bballscout

Gold Coast
San Antonio Spurs
Went to Southport Sharks for Dinner the other night (cleves current club). Sat down in the sports bar where Blues v Tigers was on. Cleve happened to be there watching the game by himself. He was cheering and looked happy everytime Carlton piled on another goal.

I found this odd given his strong links to Richmond, even kicking 6 goals v Brisbane in a match once. Why would he do this? He was gambling alot on horses so perhaps he bet on them?

After winning the QAFL leading goal kicker last season and being talked up as a Suns prospect, hes dropped right off and averaging 1 goal a game for the club despite injuries. What is your favourite memory of the guy? He obviously has talent and what sort of work does he now do on Gold Coast?

The question you ask, i.e. "What is your favourite memory of the guy?", just nailed the coffin shut on this thread dude..
You were better off asking, "what is your favourite chupa chup flavour" ;)

Went to Southport Sharks for Dinner the other night (cleves current club). Sat down in the sports bar where Blues v Tigers was on. Cleve happened to be there watching the game by himself. He was cheering and looked happy everytime Carlton piled on another goal.

I found this odd given his strong links to Richmond, even kicking 6 goals v Brisbane in a match once. Why would he do this? He was gambling alot on horses so perhaps he bet on them?

After winning the QAFL leading goal kicker last season and being talked up as a Suns prospect, hes dropped right off and averaging 1 goal a game for the club despite injuries. What is your favourite memory of the guy? He obviously has talent and what sort of work does he now do on Gold Coast?
He played one good game.

Other than that he was terrible.

He was cheering against us because he probably hates us.

His name is Cleve.

My favourite memory of him was as follows:

Delisted:C.Hughes (Richmond)

Ill bet alot of players who have been at a club and been delisted and feel unfairly dealt with love to see that club lose games.

You would think that if they still had mates at the club it would give some feel towards the club but most of his pals at the club have probably moved on themselves.

your post would be the same as us asking you the same thing about Nathan Ablett in a couple of years. You must be closet Richmond fan to have even recognized him. I hate to admit that I wouldnt.

I follow the Sharks a bit. Thats how I know of him. Solid player on his day, what were his weaknesses at AFL level?

I feel he lacks the strength to play key forward. Interesting to note another former tiger is at Southport in Dean Putt. Highish draft picks but never debuted. He's very undersized, plays 2nd string ruck for Southport off the bench and a little bit of CHF. Dont know what Richmond was thinking using a 2nd rounder on him though.

What was Hughesy like at Coburg? Dominant?

I follow the Sharks a bit. Thats how I know of him. Solid player on his day, what were his weaknesses at AFL level?

I feel he lacks the strength to play key forward. Interesting to note another former tiger is at Southport in Dean Putt. Highish draft picks but never debuted. He's very undersized, plays 2nd string ruck for Southport off the bench and a little bit of CHF. Dont know what Richmond was thinking using a 2nd rounder on him though.

:pWas every bit as mediocre at Coburg and Coburg reserves (on occasion) than he was at AFL level.
Never imposed himself on a contest and looked timid in his approach to the ball.
In hindsight, given an extra year that he shouldn't have.
Interesting story cheering on the Blues ... weakness of character!

Basically his Weaknesses were

Effort
Speed
Endurance
Strength
Agility
Footy Smarts
Hardness

His Positives were
Kicking

He played in the coburg 2s grand final one year.. he didnt even do much at vfl level as he relied so heavily on delivery

The question you ask, i.e. "What is your favourite memory of the guy?", just nailed the coffin shut on this thread dude..
You were better off asking, "what is your favourite chupa chup flavour" ;)

:DFor the record Cogga ol' buddy, what is your fave chupa chup flavour, mate?

I saw him dominate a Coburg Reserves Grand Final to the tune of 5 maybe 6 possessions in 2008 I think. Lovely mark ,great kick but apparently he had an affliction where once the ball hit the deck his legs could no longer run nor his knees bend.

When Cleve came back from injury a month back, Southport didnt pick him and reserves were on bye. He got clearance to play for Mayne in what is 3rd tier league of S/E QLD. He kicked 11 goals.

Why did Dean Putt get cut after 1 season despite a 2 year deal? Did the club have to pay him out the entire 2nd year of the contract?

:pWas every bit as mediocre at Coburg and Coburg reserves (on occasion) than he was at AFL level.
Never imposed himself on a contest and looked timid in his approach to the ball.
In hindsight, given an extra year that he shouldn't have.
Interesting story cheering on the Blues ... weakness of character!

You're talking out your ass. He had a string of very solid form at Coburg before gaining games in 08. After Polak got hit by the tram, he was never the same again.

His weakness was that he was very much a one dimensional lead and mark player.

i agree Cleve is one dimensional but dont think hes as bad as you guys think. Leading goal kicker 2010 in what is now a very strong QAFL league with about 80. Made State Open side v Tassie and came under strong consideration from the Suns in the PSD/Rookie draft (even training with the suns vfl team a bit last year). I guess Clayton put a stop to it haha.

All pointing to a deluge of offers and trades. Tipping Sheeds will be circling with his number 1 pick after such an outstanding year like that. ;)

What were Cleve's mental demons? Could it be linked to a gambling problem? As he was wacking out 50's on obscure greyhound races the other night.

Its the accident dude...his AFL career ended because of it and the gambling started because of it...dont know what is behind his 80 goals in the QAFL though...or can we blame the accident on that too? ;)

I don't think Cleve kicked 6 goals against Brissy, that was Schulz.

But, I do think he kicked 6 against Port at AAMI. :cool:

**** me dead, he put together a couple. 3 goals then 6 Vs Port then 2 Vs Carlton then Polak incident which he witnessed by all reports. Cogga making light of it now but did seem to screw with his head and never did shit the following year.

His best Coburg form was probably his first couple ever unfortunately for him because the TW picked him straight up and then in true TW fashion dropped him because he didnt kick 5. TW couldn't develop a ****ing Sea Monkey.