Changes vs Bears

• Thread starter Thread starter Groupie_

But honestly, Newman is not problem 101.

Morons like Morris and Petterd running around with no idea is.

Gordon, Lloyd - not AFL standard.

Cotchin, Martin and co believing their own hype but not fulfilling it.

Guy like Miles that look like the game is played in slow motion.

Chaplin a pillar in defense yet continually unable to pick a good option at 20 meters. (If I had my way he would be gone for good - shit footballer)

We've really got so many farkin problem that it defies belief.

INS: Astbury (so ****ing chaplin doesnt have to man up on anyone because he is the worse one on one defender in the comp)
Delideo (we seem to play like total shit without him)
Anyone else that can provide forward pressure, because the dogs ran out of there with noone within 5 meters of them at times
Titch edwards (notice how we got carved up in centre clearances for a while and notice how noone knew how to crumb properly off packs, this guy is perfect for that and was a massive loss)

OUTS: Grimes ( I don't even know if he is a key defender or a runner off half back because at the moment he has been terrible at both)
Lambert (not good enough at the moment)
Pettard (same as lambert)
Grigg or newman (though he wasnt that bad as everyone makes it out to be)

Also does anyone think gordon can ever be a permanent small forward who creates forward pressure, we really need that.

But honestly, Newman is not problem 101.

Morons like Morris and Petterd running around with no idea is.

Gordon, Lloyd - not AFL standard.

Cotchin, Martin and co believing their own hype but not fulfilling it.

Guy like Miles that look like the game is played in slow motion.

Chaplin a pillar in defense yet continually unable to pick a good option at 20 meters. (If I had my way he would be gone for good - shit footballer)

We've really got so many farkin problem that it defies belief.
cotchin, martin and rance were probably our 3 best players, many let him down today

Cotchin???? Really.

Rance was our best by a country mile.
Cotchin was very average, as was Martin and our midfield was smashed to pieces. If you can't see that then watch the replay.
Jing Jong showed them all how it is done today and the work rate required to play AFL.

Is it OK now to mention how shit Petterd is, was and always will be? He had some serious man-love in here last year - you could not say a bad word about him to some people.

Remember it well last season.

He's a dud. Plain and simple.

Cotchin???? Really.

Rance was our best by a country mile.
Cotchin was very average, as was Martin and our midfield was smashed to pieces. If you can't see that then watch the replay.
haha are you serious? those 2 were in our best players today, if we had somehow won you guys would be praising them, dont go all sour because we lost, dusty was probably best on ground around half time, cotchin was a 7/10 today , he was good, not great but not "very average"

Out: Lambert, Grimes, Gordon, Petterd

In: Deledio, Astbury, Edwards, Knights

Morris is a horrendous, horrendous footballer but we'll never drop him so there's no point even entertaining the idea.

Anyone know if Shane Edwards will
miss more than just the 1 game ?

Minor calf strain at Richmond usually means out for 10 weeks

Can those wanting to drop Lloyd please explain why? I thought he was one of the only good points in a really, really average day for our club.

McDonough, Knights, Foley and McBean need to come into considerations based on the half of VFL I saw. Having said that, no one dominated. Was baffled by the selection of Lambert. He didn't do nearly enough as a forward in the pre-season to replace Lids. Was even more baffled by the decision to replace a creative forward/mid in Edwards with a battler. No problem with Pettard playing his role but not to replace Edwards. It should have been Knights or McDonough.

Prior to the footy team dropping the ball (literally and regularly), the coaching staff and match committee shat the bed this week. Bitterly disappointed.

It's a good thing I live in the best country and city in the world. Imagine how angry I'd be if I barracked for Richmond and also lived in a city like Baghdad?:mad:

Can those wanting to drop Lloyd please explain why? I thought he was one of the only good points in a really, really average day for our club.

McDonough, Knights, Foley and McBean need to come into considerations based on the half of VFL I saw. Having said that, no one dominated. Was baffled by the selection of Lambert. He didn't do nearly enough as a forward in the pre-season to replace Lids. Was even more baffled by the decision to replace a creative forward/mid in Edwards with a battler. No problem with Pettard playing his role but not to replace Edwards. It should have been Knights or McDonough.

Prior to the footy team dropping the ball (literally and regularly), the coaching staff and match committee shat the bed this week. Bitterly disappointed.

It's a good thing I live in the best country and city in the world. Imagine how angry I'd be if I barracked for Richmond and also lived in a city like Baghdad?:mad:
You wouldn't have posted this message as you would have probably blown your self up by now.

