Changes vs Sydney

Let's see Lonergan has been playing well as a defender for the last month in the vfl. Henry is dropped so that leaves the side with one less key forward. Blake is dropped meaning one of the two key forwards named in the side will have to relieve King in the ruck. Lonergan will now be moved back forward, where he failed spectacularly, again despite showing good form down back in the vfl?

Decision making at an all time low :confused:

Unwritten_Law said:
Let's see Lonergan has been playing well as a defender for the last month in the vfl. Henry is dropped so that leaves the side with one less key forward. Blake is dropped meaning one of the two key forwards named in the side will have to relieve King in the ruck. Lonergan will now be moved back forward, where he failed spectacularly, again despite showing good form down back in the vfl?

Decision making at an all time low :confused:
when you put it that way yeah its strange that they'd promote lonergan. but what do ya do?? keep playing henry when you know he's going to give ya nothing?? might as well try lonners forward I guess.

I don't mind Lonergan being promoted, he has the vfl form behind him that a lot of the others don't, but if he is played he has to be put in the backline where he has been playing well and earned the call up in the VFL.

Kent should have played ahead of Henry last week IMO so I have no problem with him being dropped.

With the season gone keeping Blake on and pumping game time into him which would allow Ottens to stay forward would have been my preferred option.

They may yet experiment with Egan up forward and I guess it is difficult fitting Lonergan into the backline with the three talls already down there.

I was looking forward to seeing Gamble get a go this week also.

Lonergan deserves another crack.... He has been one of the best down back in the VFL consistently for weeks now. It seems he has two different roles. a defender in the VFL and forward in the seniors. A lot of players struggle being thrown inconsistently from end to end...... I hope he goes well.

JUBJUB said:
N Ablett,Blake,Wojcinski

Thanks for that. I hope Nath & Blake both come in but i am not sure who for, maybe Byrnes, although he does not deserve it.

I would like to see what Lonergan offers in the back line and you can't leave Bartel and Rooke out.

thehoff said:
Thanks for that. I hope Nath & Blake both come in but i am not sure who for, maybe Byrnes, although he does not deserve it.

I would like to see what Lonergan offers in the back line and you can't leave Bartel and Rooke out.

Sydney are a very fast team. Nath seems a bit lumbering at this point in his development. I reckon we really need the pace for this game, then they drop Wojo :thumbsd:. Unless they're thinking that Lonergan plays down back and Egan gets a crack up forward... I'm confused. Hopefully Sydney will be too and we'll win.

cat in sydney said:
G'day - newbie here!
Cat fan from Sydney...

Been at every Cats v Swans game up here in Sydney for many years, and can't remember the last time I went home happy - and nightmares still haunt me after last year!

I agree that Wojja shouldn't have been dropped - we need guys with the guts to run it... he did this in the Bulldogs game so well and created a couple of goals through having the balls to take the opposition on.

Haven't seen much of Lonergan myself - obviously a decision by Bomber to see if he can do anything down back before getting rid of him at the end of the season.

Welcome to the land of discontent mate.
Do you get a live telecast of Saturday's match; may be best that you don't perhaps, have a horrible feeling we won't be getting much joy at the result.

Agree with you about Wojja, seems a strange move dropping him [ what else is new down here ] and Lonergan has been one of our most consistent performers for many weeks playing in defence in the reserves, so as you say, they probably want to see if he can produce that type of form at the higher level, have my doubts personally, but there's nothing to lose, so why not.

Cattery said:
Welcome to the land of discontent mate.
Do you get a live telecast of Saturday's match; may be best that you don't perhaps, have a horrible feeling we won't be getting much joy at the result.

Agree with you about Wojja, seems a strange move dropping him [ what else is new down here ] and Lonergan has been one of our most consistent performers for many weeks playing in defence in the reserves, so as you say, they probably want to see if he can produce that type of form at the higher level, have my doubts personally, but there's nothing to lose, so why not.

Thanks for the welcome! Discontent... true, true.

Yeah, we'll get it live this Saturday cause its the Swans. I'd love to move down to Melbourne, cause there's so many games on tv, even FTA tv. We get games cancelled all the time... often we'll have no footy on Saturdays at all. Then we'll get a crap game like Port v Saints on Sunday that no-one in Sydney cares two hoots about. :thumbsd:
So, I just record the games when they're on, and rewatch the Cats wins when I need a footy fix!:thumbsu:

Re Blake out for this week... do you think it's not so much to do with how he played, but a reaction to the fact that we were too tall, too slow against the Saints, and he paid the price?

Looks like you'll have to shell out some of your hard earned and get Foxtel connected to satisfy your footy dependency; hard to imagine a weekend with no footy at all, sounds like a bit of a nightmare to me.

Re Blake, now there's a question, trying to fathom out the "wisdom" of the cats match committee. Personally I've felt their structure the last couple of weeks has been horrid, this "land of the giants" forward set-up is okay if the talls are capable of marking the ball over their head when under the slightest of pressure, but king, Playfair and Blake are all very weak in that area for guys of their size, so I can't really understand the point of it.

Like to think it was to inject more pace into the side, yet then they turn around and drop one of the genuinely quick players in the side in Wojja, so I'm not really sure as to the thinking behind that particular move, possibly a bit of both, lack of pace, plus his form last week.

What are your thoughts, or are you getting like me, and giving up trying to understand the decision making process down there.