Golden State Warriors
have always liked Mark Williams. I don't like this

Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams labels Carlton greedy

• FOR half a decade rivals mocked Carlton's dramatic fall from grace.
Now that the Blues are on the verge of a youth-led resurgence, it seems those clubs are less than happy about the draft picks gained during those dark years.
Carlton might not yet be back in town, but with five wins and a realistic chance of pushing into the top eight, it is in the vicinity.
Carlton had the last laugh against Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams on Sunday, but Williams left no doubt about his thoughts on the Blues' list management in the lead-up to the Round 11 clash.
"They have got three of the best top-10 players in the AFL playing for them and then with their draft picks over the last five or so years, they have hoarded first-round draft picks," Williams said.
"With their resources, (president) Dick Pratt and all the money he has got and the things they can do, from behind the scenes whether it's plane flights or pinching people like Swanny (chief executive Greg Swann) off Collingwood, and getting his understanding of the game from Collingwood, Carlton stop at nothing to try to achieve (success).
"With their money and the money that has been at Carlton over the years, they have always had what they want."
Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse's assessment of the Blues on Monday was somewhat more cryptic.
While saying they had an "outstanding" playing list, he left no doubt he felt their rise was inevitable.
"They are a very good football side. When you have that many first-round picks and you pick up a Judd and their first-round picks - (they) are all very good players," Malthouse said.
"Murphy was outstanding (against Port), Gibbs was very good and probably outstanding, Kreuzer was outstanding at the right time, Judd is outstanding and Stevens is outstanding along with a lot of other players.
"At some stage they are going to click, and they are a good football side who will challenge for the eight."
The Blues have deserved the welter of high picks. They have not played finals since 2001, with five bottom-two finishes in six seasons.
They are the first side to be awarded the first draft pick in three successive years, with those players, Marc Murphy, Bryce Gibbs and Matthew Kreuzer, at the heart of the Port Adelaide win.
Former Carlton defender Glenn Manton said Williams was only making excuses when he spoke of the Blues' superiority complex.
"Port Adelaide chose to hang up their gloves; they laid down their tools. If that is their level of commitment, they don't deserve to win," Manton said.
"Port has to look at itself rather than pointing the finger at Carlton. They let it slip and Carlton were good enough to take it."
Manton said making the finals might backfire for Carlton and a more methodical rise up the ladder would be ideal.

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23844598-5016212,00.html

have always liked Mark Williams. I don't like this

Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams labels Carlton greedy

• FOR half a decade rivals mocked Carlton's dramatic fall from grace.
"They have got three of the best top-10 players in the AFL playing for them and then with their draft picks over the last five or so years, they have hoarded first-round draft picks," Williams said.
Funny, I thought Lade, Burgoyne and the Cornes boys were up there.......and the rising star Pearce......

"With their resources, (president) Dick Pratt and all the money he has got and the things they can do, from behind the scenes whether it's plane flights or pinching people like Swanny (chief executive Greg Swann) off Collingwood, and getting his understanding of the game from Collingwood, Carlton stop at nothing to try to achieve (success).
"With their money and the money that has been at Carlton over the years, they have always had what they want."
Maybe I'll let Ratts take this one:

"Personally, I didn't think Mark would be such a bad loser, but that's the way it goes," he said.
"I think it's good that people are starting to get back into us and rib us and things like that, but we are just worrying about what we have to do this week."

http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=61215

Read this stuff last week under a headline something like "Port coach fires back". The article claimed this was Williams response to Ratten and his we're not easy beats stuff. Now they re-hash it as post-match comments.

Pathetic deception.

You may be right on those quotes being from last week but he did nark on about our No.1 Draft picks, getting "Stevens for nothing" and getting Judd "because they finished bottom or second bottom" in the post-match presser.

Mark has many good attributes as a coach......but often he says things that are regretful and I am sure the club do not support. But thats their problem!

Thats what makes me smile about Ratts -- he is disciplined and a true ambassador for CFC.

Read this stuff last week under a headline something like "Port coach fires back". The article claimed this was Williams response to Ratten and his we're not easy beats stuff. Now they re-hash it as post-match comments.

Pathetic deception.

Not sure the article was being deceptive:
but Williams left no doubt about his thoughts on the Blues' list management in the lead-up to the Round 11 clash.

The media at the Ratts press conference probably were though as clearly he assumed they were post match comments.

I'm sure Ratts will cut it out anyway, photocopy it and circulate prior to the next meeting.

Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse's assessment of the Blues on Monday was somewhat more cryptic.
While saying they had an "outstanding" playing list, he left no doubt he felt their rise was inevitable.
"They are a very good football side. When you have that many first-round picks and you pick up a Judd and their first-round picks - (they) are all very good players," Malthouse said.

Umm, doesn't every team get a 1st round draft pick every year? If anything we have had less 1st round draft picks than any other team, as in the 90's we regularly traded them away and then we were banned from 2 drafts...

*BUMP*

http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsid=65272

“Over the years, when we [Port Adelaide Magpies] won premiership after premiership, we’d argue with each other and demand a lot of each other, which helps keep the standard up. I’m sure that has a lot to do with it and Carlton isn’t used to that.
Well if its keeping up the standard then that's fine..........:o

Carlton - 16 premierships
Port Power - 1
Port Magpies - Irrelevant unless we start adding Carlton reserves flags, or northern Bullants flags as well.

I think we know something about winning culture. ;)

It seems Chocco is looking for a new coaches sponsor:

955193b.jpg

Seems to be a common theme when Choco loses. Can't handle the criticism.

I think this once belonged to Richo, but now its his....

baby-dummy.thumbnail.jpg

ha ha funniest thing i've ever read on Big Footy :thumbsu:

Its not as funny as belting your pathetic footy club three times this year and hearing your choking coach make up excuses that eventually backfired on him and embarrass himself.

Its not even as funny "The Chad" getting pants by Gibbs after he was challanged by Fev to puts his head over the ball!!!

You Port people are all talk but seriously, you are Crap!! Your coach is even telling the media that you are tanking, what a knob!!!

Have fun at the bottom!!!

ha ha funniest thing i've ever read on Big Footy :thumbsu:

Geelong beats Port Adelaide 24.19 (163), 6.8 (44) in AFL grand final.

I reckon this is heaps funnier. :thumbsu:

Oh boo hoo, cry me a friggen river!

They were all happy to dance on our grave for the past 6 years.
They were all happy to laugh at our fall from grace.
Now we look like coming back they are running scared and whimpering like frightened puppies.

Deal with it, puppies! We are coming back and you are all going to pay!

Haha good old Choke-o, always good for a laugh. Talk about a fall from grace, 2nd on he ladder to 13th. That's just lovely :D

Oh boo hoo, cry me a friggen river!

They were all happy to dance on our grave for the past 6 years.
They were all happy to laugh at our fall from grace.
Now we look like coming back they are running scared and whimpering like frightened puppies.

Deal with it, puppies! We are coming back and you are all going to pay!
Bee you have a nice way with words:thumbsu::D