West End Redbacks, Cleveland Browns
There are old top 6 and top 10 threads, but nothing in regards to actual first round phantom drafts. So I thought I would start one up, as it is getting to that time of the year where more and more phantom drafts will start popping up.

PP Melbourne - Tom Scully (this pick really is a given, Scully at this stage is simply the best midfielder and it's hard to see how anybody else could be picked at #1)
#1 Fremantle - Anthony Morabito (Trengove might be the next best midfielder, but Fremantle will go home grown and Morabito could end up being the best playing in the draft)
#2 Melbourne - Jack Trengove (some people might have Melbourne taking Butcher here but I think they'll look to strengthen their midfield again here, and with Watts and Jurrah I think Melbourne will be happy to pick up a tall in the second round)
#3 North Melbourne - John Butcher (some North supporters probably wont agree, and I realise that they need midfielders. But I'm not sold on their young tall forwards, and who knows what will happen with Tarrant and his shoulders)
#4 Richmond - Koby Stevens (possibly a little early for Stevens but he'd suit Richmond pretty well, and he would offer them versatility in regards to positioning and where they play Deledio)
#5 West Coast - Kane Lucas (West Coast are set with young talls but their midfield is still looking a tad thin, and they'll be rapt with Lucas lasting to their pick)
#6 Sydney - Gary Rohan (Sydney already have a couple of tall forward options in White and Johnston, so by taking Rohan they will get themselves a flashy midfielder/possible cult figure, which shouldn't be discounted as being an important factor with West Sydney coming)
#7 Essendon - Ben Cunnington (after Hurley, Myers, Gumbleton and Ryder it's about time Essendon picked up a midfielder with their first selection, and Cunnington is the best of what is left)
#8 Hawthorn - Daniel Talia (this was the hardest selection, as Hawthorn could go for a tall defender or an outside midfielder. This might be a little high for Talia, but he would be the best KPD and in the end that's what I went for with Hawthorn and he should compliment Schoenmakers pretty well)
#9 Carlton - Dustin Martin (one could argue that Carlton need a young key forward but they would be overpaying for one here, and Martin would offer them a quality inside midfielder which is what they would have been expecting from Hadley)
#10 Port Adelaide - Luke Tapscott (I think Port will stick with the SA boy and I'd imagine their recruiters would rate the importance of foot skills very highly, a forward line set up of Motlop, Gray and Tapscott could prove very effective)
#11 Brisbane - Jack Fitzpatrick (I wouldn't be surprised to see Charman leave at the end of the season, and that would leave Brisbane with little in regards to talls/rucks. Leuenberger and Clark look the goods in the ruck and Henderson looks good down back. Fitzpatrick will give them a tall to develop either in the ruck or to take over from Bradshaw)
#12 Collingwood - Nathan Vardy (Leigh Brown has essentially been playing as the third ruck option at Collingwood this year.......enough said)
#13 Bulldogs - Andrew Moore (what do the Bulldogs need? People always say talls but with Grant and Cordy they should be pretty good in that regard, Moore would offer versatility which seems to be a key feature at the Bulldogs)
#14 Adelaide - Roland Ah Chee (I have a feeling Adelaide fans will be pretty happy with this, and to be honest I was hoping he would last until Fremantle's second rounder)
#15 Geelong - Jordan Gysberts (I was initially thinking a tall but Geelong do have a few young ones like Brown, Gysberts could be an option to take over from Milburn)
#16 St Kilda - Mitchell Duncan (I think the one thing the Saints might be lacking in is another small/medium sized forward, and although I'm a fan Gwilt probably wont be a long term option up forward)
PP Fremantle - Matthew Panos (Fremantle need a key forward and I'd imagine they will take one with their PP or second round pick, I think Panos will slide to their pick and Fremantle will hopefully jump)

So that is my effort. Post your thoughts or your own first round attempts. :thumbsu:

You have us Finishing third?
Don't know much about the eligibles this year, but AhChee looks good to me.

Good job Chris25. :thumbsu:

It's not easy doing a Phantom draft let alone one this far out from the end of season. No doubt after draft camp results are in, things will change significantly ie clubs going after athletes, players sliding etc..

I'd be happy to get either of Trengove, Scully or Morabito with our first pick and would be delighted to get the KPP we so desperately need in Panos with our second.

I doubt Brisbane would pick up a tall in the mould of Fitzpatrick, we are currently well suited for KPP. I would think we would consider a midfielder, and would hope that Dustin Martin would slip to our first pick.

are melbourne really likely to finish above freo? i haven't looked at the fixture.

