Cogs

• Thread starter Thread starter theGav56

That's no surprise, I'll fall off my seat if you ever criticise the club Ripper! ;)
Now, now I have been very vocal in the past.;)

Only time will tell if the Tarrant + Solomon deals were good value for the club. We weren't screaming out for another forward and a halfback/half forward, but both should definately bring something to the side. If Tarrant plays well and/or we win a flag then it was a good deal, but if we struggle or Tarrant fails to have an influence then we should have really loaded up in the draft.

Disagree with the forward bit. That is where We fell down in the QF & PF.

A lot of the goals conceeded were from rebounds from the HF , FF lines , even one from the kick in.

As far as draft picks go , Out of our new blokes in 2003 who has had the most impact to date?

I reckon M.J. has and he was the last taken.

Disagree with the forward bit. That is where We fell down in the QF & PF.

A lot of the goals conceeded were from rebounds from the HF , FF lines , even one from the kick in.

As far as draft picks go , Out of our new blokes in 2003 who has had the most impact to date?

I reckon M.J. has and he was the last taken.

We do seem to concede a lot of goals from turnovers, especially in that prelim. If having another marking target will reduce that, then you are right and another key forward will be a handy addition. The skills of Tarrant and Solomon have been criticised by their respective supporters, so there is a chance that they will contribute to us turning the ball over.

Runner up in the Doig certainly shows that Johnson has had the most impact so far. Johnson and Peake had a few years head start when drafted though. Of the group I think Murphy has the most upside, and will be the pick of the bunch within a couple of years.

Most of our best players were early picks. I'd rate Pavlich, Sandilands, Bell, McPharlin, Carr and Hasleby as our top 6, four of those went in the top 10.

We do seem to concede a lot of goals from turnovers, especially in that prelim. If having another marking target will reduce that, then you are right and another key forward will be a handy addition. The skills of Tarrant and Solomon have been criticised by their respective supporters, so there is a chance that they will contribute to us turning the ball over.

Runner up in the Doig certainly shows that Johnson has had the most impact so far. Johnson and Peake had a few years head start when drafted though. Of the group I think Murphy has the most upside, and will be the pick of the bunch within a couple of years.

Most of our best players were early picks. I'd rate Pavlich, Sandilands, Bell, McPharlin, Carr and Hasleby as our top 6, four of those went in the top 10.

Johnno is only 3 months older than Adam Campbell, 7 months older than Murphy, 8 months older than Schammer, 9 months older than Mundy, and 12 months older than Dunn; and he's 7 months younger than Crowley and 15 months younger than Peake. He's not had that much of a head start. ;)

Just out of interest - MJ is also 4 months older than Paul Duffield, 5 months younger than Browne, 16 months younger than Dodd and 19 months younger than Gilmore. He's pretty much in the middle of that group in terms of age and time in the system. Sorry dom, not trying to be a smartarse, just like my numbers. (I need to get some lessons from ThePope...;) ).

Johnno is only 3 months older than Adam Campbell, 7 months older than Murphy, 8 months older than Schammer, 9 months older than Mundy, and 12 months older than Dunn; and he's 7 months younger than Crowley and 15 months younger than Peake. He's not had that much of a head start. ;)

Just out of interest - MJ is also 4 months older than Paul Duffield, 5 months younger than Browne, 16 months younger than Dodd and 19 months younger than Gilmore. He's pretty much in the middle of that group in terms of age and time in the system. Sorry dom, not trying to be a smartarse, just like my numbers. (I need to get some lessons from ThePope...;) ).

Fair enough IP, my recollection was that Johnson had spent 2 years playing seniors for the demons, so I figured he was 19 or nearly 19 when picked up. He must have only played the one year at Perth before being drafted?

Surprised that Murphy is older than Schammer, I assume he nominated in 2002 but wasn't picked up?

And Peaker was a late starter, not playing taking His footy seriously until 2003. I reckon He has heaps of upside.

Certainly in ability, but he probably won't fill out much more. He's destined to be one of those skinny players like Lappin at the blues.

With the injury to Schammer and interrupted preparations for Hasleby, Black and Crowley Peaker becomes a very important running player for us.

Fair enough IP, my recollection was that Johnson had spent 2 years playing seniors for the demons, so I figured he was 19 or nearly 19 when picked up. He must have only played the one year at Perth before being drafted?

Surprised that Murphy is older than Schammer, I assume he nominated in 2002 but wasn't picked up?

Don't know about Murphy, but I know Schammer was bottom aged when drafted. Maybe MJ did start playing seniors early. He was taken PSD in Dec 2003, so he would've just turned 19 (in Oct), so he could've already had a couple of years at league level if he started at 17.

At the end of 2005 we tried swapping Fevola for Coughlan + pick 8, they countered with Ray Hall/Tivendale + Pick 8.

I'd have thought the Tigers would have been keen to hold on to Cogs.

At the end of 2005 we tried swapping Fevola for Coughlan + pick 8, they countered with Ray Hall/Tivendale + Pick 8.

I'd have thought the Tigers would have been keen to hold on to Cogs.

You mean you knocked back Ray Hall??? ;)
Looks like you are lucky no deal was done for Fevola, as we were in '05 when we couldn't satisfy hawthorns demands for Jonathon Hay.

That's one hell of a user name you have, your post count must have been in the hundreds before you memorised it!

You mean you knocked back Ray Hall??? ;)
Looks like you are lucky no deal was done for Fevola, as we were in '05 when we couldn't satisfy hawthorns demands for Jonathon Hay.

That's one hell of a user name you have, your post count must have been in the hundreds before you memorised it!
I can also chew gum and walk at the same time !!!

And three of those were trades; something you have been extremely critical of????

I've never said don't trade, but I'd prefer that we trade players for players more often, instead of almost always using draft picks. In 2003 and 2005 we didn't trade away any picks and from those 2 drafts we got Murphy, Mundy, Dunn, Peake, Campbell, Johnson, Drum, Ibottson and Warnock. Obviously it is early to be calling that a super group, but there are 6 players there who I can confidently say have a future as afl footballers.

Almost every year since '95 we have gone after the missing link, when we would have got to a pre-lim much quicker I'm sure if we had built from the bottom. I'll be disappointed if we trade our first pick this year unless it is clearly a win for the Fremantle Football Club.

Bell and Josh were as close to certainties as you can get in a trade, because of their character and the way they play the game. I new little of McPharlin prior to his arrival at Fremantle, but the bitterness of the hawks was a good indication of his talent.

I was critical of the Tarrant deal when it happened, but have mellowed since. If we win a flag or he finishes top 3 in a Doig medal feel free to start a thread titled Dominguez is a wally.

I agree Blocker - 6 draftees at the club and 4 of them 18 years olds. In 2005 we only brought in 3 new faces and in 2004 there were 4. The last time we brought in this many new players was in 2003 - and look at how those young blokes are going now! If 2006's crop turn out to be half as successful as 2003's group, we will have done well.

Richmond have got both Polak and Simmonds for a bargain, hopefully we can stitch them up down the track.
Carp. Both were out of contract. Simmonds was offerred $1.5m over five years. It was such a good deal that even CC reckoned he should take it.

It was preposterously stupid to take Simmonds on a 5 year deal given his injury history, and Richmond are paying the price. We only got one or two good seasons out of Simmonds and looks like Richmond are going to be the same.

Polak is still developing. He's a slow developer. By the time he plays his best footy at 24 and 25 we'll be way ahead of him. Richmond can afford to keep developing him.

BTW, I think Connolly wrecked Polak's career by playing him too early. He was too thin. He should have had two seasons in the WAFL playing up forward. Both Murphy and Mundy had these paths as did quite a few of our successful rookies.