Hot Topic Chicken Little thread - 2025 edition

I think we have progressed past chicken. I reckon we've ticked off Goose, Turkey, Emu, Cassowary, Ostrich and the Buzzards are circling.

I think most of us recognise that in regards to Vossys personal qualities, being a master tactician is not one of them.

Most of us recognised that changes needed to be made to his assistant coaches, but nothing happened on that front in the off season.

It's a bit difficult to fix a problem when you refuse to even recognise that a problem exists in the first place.

Was 2023 as good as it's going to get with Vossy as our coach? Will Patrick Cripps prime years at Carlton be ruined by a mixture of both poor coaching and appalling injury management?
Yes

Horrible horrible horrible performance on Thursday night. Game 1/23 in the H+A season. Can people give it a month before they start crapping on players or writing them off completely. My word our supporters can be so fickle.

Yeah … what’s another month between friends.
People are carrying on as though it’s been 10 years since the rebuild and 30 years since a premiership !!
Bloody fickle supporters don’t know how good they’ve got it sometimes …

Yeah … what’s another month between friends.
People are carrying on as though it’s been 10 years since the rebuild and 30 years since a premiership !!
Bloody fickle supporters don’t know how good they’ve got it sometimes …
I'm talking about changing opinions from pre-season because of one game. Writing players off because of one game. Our history is irrelevant to that imo.

Summer brings hope for supporters.
Thursday night and the last 30 years are our reality.
I know one thing for certain …
If everyone at this club continue to be given “get out of jail free” cards … they’ll continue to use them …

My concern is that we have blown our list rebuild and destroyed our salary cap. Putting aside whether Voss is a quality coach, SOS messed too many first round picks from 2016 onwards. Austin has destroyed the salary cap, brought in low quality and not drafted very well. We may only have one opportunity and that is to blow up the list and get quality kids in 2025 and 2026 with a few to going hard at free agency 2027 and 2028.

TDK would get what may end up being a top 5 pick. McKay would get two picks around 15. Cerra would get a pick around 15. Attach something to Williams, Saad and McGovern to get them off the books where we pay a small part of their salary. Build around Cripps, Weiters and Curnow with a view to contending in 4 years time.

Tough pill to swallow.

I am convinced that we are staring down the barrel of the most painful season in our history.

We won’t win the wooden spoon, but the pain of watching all this talent go to waste will be significant. I could absolutely see us finishing in the bottom 5 and to do that with this list would be so much worse than anything I’ve seen in my lifetime supporting this club. At least in 2018, we knew we were a pretty crap team. Now there’s absolutely zero excuse.

I am convinced that we are staring down the barrel of the most painful season in our history.

We won’t win the wooden spoon, but the pain of watching all this talent go to waste will be significant. I could absolutely see us finishing in the bottom 5 and to do that with this list would be so much worse than anything I’ve seen in my lifetime supporting this club. At least in 2018, we knew we were a pretty crap team. Now there’s absolutely zero excuse.

This team is primed for a bottom 6 finish and a sacked head coach. It’s been bubbling away all pre-season and is coming to a head earlier than expected (I thought we might peak early again).

This club has no idea how to manage performance. From injuries, to consistency, to game management, it’s the same issues as 5-10 years ago.

I actually feel sorry for all the “true believers” getting sucked into the clubs marketing.

Normally I wouldn't be concerned about a loss in Rd One of any season and I certainly wouldn't be writing off any player at this stage of the season

My issue is the way we lost (and to who) and that this is now a clear trend. The issues that plagued us last year surfaced again after quarter time and seem to have not been addressed or improved even after a full pre season

I would expect with our list and age profile we are in a Premiership window. When you have names like Cripps Weitering Curnow McKay TDK Walsh Cerra Hewett Acres Saad all in their prime and you aren't performing close to a flag level of football it will take something massive to turn it around and says to me there is a much deeper issue

It is the way we play, the lack of effort, the simple mistakes and the lack of teamwork that has occured since mid last year that has me more worried than ever.

It's now not about how we respond next week. It's can we put together consistent top 4 level football week in week out over a long period of time and at the moment we aren't even close

I'm not sure that this club has ever recovered from the fallout from the 2002 salary cap scandal.

There was signs of a recovery when Ratts was coach which didn't amount to anything much in the long run, there was a finals run two years ago that quite possibly (hopefully it wasn't) was a flash in the pan.

Other than that it's been over two decades worth of mediocrity overall. It's been ten years since we decided to bottom out and launch a full scale rebuild.

Well here we are a decade later and we have people complaining about issues with the list. Lack of pace, lack of quality small forwards etc.

I think when these sort of complaints are so widespread here, then it's blatantly obvious that we botched this rebuild.

The fear is i think is that here we are approaching thirty years without success, and possibly requiring another rebuild with the Tassie team about to come in.

Carlton have pretty much been spending the last twenty three years, trying to figure out how to build a team/list to compete for and win flags to no avail.

As a club i think on an executive (and pretty much any sort of) level, that we still haven't come to terms with and adjusted to how footy in the modern era works sadly.

Meanwhile the likes of Melbourne and Brisbane have served their time down the bottom end of the ladder and managed to bounce back and win flags, at Carlton though we're still circling the roundabout sadly!

Right, so.... here's why it's hard to unpick why we're so bad right now. It's because it's a combination of multiple factors, all multiplied together. And as all who have mortgages or investments know, compounding interest is where the big differences are made overall.

I also wasn't sure where to put this post, because it's about LIST MANAGEMENT and it's about VOSS and it's about MENTAL WEAKNESS - all threads currently active on the forum and relevant, in my opinion.

Let's say Performance = Ability (List Maangement) X Gameplan (Coaching) X Culture/Mentality (Mental Weakness)

If you're on target on each of those, say 100% of expected/desired output, you get 100% x 100% x 100% = 100%. You get the output you're hoping for, which presumably would be successful.

Now, if we're not quite up to it, but only 90% of where we want to be in Ability (say our List Management has been a bit shit), then you might get 90% x 100% x 100% = 90% Performance. A bit off the pace.

But what we are seeing right now is way worse than that.

Our list CLEARLY has gaps. Let's say it's (being kind) 80% of where it needs to be at.
The Gameplan (Coaching) is not suitable for the list, and not well-drilled. 80% there too (generously).
And the team is distracted, frustrated either demotivated or in self-preservation mode. Only going at 80% of what it should be.

Everything at 80% does not equate to 80% Performance.

80% x 80% x 80% = 51.2% Performance.

And to be clear, I don't think our list is 80% right at all. But just illustrated the thought... that being 7 or 8 out of 10 in multiple dimensions turns out to be WAYYYYY off the pace when you cludge it together.

And that sort of net, combined performance means you won't win much AT ALL, unless the team happens to have a freakishly lucky day where everything they try works, or someone (and we know who it would be) plays a heroic lone hand.

Hot Topic Chicken Little thread - 2025 edition