I'm really hoping brisbane pick a very speedy and agile mid this year. Hopefully someone like Colyer.

are melbourne really likely to finish above freo? i haven't looked at the fixture.
not IMO. I think this weekend will sort out who "wins" the spoon. If we can beat Port at home (who are a bit flakey on the road) then I think we are safe. I also think we can beat you guys over here, particualrly if you play like you did last week

Good work mate, good to see 2 Geelong Falcons in the top 10

new to bigfooty and dont know how to make my own post so i'll just have to make my phantom draft here...

1: Melbourne - Tom Scully
2: Melbourne - Jack Trengrove
3: Fremantle - Anthony Morabito
4: North Melbourne - Ben Cunnington
5: Richmond - John Butcher
6: West Coast - Kane Lucas
7: Sydney - Daniel Talia
8: Essendon - Dustin Martin
9: Port Adelaide - Matthew Panos
10: Hawthorn - Gary Rohan
11: Carlton - Koby Stevens
12: Brisbane - Luke Tapscott
13: Western Bulldogs - Jack Fitzpatrick
14: Collingwood - Nathan Vardy
15: Adelaide - Mitchell Duncan
16: Geelong - Andrew Moore
17: St Kilda - Roland Ah Chee
18: Melbourne - Jordan Gysbergs
22: West Coast - Travis Colyer
38: West Coast - Lewis Jetta

what do u all think about that order?
should be intresting to see what changes after draft camp...

Heres hoping Fremantle do a Fremantle and don't select Morabito... Really would like him in WCE colours

yea i agree, from what ive made out Lucas is more a pendulbury type and will be a fantastic player (beautiful kick :thumbsu:)
but morabito looks like more of an game breaker and i'd love to see him slip down to us!
but id also be stoaked with lucas!

west coast's future midfield:

Natainui + cox (swap between forward line and ruck)
Kerr
Masten
Shuey
Lucas/morabito
Ebert:thumbsd: (dont like him lol)
Swift
L Jetta (on the wing)
Rosa
Priddis

sounds pretty good to me
morabito = star
Lucas = 200 gamer

actually now that i think about i think lucas would suit eagles more haha
but either way id be stoaked
what does everyone else think if we had the chance morabito or lucas?

What type of player might Carlton draft if we win a final and finish in the top six?

I'm hoping for a hard or skilled midfielder, but a tall could come into calculations if the good mids go in the top ten.

Carlton doesn't need Fitzpatrick.

I would think you would want a key forward, maybe Panos would be a good fit.

i think the blues need a mid, with warnock and hampson in the ruck, kreuzer can go foward.

other then judd, murphy and gibbs, carltons midfield is pretty thin. stevens and scotland wont be around for much longer, and they need a hard in and under midfielder to give it to murphy and gibbs.

Give me a 6'5" KPP if we go tall..

I like the sound of Cunnington, but it doesn't sound like he will get through to our pick.

We need a Jordan Lewis or Brad Sewell type in the middle with Hadley playing that role in the short term.

A forward like Tapscott could complement Yarran, Betts and Garlett nicely.

It is a myth to suggest all the best key-position players are around 197cm and over 100kg. I'd rather a player that was good at ground level as well rather than someone who was a contested-marking freak only. It adds to flexibility and argues against the idea that there is such a 'need' as a "medium-sized forward".

yea i agree, from what ive made out Lucas is more a pendulbury type and will be a fantastic player (beautiful kick :thumbsu:)
but morabito looks like more of an game breaker and i'd love to see him slip down to us!
but id also be stoaked with lucas!

west coast's future midfield:

Natainui + cox (swap between forward line and ruck)
Kerr
Masten
Shuey
Lucas/morabito
Ebert:thumbsd: (dont like him lol)
Swift
L Jetta (on the wing)
Rosa
Priddis

sounds pretty good to me
morabito = star
Lucas = 200 gamer

actually now that i think about i think lucas would suit eagles more haha
but either way id be stoaked
what does everyone else think if we had the chance morabito or lucas?

You dont like Brad Ebert. He will be a superstar soon. Shown glimpses of it in last month. I reckon he will head back to Port Adelaide or hopefully Sydney

It is a myth to suggest all the best key-position players are around 197cm and over 100kg. I'd rather a player that was good at ground level as well rather than someone who was a contested-marking freak only. It adds to flexibility and argues against the idea that there is such a 'need' as a "medium-sized forward".
:rolleyes:

paf, are you Kevin Rudd's speechwriter?

I have to translate your posts into footy using Babelfish before I understand what you're on about.

Who said 6'5" KPP were the best ones? :confused:

I'm thinking of names...

Not types...

