Clean Out

• Thread starter Thread starter DemonDoob

I wish Sylvia played for the Hawks.

I know he wouldn't even be considered on the trade table, but if he was, i'd hope the Hawks threw the kitchen sink at him.

Well he wouldn't develop too well down there I don't think as he's struggle to crack into your midfield so would be forced to only hover around the forward line and kick a couple every now and then. That's what he's currently doing at Melbourne :(

Ok, now that Daniher will be leaving and a new coach will be coming in, we can speculate until the cows come home as to who it will be, however, that doesnt really matter.

It is obvious our list needs culling. Who should go and why.

I'll start by saying we should now be looking to offload Brad Green.

Why??

1. He is too inconsistent. He will pull a 30 possession game out about 3-4 times a season, but not do much in the rest of the games. Somebody with his talent should be getting a minimum of 25 touches a game;
2. Melbourne have no real champions amongst them, but have way too many players in the next band. Getting rid of Green starts that cull;
3. With plenty of football left in him, he is still worth something on the open market;

Trading somebody like Yze would be pointless now as he would be worth nothing in the open market. If you were going to get rid of Yze, it would have been 3 seasons ago.

Now I'm going to go out on a limb and say that personally Neitz is one of the most over-rated players in the AFL. How many times will he kick 6/7 in a week then struggle to get 2-3 a game for the next 4-6 weeks. His consistency is just not good enough to be classified as an out and out champion. He struggles to hold a chest mark (they always bounce off his chest). The only way he can hold a mark is by grabbing it in his hands.

I'm sick and tired of people bagging out on Yze. He does a very solid job week in/week out, but they are trying to make him the scape goat. Good to see the real culprit is now leaving the club.

Mate, you criticise Green but praise Yze. It should be the other way around if anything.

And you are an absolute ******** with your comments about our captain.

Sorry to say but it is time for Neitz to hang up the boots. His output for 2007 is 1.9 average down from previous years. Doesn't offer the team much when he plays.

He has been screwed by injuries this year, plus the team has been losing so of course he isn't going to be kicking as many goals as he did last year. Comments like that make me think you actually don't watch Melbourne play. Did you see who it was that stepped up for us against Adelaide (that 60m sealer) and Collingwood (came back on injured to set up two last quarter goals). Did you see how pathetic our forward line was (and the whole team) against Richmond, without Neitz?

He is still our best forward, our captain, our most experienced player and the true leader of the club. I am sick of Melbourne supporters bagging Neitz, when he is one of the few that puts in every week of every year.

i believe that jamar could be an absolute gun........... in the morington penninsula league.

at best he is worth a 3rd round draft pick and richmond are the only team dumb enough to give you that. Maybe jamar and your 3rd or 4th pick for schultz. i no he is an on and off player but still a young footballer at 22.

He has been screwed by injuries this year, plus the team has been losing so of course he isn't going to be kicking as many goals as he did last year. Comments like that make me think you actually don't watch Melbourne play. Did you see who it was that stepped up for us against Adelaide (that 60m sealer) and Collingwood (came back on injured to set up two last quarter goals). Did you see how pathetic our forward line was (and the whole team) against Richmond, without Neitz?

He is still our best forward, our captain, our most experienced player and the true leader of the club. I am sick of Melbourne supporters bagging Neitz, when he is one of the few that puts in every week of every year.

He is always injured. He is just too old now. Wouldn't be surprised if he retired at the end of the year...

All I'm saying is don't write off the big skipper yet. People did that in 2005 and he came out with about 65 goals the following year. He is the best option we have, as a forward and a captain. I don't know why people are so keen to get rid of him, when we should be trying to get as much out of him as possible.

I'm sick and tired of people bagging out on Yze. He does a very solid job week in/week out, but they are trying to make him the scape goat. Good to see the real culprit is now leaving the club. Mate, you criticise Green but praise Yze. It should be the other way around if anything.

And you are an absolute ******** with your comments about our captain.

Completely agree with that guy, you saying people give Yze a bag go then saying that Neita is one of the most over rated players in the comp?

