Chris Judd v Luke Hodge

• Thread starter Thread starter F-U

You should be livid that Melbourne chose not to trade their way into an early selection in the 2001 draft. You had plenty of overrated "talented" players on your list. I'm sure Freo would've jumped at the chance to give you their number 1 pick for Woey.

Unfortunately, Melbourne did nothing. They sat on their arse, bet $10 on a pair of threes and drafted Luke Molan with pick 9. A poor result from a golden draft.

Meanwhile Hawthorn traded Croad and McPharlin and received the picks used on Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell.

How does it feel, knowing that the lifelong Demon fan, Chris Judd was under your noses at Sandringham and he could've been yours if you'd been willing to part with that peroxided gaylord named Woey? That must hurt you too much to think about.

Think Campbell Brown was somewhere in the mix there, too, Chewy.

And please, FFS - let this go.

You are right there. Hawthorn picked up a utility.

I'm very sorry but what you say has no credibility, you sponsor Rowan Jones. :)

Its really too late, your words now resemble the underpants of Benny Cousins fleeing the booze bus.

Mate, Hodhe is not a utility, you don't know what utility means if you think Hodge is one.

He's a midfielder and part time back flanker, and hes' a damned good one, but he is not a utility. He can not play a key position role, and he cant not play most positions.

He was just a far inferior choice to chris judd, and anyone who is happy that they took hodge over judd needs their head read.

It's like the Blazers saying they're happy they took Sam Bowie over Michael Jordan, because it made sense at the time. Even though they took a player who largely won't be remembered for anything OTHER than being selected ahead of the greatest player of all time.

That is what Hodge is, Sam Bowie.

You should be livid that Melbourne chose not to trade their way into an early selection in the 2001 draft. You had plenty of overrated "talented" players on your list. I'm sure Freo would've jumped at the chance to give you their number 1 pick for Woey.

Unfortunately, Melbourne did nothing. They sat on their arse, bet $10 on a pair of threes and drafted Luke Molan with pick 9. A poor result from a golden draft.

Meanwhile Hawthorn traded Croad and McPharlin and received the picks used on Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell.

How does it feel, knowing that the lifelong Demon fan, Chris Judd was under your noses at Sandringham and he could've been yours if you'd been willing to part with that peroxided gaylord named Woey? That must hurt you too much to think about.

I never actually thought of it that way, but yeah, that genuinely really does hurt, becasue it makes sense.

We probably could have got Freo's pick for Woey if we had of got in before Hawthorn. That's a lot of variables of course, as woey was a favourite son at the time and had an injury ravaged year, but still. Ouch for us. Mind you, we would likely have selectged Polak anyway, so at least we saved ourselves the embarassment of taking a dud instead of taking a Judd (unlike Hawthorn who did exactly that).

Luke Molan, well, there was nothing wrong with him as a pick in theory, he just copped a crapload of injuries to his knees. It never hurts as much when a player doesnt turn out as good as you thought if it's only due to injury.

But when it's just a matter of taking a player like Hodge ahead of the man who will likely be remembered as the best ever, well, it would hurt much, much more and rightfully so. But I can honestly tell you I woudl at least admit that I'm not happy about the situation because I'm an honest man who tries to live without bias.

I dont' mind Hawks fans saying they think Hodge is a great player in his own right, because he is a very good player and with more support around him will probably improve even more (especially if he starts playing more direct footy like Brock does).

I have no issue with that whatsoever.

I only have an issue with people saying they're happy that they took Hodge over Judd, because that doesn't make sense at all. That comment completely flies in the face of any kind of reasoned logic or knowledge of the game. There is not even a logical argument for it, or even an excuse to latch on to. It is the equivalent of saying 1 + 1 = 8 million.

Are you happy your club took Hodge over Judd?

*I know this is Bay 13 but this post is genuinely 100% serious.

Think Campbell Brown was somewhere in the mix there, too, Chewy.

And please, FFS - let this go.

Campbell Brown is a Scotchy queer anyway. It's why even Aaron Davey physically mocks him.