You dont like Brad Ebert. He will be a superstar soon. Shown glimpses of it in last month. I reckon he will head back to Port Adelaide or hopefully Sydney

According to the contracts thread on our board Ebert has signed a 2 year extension on top of the original 3 year deal he was offered when drafted. Meaning he is contracted till the end of 2012 .

ebert will definitely be a very good player in a couple years but im just not the biggest fan of him thats all.

This weekend has changed a fair bit in the potential draft order. Looks like Fremantle aren't actually tanking, and we will be a genuine chance of winning a couple more games.

As uni finished early today and I have nothing to do, I've changed the order and also a few picks. The bolded picks are the ones I changed.

PP Melbourne - Tom Scully
#1 Melbourne - Jack Trengove (Melbourne move up one position, but I still think they'll take Trengove)
#2 Richmond - Anthony Morabito
#3 North Melbourne - John Butcher
#4 Fremantle - Kane Lucas (initially I had Fremantle taking Morabito, but with him gone they will go for the other WA midfielder)
#5 West Coast - Kobe Stevens (personally I think they are well stocked for talls both up forward and down back, whereas they don't have a lot of quality inside midfielders)
#6 Sydney - Gary Rohan
#7 Essendon - Ben Cunnington
#8 Hawthorn - Daniel Talia
#9 Port Adelaide - Dustin Martin (I had Port taking Tapscott before but after this weekend, I realised how little depth they have in the midfield. Martin would compliment Pearce and Rodan very well)
#10 Carlton - Luke Tapscott (Tapscott would provide Carlton with a big bodied midfielder/half forward, which is one area in which they are a tad thin)
#11 Adelaide - Jordan Gysberts (Adelaide have dropped down the ladder a bit and now have an earlier pick than I initially thought, Gysberts would be an excellent option to replace Goodwin in the midfield)
#12 Bulldogs - Jesse Crichton (still not overly sure what the Bulldogs need, so I figure a skilled midfielder is something that all teams need)
#13 Brisbane - Jack Fitzpatrick (I still have Brisbane taking Fitzpatrick, despite slipping lower in the draft order. I just think they need another option in the ruck and another option in the Bradshaw succession plan)
#14 Collingwood - Nathan Vardy (same pick as before, just lower in the draft order)
#15 Geelong - Andrew Moore (Geelong to go for versatility and that is what Moore will offer them)
#16 St Kilda - Mitchell Duncan

I'll add as much of a second round as possible at this early stage.

#17 Melbourne - Jake Carlisle (after picking up two midfielders, Melbourne will sure up their forward line with Carlisle who should provide even more excitement alongside Watts and Jurrah)
#18 Richmond - Matthew Panos (like Melbourne, Richmond to take a tall forward in the second round and this is why I had them overlooking Butcher)
#19 North Melbourne - Allen Christensen (would compliment a midfield of Swallow, Anthony and Ziebell very well with his speed and ball winning abilities)
#20 Fremantle - Alex Carey (should probably go for a tall here, but there aren't really any left who I would be willing to take at pick 20 at this stage. But Carey is a big bodied inside midfielder and good at the clearances, which Fremantle are crying out for)
#21 West Coast - Lewis Jetta (he wont make it to the third round, so the Eagles will take him here. His speed and skill is exactly what they need)
#22 Sydney - Ben Griffiths (after taking Rohan with their first pick, Sydney will look to take a tall and Sydney seem to like versatility in their talls)
#23 Essendon - Ryan Bastinac (I think Essendon will continue to bolster their midfield, and Bastinac should be a good fit with his running capabilities)
#24 Hawthorn - Dylan McNeil (Hawthorn need some inside midfielders to help out Mitchell, and McNeil who has been likened to Hayes and Foley could be the one)
#25 Port Adelaide - Travis Colyer (personally I'm not sold on Colyer, but his speed and work in the centre square should mak him attractive to the Port recruiters)
#26 Carlton - Sam Reid (Carlton do need a young key forward, but long term that role will probably be filled by Kreuzer. By drafting Reid, Carlton could develop him as a forward, or as a defender to allow Waite to play forward)
#27 Adelaide - Roland Ah Chee (I had Adelaide drafting Ah Chee with their first pick, but I think I might have overrated him a tad due to being a fan of his. Ah Chee would be a very good pickup for Adelaide, and hopefully he would take Douglas' position in the team)

Until the draft camp it's far too difficult to go any further, as that is when you get the bolters coming into the first and second rounds.

Dockers will still finish 15th
just coz they had 1 win it doesnt mean they'll win anymore and i highly doubt they will.

but besides that i think its a good guess for what'll happen :thumbsu: