Crows
Not normally a great idea to change a winning team, but we probably have the Roo coming back and someone has to give way for the captain.

In all probability that would be Nelson I would think. Bad luck for Nelson who has done nothing wrong at all. It is good to have selection pressure on players though.

It would appear as though there is no room for Gallagher at the moment or even McGregor for that matter. They both may have to cool their heels in SANFL for a while yet.

For me the one change to be made is Nelson out, Roo in. But Roo will probably start on the field, whereas Nelson was on the bench. So the question remains which starting player from last week will start on the bench this week to make way for Ricciuto?

Beinke is still regarded as a fringe player by the selectors so I wouldn't be surprised to see him miss out again. And don't forget that he was the one brought in when Roo was injured.

Personnally, I like Beinke and the forward structure looks a lot stronger with him involved. Schell is only just keeping his spot and needs to do a bit more over the next couple of weeks. The selectors will give him every chance but Beinke is putting pressure on him.

McGregor may struggle to get back into the side at the minute. I can only see him getting included for specific jobs such as against Ottens in a few weeks.

Given no training mishaps, & Stevo & Birdman pulling up OK, Roo would be the only inclusion this week. I agree that Nelson will probably be the unlucky one to miss, even though he has done nothing wrong. Beinke as a forward is more value to the Crows & keeps the pressure on Schell & co. The only reason Beinke came in for Roo was that he didn't play v the Bullies due to lack of match fitness - if he was match fit for that game, it is likely he would have played.

As to who will start on the bench - Clarke, Schell, Johncock + 1 other - perhaps Edwards or even Roo himself. Don't think it will matter matter much, as they should use a midfield rotation against essendon. However, Welsh should defintely start.

No room for Gallagher as Doughty has effectively taken his spot. Gags just needs to keep putting pressure on midfield - ie. probably why Doughty knows he needs to keep performing well each week. Long Term I would still like to see Hewitt come in to take Perrie spot in the backline, which would free Perrie to go forward to probablt take Schell spot. However, currently the club is in a good situation where the SANFL players need to play exceptional form to force there way into the side.

I think Beinke would have to be very nervous...he was the guy that was to be omitted last weekend before Roo pulled out....I agree that Nelson must be the bloke excluded.

Gags didn't get an opportunity to impress on the weekend and with the form of the midfield won't get in for a couple of weeks yet, while McGregor is still coming off a 6 week lay-off and hasn't done anything of note in the SANFL. He'll need to show good form or our defence will have to falter before he gets a look-in. Hewitt seems last in the pecking order, I see Massie getting a defensive role before Evan gets a game. Could be a long season for him.

Roo could definitely add some punch to our forward line and take the place of a Beinke or Welsh there (wouldn't be my choice), or he could start on the bench. Interesting to see what we do with Roo's impending return.

yep roo in nelson out.

the second change i would make is
clarke out and marsh in.

This season clarke has been very disappointing and has continued to cost us goals with dropped marks and poor work around the ground. We won't be able to afford these sort of mistakes against the bombers. Marshy played well last week in the SANFL and if he can take some of this form with him it will work out better for the team. Clarky surely doesn't deserve to retain his spot.

Its a luxury Adelaide hasnt been used to for quite awhile:D

Kane; your spot on about Dogga. Hes playing like veteran around the midfield and even found himself on the last line of defence at one stage!

I hope Clarke picks up his game. If I was Clarke Id be nervous (He has not taken 1 mark so far this year:eek:)

I know he's our Number 1 ruckman but not to have taken a mark even with his limited game time must have Softco*k Marsh lickin; his lips.

I think sooner or later the coach has to retain Bienke too.

I'd agree with the general opinion that Benny Nelson will be dropped in place of Roo. However serveral other people i've spoken to think that Beinke will be dropped to make way for Roo.

Matty Clarke, who else thinks he's injuried?!?!

This Is Fantastic.

