Goldsack (He is an over rated lazy waste of space), Sidebottom (We will miss him), Williams (35% disposal efficiency can't be overlooked), Oxley (Needs to do better, if he can't make an impression against Brisbane, what chance has he got V Adelaide)
IN: Karnezis (He is Goldsack that can get more of the ball, and kick goals), Witts (should be fit), Seedsman (Better than Williams), Kennedy (Not sure why he gets overlooked to start with).

B: Toovey, Brown, Crisp
HB: Langdon, Frost, Seedsman
C: DeGoey, Adams, Sinclair
HF: Elliott, Cloke, Varcoe
F: Fasolo, White, Swan

R: Grundy, Pendlebury, Kennedy
I: Ramsay, Karnezis, Witts, Blair
E: Dwyer, Broomhead, Freeman

I have a few in the AFL Side I would play before him. Ramsey and Sinclair are behind him
Ramsay and Sinclair aren't even competing for the same spot.

Quit the hate for Sinkers Dave. He was easily our best small defender on Saturday. Your ridiculous bias is getting old.

In: Kennedy
Out: Sidebottom

Ramsay as sub.
Im not sure about dropping Ramsay, seems to be a running theme in this thread to drop him but he goes hard at the pill like a steam train.....we need that against the crows IMO.

Ramsay and Sinclair aren't even competing for the same spot.

Quit the hate for Sinkers Dave. He was easily our best small defender on Saturday. Your ridiculous bias is getting old.

Well Sinclair is like Lumumba takes off when he gets the ball and then the Kick can go anywhere.

Well I was pretty good Predicting that Ceglar be a AFL Player

Why have people gone off Seedsman? I read reports that he was one of our best on the weekend.

Granted the SEED is ready to go my prediction is

- Oxley
- Sidebottom

+ THE SEED
+ Broomhead

Agree, I thought he did OK on Saturday in the VFL practice game (for the two quarters I was there). Could be a chance this weekend.

Out : Sidebottom
In : Broomhead

Broomy must come in, was unlucky to miss out on the Brisbane game. Will miss Sidey big time, he looked class against the Lions, in tough conditions.
--------------------------

Yep, I think that's about it. Oxley I reckon will stay because he seems to have the skills, although he's skinny as... Ramsay could deserve another shot but he and Sinclair are just too alike and Sinclair has the inside running...Grundy will need help, is Witts fit ? If not Gault, either way one of those for Ramsay...I guess Adams will get Dangerfield ? in which case good luck Taylor...I thought Adams played well on Saturday, got the ball heaps, just wish he would do something constructive with it more often... I guess it'll take time

I thought that was maybe White's best game for us. 7 marks, 5 shots on goal (would be better if he'd converted one or two more, but equally can't recall any howler misses), made good position and worked well with Trav.
-----------------

Agreed. I just wish they would plonk him at FF and leave him there. Enough with this stupid White as a backup ruckman rubbish...he isn't a ruckman.

I'm a bit perplexed at the deepness of love which Kennedy attracts, and I find it curious that BenKen would strike people as a natural and ready replacement for Sidey. Of course, we don't have anyone who can so what Sidebottom does, and he proved his value last night most emphatically. However, among the handful of players who might be called upon to step up, BK to me seems one of the least likely. His VFL form has been reportedly very average, even though I didn't see the practice match yesterday. What I have seen of BK comes from the admittedly warped world of NAB footy, and the young man was very underwhelming.

I know that he's determined, that he works hard, that he cares about his team, but all of the best intentions and best efforts won't stop him from getting bumped from contests too easily, or from making terrible decisions when he magically finds himself with the ball. At the moment, I'm a BK sceptic. I hope he shows me up, and if he lights it up in the VFL this year (as he's done in the past) and then makes the jump with some style (which he hasn't done yet), then I'll be as happy as anyone.

For mine, Broomhead is a better prospect than BK. He's shown a bit more, albeit in only flashes. He does have some poise and some class, and the club (unless they think that he'll be taking the first available bus back to Adelaide) should give him his opportunity to develop. He had one disappointing NAB game (can't remember which), but I recall him doing well in another, and he played well yesterday. This year is still a development year for us, and the Broom is one for the future.
----------------

Could not agree more...I've seen every AFL game BK has played, albeit on TV...he does NOT get the ball.....