I doubt anyone would give up a third round draft pick for Jamar. Hes worth nothing and they should delist him. P. Johnson I think is a lot better anyway.

To trade: Travis Johnstone, Miller.

Delist: Ward, CJ, Ferguson, Warnock, Pickett - maybe, Jamar

Retire: Brown, Yze - game went past him a few years ago.

Sorry to say but it is time for Neitz to hang up the boots. His output for 2007 is 1.9 average down from previous years. Doesn't offer the team much when he plays.

our forward line is completely ****ed without neitz, robbo is far too small to play full forward, need the big body down there, he may only be averaging 1.9 goals a game but he has hardly been fit all year and could definitely get 1 or 2 more quality years out of him, even 3 if we keep struggling to find a replacement that can do better than him

We need Neitz to hang in there so Dunn, Bate and Newton can learn from him. There may be a bit left in Miller too.

TJ is a very valuable midfielder and he showed that on Friday. He and McLean are our only top line midfielders with McDonald closely behind. If McLean gets a heavy tag then Johnstone can dominate and vice-versa.

Seriously, I can't wait to see how Miller responds to a new coach.

Miller has talent - his 12 marks in the first half against Collingwood a few years back wasn'ta fluke.

He just needs to be challenged.

And is a slacka ... my uncle went to a Triple M lunch and Danny Frawly was on his table ... this was last year. He says he has the talent to be one of the best, or the best in the team but doesn't put his all in at training and around the footy club.

This is what I think we could potentially get for trading the following players

Bruce: pick 8-13

Johnstone: Pick 10-12

Green: Pick 10-18

# Note: these are only for teams that are close to winning a premiership and are topping up with good players.

This is what I think we could potentially get for trading the following players

Bruce: pick 8-13

Johnstone: Pick 10-12

Green: Pick 10-18

# Note: these are only for teams that are close to winning a premiership and are topping up with good players.

Can't see anyone giving that much, TJ 14-18, Bruce 20-25, Green 20-25

As i have been saying for the past 2 years its time for a clean out at MFC.

Daniher - Has to go. Just a disgrace he is still there. You can only bame inconsistency on a coach People not players. It is his fault we are up one week down another. Just like he use to have his old Up one year Down another year.

Chris Fagan - How is this guy our football Manager please tell me? He and Daniher time is up. They need to move on.

David Neitz - Lets admitt his time is up. He is a wonderful player and we all love him, but he needs to move on. We can't afford to have him in the team at a inconsistent basis.

Godfrey, Wheatley, Ward, Jeff White, Ben Holland, Nathan Carroll, Roberston? are not premiership players. These guys just fill up the 42 players on a list. Lets move them on. Lets get some young players like Jones or Pettard on our playing list who are hungry and want to win.

What you guys need to know is we are majorly off a premiership. We beat St Kilda last year when they had 16 fit players barely on the park. 2004 our best chance and we lost to a hungier Essendon.

We have to move our elder players on guys. We have to go youth policy like a Carlton or Richmond and just know the nexxt couple of years no good, but when the Jones, Bell, Davey, Pettard, Frawely, Bartram, Rivers, players get 100 games behind them, well be a force.

Chris fagan? fail to see what this bloke has done wrong?
Robertson? All Australian and your saying give him the ass?
Well be a force? u r a joke mate

You my friend.. are one of those supporters who just shoudnt follow football with statements like you have just made!

Can't see anyone giving that much, TJ 14-18, Bruce 20-25, Green 20-25

Considering some past trades that we've seen TJ and Bruce could both go for top 10 picks possibly. I wouldn't trade Johnstone though. Green might be an option and probably not Bruce. They are still amongst our best players and we give them away then we are pretty much accepting a low placing for the next few years.

Maybe we need to stop this whole emphasis on individual talent. If you look at Sydney, in both 05 and 06 they were not the most talented team in the league, hands down it was the Eagles. Yet they were able to match it with them based solely on teamwork and determination to work together as a single unit.