If like to see Hardwick play a team that is more likely to win a flag than a team that is (subjectively) more likely to win a game.

Look at Kamdyn. 2 games and already surpassed the battlers. The majority of our draft picks have better skills and football ability than the battlers we consistently play.

I don't want the whole team made up of kids from last years draft but when a player (like last years 1st pick) is showing as much (if not more) ability as current players in the team that is younger and more skilled, play him.

Lloyd is an old 1 trick pony who adds good depth and might find 2-3 sausages if he has a good day.
Gordon can run all day but has poor skills, can't find the ball and does not have explosive pace (like say Matt White).
Lambert is a solid player that should have to earn a game like Miles did but didn't.
Morris is a lock down defender who can apply pressure but doesn't have the skills to play forward.

Lennon is a first round pick that has all the skills a HF needs because he is a HF. He is one of the best kicks at goal and is yet to finish puberty. He has had a good preseason and is ready to go. He deserves to play every week unless he stinks it up, which he won't.

McDonough is similar maybe not as good but does have excellent skills. Both should be playing up forward ahead of the 4 mentioned previously.

Then there's Petterd and Newman (not the worst game yday but he is not going to improve on that so send him to the VFL). Both these players are good as back-ups when we have injuries preventing us from playing younger more talented players.

There are more players I could rip into but won't yet this forward line is the biggest issue.

Changes

Out: Newman, Gordon, Lambert, Petterd, Lloyd

In: Deledio, Lennon, S.Edwards, Knights, Conca ... If all fit

Emergencies - McDonough, Astbury, McBean

FYI - I would drop Chaplin for Astbury but I know it won't happen (leadership?) so I'll give Astbury an extra week off before we play Melbourne.

B: Morris, Chaplin, Grimes
HB: Houli, Rance, Batchelor
C: McIntosh, Vlastuin, Ellis
HF: Lennon, Griffiths, Deledio
F: Edwards, Riewoldt, Martin
R: Maric, Miles, Cotchin
Int: Grigg, Conca, Hunt
Sub: Knights

I'd like to see how Knights goes as sub. It could be a good way to manage his fitness throughout the year. He is the sort of player that can get 10 and kick 2 in less than a quarter. I also think we could use Deledio in this role to manage his injury. Imagine if Deledio was the sub yesterday.

FPPFSIRTS - What do Ross Lyon, Alastair Clarkson and Ken Hinckley all have in common?

They all play their forwards in the ****ing forward line.

I thought our replacements for probably two of our quickest and best players through traffick , lids and sheds , with two blokes that are the complete opposite was bazaar . It was even more puzzling that Lambert started and Gordan was left as sub. By no coincidence we had no flair no pace from the contest and no outside spread .

Last year I went to the Gabba and although we won, I spent alot of the game screaming out everytime Petterd caused a turnover. I think he was directly responsibe for 3-4 goals the other way. To have him replace Edwards when Knights was ready to go shows the bias Dimma has. Mind blowing. Not going to Brissie this week now. Cant even be assured Petterd wont play even if he is an emergency going in.
At least Morris went back and looked back at home late yesterday. The playing him forward idea is going as well as playing Dusty off half back last year.

Talk about contrasts....Wallet recruits fast althletes who cant get the ball. Dimma gets slow inside players with either poor skills or poor decision making, or both.
Ins. Hopefully Lids and Sheds are right, Knights (had a good VFL game)
Outs. Lambert (inj)
Petterd (useless) Gordon
AND Morris plays back.

For those who saw the VFL game, what was the form of some being discussed here like?

Saw Knights listed in the bests, so obviously he had a decent one, but more thinking Foley, Lennon, etc

Also did Conca play, if so, how was he? I'm a Conca fan, but he was at best disappointing preseason. Personally I'd like for him to be banging the door down before he's promoted (been really disappointed with his recent efforts when played at afl level)

Out:
Petterd - Hardwick gifts this bloke games ahead of McDonough and Knights, both of whom were shining lights in a crap VFL loss, fair dinkum if he doesn't get rid of this bloke I want Dimma sacked by the end of the season
Lambert - hurt and was not that good

In:
Deledio
Edwards

Just on McDonough, not completely sold on him at AFL level, the few games I saw of him he looked a bit off the pace, a tad slow.
Would prefer Lennon over him if only one is picked. Lennon has some x-factor and can take a grab.