Seriously, Campbell Brown is the definition of someone living off their name.

No hard men ever came out of Scotch College, ever. He's a joke. Tries hard, but only because he knows he's got nothing else.

If I remember correctly Hodge was considered one of the leading prospects in his draft. It must also be remembered that Chris Judd had had severe injury problems (two shoulder operations BEFORE he was drafted) as a junior. Hawthorn took what they regarded as the "safer" option. e g The player most likely to be able to assist them immediatly and on a regular basis while West Coast took a chance on the obviosly talented, but apparently injury prone, Judd. While West Coast's "gamble" has come of spectacularly well I wouldn't exactly say that Hodge has done nothing for Hawthorn.

That isn't what this thread is about. Yes, in hindsight that is the excuse hawthorn use, but this thread isn't about what justification Hawthorn have for not drafting the best player in the AFL (and possibly of all time). Its about whether it was a good choice.

And no is the answer. It was not a good choice. It was a bad choice. A very, very, very bad choice.

oh dear are we trying to compare them again give up i am tired of reading judd is better no hodge is better [i reckon he is:D] but hey give it a rest.

you guys must be desparate for the return of footy :eek:

Exactly, I'd hardly say that Hodge has been the worst #1 pick in draft history...in fact I'd probably put him in the top 3 first round picks since the drafts inception back in 1986.

Considering we basically gave up Luke McPharlin and pick 6 (in a poor 2003 draft) for Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell...I’d even go as far as to say we were probably the big winners from the draft.

If any club should get stick for a poor draft performance its St.Kilda and Fremantle – who not only over looked better players, but farmed their picks through virtue of poor on field performance.

BTW, Luke Hodge was essentially an out of the square pick #1 pick anyway. If you remember back to the draft, Luke Ball and Graham Polak (shudder) were both rated by the 16 clubs above Hodge anyway…I’d be safe in saying that Luke Hodge is the undisputed 2nd best player to come out of the draft, a great player in his own right – its just unfortunate that he was in the same draft (and subsequently over looked) by one of the games finest players.

Considering we came 4th that season, we could have done a lot worse...

Are you happy your club took Hodge over Judd?

For crying out loud, rJ, what is the point in dwelling on this? Obviously you think this is a great way to stir the Hawthorn fans, but all you're are really eliciting from Hawthorn fans is a collective shrug. Sure it'd be nice to have to have Judd on our list, but Hodge is also a great footballer. We are happy we've got him.

If Hodge played like Aaron Fiora, or was as full of himself as Des Headland, or was delisted like Danny Roach, or stole from his own teammates like Laurie Angwin, then your argument would have much more weight. But that draft in 2001 was one of our best ever.

No hard men ever came out of Scotch College, ever.
Jeff Kennett was a hard man.

Chewy, you seriously do make a lot of sense,n i admit that.

Hodge is a damned fine player.

As In said the only thing that worries me is hawks fans being HAPPY about the decision I just don't see how any other club would tkae them seriously if they didn't care.

Either way, in hindsight,so far, Judd was the better choice

this argument is stupid and old , get over it they are both good in their own right , i would love to have Judd at the Hawks but that is not where he is , is it i love Hodge and am glad we have him.

would love both but they say you can not have everything you want

this argument is stupid and old , get over it they are both good in their own right , i would love to have Judd at the Hawks but that is not where he is , is it i love Hodge and am glad we have him.

would love both but they say you can not have everything you want

yeah but you could have had Judd though, instead of Hodge. In hindsight don't you wish your club had of taken him?