I say forget sacking players and whatnot due to their inabilities to win games off their own boots in similar fashion to West Coast. I think it's time we focus on creating this team into a tank, a unit that is difficult to crack into

I agree that Sydney play as a unit or have done over the last couple of seasons, maybe not to the previous extent this year. However it is a myth that Sydney love the footy world to believe that they are just a bunch of battlers and have no individual stars. Barry Hall, Mick O'Loughlin, Brett Kirk, Jude Bolton, Ryan O'Keefe, Tadgh Kennelly, Adam Goodes sit very comfortably in the upper echelon of AFl footballers. There back up support is also very very good- Davis, Barry, C.Bolton, Buchanen, Schneider, Everitt ets.

I agree we need to commit to the team style of play but I still maintain we do not possess the talent yet.

we would trade our first pick for bruce or johnstone. i reckon your new coach will want to do the hawthorn style rebuild so that deal may work for both teams

we wouldn't touch green

If a clean out is what the new coach wants then he will surely be looking at your 26+ players.

Guys like Neitz you wouldn't trade. The hardest thing at the end of this season is the new coach convincing him to stay on. You need him playing providing some stability.

I think shopping TJ, Robbo, Pickett, Holland, Jamar, Miller, Whelan and even Jeff White are smart options.

You don't have to accept the trade if the player is being handed away for nothing.

Bruce and J Mac are too valuable in terms of leadership to the group to lose but I'm sure offers would be considered.

Just don't make Hawthorn's mistake with Everitt. Holding a guy that didn't really have the heart to be there for an extra year and losing a potential 1st rounder for him (albeit late) after coming off AA selection.

That's where White, TJ and maybe Miller will have some current value. If you wait a couple years they'll be too old and have played in potentially a poor side in their final years. What good does that do you.

There are supposed to be some excellent rucks in this years pool and your early pick along with White's pick you could grab two young ruckmen that will come through your system together.

A "clean out" of the guys you've supported for so long can be very difficult for supporters, but trust me as a Hawks supporter I've been through it. I've had to watch great blokes get traded or delisted for 'some number' in a draft in which there's no guarantee the bloke will work out, but there is light at the end of the tunnel.

Think about three years from now with your veterans being Sylvia, Rivers and McLean guiding a whole bunch of exciting talent into the battlefield. They'll still be the odd statesman getting around but your leaders will be from that group or younger.

I love that our leaders are now Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman, Franklin. None more than 24. Yeah there's a few old blokes but there just being asked to worry about playing good team footy.

You will be suprised how quickly things can turn if your new bosses get some good deals for some guys and draft well.

For what its worth I reckon White around pick 10 - 15, Bruce 10, TJ 12-20, Green 15 - 25, Miller 20 - 35.

Remember despite a horrible string of injuries you guys could well be 6 and 7, still in the hunt. All is not lost.

Good luck fellas (and ladies) with the rest of the year and in trade week. (Trade week is all I had to look forward to for three miserable seasons)

I agree with your sentiment, but we would never trade Robbo or Wheels (underrated). Also doubt that we'd get rid of our only experienced ruckman in White.

If we could get a decent pick for white we would be crazy not to consider it. He's only got a couple of years left and Is he really THAT good anymore? I would rather a young kid with his hole career ahead of him than a couple of ok years of Jeff white.

No one would give us what we want for White as he only has a couple of years left.

Adelaide refused to pick up an experienced ruckman last year.
Brisbane have got heaps of ruckmen.
Carlton are on a strict youth policy.
Collingwood might consider him, if they think they are a chance for the flag. White would allow Fraser to play forward more. But they are stingy in trade week so we probably wouldn't be able to negotiate.
Essendon have Hille, Laycock and Ryder.
Fremantle have Sandilands, Warnock and Longmuir.
Geelong have Ottens, Blake and King.
Hawthorn are also on a strict youth policy.
Kangaroos have unearthed a gem in McIntosh.
Port Adelaide have Lade and Brogan.
Richmond don't need a quick fix.
St Kilda already picked up two experienced ruckmen last year.
Sydney got their experienced ruckman in Everitt.
West Coast have Cox and Seaby.
The Bulldogs might be another team to take a look at him, but they have Minson and Street anyway.