Preview Changes Vs COLA Swans Round 17

• Thread starter Thread starter kane249

Definitely. Completely agree. There is no debate as to whether Gov is a gun or not. I am just very, very curious/petrified as to whether the removal of this one cog causes the system to fall down, irrespective of whether his replacement plays well or not.
Yep, I think everyone is feeling that, as described neatly imo by the following chart:
upload_2015-7-24_7-18-20.png

Attachments

• upload_2015-7-24_7-16-35.png
    upload_2015-7-24_7-16-35.png
    3.7 KB · Views: 4
The use of "in-form player" by Lachie ****face is pretty telling IMO. If it was a high profile player they'd be called "star" or "key player". Reckon it's Hill or Ellis based on this, which were listed earlier in the week anyway.

I think you are right but at the end of the day he's just trying to get people to watch their rubbish "news" program by tweeting unsubstantiated rubbish.

I don't know what all this "Simpson dropped the ball by not playing Barrass sooner" criticism is all about. Maybe we should play McGinnity next week ... Oh, you know ... Just in case we get to Finals and we only have 22 fit players (touch wood).

Yeah it's a ridiculous argument. That's what the WAFL is for, unless you are Brisbane, or Melbourne, there's no point throwing a kid into a game, when we've been winning, just for the sake of "exposure" It's like buying 2 pies, just incase you drop 1 on the way back to your seat (although good outcome if you end up with 2 pies)

I don't know what all this "Simpson dropped the ball by not playing Barrass sooner" criticism is all about. Maybe we should play McGinnity next week ... Oh, you know ... Just in case we get to Finals and we only have 22 fit players (touch wood).

Yep, always play your best 22.

Think you've dropped the ball IMO. We should be playing all our best 22 players in the WAFL, and our seconds in the AFL incase any of our WAFL players get an injury and then can't play AFL.

Big bucks. Gimme.

Surely if his replacement plays well, then the system doesn't fall down, and it just rolls along like it normally would.

I guess that is my point. I am wondering whether there could be a scenario where Barass (for example) plays out of his skin on an individual level, yet the overall structure falls down. Maybe he shuts Buddy completely out of the game, for example (putting aside for a moment that it would be improbable that Simmo would put a debutant on Buddy), yet the lack of Gov's penetrating 50m bullets out of defence means we can't execute the fast switch.

Maybe our backline is like that truffle oil mashed potato they serve at Jacksons in Highgate, with Gov as the truffle oil. Maybe his replacement is the equivalent of butter. Sure, it still looks fairly similar and yeah, it works as nice mashed potato, but missing the one ingredient which made it truly delicious. Even worse, what if the replacement is saffron? Sure, on its own, a delicious and highly sought after condiment. But when added to the mashed potato, just doesn't work.

That is perhaps the single most unnecessarily long and convoluted analogy I have ever constructed. I have been trying hard to fit in as the new guy here however I feel that this analogy will do me no favours. Dang it - why do I always have to ruin it for myself?

I guess that is my point. I am wondering whether there could be a scenario where Barass (for example) plays out of his skin on an individual level, yet the overall structure falls down. Maybe he shuts Buddy completely out of the game, for example (putting aside for a moment that it would be improbable that Simmo would put a debutant on Buddy), yet the lack of Gov's penetrating 50m bullets out of defence means we can't execute the fast switch.

Maybe our backline is like that truffle oil mashed potato they serve at Jacksons in Highgate, with Gov as the truffle oil. Maybe his replacement is the equivalent of butter. Sure, it still looks fairly similar and yeah, it works as nice mashed potato, but missing the one ingredient which made it truly delicious. Even worse, what if the replacement is saffron? Sure, on its own, a delicious and highly sought after condiment. But when added to the mashed potato, just doesn't work.

That is perhaps the single most unnecessarily long and convoluted analogy I have ever constructed. I have been trying hard to fit in as the new guy here however I feel that this analogy will do me no favours. Dang it - why do I always have to ruin it for myself?

Haha, don't stress mate, I can kind of see what you're saying (about Gov, not about the mash:D) but I'm hoping that our system is good enough to just replce one cog and keep doign what it's been doing. Time will tell I guess.

If you want to fit in, just bag Priddis & Selwood, you'll make plenty of friends:thumbsu:

Hey dude, my dealer got raided, do you know where I could score?

If you want to fit in, just bag Priddis & Selwood, you'll make plenty of friends:thumbsu:
l9PZAH1.png

So both Ellis & Hill could still be late outs. Guess we won't know until Sunday. I hate Sunday arvo games:mad:

I hate it even more playing footy on a sunday :(

I have a feeling it is Hill who is the one under a cloud and wouldn't be surprised if Ellis is still sore after the weekend but was spotted training this week unlike Hilly.

Now i'm just feeling hungry.

I still think Hill won't play. Newman to come in!
This exactly. Newman can only play one role so it's between him Hill and Cripps.
We either elevated Newman because we were recently allowed to or for cover for Hill.
Hills shoulder could be more than a week?

Yeah it's a ridiculous argument. That's what the WAFL is for, unless you are Brisbane, or Melbourne, there's no point throwing a kid into a game, when we've been winning, just for the sake of "exposure" It's like buying 2 pies, just incase you drop 1 on the way back to your seat (although good outcome if you end up with 2 pies)
No amount of pies was any good last week.:rolleyes:

Chamberlain whilst a **** head and a show pony, isn't partial to any teams imo. He'll make equally bad decisions for both teams.

Margetts on the hand.... **** me :mad:
Razor is actually a really good umpire imo whenever he decides to pull his head in and just umpire properly. I worry that Margetts want to get involved will drag Razor in and just **** it all up.