I totally agree with you Top Jars we havent had the luxury of having a full strength side for a long time and the players know that if they dont perform they will be out cause their are others that are peforming well and want to break into this winning side:D Essendon is going to be a real test for us and will show exactly where we are at the minute and to see if we are the real deal. I really hope we continue our good form and beat these pricks casue we havent beaten them since 1998 and I think it's our turn to triumph:D We play well at Colonial, they have a few injury worries at the moment and they have just had a tough road trip to Brisbane so I say we kick while they are down, our confidence must be sky high but some how the players are keeping a lid on things and taking it week by week which is good. Anyway keep smiling Crows fans cause we are gonna be celebrating come Friday night:D Mighty even slip down to the TAB and put $100 on the Crows they are paying $3.80 to win would be a handy little return:D

Re: This Is Fantastic.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Mighty even slip down to the TAB and put $100 on the Crows they are paying $3.80 to win would be a handy little return:D

$3.80 to win? Really?

In a two horse race with Crows having the better form and Bombers having the injury worries, playing at a Stadium where Crows have a good record and Bombers having played the arduous road trip to Brisbane last week ... these sound like unbelievably favourable odds to me.

I think Essendon has only lost once at Colonial Stadium too....so overall things don't look too promising but no better opportunity to break a drought I suppose

Originally posted by Crow54
ok.crows - saw on Talking Footy last night:

Crows vs Essendon in Melbourne - Crows no wins
Essendon 9 wins

Yes, understood. Crows have got close a couple of times.

Over the 11 years of Crows history there have been only 97, 98 and 01 (so far) where Crows have won more away games than lost or at least about broke even. Essendon are a good side, I think only one year finished below us on the ladder.

This is more or less what you would expect. The surprise if anything is that Essendon are the only Melbourne side Crows have not yet beaten in Melbourne.

So ... this Friday is our best shot at breaking that drought. Crows are the form side of the two.

Apparently Lucas won't be back, Wellman and Solomon certainly won't be playing, and perhaps even Hird might not play as well.

"Sieze the day, Crows!"

How good are we? We'll know Friday night.

Essendon wouldnt've lost two games in a row for years!!
I reckon weve got a big chance IF we take our opportunities and get off to a good start. [IF]

No Hardwick No Wellman ...No Excuses I would say.
They havent played against a decent Crows forward set up yet!

It may come down to early coaching matchups - This seems to be where we may have an unknown quantity.

I know hope is not a process, but I hope we withstand thier gattling gun goal scorin' and then run over the top of baztards:rolleyes:

I 'hope' we come to play Friday night....if they're too good for us or we don't take the opportunities we get (due either to luck or poor skill), I could live with that. It'll be a good experience. But blimey, if we leave our minds on the plane like the final last year or akin to Sydney last week, then I'll go bloody troppo! That would be nigh on unforgivable I think.

Originally posted by ant
But blimey, if we leave our minds on the plane like the final last year or akin to Sydney last week, then I'll go bloody troppo! That would be nigh on unforgivable I think.

I'd say the Richmond game in the wizard Cup is the sort of Melbourne performance that we have sen before is what we want to avoid.

I think we can put up a really good show - but the unknown is really how the bombers can bounce back after that sort of a loss.

topjars - Also no Long now he has retired, as he always seems to play well against us. Worried that Sheedy will pull a master stroke - eg. play Rioli. No better opportunity to break the duck with doubts over Lucas & Hird (if either play, they won't be 100%) & we can stretch their defence without Wellman. As long as the side has a dinkum go like for the 1st 3 rounds & continues to improve - & does not revert back to the crap we witnessed against Richmond in the Wizzer cup or Carlton in last year's final.

I actually had a Pork Power supporter ask ME who he should tip "essendon or the crows" today -coz he was unsure
Mu Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha.
Thats a worry asking ME!!

I succinctly told him to tip a Draw:D and that we were saving a Win for next week
:p