i like Hodge if there was a way to have both then that would be great , if we got Judd in stead of hodge that would have been fate but we have Hodge not Judd and that is life you can not go back and change it . there is always that chance that say Judd ended up anyy where else whether at hawks or somewhere else he may or may not have done well , just look at Gary Ablett snr he was at the hawks and did not click [so to speak ] with the coaches at that time so he left and did not want a bar of it ,

some one talked him in to giving the catys ago and he got on with that lot and look where he ended up , though the umps would pay a mark if he only just touched it [ they seem to do that with their favourites eg carey etc etc] but he did kick some great goals not disputing that , just saying that Judd may have played differently at a different club we will never know will we

i like Hodge if there was a way to have both then that would be great , if we got Judd in stead of hodge that would have been fate but we have Hodge not Judd and that is life you can not go back and change it . there is always that chance that say Judd ended up anyy where else whether at hawks or somewhere else he may or may not have done well , just look at Gary Ablett snr he was at the hawks and did not click [so to speak ] with the coaches at that time so he left and did not want a bar of it ,

some one talked him in to giving the catys ago and he got on with that lot and look where he ended up , though the umps would pay a mark if he only just touched it [ they seem to do that with their favourites eg carey etc etc] but he did kick some great goals not disputing that , just saying that Judd may have played differently at a different club we will never know will we

You are refusing to actually discuss what the thread is about.

You are talking crap.

Its been months without one of and in all honesty not enough is being done by all other AFL supporters to remind Hawthorn off the biggest draft blunder in the history of the AFL.

Its a bit like choosing Clive Waterhouse over a Wayne Carey really its that big of a mistake. The problem Hawthorn made here is that rather then forgetting to getting themselves Judd they also forgot to net themselves a good player too (Ball). They have effectively gave up the greatest player to ever play AFL in history for a poor mans Heath Black.

This draft blunder will damage haunt and hurt Hawthorn for another 50 years and so it should :)

this topic has been done and dusted.. hawks went for a safer pick.. hodge no previous medical problems, judd - dodgey shoulders.... (which lucky for us have held up so far). If they didn't hold up.. then the hawks/saints would have been seen as great recruiters

Its a hit and a miss in drafting really

someone could just as easily say McDougal and Sampi.

So just let it go.. we were lucky/maybe skill i dont know the recruiters but just be happy we got Judd.

You are talking crap.
i am not talking what this thread is about cause it has been done to death over and over and over again this subject gets brought up , they are both top players and unfortunately Hodge was in the same pick as Judd , the talk is always who is better Judd, Hodge and Ball , it doesn't worry me cause as i said they are all good and as i said before yes i would not mind having Judd but we don't we have Hodge !

this thread is crap!

You are talking crap.

And you make this all about Hawthorn supporters should neck themselves beacuse we didn't get Judd, which everyone is pretty sick of. This could easily be aimed at Fremantle, or St Kilda, or even at a stretch Melbourne, as pointed out earlier.

Fact is we could have had Judd, but we picked Hodge, and I am happy we have Hodge. Luke Hodge is a gun. I don't think we would have won a premiership if it had been around the other way, nor do I think we will miss a future premiership for having Hodge instead of Judd.

Hopefully Hodge will also have Brownlow, Norm Smith and premiership medals by the end of his career, and this argument will go away.

i am not talking what this thread is about cause it has been done to death over and over and over again this subject gets brought up , they are both top players and unfortunately Hodge was in the same pick as Judd , the talk is always who is better Judd, Hodge and Ball , it doesn't worry me cause as i said they are all good and as i said before yes i would not mind having Judd but we don't we have Hodge !

this thread is crap!

If you're not going to talk about the thread, dont' post in it.

So many Hawks fans, with so little spine. Not one of you has had a the guts to simply admit you wish your club had taken Judd instead.

Not one of you. It's why your weak club has played finals twice in the last 16 seasons. It's why nobody respects you. You make excuses for poor decisions instead of admitting you were wrong.

you are blind all i said in my first post was you guys must be missing footy or was that in another who cares i have said 3 times i would not say no to having him i have answered you 3 times 3 times you say i haven't , your as bad as the umps go get your glasses on mate this thread has been done to death and back

If it's been done to death why are you posting in it trying to deflect attention away from the fact Hawks fans are too bitch to even answer the question honestly?

they have and i am posting cause you say i haven't answered the question by the look of it the answer you want will never come as everyone answers differently yes it would be great to have him but we don't full stop