Clarke!!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

McAlmanac said:
This is one of the worst threads I've seen started on BigFooty, encapsulating why so many people have a problem with (some) Crows supporters.

ditto,ditto,ditto.

dont talk crap like this.
stand tall and unified and anything can and will happen.

A gift from above said:
Read it again.

Thought matty was a liability in the first half. Heaps too many frees. Second half he was very good. Was only saying that despite not being dominant tonight, lade is a first class ruck and brogan isnt too shabby either. That puts his performance in perspective.
Nah, you need to ctrl-alt-del you brain & scrub all the crap that it is coming from it.

Stiffy_18 said:
Clarkey was sensational in the 2nd half and got the ball rolling with his SENSATIONAL ruckwork.

He should play on next year, no doubt.

He was absolutely fantastic. Being there, you could APPRECIATE his precision in tapwork and around-the-ground positioning.

Will be offered a contract IMO as well Stiffy.

Drummond, did you tape the game mate? If so, please watch for the next few days and then report back!;)

Crow-mosone said:
and you wonder why some suggest you're a little fairweather?

crow-mo just cause he threatens your intellegence, no need to be nasty, we won after all. :thumbsu:

Nice work drummond, i totally agree, despite what the knowledgeable few here say clarkes first half was very ordinary. When he is simply a tap ruck he cannot afford to keep giving frees away in the ruck contests. He did back it up with a good effort in the second, but i hardly think it was a matching performance. He will need to stand up more this week. Despite being in ordinary form when injured, hudsons contest at ground level is being missed.

A gift from above said:
crow-mo just cause he threatens your intellegence, no need to be nasty, we won after all. :thumbsu:

Nice work drummond, i totally agree, despite what the knowledgeable few here say clarkes first half was very ordinary. When he is simply a tap ruck he cannot afford to keep giving frees away in the ruck contests. He did back it up with a good effort in the second, but i hardly think it was a matching performance. He will need to stand up more this week. Despite being in ordinary form when injured, hudsons contest at ground level is being missed.
Over the course of the whole game, Clarke was the most influential ruckman ... yet wally's like yourself keep coming up with crap suggesting otherwise.

A gift from above said:
Nice work drummond, i totally agree, despite what the knowledgeable few here say clarkes first half was very ordinary.
It seems to be the knowledgeable majority.

Cove Cobra said:
He was absolutely fantastic. Being there, you could APPRECIATE his precision in tapwork and around-the-ground positioning.
My thoughts exactly CC. He was always in a good defensive position, blocking up the holes.
And for those talking about his free kicks he only gave away three, one of which I still can't figure out why he didn't get a free himself.
I honestly thought he was amongst out best last night. Gave our midfielders first use and I believe was a big player in our second half form. That play where he shrugged off a couple of players and got his hands free to pass the ball off to Macca. Everyone will remember the sheer awesomeness of Macca's goal, but let's not forget how he got the ball.

McAlmanac said:
It seems to be the knowledgeable majority.

not really, dont think many ppl could careless to be honest. We won and smashed them. i havent gone through the whole thread, but so far it seems kane McGoodwin and crow-mosome are the ones saying stuff. The others are taking drumonds comments out of context. Lets face it crow-mosome just looks to put his little entertainment comments everywhere for the sake of it too, so we can rule wateva he says out. ;)

Matty had a great second half and a poor first half, dont think he was the difference between a win or a loss. In the first half he was the worse on ground imo, apart from those like doughty that hadnt had a chance on the bench. Gave away way heaps too many frees, and port where going through his man. In the second half was very good, but there probably wasnt one player who was beaten by their port opponent, everyone lifted. He was a part of the result, not the cause of it. Needs a big game next week, but so do all of them!

Kane McGoodwin said:
Over the course of the whole game, Clarke was the most influential ruckman ... yet wally's like yourself keep coming up with crap suggesting otherwise.

pretty funny, our whole team was dominant. Who lost their position? over the course of the game, brogan and clarke were fairly even too, brogan often out tapped clarke and this is what clarke is paid to do. Ppl remember the second half which was fresh in their minds instead of the whole game. First half he was worst on ground for us, a liability. Second half he stood up. Thought other players are far more worthy of a mention other than clarke, like rutten, torney, shirely, welsh, hentschel's games were way better, plus the usual suspects ofcourse. Clarke did some nice taps when the game was over though.

Vic Crow said:
My thoughts exactly CC. He was always in a good defensive position, blocking up the holes.
And for those talking about his free kicks he only gave away three, one of which I still can't figure out why he didn't get a free himself.
I honestly thought he was amongst out best last night. Gave our midfielders first use and I believe was a big player in our second half form. That play where he shrugged off a couple of players and got his hands free to pass the ball off to Macca. Everyone will remember the sheer awesomeness of Macca's goal, but let's not forget how he got the ball.

That's all we can ask of Clarkey. Give the first use to our boys in the middle and plug the gaps. Bloody hell, we all know that he isn't what he used to be, he has lost a lot of agility but has NOT lost that uncanny sense of knowing where the boys are going to be running to. You NEVER lose your footy brain is what I am trying to say I guess.

Huddo is our Number 1 ruckmen but what a great back-up we have in Clarkey.

A gift from above said:
pretty funny, our whole team was dominant. Who lost their position? over the course of the game, brogan and clarke were fairly even too, brogan often out tapped clarke and this is what clarke is paid to do. Ppl remember the second half which was fresh in their minds instead of the whole game. First half he was worst on ground for us, a liability. Second half he stood up. Thought other players are far more worthy of a mention other than clarke, like rutten, torney, shirely, welsh, hentschel's games were way better, plus the usual suspects ofcourse. Clarke did some nice taps when the game was over though.
Clarke gave us 1st use of the ball the majority of the time in the 2nd half, which is when we broke the game open. He played his role & was the most influential ruckman. Your expectation that everyone dominates a game for all 4 quarters is fairyland stuff.

Clarke was hilarious. Roving the ball, trying to break tackles in his unco style. I've never seen him so active outside of ruck contests.

B00077HL1C.01-A22XP0Z2W4YOLT._SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg
B0001W1JM0.01-A2X3FMBNSRPS6U._SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg

Crow-mosone said:
and you wonder why some suggest you're a little fairweather?
All I said was that Clarke was very poor in the 1st half, which he was. However it was great to see him come out strong after half time. I can gaurentee you that I am not a fairweather fan.