Toast Cheers guys

Thanks for a good week fellas. Had a lot of fun on both boards in the build up, and didn't have to card anyone, which is fantastic.

Thanks also to the Carlton supporters around me and a few other BF Bombers in M55 for a ripper night.

Easily the best build up to one of these games from both sides, so all credit to you.

Thanks to your mods as well for the week.

Incidentally, you got the raw end of the umpiring stick something shocking. Even beer didn't cloud that for me. :eek:

Even though we lost, the banter threads were good and all in good spirits. :thumbsu:

Life goes on for us and lets see if rd 19 brings something different. I am not holding my breath though the way we played tonight. :cool:

I am being biast I am sure, but fu** me the umpiring felt shit for us. Sure that goal for essendon before 3 quarter time could have been counted but besides that the amount of times we got screwed was a joke.

Cost us 2 goals I remember clearly and to lose by 20 points playing that shit shows how bad they are really. Not that it helps losing to a bottom 4 team but yeah..

Glad to see some are humble in victory. A lot of your Essendon mates could learn a little from that.

We did not lift or show any heart when it counted so well done for taking your opportunities and running all over us.

And I agree re: the umpiring, but this is not one of those "blame the umpire" posts. We cannot use the umpires as an excuse. Having said that, the umpiring out there was ****ing horrendous. Yarran tackling off the bench in the 3rd quarter not awarded holding the ball, yet Armfield's tackle in the Essendon goalsquare awarded a free kick despite the goal being kicked? Absolutely laughable. The umpiring is getting worse.....

End rant. Well done. We'll still finish above you ;)

That Armfield tackle should have been a free and was. The tackle caused him to dispose incorrectly. The ball hit the ground and then the boot followed through. If he had have kicked it prior to hitting the ground, it would have been a goal.

congrats now leave me to bleed slowly

Now, now mate wasn't it you giving it to me all week about how your mob was going to destroy mine? ;)

In all seriousness some pretty dodgy umpiring throughout the game. How Pears wasnt done by Yarran on the wing is beyond me.:eek:

and the Armfield tackle...come on ODN that was a goal, although I dont think the umpiring was 20 points difference.

Good win by our boys i just think we wanted it more...it was funny hearing how you lot turn on your own players though.:D

Looking forward to round 19.:thumbsu:

and the Armfield tackle...come on ODN that was a goal, although I dont think the umpiring was 20 points difference.

No, you just wanted it to be a goal. If you got run down anywhere on the ground and the ball hits the ground before you make contact, it is incorrect disposal. The drop kick didn't suddenly come back into fashion did it?

Correct decision ... although in the spirit of the game, I could live with it if some of these things were let go more often. Definitely not a bad decision that's for sure, just unlucky. I'm happy that such a great tackle got the reward. He deserved the free more than the other guy deserved the goal put it that way.

Now, now mate wasn't it you giving it to me all week about how your mob was going to destroy mine? ;)

In all seriousness some pretty dodgy umpiring throughout the game. How Pears wasnt done by Yarran on the wing is beyond me.:eek:

Good win by our boys i just think we wanted it more...it was funny hearing how you lot turn on your own players though.:D

Looking forward to round 19.:thumbsu:
was not I mate- check the record.
Army tackled..ball hit the ground Holding the ball

No, you just wanted it to be a goal. If you got run down anywhere on the ground and the ball hits the ground before you make contact, it is incorrect disposal. The drop kick didn't suddenly come back into fashion did it?

Correct decision ... although in the spirit of the game, I could live with it if some of these things were let go more often. Definitely not a bad decision that's for sure, just unlucky. I'm happy that such a great tackle got the reward. He deserved the free more than the other guy deserved the goal put it that way.

Very well put. Agree 100% as i was watching him sprinting from 20m away. Although not having seen a replay since seeing it about 50m (where I thought he clearly kicked it) I still think it should have been a goal.

Couldnt tell if it hit the ground first though.

Couldn't you leave this til tomorrow? There is still a lot of posters with quite a few beers left in the fridge, so this might get ugly...

Very well put. Agree 100% as i was watching him sprinting from 20m away. Although not having seen a replay since seeing it about 50m (where I thought he clearly kicked it) I still think it should have been a goal.

Couldnt tell if it hit the ground first though.
Trust me, I freeze framed it, clearly hit the ground before the boot made contact. It wasn't even simultaneous.

Cheers Gooner...

Was a good week and a lot of banter... nice to see some people are gracious in winning instead of all the crap...

The umpiring was dead set shocking and completely inconsistant... There are 2 instances that stick out for me...

Kreuzer, in the forward line is nudged under the ball in a marking contest with the diligent use of a shoulder... about 10 minutes later, Simmo does the same thing to a bombers player and gets pinged for in the back.

I think that the constant shit decisions detracted from the quality of the game and made it appear very choppy.

Cheers Gooner...

Was a good week and a lot of banter... nice to see some people are gracious in winning instead of all the crap...

The umpiring was dead set shocking and completely inconsistant... There are 2 instances that stick out for me...

Kreuzer, in the forward line is nudged under the ball in a marking contest with the diligent use of a shoulder... about 10 minutes later, Simmo does the same thing to a bombers player and gets pinged for in the back.

I think that the constant shit decisions detracted from the quality of the game and made it appear very choppy.

I noticed on a few occasions this cheat staging for a free kick. One which really annoyed me right in front on the members wing, got tackled around the chest and just threw his head back as if he had his head cut off.

I think the umpires are taking notice of this and taking advantage in a way that shows the player not to do it again.

I noticed on a few occasions this cheat staging for a free kick. One which really annoyed me right in front on the members wing, got tackled around the chest and just threw his head back as if he had his head cut off.

I think the umpires are taking notice of this and taking advantage in a way that shows the player not to do it again.

Thats self defeating in the end for the umpires... because if they try and punish a player by not giving them frees after they have been noticed staging, what happens when they get their heads ripped off... and weren't they supposed to be giving out frees for staging now?

And I did notice a couple of your guys who also went the whole staging for frees and managed to get them.

I like watching soccer over here in the UK and thats one of the things that pisses me off the most is the constant diving and I felt that there should be a new card introduced that would allow the player to keep playing but they are suspended for the next week and if they are carded again in the match, they get a direct red card and miss a further 3 weeks.

Because we dont use cards in the AFL, I reckon a player who dives should get a verbal warning for the first dive, then if he dives again, it's a report and an automatic weeks suspension.

OK, Carlton played like crap and Essendon's greater level of determination meant that they should win the game. but clearly wrong umpiring decisions that cost us goals:

1. David Hille caught holding the ball in the forward pocket (incorrect disposal in exactly the same way that was paid against Marc Murphy later in the game in the Essendon forward line) ball gets kicked to the top of the square, spills to an Essendon player - goal.

2. Jordan Russell running back with the flight of the ball, turns around, eyes solely on the ball, backs into his opponent and knocks the ball through. Contact with the player is made with the ball well within 5 metres, no holding, just better body position, paid for shepherding - goal.

3. Eddie Betts running into an open goal, pushed square in the back by Fletcher, kicks a point. Free kick not paid, point stands. Happened 2 metres from goal, if the free is paid it's a certain goal to Carlton.

Points gifted to Essendon: 17
Points gifted to Carlton: 0

OK, Carlton played like crap and Essendon's greater level of determination meant that they should win the game. but clearly wrong umpiring decisions that cost us goals:

1. David Hille caught holding the ball in the forward pocket (incorrect disposal in exactly the same way that was paid against Marc Murphy later in the game in the Essendon forward line) ball gets kicked to the top of the square, spills to an Essendon player - goal.

2. Jordan Russell running back with the flight of the ball, turns around, eyes solely on the ball, backs into his opponent and knocks the ball through. Contact with the player is made with the ball well within 5 metres, no holding, just better body position, paid for shepherding - goal.

3. Eddie Betts running into an open goal, pushed square in the back by Fletcher, kicks a point. Free kick not paid, point stands. Happened 2 metres from goal, if the free is paid it's a certain goal to Carlton.

Points gifted to Essendon: 17
Points gifted to Carlton: 0

These 3 decisions were terrible and not the only ones. Yarran's tackle coming often the bench was legitimate and should've been a free kick to Carlton.

Essendon also had a bad decision go their way - as good as Armfield's effort was, the Essendon player managed to get a kick away in the tackle and kick a goal.

Umpiring tonight was the worst I've seen.

These 3 decisions were terrible and not the only ones. Yarran's tackle coming often the bench was legitimate and should've been a free kick to Carlton.

Essendon also had a bad decision go their way - as good as Armfield's effort was, the Essendon player managed to get a kick away in the tackle and kick a goal.

Umpiring tonight was the worst I've seen.

Army's tackle was legit... the ball hit the ground first before the foot hit the ball...

There was an instance when one of our boys got shirt fronted... bummer player took his eyes off the ball and dropped his arm into the side and dropped his shoulder and just cleaned (I think it was Simmo) our guy up.

Kreuzer in the forward line got nudged under the ball with a shoulder in the back when he was in the forward line. Should have been a free to Kreuze, but it was given to the bummer.

I know there were others, but those were the ones that had a direct and immediate impact on the scoreline. The Yarran on Pears one just turned into 5 minutes of Essendon playing keepings off. Might have been a score if Yarran gets the free, but from the wing, and the way we were breaking down across half-forward, doubtful.

That Armfield tackle should have been a free and was. The tackle caused him to dispose incorrectly. The ball hit the ground and then the boot followed through. If he had have kicked it prior to hitting the ground, it would have been a goal.

Bring back the good ol drop kick. :D

Has been a few cards, not sure if any were Essendon supporters though.

I'm guessing Dawks fans. :thumbsd:

You guys sure did get the wrong end of the stick umpiring wise, but considering some of the crap the maggots have been dishing up (Melbourne completely robbed anyone?) tonights game was far from the worst this year.

I kept away as I've had more then enough Blooze vs Bummers banter at work this week. Going to enjoy one poster from here wearing a Bombers jumper at footy training. When the lead up to round 19 comes though I'll be here.